Community_discussions_small  

Comment

NEW TO CONTIKI

15 Dec 2010 Anthony_UK said

Anthony_UK
Hi Guys,
I'm Anthony, 29, single male from England UK. I have always wanted to tour Australia despite tackling the long 22 hour flight from London.

I am new to Contiki and would like to have some advice. What are the best Aussie tours would you recommend? I am very much into city sight seeing but also like to have some adventure in as well.

What are the tours like e.g numbers, nationalities, single travellers, travel and accommodation. I had a look on the website and it looks very good. I am planning to go on travels around September time and want to start in Sydney. So any tips, advice would be more than appreciated, thanks for your time.
  • 30 Dec 2010 Explorer~1987 said

Explorer~1987

I live in Aus and it’s quite a friendly place so if you are traveling alone it won’t matter much cos u will always make friends wherever you go!

I have never done the contiki tour of Aus but u have to see the Great Barrier Reef. It would be good to start at Cairns – It’s stunning so maybe stay a 2 – 3 days before the tour.. Then Maybe finish in Sydney and stay an extra few days.

A few of my friends recently done the Beaches and Reefs tour and had a great time. You Also get to see a few large cities. Also if u get to Aus try to see the Northern Territory – It’s a place u can’t really describe however it’s beautiful.

• 3 Jan 2011 Anthony_UK said

Anthony_UK

Cheers mate, I’m definately tempted by the sound of Beaches and Reefs tour. My brother is working in Sydney at the moment with his wife and baby, so I’m definately going to start in Cairns. Then work my way down the tour to Sydney and maybe stay an extra week in Sydney for souvenir shopping and sight seeing. Would be tempted to walk up the famous harbour bridge though must be an awesome sight on top. Any way thanks for your recommendation.

• 17 Jan 2011 Maid Marian said

Maid Marian

Hi Anthony!