Beaches and Reefs (Start Cairns)

Tour Length
16 days
From
US$2235
Overview Reviews

Beaches and Reefs (Start Cairns)

A really great tour of east coast Australia

30 Jan 2016 - 12 Feb 2016

The tour itself was amazing and I loved every minute!
I believe this is mainly down to having such an amazing tour manager, Paddy Davis. I feel it necessary to let you know what an amazing employee you have on board representing Contiki. He is a real credit to your team. Through my travelling experiences I’ve been on several tours and I can tell you I’ve never had a more knowledgeable, helpful, considerate tour leader. He looked after the whole group from start to finish and nothing was ever too much trouble even if he was working away planning ahead for us at the front of the coach. He helped me to decide where I would travel to next after the tour ended and provided me with helpful contacts.
For a lot of us, it was our first time to Australia and I feel we had the best experience we could get. Paddy has such a natural ability to talk on our level and provide us with not only necessary, but also really interesting information ahead of the next destination. The day sheets were always well written, detailed and informative so we knew exactly what was happening or where we needed to be. Gary who was our coach driver also deserves a mention as he was very friendly, helpful and professional throughout.
The trip itself was epic. I really felt like we got to see the highlights of the east coast and it wasn’t too rushed. I was worried that a group of 50 people would taint the experience but I think it actually worked pretty well and we had a nice amount of time to get to know everybody. I really enjoyed to extra activities provided and the included meals were all really nice. I would definitely consider booking another tour with Contiki in the future thanks to a great first experience.

Review written Apr 2016

My Contiki was: epic, memorable, amazing

event 0.3
  • rachyroooo
  • rachyroooo
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Beaches and Reefs (Start Cairns)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

great way to do the east coast in a short time

18 Jul 2015 - 31 Jul 2015

This was a great way to see a lot of Australia in a very short space of time. Yes, it was very rushed - and a lot of people complained about that - but we covered a LOT of ground in two weeks so it obviously was never going to be at a leisurely pace. If I had travelled Australia on my own, I would've just gone to the big cities and missed out on a lot of the really cool places I got to visit while on Contiki simply because I never knew they existed - particularly the Whitsundays and Fraser Island, which are both BEAUTIFUL! The night on the farm was also one of my favourites, and I really wasn't looking forward to that. It was a shame that there weren't many optional activities on this tour (compared to another Contiki that I have done), and the ones that were available were very pricey but I suppose that was because most of the places we went to were relaxing beachy places and not places where there is tons to do! But we still had a great time. The included meals were all really good, and great accommodation everywhere (except for Coffs Harbour but that was just a surf camp so couldn't really expect anything fancy). I've rated it four stars instead of five simply because the group was a bit cliquey and therefore I didn't enjoy it as much as my previous Contiki as people didn't integrate that well, but that's just something you can't predict or control. All in all it was a great way to see the East Coast and although it was rushed, I now know which places I want to go back to! I would recommend it for people who just want to take it easy and not have to worry too much about where they're going or staying, but lots of people got annoyed with how controlled it was and wanted to feel more like travellers so wouldn't recommend for those who are a bit more spontaneous and would rather build their trip as they go.

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: beautiful , busy, exhausting

event 0.3
  • Colleen
  • Colleen
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 1 Country
Beaches and Reefs (Start Cairns)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Greatest trip ever!

29 Jan 2014 - 15 Feb 2014

I had hands down the greatest time in Australia. From the gorgeous views to the tasty food! I took advantage of sky diving in Cairns and it was the best thing I've ever done, I recommend everyone do it even if you're scared. Everyone on the tour got along so there was always someone to hang out with. I'll never forget laying out under the stars on the farm stay. It was breath-taking! I only wish we were able to spend more time in Byron bay... and that the trip was longer! There was nothing on the trip that I didn't love!

Review written Feb 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing , The beach! , Loved it!

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 15 nights multi-share accommodation: 11 nights in resorts, 1 night in an eco-lodge, 1 night in a hostel, 1 night in a surf school village, 1 night at a cattle station lodge
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • National Park fees, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities

Food

  • 22 meals:
  • 15 breakfasts
  • 1 lunch
  • 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • 4 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Pass through Tully, home to Australia's best whitewater rafting
  • Pass Hinchinbrook Island - Australia's largest island national park
See More

Me Time

  • Outer Barrier Reef Cruise
  • Skydive Australia
  • Outer Barrier Reef Cruise
  • Cruise Whitsundays Camira Day Sail
  • Winery & Exotic Fruit Orchard
  • Tandem Skydiving
  • Southern Cross 4WD night tour
  • Byron Bay Kayaking 3hrs
  • Harbour Bridge climb
  • Sydney Opera House Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$139
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.