European Encounter (Winter)

Tour Length
17 days
From
US$2435
Overview Reviews

  • AmyHayward
  • AmyHayward
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great Trip

27 Dec 2013 - 11 Jan 2014

Good for those who want to see a lot in a small amount of time.
Wasn't really a party trip, more of a bucket list trip!

The knowledge of the Tour Manager was second to none, althought it was Winter, some might see this as a hinderance - but we didn't - our tour was lucky with only one day that it rained (while in Venice!). But we were very lucky with the weather, was mostly clear blue skies all other days, and then travelling into Italy, it was lightly snowing which was cool for all the Aussies who hadn't seen snow before!

Great trip to tick off most of the 'must sees' in Europe - be prepared for the yearning of wanting to come back to see more, and potentially in the Summer!

Review written Mar 2014

My Contiki was: Bucket List, Well Rounded, Quick and Fun

event 0.3
  • Natasha
  • Natasha
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Recommend it to all!

12 Dec 2012 - 27 Dec 2012

I had the most amazing time on this tour. I made so many new friends and had many new experiences that I will never forget. The crew were amazing and I can't wait to go on my next trip!

Review written Mar 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, inspirational, life changing

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • jpmcnab
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Mamma Mia!

31 Jan 2013 - 17 Feb 2013

Absolutely the best! As a first timer travelling through europe, this option was the best. It gave me glimpses of most of the countries one wonders as a child on how it is their culture and society; beside the rich history. It is a good start for anyone who wants to go a second time though, we only could stay 2 days max. on some of the places we were. My favorites were Lucerne, Innsbruck, Rome and Paris. Beware of switzerland! it is a wee bit expensive, you may want to check how much money you'll be carrying there; and beware of the street sellers in Italy, they tend to get "pushy". I made amazing friends on the trip, certainly will make a visit when I get the chance. I'm very pleased, though forget about sleeping and relaxing (except in Nice), too little time to spend sleeping in the coach. Try it!

Review written Feb 2013

event 0.3
  • DaleC
  • DaleC
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Europe One of The Best

16 Dec 2011 - 31 Dec 2011

The Contiki tour was so much fun and our Tour Manager Dom was THE BEST TOUR MANAGER EVER!
We saw all the normal tourist attractions and even got to go to a few Christmas markets where you can get the most delicious pastries and even buy little trinkets.
The only thing about the tour that wasn't so pleasant but we were warned is that the Venice canals had a stench that can only be described as sewage, however our Gondolier was entertaining!
You can never get enough of the food in Europe but the Gelato is something i miss!
The BEST part of the tour was when I got engaged in Rome on Christmas day :) and for the whole tour group to have known about it from the start and not said anything was really cool.
The tour group was a great group of people and everyone got along no matter where they came from or the language barriers.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Worthwhile, Experience for Life

event 0.3
  • MattNZ
  • MattNZ
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Something for everyone!

30 Dec 2011 - 14 Jan 2012

Being winter it was a bit cold but we didn’t have a drop of rain throughout the whole tour and the most perfect clear day when we went up Mt Pilatus in Luzern. Also on the plus side there were hardly any queues.

Some of the included meals weren’t as good as I was expecting but in saying that most of the optional dinners were terrific. I was happy with the accommodation; it’s not super flash or anything I did get the occasional lukewarm shower but it was clean and in the end it’s just a place lay your head.

You don’t get long in each location but it’s enough to see and do the main tourist attractions and it gives you the confidence to go back and do the best parts more thoroughly.

You could see that our tour guide Mike had put a lot of planning and research into the tour. He could off the cuff give us a rundown of each country we travelled through. He would try to help anyone who had specific spots they had heard about not included in the tour or where to do shopping for certain things. From the information he provided we could maximise our time and hit the ground running. And let’s not forget Mark our driver. He did a brilliant job getting us where we needed to be and avoiding low bridges that GPS doesn’t warn you about. They both brought the best of the group out.

What really makes the Contiki is the group; and we had one of the best. Cheers guys.

I recommend people do all the optional activities. I saw and did things I would have never have done had I travelled on my own like the Moulin Rouge for instance. This was my first solo tour and if you’re still on the fence about it my advice is just go for it.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Friends, Legendary

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Tutts
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Encounter NEW YEARS!!!

30 Dec 2011 - 14 Jan 2012

To be honest, going into the contiki tour i was quite nervous. But as soon as we got on the bus and listened to our tour guide, all my doubts quickly faded away.
It was the best and greatest experience of my life. All the cities, the people and professionalism and experience of the tour guide just made it the perfect holiday.
I also have 50 new friends from all over the world, what more could you get?
I would, and have recommended this to all of my friends.

Thanks Mike, Mark and CONTIKI!

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: The , Best , Time

event 0.3
  • T.IWANCH
  • T.IWANCH
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)

Just Loved The European Encounter!!

03 Nov 2011 - 20 Nov 2011

We took this tour as our honeymoon and feel that it was the best thing we ever did! It is highly recommended by us!

The optionals were great, and because people could opt out it catered to every spending bracket.....some people could afford to do them all, and some people none, but you still get to know your group whether or not you're involved in the optionals too!

The accommodations were good....nothing fancy, but nothing sketchy, so that was good enough for us honeymooners!

Our tour crew was awesome! These tour leaders know a lot about history, the different cultures, and teach you some of the local language as well. They are friendly and like the family you have while you're away from your family.

Finally, if you want to see a lot of Europe, but you don't have a lot of time and want to avoid some of the stress of traveling/booking alone, a Contiki tour is the thing for you. If you do it, you won't regret it!!

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Honeymoon, Perfect

event 0.3
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Glad i did it

03 Mar 2012 - 18 Mar 2012

Everything was great would highly recommend. Was sad to see it finish. Worlds best bus driver and tour manager. Will never forget thank you so much!!!

Review written Apr 2012

event 0.3
  • Catie
  • Catie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Once in a life time

28 Jan 2012 - 12 Feb 2012

This trip was truly a once in a life time experience. Who else can say that they visited Rome when it was under a foot a snow. When you are confronted with weather conditions that may affect your tour you just have to go with the flow and find something else to do that will give you a memory like no other. We had ample free time to discover places for ourselves and treat ourselves to true local food and culture.

I would recommend this tour to anyone who is not scared of a little cold snow and just wants to have a good time. Our contiki crew were amazing and added to the experience of travelling through Europe. I also made friends for life.

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: snow

event 0.3
  • Gerardo
  • Gerardo
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)

European Encounter Freaking awesome!!!

17 Jan 2012 - 03 Feb 2012

The tour was GREAT!!! By far the best tour I've done. You meet amazing people whom you become really close friends with, and share awesome experiences. Our driver Dave is a monster in an Awesome way. He got us through snow storms in the mountains and amazed us with his driving skills. Our tour manager Dan was very knowledgeble. He gave us a decent amount of information about every country. He made it fun and exciting. Overall I would definetly recommend contiki to all my friends.

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: It , was , Awesome!!!!

event 0.3
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Epic European adventure!

03 Nov 2011 - 20 Nov 2011

This tour was amazing! A great way to see a lot of Europe in a short amount of time. There were so many optionals to choose from, though the most memorable for me were the trip up Mt. Pilatus in Lucerne and the Moulin Rouge in Paris. The accommodations, for the most part, were pretty good. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about was having to share one key with my roommate.
The Contiki crew was awesome! Our Tour Manager, Krista, was very helpful and knowledgeable about each of the places we visited. Her sunny personality kept our group lively and happy. Gustavo, our Tour Driver, transported us in a safe and timely manner, and he, too was awesome.
Our group was like one big, happy dysfunctional family. Most of my tour mates were Australian, but it was great meeting everyone from all parts of the globe. We all keep in touch via Facebook, which is great! It was also fun meeting up with other Contiki tour groups on some of our stops.
I highly recommend this tour to everyone, especially those who want to see all that Western Europe has to offer (and are on a time constraint) and want to make great friends from all over the world.

Review written Dec 2011

My Contiki was: incredible, memorable, epic!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • lgatt
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

21 Dec 2010 - 05 Jan 2011

Awesome awesome awesome- don't want to go back to study. Time of my life and then some.

Review written Jan 2011

My Contiki was: Adventure, Great photos, Life experience

event 0.3
European Encounter (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

27 Nov 2010 - 12 Dec 2010

This trip was the most fun I have ever had, the people I met and the places I went were amazing! Whether you travel by yourself or with others Contiki made everyones trip fun! The excursions were great and I had a fantastic time. The driver, Tyson, and the tour manager, Steve, made the trip so much better and I am sure all Contiki employees are as much fun and as great a people as they are!

I will be recommending Contiki to ALL of my friends.

Thank you Contiki for a fantastic time!

Review written Dec 2010

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life-Changing, Experience

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 16 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 15 continental breakfasts
  • 8 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 11 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Volendam Restaurant
  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$143
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
13 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.