Community_discussions_small  

Comment

best way to take money

10 Apr 2010 Kristy said

Default_avatar
What's the best way to take money? Travellers cheques? Debit cards? It's my first time so i'm not really sure... Smiler
  • 11 Apr 2010 lizzie said

lizzie

hey Im taking some cash.. and then a credit card and a debit card. I use a Nation Australia Bank (NAB) Gold card u pay $10 fee per month unless u deposit 5000 a month into the account but according to the bank (and friends who have previously used this card) u pay no withdrawal fees at atms, conversion fees or fees when using it for a purchase.

• 11 Apr 2010 cdm115 said

cdm115

I only take travelers cheques as a back up form of currency, I can get them for free from my bank so it doesn’t cost me anything.

Otherwise I use an ATM and my credit card.

• 12 Apr 2010 NaHdz said

NaHdz

Travelex Cash Passport all the way! You can get them in Travel Agents, banks or the post office. I know the post office charges about 1% of whatever you load, some Travel Agents only charge a fee of about $20 to set it up for you.
    It’s a great way to carry your money though, it’s only a $3.75 fee each time you take out money and it’s not linked to any of your accounts back home..it’s very very easy and alot cheaper then using your credit card.

• 12 Apr 2010 ptooma said

Default_avatar

Coming from the US, I’m w/ Crissy – ATM & Credit cards.

In #3 from my suggestions Before You Go :

# I brought 2 ATM cards; one was my regular ATM card which I had as backup hidden deep in my suitcase just in case an ATM machine felt hungry or otherwise.
    # The second ATM card is linked to a new second checking account I requested from my credit union specifically just for this trip. I transferred my budgetted spending money for the entire vacation in this second account. Both cards have different PINs.