Big Indochina Adventure

Tour Length
25 days
From
US$3652
Overview Reviews

  • Jess
  • Jess
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure

Big Indochina Adventure

27 Nov 2013 - 21 Dec 2013

Amazing, incredible, insane. This trip changed my life forever! And it can't be explained unless you experience it. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is thinking about doing it. The experiences I had, the people I met and the things I saw will stay with me forever. My tour guide was unreal, professional during the day and partied with us at night. I met the most amazing people from all over the world and some of these I will regard as friends for life. I could not say one single negative thing about Contiki or this trip. Do it!

Review written Mar 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing , Incredible, Insane

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Liv
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!!

15 Jul 2012 - 08 Aug 2012

I can't even begin to explain how amazing this trip was from beginning to end - everything you could imagine and more!!! Wild ping pong shows in Bangkok, hanging out with tigers, riding elephants, tubing in laos, swimming in waterfalls and exploring beautiful Vietnam..this trip was unforgettable!! Met the most amazing people from all over the world, and our tour manager was the best! If you're thinking about going to Asia, book this trip now - you will have the time of your life!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Alexandra
  • Alexandra
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing (and cheap) trip!!

06 Jan 2013 - 30 Jan 2013

This tour was absolutely incredible. My mum did a similar tour with Intrepid a couple of years ago and always went on about how amazing it was over there, so I knew I had to go. I did this tour in January of 2013 with one of my friends who I met on my Europe Contiki tour. We had such an amazing time and the tour just made us even better and closer friends. The other travellers were all so amazing. One thing that is certain when you travel on a big tour like this, is that you will meet some really great, interesting and entertaining people. We made some friends who (as I said about my last tour) I know we will be friends for a lifetime.

A lot of people joined the Contiki meet up online for our tour, so we got to talk to a few other travellers before the tour actually started. My friend started up a Facebook group so that we could talk and get to know each other even more easily, which I found was really good. For the first couple of days that we were there before the tour started we were able to get in touch and meet up with some people early.

Our tour manager, Rory, was a little seedy to be honest. He never made a move on me (he wouldn't dare!) but I know that he did on a couple of the other girls, and they found it really uncomfortable... which obviously sucked. He did however give us a 'Rory's Tips' page in each of the more major destinations we went which I did find to be fairly helpful and all the local drivers and tour guides we got in each location were very knowledgeable and friendly.

South East Asia is so cheap, so it's really easy to find nicer accommodation at reasonably cheap prices. All the hotels we stayed at were in excellent locations, clean and comfortable (some were actually really fancy! - Chiang Rai for example).

It is winter over there during that time of year, so the weather was perfect! It only rained once the whole time we were there, that was one morning in Hoi An. Other than that it was blue skies and perfect temperature. Bangkok was pretty humid, but where I live it's like that all the time so I'm used to it. In the more Northern regions it was a little chilly, but all you needed was a cardigan or a light hoodie.

As the weather is so nice that time of year, all you really need to pack is shorts and t-shirts (and a cardigan). Oh, and a few casual dresses for night time. It's is so casual and chilled out over there, so don't take anything fancy because chances are you won't ever wear it. For shoes, thongs or sandals are fine. I lived in my Country Road jelly sandals.

I did all the optional extras. There aren't that many and they are all pretty cheap so I recommend that you do them all. The cooking class in Vietnam was so good. We all cooked up a storm and the marinated chicken we made was to die for! The Kuang Si Waterfalls was also another must. It was so beautiful there. The water is an incredible baby blue and the waterfalls cascade down one another. The water absolutely freezing. It's like that all year round, but it's so worth going in, you'll regret it if you don't. Honestly, you can't go all that way and not go in! There is a rope swing and a higher waterfall you can jump off into the main swimming area, but you can even choose any of the other more private ones to swim in. Also, the day trip out snorkelling in Nha Trang was another great optional extra.

In Vang Vieng we did a couple of extra activities that weren't apart of Contiki's optional extras. We got Rory to organise them for us. We had one of the funnest, funniest, action packed days every. In the morning we went for an 11km kayak (not as bad as it sounds - we are beginner level kayakers), which included a little caving (which was so scary… he made me go first into a pitch black cave with water up to my armpits and just said 'Go! Walk until you reach the shore!'... Excuses me, mate, I've seen Anacondas! I know what happens next). After that we had some spare time so we went and hired scooters and cruised around doing mainies (for anyone who isn't Australian - that basically means driving up and down the main street. We're so cool, I know!). We ended the day by going hot air ballooning, but I swear our balloon driver didn't know what he was doing because we crashed into 2 trees and then crash landed in a bunch of trees! That was one of my favourite days of the whole tour.

The food everywhere was amazing. I love Thai curry! I couldn't get enough of it. Although, I am a pretty fussy eater and I think I may have gotten the whole way through Laos without eating any of the local food. All the food and drink is extremely cheap. It really hurt when I got home and tried to order a cocktail only to remember it is $18, not $2 like over there. That truly broke my heart… and because it is so cheap I came back with pretty much all my spending money I went over with.

This tour was spectacular. The only thing that was slightly annoying about the tour is in a lot of the main sights you didn't get nearly enough time for photos. However, I still would 100% recommend this tour to anyone. It is so cheap and there is so much to see and explore. With all the sights, smells, and sounds you can't help but appreciate the culture. I have gained so many fond new memories and friends and I couldn't be more grateful. I'd say this tour is ideal for anyone looking to travel, you can do it on a budget or go all out, it's up to you! I will definitely be back to South East Asia, you can count on that.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible, Fun, Cheap

event 0.3
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

10/11

22 Jul 2012 - 15 Aug 2012

This was a great tour overall. Awesome tour manager. Great locations, different from anything you see around here. Really mixed aged groups which is great. I went as a single traveller and made so many life long friends. Accommodation was really nice, Mostly hotels. transport was good, did not spend too much time on planes or buses. Definitely do it all over again.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing , Adventurous , Wild

event 0.3
  • Z
  • Z
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Did this 2 years ago and I still dream of it

24 Apr 2011 - 18 May 2011

The best contiki experience for me ever. The people are much more mature and down to earth than the folks I met during my past euro tours. From the first day to the last, the experiences shared and friendships forged are forever. I still talk with my tour mates, met up with a few since then also.

Unlike most people, sadly, I don't really go over the brochure, I simply pin point the package that works best for me and looks fun, then simply go for it. So everyday was pretty much an enjoyable surprise :D. Laos for me was the most unexpected delightful surprise for me. Loads to do there.
Vietnam, was quite an experience, got sooo many clothes made, that I still wear till date. Great food, Ha Long Bay was divine!! Good times!

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: great, awesome, divine

event 0.3
  • CarolineSC
  • CarolineSC
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Most Amazing Trip Ever!

30 Dec 2012 - 23 Jan 2013

I strongly recommend this tour! This trip has so much to offer... Culture, Adventure, Night Life & so much more that words cannot describe. Our tour guide Paddy was amazing. I've had great tour guides in the past but he is number 1 in my book! After finishing in Hanoi I decided to extend my trip & go back to Laos for 12 more days because I absolutely fell in love with the country. I can't imagine anyone not having the time of their life. I will definitely be back & I thank Contiki for this awesome fantastic experience!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life Changing, Adventure

event 0.3
  • MaryMo
  • MaryMo
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Go With the Flow...

10 Jun 2012 - 04 Jul 2012

Everything is a little bit different in Asia, sometimes things don't go as planned (for example an overturned truck in the middle of the road in Laos that caused some delays, music videos being shot at the Bangkok train station etc..) But those are the things that make for fun experiences! (You never know what you are going to get with Asia)(But I guarantee you will love it!) This trip was so much fun! Be prepared to do a lot of sightseeing in a short amount of time. You will love Thailand- everything is so cheap, and it is a fun and exciting place to start your trip. Laid back Laos is AMAZING. Seriously, Laos is the best! Cambodia gives you insight to Southeast Asia, and the culture there is truly unlike any other you will experience. Vietnam is fast-paced, adventurous and Halong Bay is well..... You will have to take the trip to experience it!

Don't take this trip if you just want to check off boxes to say that you have been to Southeast Asia. Don't take this trip just because you want to go where they filmed the Hangover II. Take this trip if you have ever wanted to experience Southeast Asia for the amazing sights, scenery and way of life. A truly awesome experience.

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Same Same, But Different

event 0.3
  • Nathan
  • Nathan
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Want to go back!

06 Nov 2011 - 30 Nov 2011

Best time ever, fav was definitely Laos (Tubing). Was insane. Be careful about the 'special menus' tho haha

Review written Feb 2012

event 0.3
  • Courtney
  • Courtney
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

I had an unbelievable time with Contiki, met some amazing people who I spent Christmas and New years with. Great way to travel as everything is planned for you! Our guide was so much fun and we saw some amazing places. There are a lot of temples and culture to take in, but still plenty of bars by night. The hotels were all beautiful and was blown away by Laos, if you love to party, prepare yourself for Laos! Would go back in a heart beat!

Review written Apr 2011

My Contiki was: Culture, Adventure, Cocktails

event 0.3
  • Duffman
  • Duffman
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Big Indochina Adventure
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

Review written Sep 2010

My Contiki was: Phenomenal , Awesome, Life changing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 24 nights accommodation: 20 nights in 3-star hotels, 2 nights in a guesthouse, 1 night on an overnight train, 1 night on an overnight cruise
  • 34 meals: 24 breakfasts, 5 lunches & 5 dinners
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & English-speaking local guides
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations
  • Local taxes, payments & service charges
  • 6 internal flights
  • Transport & included sightseeing

Exclusive Team

Experienced Contiki Tour Manager, Local English-speaking guides

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Long-tail boat tour of the waterways and canals
  • Overnight train to Chang Mai
See More

Me Time

  • Group Photo at Bangkok’s Grand Palace
  • Thai cooking class
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$146
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

10 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.