European Experience

Tour Length
21 days
From
US$2526
Overview Reviews

  • Todd
  • Todd
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 20 days of my life !

16 Jun 2014 - 05 Jul 2014

Being a frequent traveller, this was the first Contiki I've decided to do and I have absolutely #NOREGRETS.
This was honestly the best trip I've ever had! The sights covered in the tour are just amazing, the contiki villages & on site crew were so much fun. But the true highlight of the trip was all the amazing new friends I met and the ridiculous amount of memories we all now share. I honestly could of stayed on that bus and continued travelling the rest of the year with these guys.
But a massive thanks to our coach driver David & Steve our tour manger who was so much fun but also did a great job by giving us a lot of information on the cities & sights and making the trip run so smoothly & to top it of it was his first tour! Awesome job buddy & many thanks.
Definitely would recommend.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Awesome , Breathtaking

event 0.3
  • Sammy
  • Sammy
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Defiantly and experience!!

12 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

The European experience is defiantly worth the money! I had the most amazing time with the best group of people. Made life long friends from all over the world along with great memories!
The contiki group on this tour were rad! All so happy and willing to help with anything!
Don't think twice about this tour just DO IT! #noregrets

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing , Life long memories, No regrets

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

One of the best tours I have ever done

31 Mar 2013 - 19 Apr 2013

20 days 10 countries sounds like a lot and it is but it is but I highly recommend it if you want to see things but don't have that much time. I had my doubts of being about to do this tour and still be alive at the end. There was 50 people on my tour and we all got along great, some of us became best of mates, we kept an eye on each other whilst out. Cindy our tour manager and Carhil our driver were fantastic, two very funny and caring people.

Review written May 2014

event 0.3
  • Hannah
  • Hannah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The trip of a lifetime, SENSATIONAL!

29 Jul 2013 - 17 Aug 2013

Nothing will ever prepare you for the go go go of contiki! This was the best 20 days of my life that I got to spend with 45 amazing other travellers and our fantastic tour manager, Mark Davies and awesome coach driver, Cathal Woods. We saw everything amazing that Europe had to offer and you get so much more out of your contiki experience than you'll ever expect. Yes, we partied a lot and yes we hardly slept and yes! We were always on the move but I wouldn't change my experience for the world. The food was always good and so was the accommodation, and don't skimp on the optionals! It's the best way to get to know your fellow contikians. I would do this tour again in heartbeat, my advice would just be to know that you'll never be prepared for what's about to hit you but get ready for the time of your life!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: SENSATIONAL!

event 0.3
  • Sydney
  • Sydney
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Greatest Experience!

01 Jul 2013 - 22 Jul 2013

I recently did the European Experience tour this summer and had the time of my life! I loved how everything was already organized so I could spend my time making amazing memories, and friendships that will last a life time! My tour manager Chloe was absolutely amazing, going out of her way to make this the best trip ever, and our bus driver Scotty was so great as well! I would recommend Contiki to anyone and hope to do another tour sometime in the future! Sydney x

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, funloving, exciting

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience

13 Aug 2012 - 01 Sep 2012

Awesome tour cannot wait to go back!!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Europe, Best time

event 0.3
  • Katy
  • Katy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Experience of my Life

08 Jul 2013 - 27 Jul 2013

I had the time of my life and will never forget it! I saw great sites, met great people, and learnt so much about myself in the process.

It was great having two nights in most places because it meant you had a whole day to explore the city/town. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable, Fun

event 0.3
  • Dani_J
  • Dani_J
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

WOW!! Memories to treasure for the rest of my life!!

23 May 2013 - 11 Jun 2013

This was the most amazing trip of my life................ I really got the best tour manager and driver Anna and Atur!! (The A Team) and of course my contiki family!!

We have created many memories that I will treasure for the rest of my life :) travelling around Europe has always been a dream of mine and I am so glad I got to experience it with my contiki family!!

Don't forget to WORK HARD, PLAY HARD!!!!

xxxx

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, WOW!!, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Kara
  • Kara
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience June 2013

12 Jun 2013 - 03 Jul 2013

Best trip I've ever taken and met some of the best people who are like family now. Totally worth the money spent and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: epic, party, family

event 0.3
  • Carna
  • Carna
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience

The BEST time of my life

06 Jun 2013 - 25 Jun 2013

This tour was probably the most fun I have had in years, I saw the most fantastic places and did the most wonderful things. It was also the most fast paced thing I've done, if you are looking to relax and chill all the time this is not the tour for you.
Be ready to walk and be amazed by Europe.
We had the best group by far and also the BEST tour manager and driver.

Thanx for an unforgettable experience!!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Stephanie
  • Stephanie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!!!

29 May 2013 - 19 Jun 2013

If you're trying to decide between this trip and a shorter trip choose this one!! After going on this trip and talking to other people who did a similar but shorter trip I was so happy I picked the European Experience! On the shorter trips most of your time is spent travelling but on this trip you get free days in the amazing cities and countries you visit. This trip was the trip of a lifetime!!!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Party, Amazing, Fun

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time of my life

20 May 2013 - 08 Jun 2013

This European experience contiki tour was the best time of my life. Saw the breathtaking beauty of Europe and am now apart of an amazing, multinational family of fellow contiki travellers. Loved it I want to do it all over again!!!!!!!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Breathtaking, Party

event 0.3
  • Chelsea
  • Chelsea
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome! Highly recommended :)

11 Jul 2011 - 30 Jul 2011

This trip was one of the best times of my life!

You get to see the main attractions of the bigger European cities, however I did leave some saying that there wasn’t enough time. But it encourages me to go back, which isn’t a terrible thing :) There is also a mix of historical and scenery towns and some nice down chill time so that you're not always going full ball. An awesome mix.

Some of the optional activities are things I'd never seek out myself but I am so happy I did them! Worth the extra money. Don't pass up the opportunities!
The tour manager was a great guy who could point us in the right directions during our free time for food etc., and teach you the language’s pleasantries, and our bus driver was such a character.

Accommodation was actually better than expected. Staff at the cites were awesome too.
The nights are quite focused around going out, or parties, drinking, and having a good time which I certainly enjoyed. Time to bond even more with your new life-long friends. I went alone and it is nothing to be intimated about! I would actually totally recommend it, it makes you come out of your shell quicker, and even more, and you will form even better relationships with the others.
I think this tour was just about the perfect length. Take some vitamins before you go though, everyone but 1 person on my bus ended up getting 'contiki cough' throughout the trip.

Went on this in July 2011 and enjoyed it so much am currently planning out my second Contiki :)

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Adventure, Unforgettable , Party

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

WOW

23 Apr 2012 - 12 May 2012

I had the time of my life!!! Met super amazing people and got to see evan more amazing places!!!

Accommadation was good - think 99% of us got most of our sleep on the coach (bus) ride to our next destination..... :D

We had the best coash driver and tour guid - made a great team and that made the trip just that much more awesome.

In France and Italy we had a lot of Pizza and Pasta, and then when we got to Germany we got around to the food that I as a South African love. In Germany there was a lot of beer drinking.

All the Contiki stop overs had a bar - and wow what a PARTY!!!

I recommend this trip to anyone that wants to see Europe and have fun!!!

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Wow, Amazing, Fun

event 0.3
  • Claudz
  • Claudz
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Experience

i did not do this tour

19 Sep 2011 - 08 Oct 2011

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Dorothy
  • Dorothy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best thing I have experienced so far...

08 Sep 2012 - 27 Sep 2012

We visited every country and although at times it felt like we were flying by the seat of our pants everything we got to see and experience was great.
I definitely recommend doing the optionals. Contiki has picked some of the best things to do in the different countries, and although for some people it may be a bit boring, like just a dinner in Florence, it is well worth the money.

If you don't want to do the optionals the crew are awesome people and will advise you on whatever you want to know. They know the best bars, clubs, restaurants, sightseeing areas, monuments, statues, etc in the area. Things to do and places to see.

Accommodation for some seemed to be not fancy enough. Personally, I was there to see Europe, not hang out in a hotel room. The accommodation was just fine.

We usually ate local food and they were all good wholesome meals. And breakfast seemed pretty standardized across the sites. Nothing fancy but fitting for all tastes.

The crew would always go above and beyond to ensure that everyone was having a great time. If you had special requests they would see if it was at all possible to accomplish them.

The coach was very comfortable. I did some solo travel after the tour and it was far less comfortable.

All the people on tour were friendly, and although not all of us may have gotten along, we were civil to each other and by the end of the nights were all dancing in one crazy group. Contiki is the time to leave any prejudice and pet hates aside and just enjoy the people for who they are.

I really loved Austria, I'm more an adventure/ outdoor sort of person and Austria was just packed with Mountain Bike ride, Paragliding and White Water Rafting.
I did enjoy the cities, walking, shopping and seeing all the ancient architecture.

This tour had an even mix of everything on the tour. There was shopping, adventure, walking tours, cultural viewing and plenty of group bonding.

I would absolutely recommend this tour to everyone who wanted a quick view of some of the most popular sites. This tour has let me taste all those infamous sites that everyone raves on about wanting to seeing (Paris, Rome, Amsterdam, etc). And has given me a basic idea of what I want to go back and re-visit, and explore further.

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Awesome, Mind, Blown

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Best Time Of My Life"

16 Sep 2011 - 05 Oct 2011

I had the best time of my life during the European Experience... My whole group was fantastic and have made some friends for life.. You need to do all the optionals.. Your only there once so try everything. Austria & the Swiss Alps are the 2 most beautiful countries. I wish we had spent more time there! One of the best nights out was Nouvelle Eve Cabaret show! Best optional without a doubt was the White water rafting & paragliding in Austria.. Try as much of the local foods as possible.

Review written Jul 2012

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Glenn
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Too much partying...

02 May 2012 - 23 May 2012

It felt like there was a huge emphasis on partying for the entire trip. There were Contiki-organized parties almost every night of the trip, many of the "optional" activities included going out to bars and clubs. Not that partying is so bad, but it's not what I went to europe for. It's ok to offer these activities, but I just felt like half the trip was based on it. And most of the people who went on the trip seemed to already know that - I don't know how I didn't, but apparently Contiki is famous for this. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good price to see so many countries, but don't go on this trip if you want to see and experience europe, go on this trip if you want to PARTY in europe. And by that I mean, party in remote campsites outside of major cities in europe.

Furthermore, all the (costly) optional activities were overhyped and overrated. The tour manager was clearly trying to push for people to spend more money (probably made commission), and many activities were very disappointing (especially anything involving food was particularly mediocre).

A LOT of this tour is spent on the bus, where the music is very loud, even after repeated requests to turn it down, it always ends up loud again.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: hungover, bus, loud

event 0.3
  • Smarie_85
  • Smarie_85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Everything & More

12 May 2012 - 02 Jun 2012

The tour included everything that I thought it would and I feel like I definitely got my money's worth. Even though the trip was pressed for time to squeeze everything in, I got what I wanted out of every place. I loved the very top of the Eiffel tower, the Chateau de Croix in France, the Colosseum, Vatican City, the gondola's in Venice, and the paragliding in Austria.
I really appreciated the work that our tour Manager, Mike and driver, Andras put in to make it a successful trip. There were some bumps in the road but with these guys at the front of the coach they always made me feel taken care of. Mike's passion for the job and for Europe was clearly reflected during the tour with how he spoke about the different counties we were entering, to partying with us till the early hours of the morning even though we all had to be up early. Even his day sheets rocked :)
I would definitely recommend Contiki for the more intense traveler that likes adventure and to see everything humanly possible in the amount of time they are given, not for the people who consider vacation as sleeping in and laying on the beach all day.
I am currently saving up for another vacation, and I hope I am able to do it with Contiki.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Unforgetable, Exceded expectations, Intense

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European experience- best tour ever!!!

04 May 2012 - 23 May 2012

Did this tour in may 2012, was the best 3 weeks of my life.. Was absolutely unreal. Had the best tour guide/bus driver/ group!! The sights were amazing, the parties were awesome.. Don't have a bad thing to say.. This tour was the right amount of days, and I would defenetly recommend it !!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Unreal, Amazing, Time of my life

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 20 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 7 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 6 nights hotel upgrade, 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 33 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 19 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 13 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$120
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
31 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.