European Experience

Tour Length
21 days
From
US$2384
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • beezaj
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

What You Need To Know Before You Go

09 Aug 2015 - 29 Aug 2015

You will have the absolute time of your life on this trip. It's the perfect amount of time, if you're trying to see a lot in not a lot of time. HOWEVER, there's a few things I wish I knew before I chose this trip:

1) If you are traveling later than July, you will encounter bed bugs. I traveled for the month of August and had three separate bed bug infestations - all at the "special" contiki stopovers, not any of the hotels. The management will not do anything about it unless you throw a fit, which I did both the second and third time, at which point you receive tokens for laundry and they "steam" your room. I got into the habit of checking my bed before every night I went to sleep, but there isn't much you can do to prevent them.. The bits are gross and itchy and it's beyond frustrating how little contiki does to mitigate such a disgusting problem.
2) You WILL get sick, like VERY sick. Bring enough cold medicine to last the entire trip, every single kind you can think of.
3) You WILL get lice. It's not as common as the bed bugs, but still very prevalent, and absolutely impossible to handle while traveling. Most people don't realize until they have already gotten home from the trip, but enough people in my same travel group got it as well to know that it was contiki (I ONLY traveled contiki, not a single accommodation was outside of them, so I can 100% know that where I got it).

*In the end, if you're with a good group of people these things aren't going to ruin your trip, but my trip would had been a lot less STRESSFUL (I mean come on I was trying to enjoy my holiday) had I known these precautions going into it.

Review written Oct 2015

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

best experience of my life

11 Sep 2015 - 30 Sep 2015

Over all, this was one of the best things I could of ever done. I went solo so I was extremely nervous, but by the 2nd day everyone had loosened up and intermingled and by then you already felt like a group.

With the OPTIONALS I did majority of them, I don't have any that stand out that say "do not do". some of the walking tours where a little boring but that just depends on the type of person you are, if you can keep your attention long enough. be prepared for the white water rafting, it was freezing! my toes went purple, so bring very warm clothes to change into after! apart from that, do everything you can afford.

ACCOMODATION: I didn't really have a problem with any of the accommodation. it depends on how picky you are with things. in Austria I unfortunately did pick up bed bugs but all my washing was paid for to get rid of them, and another guy got them in Rome. the cabins were really cute, majority didn't have air cons which was maybe the only down fall. in Florence I was a little annoyed at the fact there was only 2 washers and 2 dryers on offer to share, and which you needed to pay for (along with wifi that only worked in certain areas).

FOOD: the provided breakfast every day filled me up until lunch. At contiki run sights the breakfast was really good (eggs, bacon, toast, fruits ect) but at the hotels/cabins sometimes it was just toast, fruits yogurts and cereals which were still pretty good. lunch was provided on a couple days; other then that you needed to provide your own, but it was very easy to get where ever you went.

Some days you do spend quite a while on the busses, but you have service stops every 2.5hrs in a village to wander for an hour and get food. also on the bus is music and our guide played games ect. if you wanted to sleep then the chairs reclined and it was easy to doze off, especially after a big night before!
usually every 2nd night was a party night, even if it wasn't a party night; something chilled would become more. If you didn't want to go out that night/drink ect then there was no hassle at all, some nights I stayed in and I didn't get any crap for it.

my tour guide (Rachel) was better then I ever expected. she went out of her way to help me, one night she lent me her ipad so I could stay in and watch movies as I wasn't feeling very well. she was professional but knew how to connect with each person on tour individually and she pretty much notched the tour up that bit extra!
as for anna, the driver, the tight corners and passage ways she could squeeze through was crazy! even though she was at the front of the bus, she always bust a move and came out when she could!
the people I met on tour I will never forget, the last day together was very hard knowing you may never see them again.

all in all, this is a must do. ill def be doing contiki again!
#opaaaa #babybird #shoey #savethequeen #kyleeeeee #shotsshotsshots

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: amazing, no regrets, must do

event 0.3
  • Loren
  • Loren
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing time with #noregrets

29 May 2015 - 17 Jun 2015

This trip is full on but such an awesome experience! You see so much and do things you would have never imagined in the 20 days. The sight seeing, the partying, the new friends you make, it is all worth it. I had one of the best times ever travelling around Europe for my first time with 49 amazing people!! You really do become one big family, and make friendships that will last a life time.

The accommodation and food well exceeded my expectations. Staying in little cabins at the contiki villages, makes it so much fun, as you're not all spread around a hotel on different floors. They aren't always that fancy, but it's part of the experience. All these sites have bars onsite, which is nice and easy for partying. The contiki team throw costume parties for you onsite, and they are awesome. You get feed pretty well on this trip, with 3 course meals most nights, and sometimes free wine with your meal, who can say no to that?

The optionals are a must do! Most people do them all, and it's a great way to bond with your new friends. In the end it's all about the people you share these memories with. Our tour manager (Courtney) said at the beginning of the tour "you saved to travel, you are not travelling to save" - so spend up and do everything you can and literally have no regrets!!

The bus rides aren't as bad as people make them out to be. You spend most of the morning catching up on sleep and you don't really get sick of the bus, it's actually quite fun, good time to have some down time and chat with all your new friends.

Recommendations would be to take some church clothes for places like Vatican City, you need to be covered up to walk around there. Also some nice outfits for Monte Carlo and a few of the other nights out. It can be a pain trying to find outfits on your free days in places like Paris when all you want to do is see the Eiffel tower etc.

You create the best memories ever with amazing people and Contiki treats you very well - such an awesome team of people! Missing all my contiki family so much!

Would do it all over again!!

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: THE BEST, Unforgettable, TAKE ME BACK

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Isra
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 21 days of my life

11 Jun 2015 - 01 Jul 2015

All in all the trip was amazing, this was my first contiki and I was travelling solo, but the people were great and it was a really good experience. It's really fast paced, you really just get a taste of each city, but you still get to see a lot. You get a lot of free time to do what you want do and see what you want and really get a chance to experience every city.

The accommodations are just okay, they weren't the greatest, but you really only end up sleeping for about 4-5 hours if even, so you don't really spend too much time in the cabins. Bed bugs were an issue, which was really frustrating and upsetting, but it happens. Bug repellent and cough/cold/flu medicine is a necessity, because the contiki cough is unavoidable.

Review written Jul 2015

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Tim
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience

Best time ever!

29 May 2015 - 17 Jun 2015

So glad I went on my trip, it was the best holiday I have had! Awesome group of people made for awesome times, we couldn't have done it all with out our fabulous tour manager Courtney! aka 'Coxy'. I could not recommend a Contiki more than anything, you wont regret it! They squeeze so much into the time you have it's just amazing.

Review written Jun 2015

My Contiki was: fun, awesome, party

event 0.3
  • Julie
  • Julie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience-AMAZING

28 May 2015 - 17 Jun 2015

This is such an amazing trip! Everything you do is awesome from the sight seeing to the optionals--and do all the optionals! I cannot recommend this enough, it's the perfect amount of time and the perfect amount of places.
A few suggestions would be that you will need nicer clothing for some of the optionals in France and you will DEFINITELY need bug spray in Venice. Also, bring a neck pillow for the bus, I didn't have one and my jacket was not comfy. Also take a large beach towel for you towel because they can double up as blankets on the bus or if you do not want to get your sleeping bag out in the accommodations.
Again, I cannot recommend this enough and if you are even slightly considering it, just do it because you won't have any regrets and you will meet so many cool people and share incredible experiences. Also do not be afraid to go alone, I did and I am so glad for it.

The food is also great everywhere but be prepared to try some newer items that may be specify to the region.

Review written Jun 2015

My Contiki was: Incredible, Memorable, Once in a lifetime

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a life time!

05 Apr 2015 - 25 Apr 2015

I just got home from my trip, and I could not be more disappointed to be home. Our tour guide Carly, was absolutely fantastic; she knew historical information, where to go, where not to go, she joked around, and knew how to show us a good time. Our driver, Sandro, was equally as awesome!

Met 44 of the most incredible people, and met 7 people that will forever be family. The places we went were incredible, and even though most of the monuments we went to in Italy were under maintenance and covered in scaffolding , we were just as amazed. The parties were nothing but fun. We were unable to do the water rafting in Austria due to it being off season, but other than that I did almost every optional, and I don't regret one. the Paragliding in particular was my absolute favourite.

There were people that travelled solo, people in groups, and even couples. So if you're travelling alone, don't worry about it at all. Everyone becomes a family by day 3. I would do this trip over and over again.

It is a budget tour, so don't expect to stay at fancy hotels. That being said, we were always looked after and had accom needs met, no problem. Contiki on sites were always there to help.

My one suggestion is to bring medicine and lots of it. the #contikicough is real, and it is not fun. I had it for a few days and then got over it, then everyone got sick and i caught it again and its sticking around. So make sure you bring lots of cough syrup, cold and flu meds and lots of tissues.

If you're on the fence about doing this trip, just jump and book it. Best time of my life. Miss it already.

Review written May 2015

My Contiki was: adventure, incredible , eye-opening

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Elizabeth
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience

19 Jul 2014 - 08 Aug 2014

Seriously loved this trip! It even inspired me to write a blog post!
Check it out! http://www.darlingpursuit.com/im-a-bird/

Review written Apr 2015

event 0.3
  • Maxwellmcm
  • Maxwellmcm
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Holiday Ever!

12 Sep 2014 - 01 Oct 2014

My Contiki trip to Europe well exceeded my expectations! The people and the Contiki onsites made it so welcoming and enjoyable for me. Traveling solo I did feel a little uneasy, but by the end of day 1 that feeling was long gone!

Travelling with 40 people, you do create a bond that turns into great friendships! My only regret was not picking a longer tour ! :(

That being said, I've already put down a deposit for my next Contiki ! Bring on America!!]

#gason #Fixe

Review written Oct 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life changing, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Ash
  • Ash
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience

European experience

18 Aug 2014 - 06 Sep 2014

The most incredible experience ever! The people on my tour were amazing! Going alone was the best decision I made. Our tour manager was absolutely amazing.. He was great at showing us around and making the tour extremely exciting and fun for all of us as well as our bus driver. Everyone on the tour became family within a week of being on the tour.
The places visited were beautiful and perfect.. Never had a better holiday in my life.. Contiki has changed my life it has reawakened apart of me, a passion for life, food, friends, family and culture.

Optionals were great and gave us an opportunity to bond as a group as well as experience as much of the country we were in.

Wow just wow! I want more saving up for the next one :P

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing experience

event 0.3
  • Todd
  • Todd
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 20 days of my life !

16 Jun 2014 - 05 Jul 2014

Being a frequent traveller, this was the first Contiki I've decided to do and I have absolutely #NOREGRETS.
This was honestly the best trip I've ever had! The sights covered in the tour are just amazing, the contiki villages & on site crew were so much fun. But the true highlight of the trip was all the amazing new friends I met and the ridiculous amount of memories we all now share. I honestly could of stayed on that bus and continued travelling the rest of the year with these guys.
But a massive thanks to our coach driver David & Steve our tour manger who was so much fun but also did a great job by giving us a lot of information on the cities & sights and making the trip run so smoothly & to top it of it was his first tour! Awesome job buddy & many thanks.
Definitely would recommend.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Awesome , Breathtaking

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

One of the best tours I have ever done

31 Mar 2013 - 19 Apr 2013

20 days 10 countries sounds like a lot and it is but it is but I highly recommend it if you want to see things but don't have that much time. I had my doubts of being about to do this tour and still be alive at the end. There was 50 people on my tour and we all got along great, some of us became best of mates, we kept an eye on each other whilst out. Cindy our tour manager and Carhil our driver were fantastic, two very funny and caring people.

Review written May 2014

event 0.3
  • Hannah
  • Hannah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The trip of a lifetime, SENSATIONAL!

29 Jul 2013 - 17 Aug 2013

Nothing will ever prepare you for the go go go of contiki! This was the best 20 days of my life that I got to spend with 45 amazing other travellers and our fantastic tour manager, Mark Davies and awesome coach driver, Cathal Woods. We saw everything amazing that Europe had to offer and you get so much more out of your contiki experience than you'll ever expect. Yes, we partied a lot and yes we hardly slept and yes! We were always on the move but I wouldn't change my experience for the world. The food was always good and so was the accommodation, and don't skimp on the optionals! It's the best way to get to know your fellow contikians. I would do this tour again in heartbeat, my advice would just be to know that you'll never be prepared for what's about to hit you but get ready for the time of your life!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: SENSATIONAL!

event 0.3
  • Sydney
  • Sydney
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Greatest Experience!

01 Jul 2013 - 22 Jul 2013

I recently did the European Experience tour this summer and had the time of my life! I loved how everything was already organized so I could spend my time making amazing memories, and friendships that will last a life time! My tour manager Chloe was absolutely amazing, going out of her way to make this the best trip ever, and our bus driver Scotty was so great as well! I would recommend Contiki to anyone and hope to do another tour sometime in the future! Sydney x

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, funloving, exciting

event 0.3
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience

13 Aug 2012 - 01 Sep 2012

Awesome tour cannot wait to go back!!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Europe, Best time

event 0.3
  • Katy
  • Katy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Experience of my Life

08 Jul 2013 - 27 Jul 2013

I had the time of my life and will never forget it! I saw great sites, met great people, and learnt so much about myself in the process.

It was great having two nights in most places because it meant you had a whole day to explore the city/town. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable, Fun

event 0.3
  • Dani_J
  • Dani_J
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

WOW!! Memories to treasure for the rest of my life!!

23 May 2013 - 11 Jun 2013

This was the most amazing trip of my life................ I really got the best tour manager and driver Anna and Atur!! (The A Team) and of course my contiki family!!

We have created many memories that I will treasure for the rest of my life :) travelling around Europe has always been a dream of mine and I am so glad I got to experience it with my contiki family!!

Don't forget to WORK HARD, PLAY HARD!!!!

xxxx

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, WOW!!, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Kara
  • Kara
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Experience June 2013

12 Jun 2013 - 03 Jul 2013

Best trip I've ever taken and met some of the best people who are like family now. Totally worth the money spent and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: epic, party, family

event 0.3
  • Carna
  • Carna
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience

The BEST time of my life

06 Jun 2013 - 25 Jun 2013

This tour was probably the most fun I have had in years, I saw the most fantastic places and did the most wonderful things. It was also the most fast paced thing I've done, if you are looking to relax and chill all the time this is not the tour for you.
Be ready to walk and be amazed by Europe.
We had the best group by far and also the BEST tour manager and driver.

Thanx for an unforgettable experience!!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Stephanie
  • Stephanie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Experience
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!!!

29 May 2013 - 19 Jun 2013

If you're trying to decide between this trip and a shorter trip choose this one!! After going on this trip and talking to other people who did a similar but shorter trip I was so happy I picked the European Experience! On the shorter trips most of your time is spent travelling but on this trip you get free days in the amazing cities and countries you visit. This trip was the trip of a lifetime!!!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Party, Amazing, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 20 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 7 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 6 nights hotel upgrade, 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 33 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 19 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 13 dinners

Inclusions

  • 11 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Space Disco
  • Tuscan Evening
  • Vatican Tour
  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • An evening passegiata & aperitivo
  • Gondola ride
  • An evening passegiata & aperitivo
  • White Water Rafting
  • Tandem paragliding
  • Mountain bike tour & BBQ lunch
  • Swarovski Crystal World
  • Mike's Bikes Tour
  • Jungfrau Mountain visit
  • Wine tasting
  • Canal bike tour
  • Canal cruise (1 hour)
  • Sea Palace Dinner
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$113
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
38 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.