European Adventurer

Tour Length
38 days
From
US$5669
Overview Reviews

  • jjamez_
  • jjamez_
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

THE BEST EUROPEAN ADVENTURE !

27 Jun 2014 - 02 Aug 2014

Extremely Good Value, Amazing Times, Amazing People and One Flipping Amazing Adventure.

Where do I start ...

The tour is an amazing one at that. Amongst spending 37 completely fun filled days with your new best travel buds, the tour offers you the exposure to the best places in Europe.

Firstly, I want to say that choosing a longer tour rather than a shorter one, is an extremely good choice. I spoke with many others on shorter tours and they seemed to go too quick. Additionally, you don't have enough time to get to know others on your tour - which is a big shame.

If you are a solo traveler this is also the trip for you, most of the people on our tour were solo and found it extremely easy to make friends - by the end, we all were close mates, ones who will be till the day we die.

The value is amazing, all breakfasts were included, and some weren't fantastic but it definitely exceeded my expectations as to what I thought I was going to get. 37 days to have included breakfast, travel, accommodation and extras such as free shots and guided tours is unreal. Straight up you will not find better value and inclusions for the same amount of exposure to so many countries than you will on the Contiki European Adventurer.

As a first time traveler, my goal was to see as many countries as I possibly could, on a budget, within a six week time-frame. The thing that I loved about this tour, is that it gave me a snapshot of Europe's best, so that I could both say A) I have been there and B) I knew which places I wanted to go to and spend more time when I went back.

The one massive misconception about Contiki trips is the accommodation. Yes, you do stay in hostels, however European hostels are fantastic, they are clean and obtain decent facilities and amenities - and we had at least 10 nights in Hotel upgrades! My tip is to take a sleeping bag (which they ask you to buy/bring anyway) and in the 3 or 4 places out of 37 where you sleep which are dodgy line your mattress with the sleeping bag.

Countries which are AMAZING and I highly loved:
UK, Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Croatia, Greece.

Negatives / Recommendations:

- Buy and take sunscreen from Australia! European sunscreen is extremely expensive!

- Make sure you purchase an international Sim-Card from the post office before you leave. There is no WIFI on the bus (unless you pay for it - expensive). In saying this though, it was great to get back to basics and talk to people!

- The coffee is Sh** in Europe. If you are a fan, I am sorry to disappoint you, you're in for a bad time! Hahaha

- The WIFI is also scarce and slow in the majority of camps/hostels where you stay.

- Needed more time in Munich and Barcelona. 1 night just wasn't enough! Really want to go back there! If you get a chance to go before or after the tour - go to Berlin!

- Take a GoPro and buy the pole and bike attachments.

- Take a DSLR or good camera - don't rely on your iphone!

- Some extra activities are not worth doing: Flamenco Show and definitely the cabaret show in Paris.

- Take and have more money than you need! THIS IS IMPORTANT. Experience as much as you can. If it takes you an extra year to save - do it. You need at least 100 euro a day for spending money. Depending on how much you drink maybe add a little extra. The good thing is in the travel days, your budget adjusts so it compensates for the days you have overspent. Around $5000 - $7000 AUD spending money is fairly achievable.

- Take a power board and universal charger! Lol the amount of things you need to charge along with others in your room on one power point is crazy!

Look, I could keep going on, but all in all this trip is one hell of a ride!

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Life Changing, Lots of Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Troy
  • Troy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Perfect first time traveller tour.

23 May 2014 - 28 Jun 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Absolutely loved it. While the accommodation was sometimes quite average, it's an absolute minor considering where you are in the world! You get to see some of the best sights in Europe, eat some of the best food and make wonderful new friends. For a first time traveller like myself this was perfect, all planned out and the only thing you have to worry about is not having time to see EVERYTHING. We had a great tour manager, who was very helpful and had a lot of historical knowledge, and a great bus driver who always go us to our location early. 10/10

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Life changing, Wonderful, Perfect

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unbeatable!

21 Jun 2013 - 27 Jul 2013

I did the European Adventurer last June (dep 21 June 2014). On the first day of Contiki I had the worst hangover I had ever experienced! Little did I know, this was going to be my life for the next five weeks! However it was the best weeks of my life spent with awesome humans who are all now my friends! By day we took in the mind blowing sites Europe had to offer and by sunset we were blowing our minds in other ways ;) This special trip would definately not be the same without our absolutely awesome Tour manager Scotty and bus driver Wjotec! They were both so knowledgable and always willing to go out of there way to help us! Can't wait for my next contiki yewww

I would recommend doing a hostel contiki because you get to meet up with other groups so it's twice the party :)

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Sleepless, Spectacular, Sexy

event 0.3
  • KristinaJ
  • KristinaJ
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Adventurer

Adventurer Review

07 Jun 2013 - 13 Jul 2013

On this tour I got to see all the expected sights, landmarks, historic places everything you can imagine, I got to experience new culture, cuisines, lessons in life and pretty much live the dream for 37 days with people I had never met who now mean soo soo much to me! I didnt know what to expect and was quite scared to do Contiki as i was going by myself, but come Day 1 of the tour, there was no need to worry!

My tour manager was amazing and has become a good friend, our driver the same! The optionals were a lot of fun! Transport was perfect, our driver even did extra pick ups on some nights we went out when it was too far to get home by taxi! They went above and beyond for us! The meals that were supplied were fine, they were good, most of them were buffet style so we got to choose what we wanted. Lots of people said the food was shit, but to me it was really better then I expected, as was the accomodation. Previous to my trip people warned me that some places would be dodgy and I wouldnt like it / feel safe.. So automatically I expected the worst. However as they say 'Expect the worst get the best' thats what happened! Accomodation was fine, there were 1 or 2 places that would probably be rated 2 stars (just a guess) but honestly, it was NOT bad at all for A Concept Tour (budget trip) I really enjoyed the Generator Hostel in Barcelona and The hostel in Ljubljana was amazing (the old bank) Most places had free wifi which was handy for being homesick!!!

All the Contiki sites were ALOT of fun, they really entertained us, provided us with yummy food, made us feel at home it was great :) So were the Contiki Staff at the campsites. Luke in Venice, Tyson in Rome and Kate (somewhere in Italy) were some I really got along with!

Tour mates were amazing, I think we all really got lucky! We had an amazing group. I had too many amazing moments, none of which would make sense to anyone that wasn't / hasn't on the tour or done a Contiki! I truly lived with #noregrets. I even got it tattooed on my foot (minus the hashtag haha)

One thing I will add for anyone that reads this or plans to go on a Contiki is:
THESE ARE VITAL FOR YOUR TRIP! -
- Cold and Flu Tablets (strong ones)
- Multi vitamins / vitamin C
- Scissors
- Insect repellent & cream for bites (YOU WILL GET BITTEN especially in Italy and Greece)
- Lots of sunscreen (Aussie sunscreen is perfect as we've got the strongest sun in the world, especially in comparison to Europe - also sunscreen over there is expensive)
- If your a girl lots of spare for that time of the month!!! Its a little tricky to find good stuff over there
- Bed bug spray
..and im sure theres a couple other things but i cant think right now!

Anyways best time of my life!!! I reccommend to anyone and everyone! Also GO SOLO! I wouldnt change anything about going by myself - you really wake up to urself and learn life lessons !

LIVE LIFE WITH #NOREGRETS Contiki Style!!!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Life, Changing, Experiences

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Adventurer

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Amber
  • Amber
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Adventurer

Ah-mazing!!!

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

This trip was soooo much fun. We had a great group of people, a great team (Bart and Cindy), and the most amazing places to visit!! The accommodation was better than I expected in a concept tour, and despite the long drive days the bus really wasn't so bad!!

From escargot in Paris (gross BTW) to lazing by the beach in Mykonos, to cruising in Dubrovnik and walking around the colosseum in Rome and paragliding in Austria, this tour doesn't disappoint.

Anyone wanting a real taste of Europe should definitely book this tour - I learned the places I definitely want to go back to, and the ones I really don't. But overall a great experience that I'll never forget my whole life!!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: BEST, TIME, EVER

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A-MAZING

04 Sep 2012 - 10 Oct 2012

This tour was absolutely incredible!! This was my first Contiki and my first time overseas; at 19 tand going by myself his was pretty daunting for me but Contiki made sure I had nothing to worry about. This tour is pretty darn fast paced, but this let us see and do soooo much in just over 5 weeks. This tour was really good though because about halfway we stayed for 3 nights in Mykonos which is really good recovery time!! This trip was great too cause we stayed in a lot of Contiki stopovers - these are so much fun because you get to hang out with the awesome Contiki crew and there are often other Contiki groups staying there too that you will meet up with at various points. Definitely the trip to do if you want to see it all, I chose this one over the Ultimate European as this one went through Croatia and was that bit more affordable. Honestly the best thing I have ever done, European Adventurer is just AWESOME, you will have no regrets!!

This tour was also super affordable when you think about everything that is included - transport across Europe (not taxis), all accommodation, all breakfasts and half your dinners, a far bit of sightseeing/local tours, discounted drinks in some places and much more!

I am definitely glad I went by myself even though I was pretty scared, because it takes you out of your comfort zone and I have made some lifelong friends for sure. Spending 5 weeks with the same people, you become like family! This is one of the major advantages of a long tour I think - by the end we were all so close.

You will have the time of your LIFE on this tour! - Highly recommended!
I would give it 10 stars if I could!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Lifelong friends, See Everything, Awesome fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • sarah
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
European Adventurer

European Adventurer Summer 2012

25 May 2012 - 30 Jun 2012

This holiday was amazing. It covered all the normal european must see places and some of the off the beaten track onse. I have to say this tour was well thought out and put togeather. Our driver and tour manager were amazing!!
I would recommend this tour, however it is a long one so be sure you have the stemina for it

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: amazing, off the beaten track, includes everything

event 0.3
  • Nat
  • Nat
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My European Adventure

26 Aug 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

This was the most amazing 37 days of my life and I had such a great group of people to experience it with :)

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unique, Cultured

event 0.3
  • Mike56
  • Mike56
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Just Do It

01 Sep 2011 - 09 Oct 2011

Wow and Awesome is the only way to describe my time with Contiki on the European Adventurer. Every single day of the tour I would wake up and think to myself it cant get any better than yesterday and somehow it would. The awesome thing about this tour is you get to see an incredible amount of Europe in a very short time. And you get to see a lot of cool things and places you might not have otherwise seen on your own. This tour is not for the faint of heart, it is 37 days of go, go, go all day all night, until your body finally makes you got to bed early a few nights on penalty of keeling over. I feel like I had an exceptional TM, Driver, and group so that made the experience that much better. Definitely made some life long friends. This tour was worth every penny and definitively the best thing Ive ever done. The accommodations were clean and basic, exactly what I expected as it was a budget tour. The included food is usually high carb type filler food.

Tips/Reccomendations
- fly into London a few days early so u can actually see some of london and get over your jet lag
-do all the optionals, yes some are a bit overpriced but all in all they are worth it and u will have a great time
-I would have available and plan on spending 4-5000 usd maybe more on top of the tour price for when ur in Europe
-I think this is one of the most affordably priced tours on here especially for the length of time and how much you get to see, just do it, you wont regret it.

Review written Nov 2011

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Chelsea
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Creating life stories

21 Aug 2010 - 26 Sep 2010

This is the big one. Well, it was my big one. The O.E. Contiki that just has to be done, it is a right of passage.

Be prepared to be awed, nervous, surprised, and totally overwhelmed. This is a massive trip, and there is a lot cram in. Days will begin to blur as you lose track of where you are, where you're coming from, and where you're heading. Thank god for your fantastic tour manager and bus driver who will make things flow and work, even when you are driving them crazy. The things you will see, the experiences you will have, with 50 of your newest and closest friends will be something you wont ever forget and seems impossible to explain. 37 days of continuous travel, yet by the end we would have gotten right back on that bus and done it all again.

The word on everyone's lips: Money. The answer is: a lot. I didn't take nearly enough in cash and maxed out my credit card. Whatever your budget, you will blow it. Take your budget and double it.

Girls, I spent a lot of time fretting about what shoes to take. I think I wore heels maybe three times. Dinner and a show in Paris, Monte Carlo Casino, night clubbing in Florence. You don't need heels. If you really want them, bring one pair or better yet buy a pair in Paris! Anything more than that is a waste of space and you're going to be lugging that suitcase all over the place.

Money belt. I took one. Never used it. Just be aware and don't invite people to take your things by leaving bags unzipped etc.

Optionals: I did most of them, and they definitely add to the experience.

I learnt: Don't get too wrecked the night before visiting a city etc. I did this in Venice ("Amnesia" they call the drink... and foolishly this didn't concern me at the time) and subsequently I hated Venice because I was hungover and wanted to die. Fail.

Highlights: Soooo many awesome times, but I'll try name a few of my favourite spots. Mykonos - lazy warm days drinking frozen mojitos by the pool from breakfast, jet skiing in the afternoon, partying in the evenings. Dubrovnik, Croatia - a beautiful paradise with the old town looking like something out of fairy tales and the gorgeous ocean (also, bucket cocktails). The afternoon boat cruise is a MUST! Both Austria and Switzerland are beautiful and the excursions recommended (mountain biking, paragliding, train to "the top of Europe" to play in the snow). French Chateau picnic is a great way to spend time getting to know tour mates and the walk is worth is for the view and yummy lunch. Barcelona and Florence were also fabulous stops.

I have toured with Contiki again since this tour and I would, and hope to, travel with them again. Enough said.

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: Intense, Fantastic, Life-changing

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Apr 2010 - 19 May 2010

What an amazing, exhausting whirl wind of an experience! I had the absolute time of my life and I couldn't have asked for a better tour manager, bus driver and travel mates to share the experience with. To anyone thinking of going on contiki ... DO IT! You will not regret it!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Exciting, Adventure

event 0.3
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

18 Jun 2010 - 24 Jul 2010

I'd recommend this tour to everyone... I've never had such an awesome time in my life!! We visited so many cool places and made so many new friends. Contiki staff were also very awesome and professional! If you want the full Europe experience I'd recommend this tour as you also get to go through Greece, Albania, Croatia, Slovenia etc which not many other tours do!

Review written Nov 2010

My Contiki was: Memories, Crazy, Awesome

event 0.3
  • Jason
  • Jason
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
European Adventurer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

23 Jul 2010 - 28 Aug 2010

This tour has been fantastic from start to finish. There is a lot of travel days in order to get around to all the countries and I totally under estimated my spending money. But apart from that its been great.

One bit of advice, what ever your budget is "double it". There are unexpected costs that come into play. Taking taxis home from night clubs and bars, public transport costs and walk about dinners not to mention the tipping for resturants.

I brought over 2,600 euros and I should of brought 5,000 euros. Just trust me on this one.

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: costs, budget, adventurer

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 36 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 8 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 14 nights in hotel upgrade, 8 nights in hostels, +1 night on board a ferry * Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging * Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive On-Site Teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers

Food

  • 59 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 36 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 22 dinners

Inclusions

  • 20 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$149
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
14 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.