Community_discussions_small  

Question

cash passport - atm or debit card?

11 Sep 2011 hanmontana2011 asked

hanmontana2011

Hi all,
I am travelling through Italy and Spain in October and November and wanted some advice on the best cash passport card to purchase. Either a debit card or atm card? obviously i would also carry cash with me....

Thank you

Han

• 11 Sep 2011 Aussie1 said

Default_avatar

have a look at

http://www.28degreescard.com.au/

high exchange rates too. seem like the cheapest way

No international transaction fees. No matter where you are.

Enjoy the freedom of the only Australian credit card¹ with no annual fees, no currency conversion fees and no international transaction fee

• 13 Sep 2011 cdm115 said

cdm115

I would go with debit as you would be able to use it as a credit card or as an atm card. assuming all other things being equal.

• 3 Oct 2011 Kirsten_Bailey said

Kirsten_Bailey

Hi Han,
    I am a travel agent and did a Contiki of Europe last year myself. I definitely suggest the Cash Passport Debit card as it allows you to pay for items by credit in shops/restaurants etc (with NO FEES) as well as withdraw money from an ATM machine if required. The ATM card only allows you to withdraw money from an ATM machine. I tried to use my Debit card as often as possible when making purchases to avoid fees and also as a security measure so i wasn’t carrying heaps of cash around at once. Hope this helps :) Kirsten

• 3 Oct 2011 hanmontana2011 said

hanmontana2011

Hi Kirsten

Thanks for that – very useful – thats what i decided to do :)

• 4 Oct 2011 Aussie1 said

Default_avatar

cash card is good with no fees, but it has a very low exchange rate of money

just got back from europe and the 28 degree card work everywhere( mastercard credit ).( no fees)

i would reccomend 2 cards

28 degree card for all items you need to pay for and a cash card just a small out for any cash you need to get out when your away

• 10 Nov 2011 Maggie said

Maggie