Community_discussions_small  

Comment

Europe 2011: Saving Tips

4 Nov 2010 EatPrayLove said

EatPrayLove
I'm going on a trip in late August 2011. Does anyone have any smart/sneaky tips for saving up my $$$?? I booked the Contrasts trip at the earlybird rate, I've done the whole moneybox thing, just need to get motivated!! Any help is much appreciated Big Grin
  • 4 Nov 2010 RJ1817 said

RJ1817

get a job?

• 4 Nov 2010 EatPrayLove said

EatPrayLove

um clearly thats already been taken care of, not sure how many unemployed people are able to travel on welfare benefits ?? I’m talking about saving up as much as possible, I’m sure some people out there have some tips to share.

• 4 Nov 2010 Danielle said

Danielle

You’d be surprised how many of them can afford to go overseas – I work as an employment consultant for them and they are always taking off overseas lol…

I’m heading to Europe in August too – ive set up and automatic savings account so each time i get paid the money goes into another account with diff bank that i dont have a card for – before i even see it…. it works for me Smiler<!--graemlin::)--> hope this helps.

• 4 Nov 2010 Jay14 said

Jay14

Take your paychecks, cut it in half. This is what you will live on until you vacay.

The other half of your paycheck, well you know what that will go towards Wink<!--graemlin:;)-->

• 4 Nov 2010 stinaWA said

Default_avatar

I used to be naughty and buy coffee from the cafe across the road, because instant coffee is gross.

Simple tip, buy decent instant coffee. I get nescafe latte satchets. 8 coffees for the price of one.

Little things can make a big difference.

Wink<!--graemlin:;)-->

Christina

• 5 Nov 2010 _*michelle*_ said

Default_avatar