Community_discussions_small  

Comment

SCUBA diving

16 Sep 2006 brcpar said

Default_avatar
Ok, I'm going on the Beeches and Reefs tour in a few months and the SCUBA option looked appealing to me. I have never SCUBA dived before but it says that beginners are welcome as well. My question is though is it worth it if I've never done it before? Or will I be spending most of my time learning how to do it than actually doing it? Also, I've heard of horror stories about people getting there and then being told they couldn't do it because they didn't have a physical from an Australian doctor; if anyone could shed light on that too, it would be great.

- Brce
  • 17 Sep 2006 ptooma said

Default_avatar

If you plan on taking SCUBA lessons (See ProDive Cairns), talk to your local dive shop about health and preexisting medical conditions regarding diving. There are many medical conditions that will disqualify you from diving !!!! Ask to see the preexisting medical conditions declarations in the package that new student are required to fill out when signing up for Open Water Diver (OWD) Scuba classes. PADI medical declaration form. If any of these apply to you, then you would probably automatically be disqualified from scuba diving. OWD certification is the basic training that allows you to dive anywhere (within OWD limits) without an instructor and is recognized world wide by all agencies (PADI, NAUI, YMCA, BSAC, SSI, etc).

Other requirements: you need to be is a reasonably decent swimmer who is comfortable and relaxed in the water. The swimming requirement for certification is:

• 183 metre/200 yard nonstop swim (with no time or specific stroke requirement) or a 300 metre/yard snorkel with mask, fins and snorkel
  • 10 minute simple tread/float exercise.