Community_discussions_small  

Comment

Italian Espresso review

7 Oct 2010 Lainey said

Default_avatar
reposted as a mod deleted it.

Contiki Italian Espresso Sep 17-Sep 25 2010 Review
Overall = 2/5 stars

I posted this on the official Contiki forums, and it was promptly deleted by the moderators the next day. This is why you never see negative reviews on the official forums.
Would I recommend this tour to anyone? No. I would not recommend this tour to my friends or family or anyone that I like.
Background Information of Why I took the tour:
I've been on other tour companies before and wanted to try Contiki as they had an emphasis that it was geared for younger people.
I travel very often, so I actually don't need a tour. But I just wanted a tour to take care of all of the planning for me as it was a vacation. My day job is all about planning, so I wanted a break.
I was very surprised that I was scrambling every day planning on what to do each day.
I researched online and saw very negative reviews on this tour (not on the Contiki forums mind you). Even as recent in 2010. However, I figured that those people are new to tours and travelling and that they were just complaining, as people tend to just complain (see Tripadvisor for instance).
I am writing this because I felt that there wasn't a detailed enough review of this tour. I would have written this review even if it was a positive experience. Unfortunately, it wasn't.
Price: On the Contiki website, this tour is listed as a Superior experience. However it was to everyone's surprise when the tour manager stated on the first day that this was a budget tour. Considering the price, this was not supposed to be a budget tour.
I visited each hotel's website and took their rates, and the difference of what you pay per day for the tour was ridiculous.
Tour Bus: