Community_discussions_small  

Comment

Grand Adventurer Jan 08. Needing Advice about EVERYTHING

15 Jun 2007 blodwen181 said

Default_avatar
Hiya,
I'm going on the Grand Adventurer in late January next year, Christchurch to Auckland and while I am aware that I'm sorting things out perhaps a little too early, I can't help myself (far too excited) and I have questions that need answering from people who have already been.

1. While January is the middle of summer, I've heard it can get cold. Should I take a coat and general winter gear or will I be fine with jeans and t-shirts?

2. I've read that we should have $50 a day for spending but being a student, I can't afford nearly that much. I was only going to take enough money for the meals that weren't provided and little extra things, no shopping or anything... a necessary sacrifice. Do you think that I'll be all right or that I should expect to be sepending a lot more?

3. In your experience, cash or credit card, which is better?

4. Is it difficult to find a place and time to do laundry?

5. I want to do sky diving, canyon swinging and white water rafting in queenstown, do you reckon I could fit it all in?

6. What was the accomadation like?

7. Do you have to pay for the travel between the optional extras yourself?

8. Is there a t.v/dvd player on the coach?

While I would appreciate input on this pretensiously numbered list, any useful tips you'd have for the inexperienced traveller would be just dandy.

Thanks a bundle for putting up with my anxious babble,

Sarah.
  • 17 Jun 2007 kazza25 said

Default_avatar

hey sarah. incessant babble it isnt. and its good to think about this stuff early. i went on the explorer last year, and enjoyed it thoroughly, only difference is i went up to the bay of islands.
    1. take a couple of jumpers with you, weather is unpredictable.
    2. ok understanding your a student $50 should be about right, unless you go to the pub every night. but $50 sounds about right.