Community_discussions_small  

Comment

cash passport atm cards to use in nz atms....

11 Aug 2008 Megan said

Default_avatar
Hey guys just wondering, this is my first trip to nz and my travel agent has advised i use a cash passport atm card as the charges are only A$3.75 per withdrarwal but i have read that you can only use this card at visa atm's. are all atm's in NZ visa atms??? help hehe cheers!!
Megan Smiler
  • 13 Aug 2008 jadeh said

Default_avatar

Hi Megan
    If your from Aus I highly recommend an anz travel card. It works like a visa so you dont get charged when you use it for eftpos and if you want to do cash out it is like 2 bucks for a transaction. Search on the net for anz travel card. Hope that helps

• 8 Dec 2008 Explorer1113449 said

Default_avatar

hey megan it is my first time travelling to, i just found the westpac to have a good deal they don;t charge any fee’s to use your money just an exchange rate % works out cheaper

• 9 Dec 2008 Jess said

Default_avatar

If you’re Australian, Westpac is definitely the way to go… I think there were westpac branches in nearly all of the major towns/cities we went to (Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Queenstown etc.)… I never had any problems running out of cash because there was always an atm around… So if you can get an account with westpac, i’d do that. The fees they charge are covered by the currency conversion anyway so you’re no worse off.

• 9 Dec 2008 Jess said

Default_avatar

btw, you can only pay for your optionals with Mastercard, Visa or cash (i.e no eft.) so if you don’t have either of those cards, its going to be in your best interest to have cash readily available. I took a Westpac debit, westpac debit Mastercard and a Visa card and never had any dramas.

• 9 Dec 2008 Kav said

Default_avatar

can I use American Express ??

• 20 Dec 2008 subzero said

Default_avatar