European Highlights

Tour Length
15 days
From
US$1792
Overview Reviews

European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

#NOREGRETS!

07 Jun 2014 - 20 Jun 2014

If you're reading this, it's probably to see whether or not doing a Contiki tour is the right thing for you; look no more! Trust me when I say it was the most AMAZING time of my life.

This particular tour is draining in more ways than one, you see soo much of Europe in 2 weeks. Yes, there will be early mornings and yes, there will be LONG bus rides, but I wouldn't have it any other way. It's most definitely an adventure of a life time. The bus is a second home, a place for recaps of the night before (or at least what you can remember). You will learn to love the bus.

The one question I get asked is always about the optionals. My opinion - do them! Everyone else does and it's something fun to do with the group. I skipped a few based on the short amount of period in each city and decided to prioritise my time elsewhere.

All tour inclusions (accommodation and food) were perfectly fine - no problems at all.

And finally, the people. I was a little hesitant, but I can happily say, I now have a bunch of amazing friends all over the world who made the experience 100 times better than what I imagined. Friendships form extremely quickly, and after two weeks with one another, we were more of a family.

It doesn't matter where you are from or how old you are, I guarantee you will have the time of your life.

Smile at Europe, and it will smile back at you!!!

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Life Changing, Exhilarating , No Regrets

event 0.3
  • Riz-Lee
  • Riz-Lee
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European highlights june 15-29 2014

15 Jun 2014 - 28 Jun 2014

this is the fastest way with all the MUST SEE places to experience so you can decide what country you like and would return to. it was a great experience. i was happy with the accommodation and food. just be warned the food on the road at service stations are mostly bread and cheese, so expect to gain at least 5 kg's, but its worth it.... all the people were great and friendly. i had at least 95% of the time to myself. thanks judith and Daruis and all my Contiki friends

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • vinniee90
  • vinniee90
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Highlight of

02 Jun 2014 - 15 Jun 2014

Review written Jun 2014

event 0.3
  • Amy
  • Amy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Heeellllll Yeaaaahhh

28 May 2014 - 10 Jun 2014

Saw/did everything that there is possible to see/do in Europe and had the most amazing time! Our Tour Manager, Jake, and Coach Driver, Ben, were freakin' awesome and definitely made our tour extra special! Would seriously recommend this tour to anyone who wants a taste of everything in Europe (especially good if you are wanting to find out where you'd like to spend more time)... We had people from all over the world, and had the best time getting to know each other and laughing at the hilarious things we all say! All ya'll need to get on this!!

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: hell yeah, awesome, amazing

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Kate
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Why wouldn't you ?

17 May 2014 - 30 May 2014

This tour was a great way to see the highlights of Europe without blowing your budget. A great way to make new friends and see the world. Our tour manager Faye was fantastic, she was confident and knowledgable and was always looking out for our best interests. The bus was always clean and tidy and if we ever needed anything there was no hesitation to ask our manager or driver. If you haven't been to Europe before and you want to go on a short holiday; this is it. You stay at some amazing campsites and hotels, and meet some amazing contiki staff (who are all really great cooks) you are guaranteed to have an awesome time.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Exhilarating , Entertaining , Cost effective

event 0.3
  • edeibert
  • edeibert
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my life

02 May 2014 - 16 May 2014

This trip is a whirlwind tour to be sure but not only do you get to see some of the most amazing historical sites in just under two weeks, but you get to do it with some of the most amazing people you'll ever meet. Our tour manager John was absolutely fantastic and our driver Wojtek was a wizard if I've ever met one. I would definitely advise taking this tour as it fits most schedules and you get to experience Europe and figure out where you want to go back to. Worth every penny and every second.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Exciting, Energetic

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • lisadiec
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING

06 May 2014 - 20 May 2014

This trip was the best thing I have ever done. I had the best time of my life and I would recommend it to everyone. I did opt for 9/10 optionals and they were all worth it. The value you get and the meal inclusions were phenomenal!! Honestly this trip was really fast paced but we were able to see so much in just a short amount. This trip allowed me to see so many countries and to go back and visit the places I enjoyed most!!! DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT!

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: NO REGRETS, FROTHY LIFE , LIFE CHANGING

event 0.3
  • nmassaroni
  • nmassaroni
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Absolutely Amazing

07 Aug 2013 - 22 Aug 2013

Going on this tour was seriously the best decision I've ever made. From the places we visited to the new and amazing friends I made, it was honestly perfect. You get to experience so much in what seems like a short amount of time, but trust me when I say it's just enough! The cities that you'll visit are must sees and you'll go home with tons of amazing pictures that will last you a life time. Our tour manager (Jaimie) and our coach driver (Jim) were incredibly fun, friendly and were very good at their jobs. Overall, this is definitely a tour that would be perfect for anyone and I'm so glad that I was able to go on it. Can't wait to plan my next tour!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Perfect, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Rudi
  • Rudi
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

First Europe Expierence

11 Aug 2013 - 24 Aug 2013

By far the best way to experience Europe for the first time and make friends from all over the world!!

Had fun times and memories that will last forever, can't wait for my next contiki :)

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Memories, Experience, No Regrets

event 0.3
  • Danica
  • Danica
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Euro Highlights Summer 2013 Review

10 Jun 2013 - 25 Jun 2013

Contiki first appealed to my friends and I because we had never been to Europe, and didn't know where to start. With this tour, we got to see all the main highlights in a quick 2 weeks! Yes the tour was super fast paced, but you saw the main things, and now we know where we want to spend more time!

Don't expect anything luxurious about the accommodation, it's called a budget tour for a reason! We actually preferred the Contiki campsites (because you got to mingle with everyone and they all had a bar), where-as the hotels were BUDGET!

As for the breakfasts, they were a continental breakfast, so it is exactly what you would expect: toast, fruit, cereal. Do the optional meals! I did them all except the one in Paris, and they were great! (Especially the one in Florence!!!)

Be prepared to spend a lot on the optional excursions. I thought it was going to be a lot cheaper, but I ended up spending around $350 CAD. (But most of them were worth it!)

My only complaint. For our Contiki stop over at the Chateau in France, we pulled up, did the wine tasting, and then were told we were not staying there tonight, instead we drove to Lyon, France. Contiki had over-booked and our tour got moved. My friends and I thought this was a joke! We were so excited to stay here, we had heard amazing stories about it. Instead we stayed in the dirtiest hotel ever with a noise curfew, and were given $10 euros for dinner. 10 EUROS IS SUCH A JOKE. That doesn't even buy you McDonalds in France! (We were given $10 euros because at the stop over that was one of our included meals).

Other than that HUGE disappointment, Contiki was good. Lots of great memories, met some great people, and got to see a ton!

I'm not sure if I would recommend Contiki to others just because of the hiccup in France that I believe was not handled properly, but I did have a good experience with the rest of it.

Cheers!

Review written Aug 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Ashley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Europe 2012

21 Sep 2012 - 04 Oct 2012

First time ever overseas! It was the most amazing trip ever, cannot wait to go back and spend more time at all of these wonderful places! Contiki is such a great way to do it, felt safe and made many new friends! Looking forward on planning a new zealand contiki for next year and a 6 week contiki through euroupe in 2015 love it love it love it!

Review written Aug 2013

event 0.3
  • Elaine
  • Elaine
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The most amazing trip I will never forget!

20 Aug 2012 - 04 Sep 2012

It was my first trip with Contiki and I went with two friends on the European Highlights tour. Considering it was my first time to Europe, I thought going this way would minimize the amount of "guess work" in terms of getting around, knowing where to go and what to do, etc. What I got was 100x more than that! This trip paved the way to having loads of new friends which I still keep in touch with a year later. We saw the most amazing cities, landmarks and sites with our awesome tour manager Amy who gave us the low down on just about everything. There was always something to do, parties to be had and it was hands down the best two weeks of my life. Be warned though, this trip is going to test your endurance like crazy! It was just go, go, go! But it was worth the lack of sleep, tired mornings and long days. It's only 2 weeks guys, don't waste it on sleep!!! Thanks Contiki for the awesome memories! I'll be doing a Thailand Contiki tour next, can't wait!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Megs
  • Megs
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Two Weeks Ever!

29 Jun 2013 - 12 Jul 2013

European Highlights was honestly the best, most amazing two weeks of my life so far. It is crazy fast-paced, and you will see more in these two weeks than you ever thought possible. My group, TM (Clare) and driver (Mark) were incredible and definitely made the trip what it was. I wouldn't change a thing. Contiki really knows whats good in all the places you visit.

I have a full breakdown and review on my blog http://meganstraveladventure.wordpress.com/ and if you have any questions please ask!

You will not regret doing this tour at all, and it will be one of the best decisions you will ever make!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: incredible, amazing, crazy

event 0.3
  • Haley
  • Haley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights

European Highlights Review

17 Jun 2013 - 02 Jul 2013

I'm a 20-year-old college student who was looking for an extended budget trip that covered a lot of territory...this was definitely it. Every morning I was in awe of the sights surrounding me, whether it was a drive in the coach or a free day in the city. I didn't know what to expect, traveling with 51 strangers, but it was the best experience I could have asked for. I truly gained lifelong friends that appreciated culture and new experiences just as much as me. It also wouldn't have been the same without our tour guides, Chloe and Alex. They were incredibly knowledgable on each place we visited and truly strived to accomodate each travelers' experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get a quick feel for each culture, making the most out of hours you have at each destination. Without hesitation I can say my Contiki tour was the best 16 days of my life!

Review written Jul 2013

event 0.3
  • Mitchell
  • Mitchell
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Most amazing time of my life

25 May 2013 - 07 Jun 2013

I wish the trip went longer. Made some best mates and had the time of my life. Could not ask for a better driver (Marco) and tour manager (Bec). Really helps when the contiki crew want to make the most out of our trip. And all 49 people were ever so greatful

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Life changing , Mind blowing, Amazing

event 0.3
  • kac
  • kac
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Exactly as per the title - highlights!

21 Sep 2012 - 04 Oct 2012

This was a fantastic tour, in the instance where we were able to see the 'highlights' of Europe (exactly as per the title). This was good for us, as we were time limited and wanted to cram as much in as possible.

However, there were a few downsides.

Firstly, the accommodation was often out of the way from the towns (so you had to stick to the group schedule unless you were willing to take a boat on your own back to some camp site 30 mins away from Venice). Some of the accommodation was infested by mosquitos - mainly the campsites.

Secondly, we were expected to do a session of 'chores' where we had to help serve or clean up after a meal. This was really inconsistent as, while I was never allocated a shift, other people were allocated two (in the 2-week period). Slightly poor form, considering we'd paid to go on holiday. Food was a reminder of boarding school, and being in the middle of no-where meant we didn't have a choice.

Thirdly, our tour guide made the tour seem like a school trip. Not fun when we are bullied into doing things we don't want to do, under the guise of 'fun'. This was a minor complaint, and it was amusing seeing the tour guide explain that we should give her positive feedback otherwise the company asks her questions. Our tour guide also discouraged us from visiting nearby Cannes when we were in Nice, stating we wouldn't have time. (We did though!).

Forth, we really underestimated the distance between some of the locations, and spent a LOT of time on a bus. Had we known this, we may have thought twice about coming on this trip.

Overall, some great memories and met some lovely people! Seeing Paris/the Eiffel Tower and heading to Oktoberfest were my highlights. Would probably think twice about doing this type of tour again though.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Paris, School trip, Highlights

event 0.3
  • Amanda
  • Amanda
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Disappointing quality of Me Time Optional

16 May 2013 - 31 May 2013

I had the Tuscan optional meal in Florence last night. Someone found a maggot in the main dish and a fly on the dessert. It was disgusting and disappointing to say the least in how it was handled. Don't opt in for the optional meals, it's expensive and you don't get the quality meal you're told to expect. We were told 4 pastas, we got 3, the chicken had maggots and the dessert had flies. It also cost over 30 euro.... And no effort was made to resolve the situation.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Disappointing , Poor

event 0.3
  • Kirsty
  • Kirsty
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing from start to finish!!

05 Sep 2012 - 18 Sep 2012

I'm from the UK and this was the perfect way to see all the best sites of Europe...and make some awesome friends. I always tell my friends to do Contikis just because its easier and a lot less scary than going by yourself! Accomodation was pretty good for 'basic' accommodation, not that we spent long in our rooms, we were either sightseeing or partying and we saved sleep for the bus! I'd recommend this tour to anybody, I've travelled to Europe loads of times before and I've never ever had the opportunities to do the things I did on my tour.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: surreal, fast, crazy

event 0.3
  • wvp
  • wvp
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Europe

27 Jul 2012 - 11 Aug 2012

I met some wonderful people and visited beautiful places. Got to swim in Nice, partied in Paris, and so much more! I will never forget this experience!

Review written Jan 2013

event 0.3
  • Brian!
  • Brian!
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A highlight of Europe

13 Jul 2012 - 26 Jul 2012

This is a great tour packed full of all the main attractions around Europe. 14 days is the perfect amount of time to see and experience what Contiki is all about. The added extras are definitely worth doing and your sure to have an experience of a life time. My tour leader was awesome and gave the whole bus a great understanding of what to do and see in each country we went to. Made some great friends from all around the world. Definitely a must!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Europe , Lifetime, Party

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 14 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s French Château, 6 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 6 nights in hotel upgrade, 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 20 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 13 breakfasts
  • 7 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$119
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
35 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.