Community_discussions_small  

Question

Who's told their boss?

9 Feb 2007 sue123 asked

Default_avatar
Just wondering if anyone is in the same situation I am. I am leaving ym job right before I go on the trip. Now, I work as a substitute teacher, so it's not like it's supposed to be a permanent job so I should have no problems saying that I'm leaving. But, I feel horrible because Im hte only sub the school has, and I don't know how to say that I'll be leaving a month before the school year ends. All the other teachers know I'm going, and they constantly remind me that I'm under no obligation to stay since as a sub, I could work at any school in the city and can set the days I want to work, but I still am going to have a hard time telling the coordinator that I'll be leaving.
  • 9 Feb 2007 sue123 said

Default_avatar

Thing is, it doesn’t matter whether I’m on their good side or not because I’m only working for this year. I’ll be in medical school next year, and they know this, so htey knew when they came on that I would be onlyfor a year. It’s one of the reasons I became a sub. But it still makes me nervous just because the school is really understaffed as it is.

• 9 Feb 2007 Kylie85 said

Default_avatar

I havnt told them yet. im only working as a temp anyways through an agency and I feel that if I let them know I wont be working for them after April they may not find me any more work.
    im only in Aus for five months between my last trip (year in Canada) and my next (year in China and round the world incl. contiki) so I didnt worry about finding something perm as i knew I would feel bad leaving so soon. Roll Eyes<!--graemlin::rolleyes:-->

• 10 Feb 2007 Bree 24aus said

Default_avatar

I would tell them asap.
    You’re a sub so it’s ok.
    Also they’d understand that you’re young and wanting to travel (esp. before med school) –- and it’s what you should be dong! Most people actually be happy and excited for you!