Community_discussions_small  

Question

I'm new and have packing and travel questions..

30 Jun 2011 worldtraveler123 asked

worldtraveler123

Hi everyone. Im new to contiki. I just booked my 2 trips today!! Im excited, but have some questions. Im going on the Simply Italy 13 days in November, and Im not sure what the weather will be like and what I should pack or not pack. Any Advice? Im also going on the Berlin and Prague 10 days in December? Im not sure what I should pack clothing wise for there either.. Also, what are the opptional excursions like? are they worth it? do I have to pay ahead of time to participate? what are the trips like? how does the free time work into the itinerary? does everyone really drink as much at it seems on these trips??

• 1 Jul 2011 Kaity said

Kaity

November/ December in Europe is there winter so defiantly take lots of warm clothes :) I’m pretty sure that you pay for the optional tours once you are on the tour and that you give the money to the tour manger.
    I haven’t been on a Contiki tour yet (hopefully going on one soon) but I know that winters in Europe can get really cold :) However the up-side of going to Europe in the Winter season is that there will be way less people, so there will be hardly any long lines for the major attractions. :)
    Reading travel blogs are really good, so you can learn from other peoples mistakes. Have a awesome trip! :)

• 4 Jul 2011 Explorer1147179 said

Default_avatar

In addition to what Kaity said, as I have been to many contiki tours :), and loved all of them:
    -The optional excursions are awesome and definitely worth it. You learn a lot and do a lot of different stuff.