European Highlights

Tour Length
15 days
From
US$1951
Overview Reviews

  • nmassaroni
  • nmassaroni
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Absolutely Amazing

07 Aug 2013 - 22 Aug 2013

Going on this tour was seriously the best decision I've ever made. From the places we visited to the new and amazing friends I made, it was honestly perfect. You get to experience so much in what seems like a short amount of time, but trust me when I say it's just enough! The cities that you'll visit are must sees and you'll go home with tons of amazing pictures that will last you a life time. Our tour manager (Jaimie) and our coach driver (Jim) were incredibly fun, friendly and were very good at their jobs. Overall, this is definitely a tour that would be perfect for anyone and I'm so glad that I was able to go on it. Can't wait to plan my next tour!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Perfect, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Rudi
  • Rudi
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

First Europe Expierence

11 Aug 2013 - 24 Aug 2013

By far the best way to experience Europe for the first time and make friends from all over the world!!

Had fun times and memories that will last forever, can't wait for my next contiki :)

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Memories, Experience, No Regrets

event 0.3
  • Danica
  • Danica
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Euro Highlights Summer 2013 Review

10 Jun 2013 - 25 Jun 2013

Contiki first appealed to my friends and I because we had never been to Europe, and didn't know where to start. With this tour, we got to see all the main highlights in a quick 2 weeks! Yes the tour was super fast paced, but you saw the main things, and now we know where we want to spend more time!

Don't expect anything luxurious about the accommodation, it's called a budget tour for a reason! We actually preferred the Contiki campsites (because you got to mingle with everyone and they all had a bar), where-as the hotels were BUDGET!

As for the breakfasts, they were a continental breakfast, so it is exactly what you would expect: toast, fruit, cereal. Do the optional meals! I did them all except the one in Paris, and they were great! (Especially the one in Florence!!!)

Be prepared to spend a lot on the optional excursions. I thought it was going to be a lot cheaper, but I ended up spending around $350 CAD. (But most of them were worth it!)

My only complaint. For our Contiki stop over at the Chateau in France, we pulled up, did the wine tasting, and then were told we were not staying there tonight, instead we drove to Lyon, France. Contiki had over-booked and our tour got moved. My friends and I thought this was a joke! We were so excited to stay here, we had heard amazing stories about it. Instead we stayed in the dirtiest hotel ever with a noise curfew, and were given $10 euros for dinner. 10 EUROS IS SUCH A JOKE. That doesn't even buy you McDonalds in France! (We were given $10 euros because at the stop over that was one of our included meals).

Other than that HUGE disappointment, Contiki was good. Lots of great memories, met some great people, and got to see a ton!

I'm not sure if I would recommend Contiki to others just because of the hiccup in France that I believe was not handled properly, but I did have a good experience with the rest of it.

Cheers!

Review written Aug 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Ashley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Europe 2012

21 Sep 2012 - 04 Oct 2012

First time ever overseas! It was the most amazing trip ever, cannot wait to go back and spend more time at all of these wonderful places! Contiki is such a great way to do it, felt safe and made many new friends! Looking forward on planning a new zealand contiki for next year and a 6 week contiki through euroupe in 2015 love it love it love it!

Review written Aug 2013

event 0.3
  • Elaine
  • Elaine
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The most amazing trip I will never forget!

20 Aug 2012 - 04 Sep 2012

It was my first trip with Contiki and I went with two friends on the European Highlights tour. Considering it was my first time to Europe, I thought going this way would minimize the amount of "guess work" in terms of getting around, knowing where to go and what to do, etc. What I got was 100x more than that! This trip paved the way to having loads of new friends which I still keep in touch with a year later. We saw the most amazing cities, landmarks and sites with our awesome tour manager Amy who gave us the low down on just about everything. There was always something to do, parties to be had and it was hands down the best two weeks of my life. Be warned though, this trip is going to test your endurance like crazy! It was just go, go, go! But it was worth the lack of sleep, tired mornings and long days. It's only 2 weeks guys, don't waste it on sleep!!! Thanks Contiki for the awesome memories! I'll be doing a Thailand Contiki tour next, can't wait!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Megs
  • Megs
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Two Weeks Ever!

29 Jun 2013 - 12 Jul 2013

European Highlights was honestly the best, most amazing two weeks of my life so far. It is crazy fast-paced, and you will see more in these two weeks than you ever thought possible. My group, TM (Clare) and driver (Mark) were incredible and definitely made the trip what it was. I wouldn't change a thing. Contiki really knows whats good in all the places you visit.

I have a full breakdown and review on my blog http://meganstraveladventure.wordpress.com/ and if you have any questions please ask!

You will not regret doing this tour at all, and it will be one of the best decisions you will ever make!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: incredible, amazing, crazy

event 0.3
  • Haley
  • Haley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights

European Highlights Review

17 Jun 2013 - 02 Jul 2013

I'm a 20-year-old college student who was looking for an extended budget trip that covered a lot of territory...this was definitely it. Every morning I was in awe of the sights surrounding me, whether it was a drive in the coach or a free day in the city. I didn't know what to expect, traveling with 51 strangers, but it was the best experience I could have asked for. I truly gained lifelong friends that appreciated culture and new experiences just as much as me. It also wouldn't have been the same without our tour guides, Chloe and Alex. They were incredibly knowledgable on each place we visited and truly strived to accomodate each travelers' experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get a quick feel for each culture, making the most out of hours you have at each destination. Without hesitation I can say my Contiki tour was the best 16 days of my life!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Mitchell
  • Mitchell
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Most amazing time of my life

25 May 2013 - 07 Jun 2013

I wish the trip went longer. Made some best mates and had the time of my life. Could not ask for a better driver (Marco) and tour manager (Bec). Really helps when the contiki crew want to make the most out of our trip. And all 49 people were ever so greatful

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Life changing , Mind blowing, Amazing

event 0.3
  • kac
  • kac
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Exactly as per the title - highlights!

21 Sep 2012 - 04 Oct 2012

This was a fantastic tour, in the instance where we were able to see the 'highlights' of Europe (exactly as per the title). This was good for us, as we were time limited and wanted to cram as much in as possible.

However, there were a few downsides.

Firstly, the accommodation was often out of the way from the towns (so you had to stick to the group schedule unless you were willing to take a boat on your own back to some camp site 30 mins away from Venice). Some of the accommodation was infested by mosquitos - mainly the campsites.

Secondly, we were expected to do a session of 'chores' where we had to help serve or clean up after a meal. This was really inconsistent as, while I was never allocated a shift, other people were allocated two (in the 2-week period). Slightly poor form, considering we'd paid to go on holiday. Food was a reminder of boarding school, and being in the middle of no-where meant we didn't have a choice.

Thirdly, our tour guide made the tour seem like a school trip. Not fun when we are bullied into doing things we don't want to do, under the guise of 'fun'. This was a minor complaint, and it was amusing seeing the tour guide explain that we should give her positive feedback otherwise the company asks her questions. Our tour guide also discouraged us from visiting nearby Cannes when we were in Nice, stating we wouldn't have time. (We did though!).

Forth, we really underestimated the distance between some of the locations, and spent a LOT of time on a bus. Had we known this, we may have thought twice about coming on this trip.

Overall, some great memories and met some lovely people! Seeing Paris/the Eiffel Tower and heading to Oktoberfest were my highlights. Would probably think twice about doing this type of tour again though.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Paris, School trip, Highlights

event 0.3
  • Amanda
  • Amanda
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Disappointing quality of Me Time Optional

16 May 2013 - 31 May 2013

I had the Tuscan optional meal in Florence last night. Someone found a maggot in the main dish and a fly on the dessert. It was disgusting and disappointing to say the least in how it was handled. Don't opt in for the optional meals, it's expensive and you don't get the quality meal you're told to expect. We were told 4 pastas, we got 3, the chicken had maggots and the dessert had flies. It also cost over 30 euro.... And no effort was made to resolve the situation.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Disappointing , Poor

event 0.3
  • Kirsty
  • Kirsty
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing from start to finish!!

05 Sep 2012 - 18 Sep 2012

I'm from the UK and this was the perfect way to see all the best sites of Europe...and make some awesome friends. I always tell my friends to do Contikis just because its easier and a lot less scary than going by yourself! Accomodation was pretty good for 'basic' accommodation, not that we spent long in our rooms, we were either sightseeing or partying and we saved sleep for the bus! I'd recommend this tour to anybody, I've travelled to Europe loads of times before and I've never ever had the opportunities to do the things I did on my tour.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: surreal, fast, crazy

event 0.3
  • wvp
  • wvp
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Europe

27 Jul 2012 - 11 Aug 2012

I met some wonderful people and visited beautiful places. Got to swim in Nice, partied in Paris, and so much more! I will never forget this experience!

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Brian!
  • Brian!
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A highlight of Europe

13 Jul 2012 - 26 Jul 2012

This is a great tour packed full of all the main attractions around Europe. 14 days is the perfect amount of time to see and experience what Contiki is all about. The added extras are definitely worth doing and your sure to have an experience of a life time. My tour leader was awesome and gave the whole bus a great understanding of what to do and see in each country we went to. Made some great friends from all around the world. Definitely a must!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Europe , Lifetime, Party

event 0.3
  • EmilyKay
  • EmilyKay
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki's European Highlights

21 Jun 2012 - 06 Jul 2012

...The best few weeks of my life. I never would have expected to make such good friends from all over the world. The group was amazing and so welcoming to everyone. Both our driver and guide were surprisingly very knowledgeable and were straight up with us when it came to what we really should do in the cities we visited and what could be left alone. The nightlife was crazy! Every night we were going out and having the times of our lives. I never wanted it to end. I would recommend Contiki to anyone who is looking to see a lot of Europe in a short amount of time, party their brains out, and explore. I am already planning my next Contiki trip with some of my past travelers from Australia, Canada, and South Africa! You really do bond together with your team and become a family. Leaving them was one of the hardest things ive ever had to do and it is because of Contiki's fun atmosphere that all of it was possible. The housing was a little questionable at times. Always clean but also Always really hot. But...you get what you pay for. European Highlights was a budget trip that was the best money I have ever spent.

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing!, Adventurous, Best.Trip.Ever

event 0.3
  • ZeenyD
  • ZeenyD
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights

European Highlights Awesome - Best 2 weeks of my life

10 Sep 2012 - 23 Sep 2012

Dont think about it just do it :-) Thats the advise I would offer to anyone considering this tour, It offers value for money and an unforgettable lifetime experience. I have to say I was a tad bit skeptical after reading some not so nice reviews about Contiki tours, I have to say having experienced it for myself i survived and would most definitely do a Contiki again, maybe its because we had an Amazing Tour Manager Danny Steenkamp and a Super Awesome driver Patrice and the amazing people that made our group what it was, We were like one big happy family. There are memories to be cherished for a lifetime :-) Things I would alert you to is that you budget for entrance to tourist sites Like Colosseum and the Eiffel Tower, These are not included in the tour and they are optionals as seperate to your Contiki. Meals you should budget around 10 to 20 Euros for lunch, you are able to buy snacks at every service station. Pringles, M&M's plenty. Dont forget comfy shoes and drink lots of water you will get dehydrated and most importantly increase your Vitamin intake when doing a Cotiki, Take flu & cold tablets with you, It is inevitable that you will get the Contiki cold / cough. Accommodation was ok, it was livable and for the most part you to tired to realize you not in the lap of luxury, go with the flow - Are you there to sleep or to take in new experiences. Make sure you do all the optionals, so worth it you dont want to regret it later. Travel opens your mind to so many experiences, cherish each moment this truly is the best of Europe ;-) Contiki European Highlights 10 - 23 September 2012 - You guys Rocked - Thank you!!

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Nikkig
  • Nikkig
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SEEN EVERYTHING

16 Jun 2012 - 29 Jun 2012

Great tour! Fast paced so be ready for a crazy 14days. Partied all night and slept on the bus all day. Be prepared to drink copious amounts of wine as the Italian and French love it!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Memorable, Exhausting, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Haley
  • Haley
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It truly was a highlight!

15 Jul 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

From the pre-tour meeting until the last goodbyes was an all round life changing experience! The tour made the holiday an ease with no stress about having to book accommodation or worry about how to get from place to place. The contiki campsites were mostly modern and meeting the contiki crew and other contiki groups was brilliant - I never thought I would have so much fun washing dishes after the groups meals or enjoy getting up early to move onto the next stop! It was great to see the main cities that truly are the highlights of Europe, a continent that one mustn't go through life without experiencing. Being on tour with other similar age and like minded travellers with a keen sense of adventure and energy to see everything possible within this fast paced tour. Being on tour is like travelling with a bunch of old friends that you didn't know you had who make the good times amazing and the mishaps even better! even today, we remain in contact and visit fellow tour mates who have now become lifelong friends. Our tour manager was excellent and the bus driver just as good! Their insight and endless stories were entertainment in themselves! The optionals were reasonably priced and the people who didnt do these later regretted it. the food didnt differ too much from home consisting of steak and salad one night to lasagne or pizza the next. There really is no need to think about doing this tour......just go on and do it!!!!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Exhilarating , Fast-paced , Adventure

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • dylan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time of my life!

11 Sep 2012 - 24 Sep 2012

This tour was amazing, saw some amazing sites and met some great people. I would recommend this to anyone!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Superb

event 0.3
  • jess005
  • jess005
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I can honestly say this trip changed my life.

20 Aug 2012 - 04 Sep 2012

I always wondered if these reviews are from real people. But this one definitely is. Hi. I'm Jessica, and I live in Chicago. I was totally nervous about going solo on this tour...and, at first, it's intimidating. It's like going on 51 blind dates. But these people become your family. FAST. The Tour Managers (we had Amy, who is excellent) and your drivers (we had Ricky -- again, AMAZING) are in your age bracket and are wildly knowledgeable, AND are not afraid to knock some beers back and dance on tables with you.

This trip is absolutely what you make of it. Commit to learning everyone's name. Stay out late. Let Venice take your breath away. See Paris from the Eiffel Tower at night. Save more money than you think you need and pack less clothes. Make room for souvenirs.

I am absolutely happy to talk to anyone about this trip -- any excursion in any city. What to do, what to skip. Give you my packing list (of things I brought and things I wish I had.) Just message me with any questions -- no matter how weird you think they are. All you need to know now is that you totally made the right choice to do this tour. The rest will fall in place.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: life-changing, party, wanderlust

event 0.3
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

See & Do It All

31 Mar 2011 - 15 Apr 2011

This was such a phenomenal trip! My goal was to see all the sights and I certainly did that. You’re basically running from location to location! You have a little more time at some stops, though if you’re looking for a laid back vacation, this is not the trip for you. If you’re going, I recommend packing a lot of over-the-counter medications. Since you spend a lot of time on the coach sharing germs in a small space, and since your immunity is low from running around (and, if you’re like me, partying every night), a lot of people got sick. Also, the quick-dry towel was good to have.

I went alone because I wanted the freedom to go where I wanted when I wanted and not feel obligated to do what my travel buddy wanted to do. I figured I’d be a bit of a loner and most travelers would have a buddy, but that wasn’t the case. There were a lot of people traveling on their own and I ended up making some AMAZING friends – I’m actually planning on seeing at least 2 of them when I visit Australia in 2013!! In short, I highly recommend this trip. Enjoy!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Incredible, Whirlwind, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 14 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s French Château, 6 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 6 nights in hotel upgrade, 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 20 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 13 breakfasts
  • 7 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$130
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
28 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.