European Discovery

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$1823
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Jad-SW
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discovery, June 2013

08 Jun 2013 - 19 Jun 2013

Was a really hectic, fast paced and awesome trip. Definitely a great tour for those wanting to see lots in a short period of time. Not much down time on this tour, it's all go go go. I was a first time traveler and found this tour no problems at all. Just be prepared to be tired and spend a bit of time on the bus. If you can handle that, you'll love it. Scenery on the drives is amazing anyway.

Had a really knowledgeable tour manager (Kristen) who was very well organized, and had a Guru of a driver - Johnny "No Problem". Crazy fella and really first class service. Couldn't have asked for better people to run the tour.

Everything was well organized and the accommodation and food was great. You always knew where to go and what to do.

Definitely recommend doing ALL of the optional extras.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Hectic, Amazing, Crazy

event 0.3
  • sarabommer
  • sarabommer
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

We found love in a hopeless place..

07 May 2013 - 20 May 2013

Just got back from the discovery tour..and it couldn't have been more perfect our tour guide Lisa was AMAZING!! Our bus driver Christian was the funniest French rapper iv ever met...lol! The people Nd the sights...no words can do it justice! You are constantly on the go so you get to see everything in the short amount of time you are there. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is looking to travel alone! We partied hard every night Nd woke up early to see the world. Lifelong friends and memories were produced...and I will never be the same again! Lisa had so much knowledge about everywhere we went, yet still an amazing sense of humor! She made the trip what it was Nd was so organized and went above and beyond to make sure we had enough information! This trip was the BEST thing I have ever done and will DEFINITELY be doing another one!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible, Life changing , So fun

event 0.3
  • Barbara
  • Barbara
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Pretty much, awesome"

30 Apr 2013 - 13 May 2013

The European Discovery tour was simply amazing.

Two major factors that made this trip so incredibly awesome for everyone included our Tour Manager, Lasse and Coach Driver, Rasto. They both were extremely knowledgeable and extremely kind to everyone on the tour. They both treated us like family members.

In each city that we visited, Contiki had kept us busy! I can't believe all of the amazing things that I had seen in such a short period of time. We had loads of "cultural experiences" that we will never forget.

We all had created so many wonderful memories and ended the tour with many new friends. I can't imagine doing all of the wonderful things that we did on my own... Contiki is definitely the way to go. If you are looking for a fast-paced tour - where you can visit 9 countries in such a short period of time, European Discovery is definitely for you.

I can only hope that I will see Lasse and Rasto on my next Contiki tour!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable, Exhilarating

event 0.3
  • Shannon
  • Shannon
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Highly recomend!

05 Jul 2012 - 16 Jul 2012

Had an absolute ball on this trip! Made so many new friends who i will be in contact with for life. The people who work for contiki were great and knew a lot of stuff about the places we visited. Being in Paris on Bastille day was definitely a highlight! Definitely recommend Contiki to everyone!

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Kelsey
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery

AMAZING!

02 Apr 2013 - 15 Apr 2013

I just came back from the European Discovery tour last week, and it was AMAZING! I would highly recommend the tour to anyone who wants to see the highlights of Europe and has limited time. Having hotels, some meals, and excursions planned out for me in countries where I didn't speak the language was very nice, and I could never imagine seeing all the sights I saw on my own without a tour manager coordinating along the way. Rome was definitely my favorite, and the optional excursion in Amsterdam night one really united our tour group and I highly recommend. Plan on taking lots of pictures, not getting much sleep, and having an amazing adventure!

NOTE: As this is 7 countries in 14 days, it is very fast paced and not for the faint of heart or those looking for a relaxing vacation.

Review written Apr 2013

event 0.3
  • Dee
  • Dee
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

05 Apr 2012 - 16 Apr 2012

Possibly one of the best things I ever decided to do by myself. I made life long friends all around the world and got to see so much in such a short time.

Review written Mar 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, life changing, freedom

event 0.3
  • SamHudson
  • SamHudson
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best experience for first-timer

21 Jun 2012 - 04 Jul 2012

Action packed tour, awesome tour manager and met people from all over the world. If you are visiting Europe for the first time, this tour package have the best value for your money.

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Carly
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my life!!

20 Sep 2012 - 03 Oct 2012

I have just returned from 14 days away with some of the greatest ppl I have ever met!! We started the tour as strangers and ended as great friends. Our Contiki crew was amazing! they worked hard every day of our tour to ensure that we all had the best time and arrived safely! Our tour manager was Dane, who was hilarious and full of energy! Pete was our bus driver and was also full of jokes!
we saw more in 12 days than I could have imagined. there was no favourite part of the trip becuase it was all unbelievable!!!!
I ate amazing local cuisine that came recommended by our tour manager! although I likely gained 10lbs.... it was totally worth it!!
thank you Conitiki!!!!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: laughter, friendship, culture

event 0.3
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki European Discovery 12 Day Tour!

23 Jun 2012 - 04 Jul 2012

This tour was amazing! Absolutely the trip of a lifetime! Did so many amazing things! White water rafting in Austria, gondola ride in Venice, went to the top of the Eiffel Tower in France! The whole trip was simply fantastic! I made so many awesome new friends and I am already looking into another trip overseas! I will definately travel with Contiki again! Everything is so organized and the tour managers/bus drivers are such amazing people!!!!

To sum my time up it was: AMAZING, INCREDIBLE, AWESOME FANTASTIC INSANE DRUNKEN EDUCATIONAL TIME

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Educational, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Av
  • Av
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!

24 May 2012 - 06 Jun 2012

This tour was absolutely amazing. The stuff we got to see in the given amount of time was definitely worth it. This tour is called a "sampler" for a reason, we had very limited time in each city but got to see the "must see" sites and got an idea of the places that are worth visiting again. I went on this tour alone but made a lot of friends, a lot of other solo travelers, tour mates were very friendly and got along well with everyone, definitely a fun time. Went white water rafting in Austria, which was amazing, the bike tour in Munich was definitely worth it as we got to see the majority of Munich while riding through the streets. Switzerland was a bit of a let down as it was crappy weather, rain and all so our trip up the mountain was cancelled and since it was a Sunday, all the shops were closed but we did manage to find a Chocolate shop that was open. We got to Paris on a Tuesday, the Louvre is closed on a Tuesday so we did not get to go in - however our tour manager tried his absolute best to get us there before it closed, so thanks again Lee for trying! The food was amazing in Italy, everywhere else it was ok. Must try Febo in Amsterdam, absolutely delicious. The jail hotel in Lucerne was a shack, you either like it or you hate it and I was not fond of it. Hotels over all were fairly decent, some were better than others but you're only there for a night. All in all this trip was of great value for the price and all the things you get to see. I would recommend it to first time travelers to Europe so they get an idea of where they would like to go again. I am definitely heading back to Rome, Florence and Paris.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Fast, Amazing, Fun

event 0.3
  • Timothy
  • Timothy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time Of my life. BEST TRIP EVER

24 May 2012 - 06 Jun 2012

Went on this contiki tour may 24th 2012. Meet lots of new friends. All the countries were amazing. Id go back any day. Our tour manager and driver were so much fun. Lee and Marco. Would recommend this to anyone. Also if you go do ALL the extras. They are alot of fun.

Can't wait to do my next contiki tour. Welcome to contact me if you have any questions.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: AWESOME, THE BEST, Memories for LIFE

event 0.3
  • Meelya
  • Meelya
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Epic Europe

15 Sep 2011 - 26 Sep 2011

This was my first ever tour... and I loved it!! Our group was great, we had an awesome tour guide and bus driver in Jen and Ricki!!!! Opening day of Oktoberfest... massive. I recommend going during Oktoberfest... a really experience!! Beautiful weather in September, loved all of the optionals, white water rafting was one of my favourites, the cool clear water was such a pretty colour and great for a hangover.
Even though it was short, because it was sooo full on and fast paced, you really felt like you'd been together with everyone for ages. I would not advise this particular tour if you are looking for something a little bit more leisurely pace... it was bam bam bam, but if you could keep up, it was well worth it.
Accommodation is interesting, always clean and tidy, but don't expect massive hotel rooms. Think of it more as a cultural experience.. trying the different hotel standards of each different country!
Food. One word. ITALY. You have not eaten until you've been there. Wow, food coma status officially reached at the optional dinner in Florence - definitely worth it, had a ball with the dancing and then the nightclub after... won't ever forget discotek!
Be prepared for some long days on the bus, but our tour guide was great, she gave us a lot of information and this was good to have history on the place you were headed. Word of warning... if you intend to enjoy the full day in Rome, try not to go too hard core the first night in Rome if you go to a bar... my group had a massive night and I was ill the whole next day in Rome... not particularly great on a 2 hour vatican tour in thick crowds and heat...
I definitely recommend this trip... its great for a teaser/your first time, will make you want to go home and start planning a return trip to the places that you loved the most!!!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: whirlwind, great optionals, good times

event 0.3
  • Meelya
  • Meelya
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Epic Europe

15 Sep 2011 - 26 Sep 2011

This was my first ever tour... and I loved it!! Our group was great, we had an awesome tour guide and bus driver in Jen and Ricki!!!! Opening day of Oktoberfest... massive. I recommend going during Oktoberfest... a really experience!! Beautiful weather in September, loved all of the optionals, white water rafting was one of my favourites, the cool clear water was such a pretty colour and great for a hangover.
Even though it was short, because it was sooo full on and fast paced, you really felt like you'd been together with everyone for ages. I would not advise this particular tour if you are looking for something a little bit more leisurely pace... it was bam bam bam, but if you could keep up, it was well worth it.
Accommodation is interesting, always clean and tidy, but don't expect massive hotel rooms. Think of it more as a cultural experience.. trying the different hotel standards of each different country!
Food. One word. ITALY. You have not eaten until you've been there. Wow, food coma status officially reached at the optional dinner in Florence - definitely worth it, had a ball with the dancing and then the nightclub after... won't ever forget discotek!
Be prepared for some long days on the bus, but our tour guide was great, she gave us a lot of information and this was good to have history on the place you were headed. Word of warning... if you intend to enjoy the full day in Rome, try not to go too hard core the first night in Rome if you go to a bar... my group had a massive night and I was ill the whole next day in Rome... not particularly great on a 2 hour vatican tour in thick crowds and heat...
I definitely recommend this trip... its great for a teaser/your first time, will make you want to go home and start planning a return trip to the places that you loved the most!!!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: whirlwind, great optionals, good times

event 0.3
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

EUROTRIP

20 Sep 2011 - 03 Oct 2011

Had the time of my life, I would do it again in a heartbeat! Loved my tour mates!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: fantastic, amazing, awesome

event 0.3
  • BieBie
  • BieBie
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Discovery

European Discovery!!

28 Jun 2011 - 09 Jul 2011

I went solo.. Scary at first.. But on the first day I already made so many friends and had soooo much funn!! I had the most amazing time ever!!! My Contiki were great.. Dave our tour leader was such a nice guy and knew his story!! Chris our bus driver were awesome!!

Its defnitly worth every cent!! Just do it!! Im still amazed with everything I saw in such a short time!! Europe is soooo beautifull!! And Contiki is the way to go!!!

We had great nights out, had the most amazing meals, I did most of the optionals and they were great (except for the walking tour in Venice - i wont recomend this one. Our guide had no Idea what she was doing. You'll see more by yourself) But the rest was fabulous.. Going to the top of the Eiffel tour, walking tour in rome& florence, Dinner at the Hofbrahaus, Sunset cruices in Lucerne and amterdam, Dinner in Rome, wine tasting in St Goar, Going to the top of Mount Stanserhorn, Schnapps train in Austrian alps were beautiful, aswell as the Swarovski museum... I can go on for hours!!

The accomadation were great.. Love the Blue Square hotel in Amsterdam, our hotel in Austria were so cute, nice little hotel in St Goar (just note theres no lift so rather back an overnite bag), Azimut in munich was nice aswell.. Just didnt like the hotel in florence that much but its okay and clean enough for one night.. Staying at the Jailhouse hotel in Lucerne was something diffrent.. DInner were great and dessert aswell!!

Contiki is great!! Your get so much for the price you pay!! Im already planning my next trip!!!

Thanks for the best time of my life CONTIKI
xoxoxo

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Time of my Life, soooo much funnn, Awesome!!!!

event 0.3
  • nana_25
  • nana_25
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discovery

16 Jun 2011 - 29 Jun 2011

Amazing trip but quite exhausting! We got to see so much in such a short period of time! They tell u u need to party hard and sight see but really...i got the rest i needed so i could really enjoy the trip! This is the type of trip that shows u alot but u dont stay 2 or 3 days in one location to really take it in...it just gives u an idea of where u should come back 2!

The hotels were 3 stars most of the time but acceptable. if you're traveling alone and are not to strapped for cash i do suggest getting a single booking! u really get to relax and prep in the morning and on time since we were up by 6 most mornings! (lots complained about roommates coming in puking and drunk! not the best thing....!!)

Speaking of hotels...there's a weird hotel in Switzerland...the prison hotel...you either hate or love it.....i hated it and it's about my only complaint to Contiki....its an old prison turned into a hotel...theres no AC and u gotta bug the guy from the front desk to use the phone cause there r none in the rooms! ( so no alarm clock make sure u have ur own!) Its an old prison so.....just a tad bit freaky at night! i slept with the lights on!

Bring a good pillow for the long bus rides, a decent amount of pocket money (about 50 -100 eur /day) and a good camera! if you can't sleep on buses i suggest a good book or an ipad with movies and shows t pass the time!

The food was decent :) the stops along the way are amazing! make sure u eat the recommended meals by ur guide! its worth it!

If you are going, enjoy it! it's an amazing trip!!!!

Review written Mar 2012

My Contiki was: a, wonderful, trip!

event 0.3
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Discover Europe Contiki Style

04 May 2010 - 17 May 2010

The trip was very fast paced, which was great because you get to see a lot. If you want to relax, this trip is not for you. Some places I enjoyed more than others; Italy and Germany were my favorite. Surprisingly, Amsterdam was my least favorite (they were on a trash strike).

When I signed up for Contiki, I was hesitant because I am not a party-er and I'm at the older end of the spectrum AND I was traveling alone. This ended up being of no concern. There were all ages (between 18 and 35). Most were around 27ish. Some people partied; some didn't. There were cliques, but everyone got along well with each other. I'm American, as were some others. I think there were mostly Australians, some Canadians, some South Africans, and a Kiwi. I loved getting to know everyone from different places around the world who I'd never get to meet otherwise.

One thing I wish I knew ahead of time...plan for going on all the excursions offered. The majority of travelers went on all the excursions. Some of them were fantastic (the gondola ride) and some weren't so great (boat trip around Amsterdam). I was happy I went on all of the excursions because I would have been alone had I not gone and you get to see things you wouldn't have seen otherwise.

Couple more things...BRING COLD MEDICINE. I got sick right away and it was not easy to get cold medicine. Many others got sick on the trip as well. Expect to spend a lot of time in a tour bus.

If I could do it again, I would have booked my trip a day earlier and spent time in London. Don't expect to see much of London if you go on the trip as is.

My tour manager's name was Andy and he was great. I felt he was incredibly knowledgeable and gave us pointers that travelers would never have known if they went by themselves (even doing all the research). He seemed well experienced and made sure everyone enjoyed themselves the entire time.

Highlights: There were so many! Seeing the statue of David was not part of the tour, but I was able to during some free time. I highly recommend seeing him while in Florence. My tour manager gave us some hints to get right in. I also loved the Louvre in Paris; the Colosseum in Rome, Bike ride around Munich, Hofbrauhaus (yum!), Venice, The Sistine Chapel, beer stein and coo-coo clock factories, etc.

Loved it; highly recommend it...now I'm getting ready for my second Contiki tour.

Review written Mar 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Beautiful, Scenic

event 0.3
  • VanessaULV
  • VanessaULV
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 0 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discover September 2011

18 Sep 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

I traveled solo and I had the time of my life!

Review written Feb 2012

event 0.3
  • Ceci
  • Ceci
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

18 Aug 2011 - 31 Aug 2011

This was the first contiki trip that I ever signed up with. Travelled with my friend and we both had a great experience. The tour guide "urban" was really nice, thoughtful, friendly and our bus driver "Gt" was a smooth driver, good manners, very helpful and dedicated to his job.

Two weeks went by super fast, but each of us treated each other like family and were always in the look out for one another. Other than the long bus rides to each country and short amount of time to visit each place we enjoyed most of trip. Many of us believed that the "sex show" in amsterdam was not worth it at all. Some people said the artists didn't put enough feelings into it and other said that they do it for the show/ entertainment and not with passion. Also, the venetian dinner wasn't worth it either (29 euro for food that didn't taste good at all). It would be a good idea to take the group to a different place or something, because the food served was lacking taste, spices and the rosiotto looked like a blob of rice soaked with gravy. The rest of the optional excursions were great.

It was nice of "urban" suggested this on the bus before heading to the night club in florence italy. He told the guys in the bus to protect the girls. If they see strangers trying to approach our girls on the dance flooor and it seems like they are not comfortable, make way to break the chain. this may seem unclear, but from urbans former experience, the italian guys once gave some of the contiki girls some bad experience.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: unforgettable, fun, long bus ride

event 0.3
  • RhiMarie
  • RhiMarie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Discovery
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

24 Jul 2011 - 06 Aug 2011

I went on this tour in July/August of 2011, and it was the time of my life. Our tour manager, Joel, and our driver, Mark, really made the trip worthwhile, and even kept us entertained on the loooooooong drives (like from London to Amsterdam, or Lucerne to Paris). Joel had so much information about every place we went to, and was well informed on the locations of everything we needed- ATMs, bathrooms, cheaper restaurants, sights and monoments and museums- we could have asked him almost anything and I feel that he would have known where it is. Mark was great as well- since he knows the roads so well, he even took us on a few shortcuts that really saved us time driving and gave us more for exploring Europe. Even the bus was well equipped for our needs as we went- although a little more room would have been nice!

The pros of this trip were most definitely just how many things we saw and did in the twelve days we had at our dispersal- we visited nine countries, saw almost every monoment and building you see in movies about Europe- the eiffel tower, the arc de triomphe, the louvre, and champs-elysees, the vatican, st. mark's square and cathedral, the colloseum, and so much more that I can't even remember them all! It was amazing. It's hard to imagine just how much we did in less than two weeks, and with driving time included. Another pro of this trip was going alone- and making friends with nearly everyone on our tour, having a great time with all of them, and being able to split off into random groups depending on what we were doing that day. This tour definitely had enough time set into tours and included and optional activities, while also giving us free time to do and spend as we saw fit - for instance, in paris, I was interested in seeing the hotel des invalids, the rodin museum and the catacombs, and I was able to see those by myself where if the tour was set only into the more popular sites, I would have missed those. The included and optional activities gave us all a taste of the cultures of the different countries we went to without being completely overwhelming.

The cons of the trip, for me, are almost entirely out of the hands of Contiki and our tour manager/driver, such as the long periods of driving between locations, the incredibly awful breakfasts especially in Italy (which usually came down to three choices- espresso, corn flakes, or raw bread with jam.), the insane heat (again, especially in Italy, in late summer), and the "contiki cough" that spread through our group like wildfire (home for a week, and I still can't stop coughing).

overall, this trip was the time of my life and I am already planning my next contiki excursion!!

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Just the beginning!

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 16 meals:
  • 11 continental breakfasts
  • 5 three-course dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$140
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
42 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.