Community_discussions_small  

Question

solo travel?

26 Jan 2011 Ems22 asked

Default_avatar

I have never travelled with contiki before and am considering doing a solo trip (possibly Asia) later in the year. Could anybody tell me their experiences of travelling solo as I have never done so before! I will be travelling from the UK, how likely would it be to meet people before travelling at the airport do you think?

• 27 Jan 2011 PatRice said

PatRice

I have travelled solo a few times and had a great time on every occasion. I am planing on going to Asia late in the year, this trip would be my first with Contiki. From my understanding with Contiki, you are with a group, so really you are never alone.

• 27 Jan 2011 KateOgilvie said

KateOgilvie

i have never travelled solo yet but i am doing the big indochina leaving the 20th march 2011 solo! im nervous but should have an amazing time! =]

• 27 Jan 2011 Beks said

Beks

Hey Emily, once you’ve booked your tour you’ll have the opportunity to join/create a conversation in the meeting places section so you’ll be able to touch base with your fellow tour mates. You might then be able to arrange to meet if anyone on your tour is on the same/similar flight.
    If you have any questions or need advice, please just ask – we’d be happy to help.
    ~Beks

• 27 Jan 2011 Explorer1227197 said

Default_avatar

You have some fears in your mind as I guess you have never traveled alone. I have also done few solo backpacking trips and they were great. While traveling with tour companies you basically travel with a group and you can make friends as well. So you need not worry about anything.

• 27 Jan 2011 Andrea-Maree said

Andrea-Maree

i know how you are feeling, i have never ever gone away by myself nor gone overseas and yet in just under a month im flying away and spending a month overseas im scared out of my mind! but i have heard so much great things about contiki and how contiki is the way to go if travelling solo