European Discovery (Winter)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$1440
Overview Reviews

  • Gail
  • Gail
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time ever!

29 Nov 2015 - 10 Dec 2015

Wow! I can't begin to express how much fun I had on this tour. One of the best decisions of my life was booking this tour and I don't regret a second of it. Our tour manager Beccy B (with the beats) and bus driver Conor were second to none! They put so much effort into our tour with every little thing they did. And the friends you make are probably some of the best you'll ever had.

This tour is fast pase but you really make the most of it. You'll do a lot of driving but you get to hang with your new family! Would totally recommend this tour, its a good taste of what you want to come back to Europe and see!

Review written Dec 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, #no regrets, I did it all

event 0.3
  • Rose
  • Rose
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

EU discovery

27 Oct 2015 - 07 Nov 2015

Hands down this trip was the best decision of my life! The people that I have met, the sights that I've seen and the things that I have experienced will be so precious to me. The trip was so well organised thanks to the staff everything ran really smoothly which would definitely make me want to return to Contiki .

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Precious, Fun

event 0.3
  • Jessica
  • Jessica
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My first overseas trip, the most incredible experience of my life (so far)

21 Jan 2014 - 01 Feb 2014

I always had people tell me to "go on a Contiki tour, go on a Contiki tour!!" My word of advice after completing this tour: GO ON A CONTIKI TOUR!! We spent an overall 3.5 weeks in Europe, though only 12 days on the tour itself, but the Contiki tour had enough memories for a lifetime. Here's my brief description of our European Discovery (let's test my memory after going on the trip almost two years ago):

Day 1 - We start in London leaving off from The Royal National Hotel. I highly recommend staying here beforehand. It isn't a fancy hotel, but it does the job and it's very easy and convenient to stay here as this is where the tour leaves from. We met up the previous day with some people we spoke with on the Contiki Meet Up page doing the same tour as us to get to know each other and we became a family by the end of the trip (however, you do have a small gathering the night before anyway with your tour manager). Firstly, you head off to cross the ports and cross the English Channel, this isn't a long ship ride and there's plenty of food for breakfast. The ship docks in France and you drive through Belgium to get to AMSTERDAM. We went on a canal cruise (beer on tap say what?!) and walked through the red light district. We also had the opportunity to go to a sex show, which I recommend, it was definitely a good insight into how different the culture is. We went to a coffee shop and a nightclub, and FEBO! You MUST go to FEBO, it is the best fast food ever.

Day 2 - We visited Anne Frank house and did a tour of the Heineken Brewery. Amsterdam is beautiful. Take the time to get up early and explore, its amazing. The we get on the bus to go to St. Goar in Germany, a beautiful town in the Rhine Valley. We had a wine tasting in a cave which I recommend, we also walked up to a castle overlooking the river. It's a beautiful sight, you can't miss it.

Day 3 - Off to Munich! We were lucky to stop at Dachau Concentration Camp, very eerie but a very eye opening experience. Then we got into Munich and went to the Hoffbraus for good beer, pretzels, dancing, and an overall awesome time (see picture above).

Day 4 - We had a walking tour of Munich which was great. It was a good opportunity to see Munich as you are guided by a local. It started snowing as we left Munich, I was devastated! Then back onto the bus to go to INNSBRUCK - my favourite place in the world. Innsbruck is beautiful. You have the opportunity to go up onto the mountain and see one of the most incredible views ever. I fell in love with this town and will definitely go back. Dinner is a traditional Austrian dinner, we were lucky enough to have a show put on for us with authentic Austrian dance, music and costumes.

Day 5 - Onto Venice! You take a ferry into the heart of Venice but this is a very short trip. We went on a Gondola Ride and that was amazing. Venice seems to have a bad rep but I loved it. One tip for Italy: Do not have food or coffee on the main strip/square. It's very expensive so just have a wander through the alleys before sitting down, you can also barter with the waiters (for example, we got a free shot of limoncello with our dinner).

Day 6 - Next stop: Rome. The weather was quite bad (understatement) when we went to Rome but the first night was our only good night of weather. We saw the colosseum by night and had a lovely dinner. Today was also Australia Day so we spent the night drinking in a pub around the corner from our hotel.

Day 7 - We went to the Vatican for a tour and then had an Imperial tour of Rome (Roman Forums and Colosseum). This day was bucketing down rain so a few of us ended up leaving and sat in a cafe drinking hot chocolate hoping we wouldn't get sick. Tip: There are a lot of gypsies but just ignore them, pay them no attention and just keep walking.

Day 8 - FIORENZA! Florence was one of my favourite stops. It is such an old town with amazing scenery which made for a beautiful group photo overlooking the town. This day was mainly spent exploring the town. The optional extra was going to the largest nightclub in Florence, it was so much fun (and I'm not a person who likes clubbing).

Day 9 - Back on the bus to Lucerne, a beautifully gorgeous town. It is an incredible sight. Mainly we just walked around the town with our tour manager. Your hotel is an old jail. It was quite interesting - I didn't like the bunkbeds though. There isn't too much to do at night but there is a bowling alley/bar a couple blocks down from the hotel and we mainly sat there drinking beer and playing pool. It was a good night to relax.

Day 10 - This was our longest bus trip, Lucerne to Paris. But when you get into Paris.... wow. It is amazing, one of my top three spots. The Contiki bus took us around the main attractions by night and this is when a few of us went up the Eiffel Tower. It was such a stunning view at night, and the tower sparkles on the hour so that was an experience being up there while it sparkled. I recommend going up at night but day would be just as nice.

Day 11 - This was the biggest day of the tour. We got up early (just a group of 5 of us) and went straight to the Catacombs (an eerie but incredible experience), Notre Dame, the Louvre (which I found quite boring but you have to go) Padlock Bridge and the Arch de Triomphe. That night was saw the Moulin Rouge and we had so much fun, I highly recommend spending the money to go, it is SO worth it.

Day 12 - This was the day our Contiki came to the end. Some people got dropped off at the airport or stayed in Paris, while others went back to London (specifically to the Royal National). My European Discovery was incredible. I highly highly HIGHLY recommend this tour, especially for someone who hasn't travelled before.

#NOREGRETS

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: life changing, motivating, incredible

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amol
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Amazing

17 Oct 2014 - 29 Oct 2014

If you are looking to have a good time and looking to see a lot of Europe in short amount of time, this trip is for you.

Review written Dec 2014

event 0.3
  • Marci
  • Marci
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

If I paid for my new friends, I didn't pay enough :)

26 Dec 2013 - 08 Jan 2014

We kept a journal, and we had all our friends write in daily. Sometimes I go back to read it and, then I am like "really, we did that"

I went with my cousin, and we had the trip of a life time. We met a group of all randoms, one couple, two solo men, and then us, and our roomie. We are ALL still in contact, and one as even come to see us from a 22 hour plan ride away. I took this trip last winter, and I can't say enough about the friends it has given us! we love them all! It was winter, and cold! plan on that! plan on extra money. Plan on granola bars b/c your breakfast is going to SUCK. Plan on good rooms, plan on crappy rooms. Plan on being on a bus for long hours, and plan on some rain. but, most important plan on a trip of a lifetime. I thought about giving a day by day play, but it's what you make of it! We did and tried everything. We also kept a journal and had all our friends write in it! that was the best. drunk thoughts, crazy thoughts! Just go have fun! Know that some things are going to suck, just go with it!

Review written Nov 2014

My Contiki was: Wanderlust , NoRegrets!, TAKEMEBACK

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Nate
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

One of the best two weeks of my life!

03 Nov 2014 - 15 Nov 2014

I currently write this as I am trying to pass time at the airport making my way home from the European discovery back to NY. Man what a great 2 weeks. So many unforgettable moments and so many great memories with people you will never forget. So many lifelong friendships were created with people on the other side of the world who you probably may never see again. Tears will be shed when it's time for goodbyes... Big thanks to Evana and Miki for being great leaders for our tour. They absolutely made this the best trip possible. If anyone is reading this trying to decide whether to book or not I say DO IT! You won't regret it. This was my first time doing a group tour and being in Europe so I had a few reservations about how things would go coming into the trip. I also booked it very spontaneously around 1 week before the actual trip. So I did not know what to expect and how much I would enjoy the vacation. But in then end I am incredibly happy with my decision. Not only do you learn about other countries and cultures, but you also learn a lot about yourself. Such a great 2 weeks and I wish I could just keep reliving them over and over with the people I met and never go back to work! Will definitely do Contiki again

Review written Nov 2014

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Katrina
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discovery

16 Oct 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

This tour would have to be the best decision of my life. The tour was amazing, the places you go are breathtaking. Our tour manager Joe was amazing, very knowledgeable and insightful. Our bus driver Jonny was incredible if you ever get these two together on a tour you won't be disappointed.
The me time options are great. I would have to say Amsterdam is a night you won't forget. The group of people on the tour were fantastic and was very hard to leave. It's surprising on how close we got and the bonds we made within a short amount of time.
This is a tour that everyone should do if you want a taste of Europe. :) #NOREGRETS

Review written Nov 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable, Incredible

event 0.3
  • ChristaC
  • ChristaC
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unforgettable - European Discovery 30/12/13 - 10/1/14

30 Dec 2013 - 10 Jan 2014

It's hard to capture into words the experiences I had on this trip. It was one of the greatest times of my life and I'll be forever appreciative to our TM Zsofi, our TD Marcin, and my entire tour group for it.
No matter where you came from, Europe was always going to be a different experience. Yes, reading reviews is helpful in choosing the right tour for you, and if you want to label this tour something, it's a taste-tester of all the major sites that mainstream tourists would want to visit (plus other hidden morsels along the way). But one of the best things you can do with these tours is to approach it with little to no preconceptions. Let it sweep you away, teach you things that you never would have thought possible, experience magic in each moment. For example, the food in Germany (Rhineland) wasn't what you might consider the greatest. But you know what? You're in Germany. You're sitting on a land of hundreds of years of significant history. Who cares if the food sucks in your estimation? It's just a matter of different tastes and they've obviously been eating it for longer than we've been alive. You then learn that that food's not to your taste and you don't pick it next time you go out to a restaurant. The next day you're visiting Hofbräuhaus in Munich and it can take you at a minimum of half an hour to find a table among the hundreds that eat there every night, with servers (men and women alike) carrying 8 x 1 litre steins in both hands weaving in and out between everyone, and proceeding to eat a pork knuckle the size of your head after you do find a table (slight exaggeration). A completely different experience.
It's pretty self-explanatory that a tour of 12 days and fitting 8-9 countries in isn't going to be a leisurely stroll in the park. The excitement came from cramming as much action into the days as you could, running in those last minutes to make sure you didn't miss the bus, reading a map for the first time and trying to pronounce the unpronounceable, the smiles of the locals at your funny accents, the puking on the bus after New Year's Eve in Germany (still makes me nauseous thinking about it), the wonder on a little Roman girl's face when she found out I was from Australia (priceless), deliberately getting lost on the canals in Venice. There's all these little moments at the places you visit that adds extra meaning to everything you experience. The optionals are exactly that, optional, so you don't have to feel obliged to do everything. Again, 8-9 countries in 12 days doesn't leave you with a lot of spare time but take on board the things that you do with the group and you're still getting a lot from each place. You can't expect it to be smiles and roses the whole time; you're on board a bus with numerous other people, some with rusty social skills. Take the good and the bad and turn it into one of the best things you ever chose to do.

#noregrets

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Magical, Eye-opening

event 0.3
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour 18/3/14 - 29/3/14

18 Mar 2014 - 29 Mar 2014

I did this tour from 18/3/14 - 29/3/14 and had the absolute time of my life! We have a full bus of 51 people and the best tour manager and driver we could have imagined. It was a quick trip but it was amazing! Can't believe we did 9 countries in 12 days. It gave us all a taste of what Europe has to offer. Will definitely be doing another Contiki tour in the future!

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: amazing, taster, lovely

event 0.3
  • Cushlia
  • Cushlia
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discovery (Winter)

19 Nov 2013 - 30 Nov 2013

I absolutely enjoyed the European tour was fast but you got a taste of each country in the amount of time you had, saw all the big attractions without huge crowds. Accommodation was brilliant, food was varied and culturally diverse. We had an awesome bunch of people on tour was like one big family, sad to finish the tour. But big thumbs up to Johnny our driver and Matt out tour guide, couldn't have asked for better people to take us around Europe.

Thanks Heaps for a tour of a lifetime!!
Cushlia

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: Fast paced, Exciting, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Alix
  • Alix
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Experience

20 Nov 2012 - 01 Dec 2012

This trip was AMAZING!! I still can't believe how much we fitted in to such a short time, great taster trip for someone (like me) who wants to go everywhere. Everything about the trip managed to exceed my high expectations; including the accommodation, tours, people etc. I was nervous about travelling due to requiring a Gluten Free diet, however contiki really do a great job catering for people with food allergies and my tour manager was a great help when it came to organising this for me.
Loved it so much I have already booked another Contiki, only a few months after getting home! :P

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: WOW, AMAZING, PERFECT

event 0.3
  • Jena
  • Jena
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unreal!

19 Mar 2013 - 30 Mar 2013

I just finished this tour and it was absolutely amazing. I got to see, do, experience and learn more than I could have ever imagined. If you're thinking about doing this tour- do it! This tour lets you see so much on the 12 days you have. Then again, it's only 12 days so it is extremely face paced- be prepared for some long days!
I was lucky enough to get the BEST contiki crew- Emmo and Sandro. If you get either of them, consider yourself lucky!
I can't wait to book another tour- done 2 so far and was blown out of the water both times!

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing , Educational , Fast-paced

event 0.3
  • Dan
  • Dan
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A Whirlwind, Jam Packed Tour

20 Nov 2012 - 01 Dec 2012

This tour is for anyone who wants to experience the best Europe has to offer in a very quick paced tour. Although the tour is short and packed to the rafters, there is soo much to see and do!

From the Red Light District of Amsterdam, to the stunning canals and hidden alley ways of Venice, there is simply something for everyone on this tour!

A great tour full of a great bunch of people, who made it all that more enjoyable and memorable, Not to mention our tour manager and driver who did a superb job in leading the way around Europe. On a side note, a must for any tour going to Innsbruck, visit the Schnapps shop and try the hundreds of schnapps flavours!

Review written Apr 2013

event 0.3
  • Cassandra
  • Cassandra
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)

European Discovery Winter 2012

02 Dec 2012 - 13 Dec 2012

The best thing I have done in my life! The people are amazing, the sites are spectacular and the tour giude and coach driver were fantastic. I cant believe we fitted so much in to only 12 days. I did not want it to end! Going to Europe in winter is brilliant, there are no crowds to get into the sites, not too many other tourists around, and snow is beautiful. As long as you remember to layer up the cold is not a problem! Accommodation in the hotels were good, some of the breakfasts were a little stingy but on the whole food was good. It was worth every cent to do all of the optional extras, they really make the trip worthwhile - gondola rides, wine tasting, moulin rouge. Tour mates were the absolute best. Made some brilliant friends for life. I would reccommend this tour to everyone, dont second guess it, just do it. You wont regret it for a second.

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Deniz
  • Deniz
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

amazing

09 Dec 2012 - 20 Dec 2012

i highly recommend this tour. our tour manager jac was amazing, she made the trip extra special. our driver rasto was this shiz! they were kind and really helped everyone get the most out of their trip.

day 1: netherlands amsterdam was amazing, ferry and then bus into amsterdam, had the included dinner which was nice and off we went to the canal cruse, it was fantastic. and then optionals to the red light district

day 2: free time in amsterdam in the morning, great shopping here, meet back at the bus on way to germany st goar, arrived in st goar, had dinner and off to our wine tastnig which was really fun. then free time

day 3: beer stien demo in the morning, then some free time in town. back on the bus on route to munich. arrived munich, dumped out bags at the hotel and went on ourwalking tour. amazing! after that we had free time the whole night, went to the beer hall and had a pretzel.

day 4: breakfat and on the bus to innsbruck austria, amazing place austria, free time pretty much the whole day with an included dinner that was really nice. get some swaovski SO CHEAP HERE

day 5: back on the bus and into venice, were we had the gondal ride, then free time to explore then to the optional dinner which was great, had a mask theme, very fun

day 6: venice to rome, longest bus ride yet about 8 hours i think, got to hotel and had a walking tour then free time, then the included dinner right next to the collusium which was spectacular.

day 7: rome, free time all day pretty much, and had the vatican city tour which was not to bad

day 8: florence , walkign tour, then free time, then thee leather demo and then dinner and space disco

day 9: lucerne switzerland, when to harrys watches for swatch and knifes, free time not long in this city its pretty much a rest point on route to paris

day 10 -11: paris. free time, and optional these two days it was great, very magical at night

day 12: depart paris for london

the hotels for all these places were really nice, super clean, we stayed at a jail hotel one night, it was actually really fun. pretty much you drive all morning until about 3 then arrive in the place your going. you get about 30-60 mins to go to your room, change shower and get ready for the night out, which doesnt seem like alot of time but it actually is.

our bus dirves were long but not time really does fly. every 4 hours or so you stop at a service stop to go to the loo and get something to eat, usually for about 45 mins. great food at the italian services great pasta and pizza.

this tour is great for anyone who is trying to see as much as europe in a short amount of time in a tight budget, you get plenty of time to go out and explore on your own and you really do get alot out of the time you have.

DO IT PEOPLE ITS GREAT

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: magical, fun

event 0.3
  • Sophie
  • Sophie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best decision I've ever made

20 Nov 2012 - 01 Dec 2012

I just finished my 12 day European Discovery yesterday and oh my god it was the best 12 days of my life. I went alone and I was a little hesitant but I met the most amazing people straight away who I will keep in contact with for life. This tour is very fast paced, no sleep ins and long coach rides but the having such an amazing tour manager (Jah), bus driver (John) and contiki family made it so worth it. Jah is such an amazing person, she was positive every day and went out of her way to take care of us and to give us the best experience possible. And John was the best driver I've ever seen, and always was happy to see us to put our bags on the bus. Every city was amazing, even Florence mid storm, and the last day I was in tears. I could have easily gone for another 12 days and now I have so many memories to take home. I recommend this tour for people who are willing to go out at night in free time, even if you don't drink, the best times I had where in a small pub in some random European country teaching Australian slang to other contikis. A+++++

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life long friends, Life changing

event 0.3
  • jo
  • jo
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

europe discovery winter

24 Jan 2012 - 04 Feb 2012

i truely loved my time here 12 days 8 countries a very fast paced trip a small group of just 40 of us most memorable parts 4 me was a gondola up a mountain in austria, where in no way could a camera capture how truely beautiful it was,the beauty of munich is breath taking too, and how could i forget the beer halls where you drink by the litre glass kinda heavy just to hold,, Rome a couple days here so much to see it still didnt seem like long enough could have stayed there forever switzerland was magical so very cold but amazing place to be and certainly a place i wish to head back to one day,Paris wow it was amazing every part of it and again i would say 2 days didnt seem enough time, best breakfast goes to our hotel in paris where i ate and ate and ate meaniest fed eva ,best lunch pizza in a restaraunt found while shopping in venice best tea salamon at a beer hall in munich but that just my taste buds many of my group were alot more keener to try new foods ie snails frogs legs kangaroo to name but a few i kept right away from that sorta food,sad stuff anne frank museum, in amesterdam concentration camp just out of munich,monk bones in rome bones in under ground tunnels in paris the Princess Dianna tunnel, our tour guide ashley was hard case who makes the stories she tells anything but dull our driver rocket what a guy he was hardcase and you are lucky and in for a great time if you get either of them!!!,i took this trip in a very cold snap but it didnt seem to matter still had a blast, would love to go back to europe in summer just for a diffirence our day song was the wanted....glad you came....a song i will fondly remember foreva

Review written Mar 2012

My Contiki was: epic, unforgetable, amazing

event 0.3
  • miss_meg
  • miss_meg
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Discovery AMAZING

31 Dec 2011 - 11 Jan 2012

So many amazing memories gained from this fantastic trip, if you like fast paced and full on where you can see all the main places then this trip is perfect. I learnt so much thanks to the awesome tour guide Dom (you are SO lucky if you get him as your guide!) and Pedro with incredible driving abilites. I have made life long friends and will always carry with me the fantastic stories from all the cultures and history. I cant wait to go again!

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: culture, friendship, adventure

event 0.3
  • Valene
  • Valene
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review (European Discovery - Winter)

31 Dec 2011 - 13 Jan 2012

Probably the best decision I've made in a long time. This tour is VERY fast paced. You WILL NOT be sleeping in but you also won't miss a thing. Lots of options for personal time or to spend all of your time with the group. Quite a few couples and single travelers on the tour. If you're an older traveler (like me -27), the tour had a nice mix of young and mature travelers. Good balance. The hotels we're probably equivalent to Holiday Inns, Howard Johnson, and Embassy Suites (if you're familiar with American Hotels). Our tour manager and driver were outstanding at managing personalities and keeping it lively. Lots of photo ops. Great food. Excellent shopping. Late nights and early mornings. Amazing new friends. Nothing quite like partying Contiki style...

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: New Friends, Unforgettable Memories, Rockstar Parties

event 0.3
  • liselise
  • liselise
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Discovery (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome experience!

28 Nov 2010 - 09 Dec 2010

I did this tour because I wanted to go on holiday but was time-poor so wanted something fast-paced and where I could see several highlights of Europe so that I'd know where I'd like to visit again. This tour delivered all that and more. My tour manager and bus driver were amazing- friendly, helpful and experienced. They were also great fun to party with!
Tours like Conitki are great, particularly if you're travelling solo (like I did) or haven't dont much travelling before because you make "instant friends" and are shown all the main attractions of the cities without having to organise your own transport and accomodation. What you have to keep in mind with this tour though is that it is only 14 days. Realistically you are not going to see everything in 14 days and the tour also covers 8 cities. This means that there is quite a lot of time spent on the bus. That was definitely the downside to the tour but it couldn't really be helped. If you want to spend less time on the bus, either find a tour which spends longer in each city or do your own thing.
But overall this tour is AMAZING if you want to see a "snapshot" of Europe, make great friends and have an awesome time!!!

Review written Dec 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Memorable, FUN!

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 11 continental breakfasts
  • 5 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 8 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
  • Gondola ride
  • Venetian Dinner
  • Vatican Tour
  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Tuscan Evening
  • Space Disco
  • Moulin Rouge Dinner & Show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$110
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
25 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.