European Highlights

Tour Length
15 days
From
US$2145
Overview Reviews

  • EmilyKay
  • EmilyKay
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki's European Highlights

21 Jun 2012 - 06 Jul 2012

...The best few weeks of my life. I never would have expected to make such good friends from all over the world. The group was amazing and so welcoming to everyone. Both our driver and guide were surprisingly very knowledgeable and were straight up with us when it came to what we really should do in the cities we visited and what could be left alone. The nightlife was crazy! Every night we were going out and having the times of our lives. I never wanted it to end. I would recommend Contiki to anyone who is looking to see a lot of Europe in a short amount of time, party their brains out, and explore. I am already planning my next Contiki trip with some of my past travelers from Australia, Canada, and South Africa! You really do bond together with your team and become a family. Leaving them was one of the hardest things ive ever had to do and it is because of Contiki's fun atmosphere that all of it was possible. The housing was a little questionable at times. Always clean but also Always really hot. But...you get what you pay for. European Highlights was a budget trip that was the best money I have ever spent.

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing!, Adventurous, Best.Trip.Ever

event 0.3
  • ZeenyD
  • ZeenyD
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights

European Highlights Awesome - Best 2 weeks of my life

10 Sep 2012 - 23 Sep 2012

Dont think about it just do it :-) Thats the advise I would offer to anyone considering this tour, It offers value for money and an unforgettable lifetime experience. I have to say I was a tad bit skeptical after reading some not so nice reviews about Contiki tours, I have to say having experienced it for myself i survived and would most definitely do a Contiki again, maybe its because we had an Amazing Tour Manager Danny Steenkamp and a Super Awesome driver Patrice and the amazing people that made our group what it was, We were like one big happy family. There are memories to be cherished for a lifetime :-) Things I would alert you to is that you budget for entrance to tourist sites Like Colosseum and the Eiffel Tower, These are not included in the tour and they are optionals as seperate to your Contiki. Meals you should budget around 10 to 20 Euros for lunch, you are able to buy snacks at every service station. Pringles, M&M's plenty. Dont forget comfy shoes and drink lots of water you will get dehydrated and most importantly increase your Vitamin intake when doing a Cotiki, Take flu & cold tablets with you, It is inevitable that you will get the Contiki cold / cough. Accommodation was ok, it was livable and for the most part you to tired to realize you not in the lap of luxury, go with the flow - Are you there to sleep or to take in new experiences. Make sure you do all the optionals, so worth it you dont want to regret it later. Travel opens your mind to so many experiences, cherish each moment this truly is the best of Europe ;-) Contiki European Highlights 10 - 23 September 2012 - You guys Rocked - Thank you!!

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Nikkig
  • Nikkig
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SEEN EVERYTHING

16 Jun 2012 - 29 Jun 2012

Great tour! Fast paced so be ready for a crazy 14days. Partied all night and slept on the bus all day. Be prepared to drink copious amounts of wine as the Italian and French love it!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Memorable, Exhausting, Incredible

event 0.3
  • Haley
  • Haley
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

It truly was a highlight!

15 Jul 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

From the pre-tour meeting until the last goodbyes was an all round life changing experience! The tour made the holiday an ease with no stress about having to book accommodation or worry about how to get from place to place. The contiki campsites were mostly modern and meeting the contiki crew and other contiki groups was brilliant - I never thought I would have so much fun washing dishes after the groups meals or enjoy getting up early to move onto the next stop! It was great to see the main cities that truly are the highlights of Europe, a continent that one mustn't go through life without experiencing. Being on tour with other similar age and like minded travellers with a keen sense of adventure and energy to see everything possible within this fast paced tour. Being on tour is like travelling with a bunch of old friends that you didn't know you had who make the good times amazing and the mishaps even better! even today, we remain in contact and visit fellow tour mates who have now become lifelong friends. Our tour manager was excellent and the bus driver just as good! Their insight and endless stories were entertainment in themselves! The optionals were reasonably priced and the people who didnt do these later regretted it. the food didnt differ too much from home consisting of steak and salad one night to lasagne or pizza the next. There really is no need to think about doing this tour......just go on and do it!!!!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Exhilarating , Fast-paced , Adventure

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • dylan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time of my life!

11 Sep 2012 - 24 Sep 2012

This tour was amazing, saw some amazing sites and met some great people. I would recommend this to anyone!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Superb

event 0.3
  • jess005
  • jess005
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I can honestly say this trip changed my life.

20 Aug 2012 - 04 Sep 2012

I always wondered if these reviews are from real people. But this one definitely is. Hi. I'm Jessica, and I live in Chicago. I was totally nervous about going solo on this tour...and, at first, it's intimidating. It's like going on 51 blind dates. But these people become your family. FAST. The Tour Managers (we had Amy, who is excellent) and your drivers (we had Ricky -- again, AMAZING) are in your age bracket and are wildly knowledgeable, AND are not afraid to knock some beers back and dance on tables with you.

This trip is absolutely what you make of it. Commit to learning everyone's name. Stay out late. Let Venice take your breath away. See Paris from the Eiffel Tower at night. Save more money than you think you need and pack less clothes. Make room for souvenirs.

I am absolutely happy to talk to anyone about this trip -- any excursion in any city. What to do, what to skip. Give you my packing list (of things I brought and things I wish I had.) Just message me with any questions -- no matter how weird you think they are. All you need to know now is that you totally made the right choice to do this tour. The rest will fall in place.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: life-changing, party, wanderlust

event 0.3
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

See & Do It All

31 Mar 2011 - 15 Apr 2011

This was such a phenomenal trip! My goal was to see all the sights and I certainly did that. You’re basically running from location to location! You have a little more time at some stops, though if you’re looking for a laid back vacation, this is not the trip for you. If you’re going, I recommend packing a lot of over-the-counter medications. Since you spend a lot of time on the coach sharing germs in a small space, and since your immunity is low from running around (and, if you’re like me, partying every night), a lot of people got sick. Also, the quick-dry towel was good to have.

I went alone because I wanted the freedom to go where I wanted when I wanted and not feel obligated to do what my travel buddy wanted to do. I figured I’d be a bit of a loner and most travelers would have a buddy, but that wasn’t the case. There were a lot of people traveling on their own and I ended up making some AMAZING friends – I’m actually planning on seeing at least 2 of them when I visit Australia in 2013!! In short, I highly recommend this trip. Enjoy!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Incredible, Whirlwind, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Douglas
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Trip Ever

14 May 2012 - 29 May 2012

Don't be nervous about doing the budget tour. It's awesome. The Contiki staff were fantastic and the trip was well laid out. Contiki is such a large company that you get to do things that other groups can't and see things that other groups won't. This trip involves a good bit of bus travel, but this is usually a great time with all the new friends you will make! If not you can catch up on sleep.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Best, Trip, Ever

event 0.3
  • loops
  • loops
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

european Highlights

27 Jul 2009 - 09 Aug 2009

so i did this tour in July 2009, it was awesome.
the night at the chateux, crazy.....
we went to a random dodgy club in the rhein valley
munich the beer hall totally rate it
gosh there is sooo much to mention
by far the best contiki i've been on, would highly recommend this trip
and if i can offer any advise, sleep on the bus as much as possible, i brought a pollow with me, people thought i was crazy but it was worth it!

Review written Mar 2012

My Contiki was: awesome, messy, sights

event 0.3
  • alyssa!
  • alyssa!
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Highlights

European Highlights

24 Jun 2010 - 09 Jul 2010

A definite highlights for sure! In a different major European town almost every day. Lots to see in a short time... bring comfy shoes as you run around to see as much as possible! Super amazing trip, met great people, can't wait to go back to my favourite cities again. Highlights is a great first tip for first time travellers to Europe who maybe don't want to go around on their own.

Review written Jan 2012

event 0.3
  • Acoconnor
  • Acoconnor
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights

Europe 2011

04 Aug 2011 - 19 Aug 2011

The trip was amazing. Definitely a good experience. I wish that the intinerary was more detailed as to what was included in the tour itself. I thought a lot more sites were included in the tour, instead I had to use my free time and own money to get into places.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Friends, Party, Memories

event 0.3
  • Kane250
  • Kane250
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

23 Jul 2011 - 07 Aug 2011

This tour was for the most part, mind-blowing. The amount of information I learned about and the destinations I was able to visit in a 2-week period was incredible. Having not ever been to Europe before, I feel this was the very best introduction I could have asked for.

That being said, the down-side to the tour is also the fact that you fit so much into such a short time-span. For example: In Paris, we were told we didn't need to visit the Louvre during our free time because we would be going as a group the following morning. The next morning, we get to the Louvre and are told that we have 1 hour. 1 hour to stand in line with hundreds of people, see the Mona Lisa and get back on the bus. The line to get in was a 45 minute wait alone, so a good majority of us didn't bother racing the clock in fear that we would miss the bus. The same 1 hour restriction was given to the leaning tower of Pisa, but this was more acceptable as you weren't required to wait on line.

My only other complaint would have to be the mandatory chores at the included dinners. Let me start by saying that this would not have been an issue if it was explained before-hand better, but being told that you are required to help cook or clean up after a dinner at the campsite after paying for the trip is sort of a "gotcha". For a traveler like me who often skipped the free dinners and opted for local cuisine, this was an aggravating obligation. Luckily I wasn't chosen to help, but if I was, I wouldn't have raced back to the site and skipped an amazing dinner in Rome to wash dishes.

In closing, I'll say one last thing about the group itself. The budget tour included a majority of 18-21 year old girls. Being a 27 year old guy, I was hopeful to have more of a mixed age and gender dynamic. I think this is probably a result of the lower cost of the tour though. regardless of that, being submersed into a group of 50 strangers was freakin fantastic, and I certainly made friends that I will be in touch with for a long time, if not forever.

This was NOT a relaxing vacation haha, word of warning - it's intense! But that's what I was after, so I think it's a good thing. Just don't expect to sleep in and lounge in the sun all day on this one, ha!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: highlights, european, group

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Sibylism
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Apr 2011 - 26 Apr 2011

My Contiki trip to Europe was superb! I never expected so much fun was generated from the travel mates together with our TD and TM.

Our TD Marco, is a very dedicated driver to his coach and his passengers. He kept the coach 5 stars rated in cleanliness every morning when we got into the coach. I always known Singapore has the highest standard in terms of the overall management of a registered coach, but this time, Marco has done beyond excellent and I am very touch as a traveller. I always feel safe when Marco is around and he gave the best tips on what to be aware of in terms of directions.

Our TM Garai, is a guy who never fail to check if everything is satisfaction level with every traveller. Garai always encourage us to talk to him on any problems or dislikes about the itineraries or with his conduct as a TM. To me, he is a walking history channel, street directories, food guide book. He amazes me with the amount of knowledge that is contained in his brain. Not to forget to mention that he has a great list of songs that always keep the boredom away during coach day.

Together the TD and TM made my contiki trip perfect. I would strongly advice my friends to take on any trip if I know they are the TD and TM. They are two valuable travel companions to have given any tour at any time.

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: valuable, varieties, volante

event 0.3
  • Artist421
  • Artist421
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Apr 2011 - 26 Apr 2011

Thanks Contiki but thanks most of all to Garai our tour manager. Wow, never experienced such service, dedication, patiences and sheer willingness to serve his group. Garai made the trip just unbelievable and memorable. 31 years in the making and my dream has finally come true thanks to Contiki & Garai. I have seen some of the most amazing sights in Europe and the little details throughout the tour like the morning song, the birthday drinks, the optional extras, tour manager going out of his way to make me happy!

I loved it, I loved it, I adored it - I wanna go again and again.

I will recommend this to absolutely everyone I know. I have already got 3 other people signing up due to my feedback. I cant wait to go on my next trip and at the same time hope to get Garai as tour manager again.

THANKS from the bottom of my heart. The most precious, memorable and fantastic birthday I have ever had!!!!!!!!!!!

Very greatful Melissa Erasmus in South Africa

Review written May 2011

My Contiki was: Incredible, Fantastic, Memorable

event 0.3
  • Lil_Laura
  • Lil_Laura
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Highlights
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

19 May 2010 - 01 Jun 2010

LOVED IT.
Most fun I have ever had.
The contiki staff are AMAZING the driving crew, Contiki reps & girls at the basement. Top job you guys made my tour.
Am going to book another one to US/Canda next year.

Review written Jun 2010

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Outstanding

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 14 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s French Château, 6 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 6 nights in hotel upgrade, 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 20 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 13 breakfasts
  • 7 dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$143
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
35 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.