Community_discussions_small  

Question

Great Britain and Ireland Sept 21-Oct 6 2012

16 Dec 2011 Agent Awesome asked

Agent Awesome

I'm going on the Great Britain and Ireland tour September 21 - October 6 2012, and I'm flying solo! Looking for fellow travellers who might be doing the same!

• 13 Jan 2012 GoodNightmares said

GoodNightmares

Hello, Im Morgan.
    I am doing the same tour as you but I will be flying solo from Sydney.
    It is my first time on a plane too so I am really nervous..

• 13 Jan 2012 Agent Awesome said

Agent Awesome

Have you not gone on a short flight before either? Long flights aren’t too bad, just make sure you bring and iPod and a book, there’s plenty of movies to watch to kill time. Also getting a hold of some sleeping pills from your doc can help, sometimes it’s not easy to get to sleep so it can help alot. I’ve never flown overseas alone before, so I’m a little nervous about that myself. Where do you stop over?

• 14 Jan 2012 GoodNightmares said

GoodNightmares

Not even a short flight.. But I stop at Dubai for 2 hrs on the way. I arrive in London at 12:15pm on Thursday the 20th. It is going to be quite an experience I believe haha (:

• 14 Jan 2012 Agent Awesome said

Agent Awesome

Haha it will be an experience, but you’ll be fine :) I find that longer flights are better, because on the bigger planes you don’t feel as many bumps and everything when you’re flying. The first time I flew to LA, I thought it was a breeze! You won’t get much sleep, but you’ll watch plenty of movies, eat some average food and amuse yourself otherwise :) I have to stop over for about 2 and a half hours in Hong Kong on the way (from Adelaide) and 8 hours on the way back! Not looking forward to that! I get in to London on Monday the 17th at 6am. My friend who I met on my last Contiki is going to come meet me at the airport and help me to my hotel :) Can’t wait to go! Have you been on Contiki before?

• 14 Jan 2012 GoodNightmares said

GoodNightmares