European Adventurer

Tour Length
38 days
From
US$5825
Overview Reviews

  • KristinaJ
  • KristinaJ
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Adventurer

Adventurer Review

07 Jun 2013 - 13 Jul 2013

On this tour I got to see all the expected sights, landmarks, historic places everything you can imagine, I got to experience new culture, cuisines, lessons in life and pretty much live the dream for 37 days with people I had never met who now mean soo soo much to me! I didnt know what to expect and was quite scared to do Contiki as i was going by myself, but come Day 1 of the tour, there was no need to worry!

My tour manager was amazing and has become a good friend, our driver the same! The optionals were a lot of fun! Transport was perfect, our driver even did extra pick ups on some nights we went out when it was too far to get home by taxi! They went above and beyond for us! The meals that were supplied were fine, they were good, most of them were buffet style so we got to choose what we wanted. Lots of people said the food was shit, but to me it was really better then I expected, as was the accomodation. Previous to my trip people warned me that some places would be dodgy and I wouldnt like it / feel safe.. So automatically I expected the worst. However as they say 'Expect the worst get the best' thats what happened! Accomodation was fine, there were 1 or 2 places that would probably be rated 2 stars (just a guess) but honestly, it was NOT bad at all for A Concept Tour (budget trip) I really enjoyed the Generator Hostel in Barcelona and The hostel in Ljubljana was amazing (the old bank) Most places had free wifi which was handy for being homesick!!!

All the Contiki sites were ALOT of fun, they really entertained us, provided us with yummy food, made us feel at home it was great :) So were the Contiki Staff at the campsites. Luke in Venice, Tyson in Rome and Kate (somewhere in Italy) were some I really got along with!

Tour mates were amazing, I think we all really got lucky! We had an amazing group. I had too many amazing moments, none of which would make sense to anyone that wasn't / hasn't on the tour or done a Contiki! I truly lived with #noregrets. I even got it tattooed on my foot (minus the hashtag haha)

One thing I will add for anyone that reads this or plans to go on a Contiki is:
THESE ARE VITAL FOR YOUR TRIP! -
- Cold and Flu Tablets (strong ones)
- Multi vitamins / vitamin C
- Scissors
- Insect repellent & cream for bites (YOU WILL GET BITTEN especially in Italy and Greece)
- Lots of sunscreen (Aussie sunscreen is perfect as we've got the strongest sun in the world, especially in comparison to Europe - also sunscreen over there is expensive)
- If your a girl lots of spare for that time of the month!!! Its a little tricky to find good stuff over there
- Bed bug spray
..and im sure theres a couple other things but i cant think right now!

Anyways best time of my life!!! I reccommend to anyone and everyone! Also GO SOLO! I wouldnt change anything about going by myself - you really wake up to urself and learn life lessons !

LIVE LIFE WITH #NOREGRETS Contiki Style!!!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Life, Changing, Experiences

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Adventurer

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Amber
  • Amber
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Adventurer

Ah-mazing!!!

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

This trip was soooo much fun. We had a great group of people, a great team (Bart and Cindy), and the most amazing places to visit!! The accommodation was better than I expected in a concept tour, and despite the long drive days the bus really wasn't so bad!!

From escargot in Paris (gross BTW) to lazing by the beach in Mykonos, to cruising in Dubrovnik and walking around the colosseum in Rome and paragliding in Austria, this tour doesn't disappoint.

Anyone wanting a real taste of Europe should definitely book this tour - I learned the places I definitely want to go back to, and the ones I really don't. But overall a great experience that I'll never forget my whole life!!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: BEST, TIME, EVER

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A-MAZING

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

This tour was absolutely incredible!! This was my first Contiki and my first time overseas; at 19 tand going by myself his was pretty daunting for me but Contiki made sure I had nothing to worry about. This tour is pretty darn fast paced, but this let us see and do soooo much in just over 5 weeks. This tour was really good though because about halfway we stayed for 3 nights in Mykonos which is really good recovery time!! This trip was great too cause we stayed in a lot of Contiki stopovers - these are so much fun because you get to hang out with the awesome Contiki crew and there are often other Contiki groups staying there too that you will meet up with at various points. Definitely the trip to do if you want to see it all, I chose this one over the Ultimate European as this one went through Croatia and was that bit more affordable. Honestly the best thing I have ever done, European Adventurer is just AWESOME, you will have no regrets!!

This tour was also super affordable when you think about everything that is included - transport across Europe (not taxis), all accommodation, all breakfasts and half your dinners, a far bit of sightseeing/local tours, discounted drinks in some places and much more!

I am definitely glad I went by myself even though I was pretty scared, because it takes you out of your comfort zone and I have made some lifelong friends for sure. Spending 5 weeks with the same people, you become like family! This is one of the major advantages of a long tour I think - by the end we were all so close.

You will have the time of your LIFE on this tour! - Highly recommended!
I would give it 10 stars if I could!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Lifelong friends, See Everything, Awesome fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • sarah
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
European Adventurer

European Adventurer Summer 2012

25 May 2012 - 30 Jun 2012

This holiday was amazing. It covered all the normal european must see places and some of the off the beaten track onse. I have to say this tour was well thought out and put togeather. Our driver and tour manager were amazing!!
I would recommend this tour, however it is a long one so be sure you have the stemina for it

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: amazing, off the beaten track, includes everything

event 0.3
  • Nat
  • Nat
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My European Adventure

26 Aug 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

This was the most amazing 37 days of my life and I had such a great group of people to experience it with :)

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unique, Cultured

event 0.3
  • Mike56
  • Mike56
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Just Do It

01 Sep 2011 - 09 Oct 2011

Wow and Awesome is the only way to describe my time with Contiki on the European Adventurer. Every single day of the tour I would wake up and think to myself it cant get any better than yesterday and somehow it would. The awesome thing about this tour is you get to see an incredible amount of Europe in a very short time. And you get to see a lot of cool things and places you might not have otherwise seen on your own. This tour is not for the faint of heart, it is 37 days of go, go, go all day all night, until your body finally makes you got to bed early a few nights on penalty of keeling over. I feel like I had an exceptional TM, Driver, and group so that made the experience that much better. Definitely made some life long friends. This tour was worth every penny and definitively the best thing Ive ever done. The accommodations were clean and basic, exactly what I expected as it was a budget tour. The included food is usually high carb type filler food.

Tips/Reccomendations
- fly into London a few days early so u can actually see some of london and get over your jet lag
-do all the optionals, yes some are a bit overpriced but all in all they are worth it and u will have a great time
-I would have available and plan on spending 4-5000 usd maybe more on top of the tour price for when ur in Europe
-I think this is one of the most affordably priced tours on here especially for the length of time and how much you get to see, just do it, you wont regret it.

Review written Nov 2011

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Chelsea
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Creating life stories

21 Aug 2010 - 26 Sep 2010

This is the big one. Well, it was my big one. The O.E. Contiki that just has to be done, it is a right of passage.

Be prepared to be awed, nervous, surprised, and totally overwhelmed. This is a massive trip, and there is a lot cram in. Days will begin to blur as you lose track of where you are, where you're coming from, and where you're heading. Thank god for your fantastic tour manager and bus driver who will make things flow and work, even when you are driving them crazy. The things you will see, the experiences you will have, with 50 of your newest and closest friends will be something you wont ever forget and seems impossible to explain. 37 days of continuous travel, yet by the end we would have gotten right back on that bus and done it all again.

The word on everyone's lips: Money. The answer is: a lot. I didn't take nearly enough in cash and maxed out my credit card. Whatever your budget, you will blow it. Take your budget and double it.

Girls, I spent a lot of time fretting about what shoes to take. I think I wore heels maybe three times. Dinner and a show in Paris, Monte Carlo Casino, night clubbing in Florence. You don't need heels. If you really want them, bring one pair or better yet buy a pair in Paris! Anything more than that is a waste of space and you're going to be lugging that suitcase all over the place.

Money belt. I took one. Never used it. Just be aware and don't invite people to take your things by leaving bags unzipped etc.

Optionals: I did most of them, and they definitely add to the experience.

I learnt: Don't get too wrecked the night before visiting a city etc. I did this in Venice ("Amnesia" they call the drink... and foolishly this didn't concern me at the time) and subsequently I hated Venice because I was hungover and wanted to die. Fail.

Highlights: Soooo many awesome times, but I'll try name a few of my favourite spots. Mykonos - lazy warm days drinking frozen mojitos by the pool from breakfast, jet skiing in the afternoon, partying in the evenings. Dubrovnik, Croatia - a beautiful paradise with the old town looking like something out of fairy tales and the gorgeous ocean (also, bucket cocktails). The afternoon boat cruise is a MUST! Both Austria and Switzerland are beautiful and the excursions recommended (mountain biking, paragliding, train to "the top of Europe" to play in the snow). French Chateau picnic is a great way to spend time getting to know tour mates and the walk is worth is for the view and yummy lunch. Barcelona and Florence were also fabulous stops.

I have toured with Contiki again since this tour and I would, and hope to, travel with them again. Enough said.

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: Intense, Fantastic, Life-changing

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Apr 2010 - 19 May 2010

What an amazing, exhausting whirl wind of an experience! I had the absolute time of my life and I couldn't have asked for a better tour manager, bus driver and travel mates to share the experience with. To anyone thinking of going on contiki ... DO IT! You will not regret it!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Exciting, Adventure

event 0.3
  • Ali
  • Ali
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

24 Jun 2011 - 30 Jul 2011

I had the most amazing time. I met 51 incredible people and had the time of my life. honestly have not one complaint (other then an unfortunate event of bedbugs in vienna) -- but that can't be prevented.
My tour manager, Jude Knam was fantastic. She gave 110%. She'd give us all the info we needed from history, to guided maps of all the great places to visit. She'd be up late with us, and be up and ready to go the next morning. She did a fantastic job. Very happy. Our bus driver was quite a character. He handled all tricky situations well and we all feel in love with him quickly.
All in all, i had an amazing time and i would recommend to contiki to everyone!!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Sightseeing, fun -- partying, amazing :)

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

18 Jun 2010 - 24 Jul 2010

I'd recommend this tour to everyone... I've never had such an awesome time in my life!! We visited so many cool places and made so many new friends. Contiki staff were also very awesome and professional! If you want the full Europe experience I'd recommend this tour as you also get to go through Greece, Albania, Croatia, Slovenia etc which not many other tours do!

Review written Nov 2010

My Contiki was: Memories, Crazy, Awesome

event 0.3
  • Jason
  • Jason
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

23 Jul 2010 - 28 Aug 2010

This tour has been fantastic from start to finish. There is a lot of travel days in order to get around to all the countries and I totally under estimated my spending money. But apart from that its been great.

One bit of advice, what ever your budget is "double it". There are unexpected costs that come into play. Taking taxis home from night clubs and bars, public transport costs and walk about dinners not to mention the tipping for resturants.

I brought over 2,600 euros and I should of brought 5,000 euros. Just trust me on this one.

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: costs, budget, adventurer

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 37 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 3 nights in Mykonos Beach Resort, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 8 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 11 nights in hotel upgrade, 8 nights in hostels, +1 night on board a ferry
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive On-Site Teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers

Exclusive Food

  • 59 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 36 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 22 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$153
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
12 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.