Community_discussions_small  

Question

Contiki tour vs. backpacking??

25 Jul 2006 nat_brook asked

Default_avatar
Hi there, just curious...I've never traveled overseas before, and do not know whether to go with a tour group for my first time or give backpacking a try?  Me and a couple of friends are considering the European Vista tour in May of 2007.  I guess my main concern is about the length of travel between countries.  On the Contiki tours, about what percentage of the trip is spent on a bus?  Thanks for any help!!

Natalie
  • 26 Jul 2005 Sarah Smiles said

Default_avatar

Well, I am an accountant, so details and numbers thrill me Smiler<!--graemlin::)--> j/k but this is what I did for my upcoming tour. I had the same concern that you did b/c I am going to have to go on a much shorter tour this time (I have done the Euro Vista and it is awesome!!!! I absolutely recommend it!). I went to my favorite driving directions website and clicked on the international button and I actually calculated the mileage and driving time between each city. The routes are all outlined on each tour’s web page so it wasn’t that hard. Some days will be longer than others but there are usually interesting stops along the way to help break up the driving time. To be able to cover so many great cities all over Europe, all in one tour, travelling time is a necessary evil. It wasn’t that bad though – there is great scenery to look at, new Contiki friends to talk to, and of course, time for a quick nap Smiler<!--graemlin::)-->
    I hope that helps with your decision
    Happy Travels
    Sarah

• 8 Aug 2006 melsescapade said

Default_avatar

Hey,
    I completly agree with Chelle. Do some independent research before you decide.Saing that lots of people end up doing both a tour and backpacking, provding they have enough funds! Doing one may make you appriciate the other more as they are different experiences. For a different perspective check out;
    http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com