Community_discussions_small  

Question

Best of USA - April or May start?

28 Jan 2012 Olga asked

Default_avatar

Hi everyone, I am planning to go on the Best of USA tour starting LA but have a lot of trouble deciding between the two dates - April 19-May 2 and May 24-June 6. My main concern is how comfortable the weather will be for sightseeing and lots of walking (especially in New York since I am planning to spend a few extra days there after the tour is over). I tried looking at a few weather sites but the info seems to vary. Can somebody suggest anything based on their experience? I want to go when it's a bit cool but not so cold that you have to limit the time spent outdoors.

Any help will be greatly appreciated (I really need to make up my mind asap!).

• 30 Jan 2012 AAB90 said

AAB90

Hi Olga

I am doing this tour on April 19-May 2 because it’s closest to the middle of spring in the norther hemisphere.

I have no prior experience but if you need an answer asap then I can tell you based on my research that Los Angeles and San Francisco seem to be cold because of the Mediterranean climate zone. Average is 17 degrees in April and 19 in May. Las Vegas is in the middle of the desert so it will be very hot with little rain, probably around 30 degree or so days but less in April. Im not so sure about NY, it looks the same as California but gets hotter from April to May by 6 degrees average.

A bit vague I know but I hope it helps, heres the FB page for the April 19 – May 2 tour date – http://www.facebook.com/groups/310876608931103/

• 30 Jan 2012 Olga said

Default_avatar

Hi there, thanks for your reply, that’s actually a pretty good summary of what to expect weather-wise. Did you look at any particular weather site or just did some random googling? I’ll be sure to check out the facebook group!

• 1 Feb 2012 AAB90 said

AAB90