European Encounter

Tour Length
17 days
From
US$2160
Overview Reviews

  • Stace
  • Stace
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
European Encounter

BEST DECISION OF MY LIFE!!

05 Sep 2014 - 20 Sep 2014

Where do I begin?? I decided that I wanted to go overseas after coming out of a relationship because I decided to see the world how I wanted to see it. I went into my trusty flight centre for an enquiry and came out with my trip fully organised HAHA!
I was incredibly sick on the way to my trip with tonsilitis and then sick again with whooping cough at the end, BUT Besides being sick I had the most amazing time :D

If you want to see all of these fabulous places but not be away from work or home too long then I definately recommend this tour!

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: enlightening, fun, AMAZING

event 0.3
  • emma
  • emma
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best thing I've ever done in my life!!

15 Aug 2014 - 30 Aug 2014

I went on this trip with a friend and by day 16, I had another 50 friends for life. We shared such an amazing journey together, one which I didn't want to end and mostly important one I will never forget!

I loved every city, especially Paris and Rome. Amsterdam was crazy and if you get time definitely check out the Anne Frank Museum (The lines are worth it). The one city I liked least was the Rhine Valley. But hey I got to see some stuff there that I probably wouldn't get to see or experience anywhere else so I can't complain too much! The hotels we stayed in were all quite nice and pretty much all had WiFi (bar one), to allow us to contact family and friends from home.

Can I just pre warn you now, the food in Europe is AMAZING! Particularly in Italy !! The amount of pasta and pizza I consumed whilst being there, oh my god! Its a wonder I didn't come back 20 kilos heavier!!! The alcohol is free poured so you WILL get drunk, but trust me when I say that speaking from our personal experience, if you have a 7 hour bus ride the next day, do not and I repeat DO NOT drink too excessively the night before. Because when your stuck on a bus with 52 people, no windows and you can't vomit in the toilet, those service station toilet bowls are your only friend! Our group learnt the hard way after our 2nd night in Amsterdam!

Being slightly un-organised I didn't know there were optional activities that you had to pay for to attend or participate. None were mandatory, and I participated in pretty much all of them, but I just wish I had paid attention and saved away some more money just for those activities. I particularly enjoyed the white water rafting the most. Also when your in Paris, make sure you go see the Eiffel Tower at night. There are not enough words that I could use to describe how magnificent and beautiful that sight is! One I will never forget that's for sure!

If you're as lucky as us to get such an amazing crew like ours, you're seriously set for a such a good trip! Our extremely handsome and one hell of a parker, bus driver Gustavo and the ever so bubbly and kind Emma made our trip that much better!

If you've got bored after the first paragraph and have skipped right to the end JUST REMEMBER THESE 3 THINGS
1. Take lots and lots of photos and videos
2. Let loose (but not too loose) and be sure to try things you wouldn't do at home
3. and most importantly HAVE FUN

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, unforgettable

event 0.3
  • laureno
  • laureno
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a Lifetime doesn't begin to cover it

28 May 2015 - 13 Jun 2015

I don't think that there are any words to summarize exactly what I experienced. Was it pure bliss from the amazing sights I was experiencing? Was it the amazing European food? Was it the Contiki Cough we all caught? I will never know. But what I do know, is that I would do it all over again without any hesitation, sickness and all. Even though our Gypsy curse tried to rain on our parade, we wouldn't let any flat tire or sickness bring us down! Jake and Rasto were such an amazing pair, and their amazing attitudes really made us all bond as a family. My Contiki family. You will make memories to last a lifetime, and some of those memories you might not remember at all, thanks to free wine of course, but no memories of the night, are just as valuable as the vibrant ones. I just can't express to you how much you NEED to go on this trip. You hit all the highlights, and even some places in between that you might not have heard of, and those end up being your favorite... I'm looking at you LUCERNE. Anywho, don't hesitate. Just go for it. Live your adventure, and let Contiki help guide the way.

Review written Sep 2015

My Contiki was: unbelievable, perfection, priceless

event 0.3
  • Court
  • Court
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter

European Encounter!

02 Jul 2014 - 17 Jul 2014

My trip was the best thing I've ever done. Meeting and become so close with my Contiki family and getting to experience Europe in the best way possible. Our tour manager Joe defiantly made the trip, his passion for travel and how he talks about each country it was like having a book on tour he just knows everything and is the best at what he does. If it wasn't for him I don't think I would of experienced as much as I did. Thank-you Joe for giving me the best days of my life. My favourite place was Lucerne in Switzerland it was like living in a picture for a few days. I'll never forget my trip and miss everyone so much already.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: exciting , unforgetable , the best days of my life

event 0.3
  • Damo
  • Damo
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Encounter june/july 2014

27 Jun 2014 - 12 Jul 2014

Had an absolutely amazing trip, tour manager Steve was absolutely fantastic very knowledgeable and worked hard to ensure everyone had the time of their lives. Too many brilliant stories and locations to mention and would strongly recommend this trip for anyone who wants to see a number of the major sites in Europe as well as a few hidden gems off the beaten track, big shout out to miki our driver as well. As for the optional extras, all were well worth the money and really added to the entire experience in particular the cabaret dinner and show and white water rafting were exceptional!

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: awesome, memorable, eye-opening

event 0.3
  • Rachel
  • Rachel
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unforgettable honeymoon

23 May 2014 - 07 Jun 2014

The European encounter was the first adventure of our honeymoon. At first i wasn't too sure about sharing all these moments with a group of strangers, but as soon as i met everyone that was to be on the same tour, i realized that it was going to be an experience that i will never forget!

This particular tour took you to a large amount of must see's while in Europe, such as the leaning tower of Pisa, and the Eiffel tower.
The hotels that we stayed at were fine. They were not your 5 star hotels, but they had a shower and a bed so everyone was happy! You're hardly ever in your hotel room anyway so there would be no point to be in super fancy rooms!

Our tour manager, Alex, was remarkable. You could ask him almost anything about Europe and he would be able to answer it. If he couldn't answer the question he would make it his job to find out the answer for us asap. He was also super friendly and approachable which made the tour much more pleasant.

Some of the best memories of my life have been made on this tour, the people i met, the friendships i made, the sites i saw. I would recommend this tour to absolutely anyone and everyone. Don't look at it as "oh its too expensive for me" you cannot put a price on experiences, adventures and memories that you will never forget.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: friendships, experience, best

event 0.3
  • Helen
  • Helen
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best experience of my life!

23 May 2014 - 07 Jun 2014

To say this tour was the best experience of my life is the biggest understatement of the year.

This tour was life changing.

Not only did I make amazing friends for life, I got to see the places I have dreamed about since I can remember. The Optionals were better than I expected, Me and my partner done everyone and didn't regret a thing. My favourite was the gondola ride and white water rafting but all were so worth the money. I highly recommend the Nouvelle Dinner and Cabaret Show (worth more than the money spent trust

We were lucky enough to have the best tour manager and bus driver, they make the world of difference on your tour and ours went beyond their job description! The coach was comfy and we always had lots of fun.

I would highly recommend this tour if you want to see the best of Europe and have a great time with others like yourself :)

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: #noregrets , Amazing , Memorable

event 0.3
  • Liz88
  • Liz88
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Encounter

16 Jul 2010 - 31 Jul 2010

One of the best times in my life. I would highly recommend it!

Review written Jun 2014

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Danielle
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Incredible

01 May 2014 - 17 May 2014

Contiki is incredible, I definitely recommend doing a tour, you see so much that you wouldn't even think of doing on your own. The days are busy, long, and tiring but so worth it. I had the best time of my life on this tour, and it probably wouldn't have been as amazing without our tour manager roxy and driver jelly! They were amazing and always went above and beyond for us. It's great getting to meet and travel with so many people too, makes the trip so much better!

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Incredible, Exhausting, Memorable

event 0.3
  • Melissa
  • Melissa
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!!

08 Aug 2012 - 25 Aug 2012

I was going through a difficult time this past summer and decided that getting away would be the best thing for me. Contiki could not have provided me with a better experience!

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible, Fun, Exciting

event 0.3
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Loves it!

08 Oct 2010 - 23 Oct 2010

Our Tour Manager is the beat! Thanks Paul! We enjoyed the trip some more because of you! For those who can't take a vacation for a month or so, this 16 days trip is enough to see the best of the best of Europe!

What did you see, what did you do?

As per the brochure really. We did majority of the optionals, it's worth the try as you can see more of the local lifestyle. Besides, the whole group opted to go so it also is a fun to be in it.

What were the optionals like?

Descriptions as per brochure. Some people like me wouldn't want to dine at some asian restaurants as part of the optionals (yep, im asian!) simply because I am from Asia, and I just know from the moment I look at the menu whether a meal is good to try to or not (this is just my opinion). If I am in Europe, I might opt to stroll along the sidewalks and try the local food instead for an experience.

Describe your accommodation?

For a good deal that you get with Contiki, don't expect fancy rooms. Although my favorite hotel was in Switzerland, our room had an amazing view of the lake! The rest are just normal twin bed small room.

What food did you eat?

Breakfast is Continental for 16 days! =(

What did your crew do for you?

Our Tour Manager Paul and Coach Driver Thierry are the best! They are honest which ones are worth to go to and which ones aren't.

How was the transport, what were your tour mates like, best moments, would you recommend it?

Had the best trip in europe so far with Contiki because of the amazing people in our group too!

Review written Mar 2012

event 0.3
  • Ryan
  • Ryan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

15 Jun 2011 - 02 Jul 2011

The best thing I have ever done with my life.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Friendships, Memories, Amazing

event 0.3
  • *Jess*
  • *Jess*
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

11 Jul 2011 - 28 Jul 2011

so much fun! it was busy and tiring getting up and moving countries .. but definitely worth it! my boyfriend and i loved every minute of it. the hotels weren't as bad as our tour guide said they were.. we liked all of them :)

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: awesome, good price

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 16 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s Feature Hotel, 15 nights in hotels
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 15 continental breakfasts
  • 1 Regional dinner: Italian Trattoria feast
  • 6 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 11 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Volendam Dinner
  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
  • Swiss Mountain
  • Lake Lucerne Cruise
  • Stadtkeller Lunch
  • White Water Rafting
  • Secrets of Venice walking tour
  • Gondola ride
  • Venetian Dinner
  • Trip t-shirts
  • Vatican Tour
  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Tuscan Evening
  • Space Disco
  • Monaco Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve Dinner and Show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$127
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
13 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.