Community_discussions_small  

Question

Anyone worried about the terrorist attacks in Peru

14 Feb 2012 missvixen asked

Default_avatar

I am booked for for the august 2012 Peru uncovered including inca trail. I am worried about this travel advisory http://www.voyage.gc.ca/countries_pays/report_rapport-eng.asp?id=238000 . It says to avoid all travel including Cuzco... Has anyone else considered this? I have never done a contiki tour before so am unsure if contiki will cancell if it is too bad. Are there people here slated to leave soon? Anyone have any info?

• 16 Feb 2012 Brenda said

Default_avatar

Hi, I wouldn’t worry about it if I were you. I’m from New Zealand and I lived in Peru for a year on a student exchange a couple of years ago and travelled around quite a bit in that year and I’ve been to Cuzco twice and never had any problems, Cuzco is a city filled with tourists which attracts pick-pockets and that type of thing so as long as you watch bag and not go wondering by yourself down an ally it’s usually fine.
    I travelled there once with friends from my school in Peru and another time when I returned to Peur a year later with my NZ family and both times never had any issues and we weren’t with a big tour group either.
    I love Peru and am planning to go back again in a couple of years, I could easily live there again and feel safe. Anything else I can help with just ask =)

• 19 Feb 2012 JenniBeth23 said

JenniBeth23