The Expedition

Tour Length
22 days
From
US$1933
Overview Reviews

  • Lauren
  • Lauren
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
The Expedition
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was literally the best 21 days of my life, the people, the places and our tour manager, bus driver and cook made it all the more amazing!

05 Sep 2012 - 25 Sep 2012

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Ridiculous, Buck Wild, Amazing

event 0.3
The Expedition

The time of my life!

29 Jun 2011 - 19 Jul 2011

I can honestly say that while on the Expedition i had the time of my life! I was luck y and had the trifecta: Great Contiki Crew, Great people and great countries. Don't be turned off by camping this was the best way to do it. our group would hang out and became a family for three weeks, i have made friends that i will keep in touch with for a long time. Oh and the foods better when your camping :D

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing!, Stressfree, Experience-of-a-lifetime

event 0.3
The Expedition
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

04 Sep 2010 - 24 Sep 2010

The greatest moment of my life,
the experences i had i will treasure for the rest of my life

2012 New Zealand here i come

Review written May 2011

event 0.3
  • WildRide
  • WildRide
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
The Expedition
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

16 Aug 2010 - 07 Sep 2010

All contiki wants is to get your money, for e.g. I couldn't meet the group in London and met them in paris instead the second day, so I basically saved contiki a ferry ride ticket and a hotel night in london, and how was I rewarded for this, I was not given a sleeping bag (because they only have the free ones in london), if you want one in Paris you have to buy it for 35 euros, although it is the same damn sleeping bag!!!! Also, I had a $100 voucher with my package to be used towards excursions. The excahnge rate during my trip was about 73 euro for $100, however contiki insisted that I only get 60 euros for that and had me pay extra 12 euros for a 72 euro excursion that I decided to take with $100 voucher. During the course of the trip as well, all what contiki cares about is that you go party in the campsites bars which are run by contiki and buy drinks there so that they make even more money off of you

The trip is a huge waste of time since the bus drives are always in the morning and they are usually about 8 hrs each, so you waste 8 hours every two days basically going from one country to the other. The campsites are also very far away from downtown and the tour bus does not do night drop offs/pickups so if you want to hit the city later at night to enjoy the nightlife, you will have to take a cab out of your own pocket averaging 30-50 euros each way. The food at the campsite was often not enough to make you full as well so I had to purchase snacks all the time.

The tour managers are very rude, they treat you like a school kid, never listen to any suggestions from the group and have no license to guide in most countries so you are basically on your own

MY RECOMMENDATION: TAKE THE EURO TRAIN AND STAY AT YOUTH HOSTELS
you will end up spending less money, staying at accomodation that is much better and way closer to the city center of each country, and not having to deal with contiki trying to rip you off on every occasion

Review written Oct 2010

My Contiki was: bad value for money, very poor organization, very remote and run down campsites

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 21 nights accommodation: 18 nights in twin-share tents (including air mattresses), 2 nights in hostel upgrade, 1 night in a hotel (twin-share)
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager, Driver & Cook team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 32 meals included in your food fund
  • 20 breakfasts
  • 12 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$87
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.