European Horizon

Tour Length
11 days
From
US$1515
Overview Reviews

  • Nicole
  • Nicole
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Incredible Experience with the Best Group

16 Aug 2016 - 26 Aug 2016

This tour was amazing! The friendships you develop on the way are so memorable, and you do keep in touch with them afterwards. As a solo traveller I walked in not knowing anyone, and I came home knowing that I have 50 new incredible friends from all over the world. The sights are spectacular, the ME Time Options are something worth doing.. especially paragliding and white water rafting. Our trip leader and bus driver, Ed and Chico were awesome. So helpful and always answering all of your questions. If you are wanting to do this trip.. DO IT. You will not regret it. A little advice... watch out for the uneven cobblestone in Amsterdam... bad things do happen (like breaking an ankle and waking up in a cast Day TWO of the tour) Thank you Contiki Fam for making this trip a life changing experience!!!

Review written Sep 2016

My Contiki was: Team Canada, The Nicole's, AMAZING

event 0.3
  • Priyanka
  • Priyanka
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing high energy!!

16 Aug 2016 - 26 Aug 2016

European horizon was a high energy trip, so we were constantly on the go. Got to see some amazing beautiful sights. I wish we had spent more time in Venice however, because you're there for maybe half a day. But otherwise, had an amazing trip, had an amazing group of Australians, Canadians, Americans, Mexicans and more! Everyone was friendly and fun. I went solo and made so many great friends and we still keep in touch! You get to know them inside out in the short time you spend together.
We had a very helpful and cheery tour manager and coach driver.. They really made the trip memorable. It was obvious they loved their jobs.
Accommodations were reasonable given what you are paying for them. If you're looking for a five star hotel type vacation, this is probably not the trip for you. Though I didn't encounter bed bugs, the beds were small and the rooms were really just to fall asleep in after a long day. But, if you're planning on spending most of the day outside anyway, it won't really matter!
This was a high energy trip - it's really just always on the go!
It is a good way to see specific places in a short amount of time, and also get a feel for where you want to explore further next time. For me, it was a great introduction to Europe, especially since it was my first time travelling alone it made it much easier. The Me time options on this trip were amazing! I wasn't brave enough to try paragliding but everyone who did loved it.

Be prepared to only catch up on sleep on the bus. And the contiki cough... Is real! Try to squeeze in enough vitamin C and rest between all the partying.

I was really nervous before booking and even before getting to the contiki meetup. It was my first trip far alone, but after doing it, I recommend it to anyone who is on the fence. DO IT! You'll have the time of your life.

Review written Aug 2016

My Contiki was: Fun, Memorable, High-energy

event 0.3
  • Natasha
  • Natasha
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I WANNA GO BACK!

18 May 2016 - 28 May 2016

Doing this trip was one of the most memorable and best things I have ever done! It is no joke when they say it's high energy. You are constantly moving. Going out at night till 3-4am and waking up at 6am to do it all over again. Needless to say, it takes a toll, so this trip isn't for everyone. If you don't take care of yourself, it can definitely ruin some awesome nights for you.
With the tour being a High Energy, you move fast and spend a lot of the time on the bus. Here is where you get to know everyone and make awesome conversations. This tour is the perfect tour to do if its your first time in Europe and want to see as much as you can with an awesome price. Our tour guide (Scott) and bus driver (Joao) knew so much information! They new the perfect places to go for absolutely everything. The sights that you see on this tour are unreal.
The people I met on this tour, made it amazing. I have met the most sincere, wild, awesome people who I know I will definitely keep in touch with and will love to see in the near future. I even met my spirit twin! You're with these people literally 24/7 and in such a short amount of time, you become so close.
I will definitely do another Contiki tour!

Review written Jul 2016

event 0.3
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Most Incredible Experience Ever! #livelife

06 Jun 2016 - 16 Jun 2016

There is no doubt in my mind that doing this trip was one of the best decisions I've ever made! There's no lie when they say this trip is high energy! But don't let that change your mind when booking.

Our group had 53 people and each and every single one of us became a family. Our trip manager Kyle was helpful, friendly and downright amazing! Our driver Joao was punctual and a genuinely awesome guy. On the first day they told us we would become close but I never expected to become as close as we all did. I've definitely made friends for life from all around the world. I travelled with a friend, but many people were solo and seeing how friendly people were I would consider travelling solo in the future!

The trip itself is jam packed. Stopping in 7 countries over 10 days you would expect it to be. However, it's not so exhausting that you become miserable. There is the option of having some earlier nights but that comes at the cost of missing out on great memories! The sights, activities and people make you forget about the early mornings and make you focus on the amazing memories you make instead. You also will have plenty of time to sleep on the bus! There are many amazing MeTime optionals to pick from and you definitely get what you pay for on each of them.

Accommodation was completely up to my expectations. For the price you pay you get what you would expect. Most of the rooms are hostel style with bunk beds, and only one of the rooms we stayed in had a common bathroom/shower, the rest being private. All of the rooms were clean and the beds fairly comfortable. (you're so tired that you only care that you actually have a bed!)

Although the pace is high energy you do get a great amount of time in each city. There was enough time to purchase souvenirs and take in the culture. A few highlights for me would be the paragliding, Jungfrau Mountain visit, Lauterbrunnen and the Rhine Valley! If there is any doubt in your mind to do this trip, just book it! It was an unforgettable experience!

A few helpful tips:
-in some places you will need to take public transport back to the hotel ex) taxi, metro or bus
-make sure to bring a towel as some bathrooms do not have any
-the MeTime optionals are not included in the trip cost and you pay for them on the trip
-bring something red for the Swissco Disco party night in Switzerland
-bring something white or bright for the Tight White n Bright party night in Austria
-have change for some toilets at rest stops
-the bus does not have free wifi, you can pay however
-#noregrets (seriously!)

Review written Jun 2016

My Contiki was: unforgettable , incredible, friends for life

event 0.3
  • Onj
  • Onj
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

17 Sep 2015 - 26 Sep 2015

Where to begin? The trip was intense from start to finish. You do as much as possible with the small amount of time given. Great for anyone looking for a taste of europe. If you want a restful relaxing trip. Don't book this one haha.

Accommodation? Was good. I've never stayed in hostels so i was expecting the worst but these were really nice. Usually 4 person rooms with private bathrooms some with shared and a couple twin share rooms. Not a lot of space but all pretty cozy and tidy. There were 2 places during our trip that we could do washing one in Austria and the second in switzerland.

Travel time? Tour manager? Well you spend alot of the time on the bus so be prepared. Some bus rides are 6 hours long. You do stop at service stations along the way (not the usual kind we have in australia) which are huge and have fresh food. The food is amazing by the way. Our tour guide was awesome. So knowledgeable about every place we went to. We had a wake up song (hated that song by the end of the trip lol) that would play about a half an hour before we reached our destination so that our tour guide ashley could give us an introduction to our destination and a bit of a history lesson as well. Our bus driver was also amazing. Felt safe on the road at all times. He could park like a boss and fit the bus through impossible gaps without a scrape!

Optionals? I found out are not so much optional. There isn't anything you can really do while the optionals are running. I did do all of the optionals except for the train up the mountain in switzerland. I enjoyed every single optional i did and would have loved to do the train but didn't budget for it before i went on the trip. I recommend putting money aside to do all the optionals because you miss out on so much with your tour group if you don't.

People/other travellers? Were awesome met some great people and now we share some great memories. Even though it was only a short trip it felt like we spent much more time together.

Other tips? Hmm? always have change for the toilets. You have to pay to use most public bathrooms but all are really tidy and clean so it's worth it. Other thing to note is if you're looking for some downtime during this trip you won't find any. The great thing about this trip is that you don't miss out on anything but you will sacrafice sleep for it :)

Overall? I would do it all again!

Review written May 2016

My Contiki was: Awesome, Fast-paced

event 0.3
  • Erin
  • Erin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

Fast-Paced Fun!

03 May 2016 - 13 May 2016

This was my first Contiki and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It was very fast-paced, which called for lots of naps on the bus. If you want to see many countries in Europe, this is the tour for you! A downside was not having a significant amount of time in each location. Overall, the accommodation was better than expected. The Me-Time Optionals were great, with most people taking part. Some included dinners were lacking (hotel buffet wasn't the best), but you will probably want to buy food to sample the local cuisine. One of the best parts of this tour was the great Contiki crew and meeting new friends from around the world!! The people on the tour helped make it unforgettable! Overall, I would recommend this tour.

Review written May 2016

My Contiki was: Fun, Fast-Paced, Friends

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Kacie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Perfect European Sampler

10 Sep 2015 - 20 Sep 2015

This was one hell of a trip! Such a whirlwind, I can hardly believe all of the incredible things I got to experience. If you're looking for a way to sample a variety of what Europe has to offer, but don't have 2 months to take off from life, this is the perfect trip. They aren't kidding when they say "high energy" though, so I hope you plan on sleeping when you're dead! But it was absolutely worth it. Would do this trip again in a heart beat. So well organized too! I was surprised and impressed with how smooth it all went down, in regards to the travel, accommodations, meals, and excursions - I was never left waiting around which was shocking travelling with 39 other people!
All in all, an amazing and exciting adventure. And felt 100% safe as a female travelling by herself.

Review written Jan 2016

event 0.3
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

awesome trip

24 Jul 2015 - 02 Aug 2015

this was one of the best things i have ever done. i decided to do this trip by myself and i was scared at first but during the trip i did not feel alone at any point.

i met new people from around the world and they were all lovely and friendly.

this trip was fast paced which was tiring but it was really fun and i got to see a lot. for the price of the tour i was happy with everything that i managed to do and all the places i managed to see.

the tour manager (Adam) and bus driver (Luce) were really really nice and funny and Adam did his best to tell us about all the cool things we could see and do in certain places and also gave us tips.

the bus will be your home for the whole trip cause you will spend a lot of time on there so make sure you have comfy clothing for the long bus rides and a pillow as well. this is essential otherwise you will have a sore neck throughout.

for spending money this really depends on what you want to do and see. the optionals are not included in the tour price so make sure you have money set aside for the optionals. and make sure you have money that is designated for food only, so that means the lunches and dinners that are not provided. then for pocket money depending on how much you drink and if you want to shop bring accordingly. but i say its better to have a lot of money than not have enough.

Making friends- arrive on the first day so that you get to meet people on the very first day before people group off into their little cliques. i arrived on the departure day but i was able to make friends but next time i would go not the first day. and you have to make an effort to make friends otherwise people will just think you want to be left alone.

Accommodation- the accommodation was alright for the price. i brought my own sleeping bag which i used for the trip and I'm glad i did. some people got bed bugs and it was really bad. take bed bug spray and insect repellent. and make sure to check your sheets before sleeping overnight cause they can creep into your sleeping bag.

Food- the provided dinner was alright but i would have preferred to look for my own dinner especially at the hotel in amsterdam i was cut because we got chips and chicken and stale salad but when we went into the city later on there were these amazing places that had amazing food i regretted eating dinner at the place.

ESSENTIALS , a travel money card, you don't want to have cash on you the whole time. sleeping bag, comfy clothes, bring a cardigan although its summer some places like the rhine valley are a bit chilly. bring something red for the swissco disco in switzerland. bug spray, travel adapter. switzerland uses francs not euros and also their adapters are different to the rest of europe but at the campsite they gave us ones, all we had to do was pay a deposit of 5 francs and you would get it back if you returned the charger. bring a water bottle to carry around with you. a lot of us got sick by the last day and i think it was due to drinking too much and also not having enough water especially on the long bus rides. make sure you have comfortable shoes. no one wore heels on my tour even for the going out nights. and when getting cabs make sure you walk to the road and flag one down or they will charge a lot for coming form wherever they will be and also some driver will try to take advantage of you as tourists. IF you can find public transport easily use that cause it will be cheaper.

HAVE FUN, SOCIALISE AND DONT ISOLATE YOURSELF. BRING LOTS OF MONEY TOO

Review written Dec 2015

My Contiki was: FUN, AWESOME, ENERGETIC

event 0.3
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

BEST TOUR EVER!!!!

16 Sep 2015 - 26 Sep 2015

I cannot even put into words how amazing this trip was! Our tour guide Ashley was the epitome of a perfect tour guide. She was so fun and knowledgeable and planned everything for us so we could enjoy our vacation. This is definitely a fast paced trip. Lots of travelling but you get used to the bus rides and they start to actually become fun. Almost everyday is a new country so prepare yourself for very little sleep! I went on this tour as a solo traveller and I wouldn't have done it any other way. The group of people was amazing! I made a VERY close group of friends during this trip too. It is now almost 2 months after my trip and we all still talk almost everyday. I could not believe how close I got to people who were total strangers…it felt like we'd known each other for years. Honestly if you are considering this trip DO IT!!!! You won't regret it. I did this tour, a contiki New Zealand and G-Adventures tour all back to back and this was my fav!

Here are some highlights:
- Red light district and Anne Frank's house in Amsterdam
- The timing of our tour allowed for us to go to Oktoberfest in Munich for opening night
- Paragliding and White water rafting in Austria
- Gondola ride in Italy
- Going to the top of a Swiss alp in Switzerland
- Climbing the Eiffel Tower and Seeing a French cabernet in France

Review written Nov 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, Amazing, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Sean
  • Sean
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Horizon

29 Jun 2015 - 08 Jul 2015

I had the most amazing time on Contiki! This was my first solo trip in Europe and it couldn't have been better! :D Every single experience in every city we had the chance to do was so awesome; from white water rafting in Austria to Amsterdam and the bike tour/hofbrauhaus in Munchen. Make sure you do every me time option, I did and I am so glad. It's a very fast paced tour, and you barely get sleep, but who doesn't like partying till the early hours of the morning every night?! You will definitely have memories for life. On the last night of the tour in Paris, the taxi driver took a group of us to the wrong hotel, so we were walking around the streets at 3am. At the time I was annoyed, but looking on it now, that's something I'll remember. You become close to your tour group and they become your family. We had the best tour team - I'm talking about you Scotty and Gaz! I can't recommend this tour enough, and I can't wait to go on my next Contiki!

Review written Sep 2015

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Benjamin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

#NOREGRETS

30 Jul 2015 - 08 Aug 2015

Just got back from the tour of Europe .
They weren't kidding when they said fast paced we averaged 3 hours sleep a night, it was full on non stop sights sounds and amazing nights out .

Our tour manager Jay was an absolute riot he made the trip from day one and our driver Erno was a complete legend they both joined us on nights out and did everything they possibly could to make everyone happy.

If you are thinking of doing this trip and your not sure , do it !, its incredible and these are the best people in the world to do it with , now i have 51 new friends and memories that will stay with me forever .

From the white water rafting in Austria to cycling through munchen after a few steins, rampaging through the streets of Amsterdam or partying until the sun came up in Paris and Switzerland.

This tour is insane one of the best trips ive ever been on
and ill be booking the next one very soon with the Contiki crew

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: fantastic, insane, unbelieveable

event 0.3
  • Kelly
  • Kelly
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

#NOREGRETS!

29 Jun 2015 - 08 Jul 2015

Best way to sample a lot of countries in a short space of time! Late nights and early mornings featuring awesome people who became my family, the best tour team (Scotty and Gaz!) and all round amazing experiences. You have to go into it with the mind set of NO REGRETS! I did every optional activity and everytime I said that I would have regretted not doing it.. I think that pretty much says it all! So go for it :D

Review written Jul 2015

event 0.3
  • Morgan_R
  • Morgan_R
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Excellent worth doing!

21 May 2015 - 30 May 2015

An amazing 10days!
Luckily had an amazing bunch of 50 people and a very good tour guide!!
Top Tips:
#1 - From the UK you need to bring your own Sleeping Bag or buy one, I believe £20 but don't hold me to that.
#2 - You need Francs for Switzerland. You only need enough for your one free day in the town near the campsite, unless your really organised and organise a trip to the other towns near by that do have tourist stuff. I just sat in a café with new friends I had made and ate the best brownies! Theres a corner shop and a souvenior shop. So 40 francs? But if your not that organised don't worry as they do take Euro but you get Francs back.... Shifty I know.
#3 - In Austria you have a party night. Bring glow in the dark tuff.
#4 - In Switzerland you have 2 party nights. At 8Euros a drink make sure you have saved some money as this is right near the end of your holiday.
#5 - THERE IS NO FREE WIFI ON THE COACH! You must pay. But you don't need to your gonna have so much to look out the window and people to talk to why would u need wifi. Only a few hotels/Hostels/Campsites have wifi too. Again mosty not free. But u don't need it. Youll survive.
#6 - You will do the paragliding. It is not scary. 38 members of our coach did it. 38 out of 50!! and the ones that didn't do it regretted it. Paragliding in Australia where you are given up to 30 pictures that the instructor takes with his selfie stick for 20 Euros!! Yey!! Do not be afraid.
#7 - #NoRegrets. Live by it!

Review written Jun 2015

My Contiki was: Paragliding, Messy Packing, Budget

event 0.3
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Fun!

19 Aug 2014 - 29 Aug 2014

This trip was a lot of fun. It was a short trip but you get to see a lot in the countries. I do wish, I did a longer tour but for the price, it was pretty good.

Review written Jun 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Short, sweet

event 0.3
European Horizon

#NoRegrets

22 Apr 2015 - 01 May 2015

I did this trip solo, and I am so glad, a friend or partner would have definitely been hard to deal with on this trip, as you want to do what you want to, and to not have to worry about anyone was a highlight. I also skipped London and had an extra day in Amsterdam, where I met the rest of the people on the tour the next day at our hotel. Our Tour manager Sarah was absolutely awesome, she definitely made our trip, caring, fun, and full of facts. People got sick half way through the trip and Sarah was amazing, she helped out a lot and I can say everyone was appreciative of this, with the extra stops and just the notion of her going to each person to see how they felt. I do believe that had it not been for her our trip would not have been as enjoyable. Also take medication with you for general illnesses (flu, nausea, stomach bugs, sore throats, fevers...) and DO NOT forget a sleeping bag, I did and I was horrified with the cold. I loved every second of the trip, I would definitely advise that you take the me time trips, as it allows for a lot of free time to divert from the group and enjoy the things you would like to experience, and to have some time with the group is also awesome. I made some really great friends and I cant say I would have done this trip differently. Our tour driver was super cool, got us into the mood before a great party night, awesome, friendly and best of all she was a chick :) I think the places we stayed at was alright for just a short sleep and a shower, the coach is awesome and clean! Cant wait to do another trip!!! This trip was perfect for a short trip, however I extended with pre and post night stays in Amsterdam and Paris, you have to do this! Try and do it for the places that you enjoyed the most. I would also say try and go on this tour when it is not peak season, so that there are not too many tourists around, I felt like that ruined my experience in Venice. Try and do as many optional events/experiences as you can, if money is not an issue, just do it! But other than that I enjoyed ever second of the European Horizon!

Review written May 2015

My Contiki was: Sleeping bag, Thrilling, Optionals

event 0.3
European Horizon

10 Jam packed days.

19 Jul 2014 - 28 Jul 2014

This trip is guaranteed fun! With 10 jam packed days exploring Europe making new friends, you cannot go wrong. Our tour leader Scott was great and had a good knowledge of the areas we visited. I highly recommended this trip for anyone who is wanting to cover as much of Europe as possible in a short amount of time.

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Quick, Energetic , Fun

event 0.3
  • Nicole
  • Nicole
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

More than i could ever imagine

09 Sep 2014 - 18 Sep 2014

i was on this tour from 9th september to the 18th september 2014, it was so much more than i could ever want, met amazing people, saw amazing sights, although we didnt stay long in each country our tour crew were amazing and ive made some lifelong memories would definately not change my experience i had 10/10 would recommend

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: unreal, experience, memorymaking

event 0.3
  • Masego
  • Masego
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Horizon

loved it

15 Sep 2009 - 24 Sep 2009

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: amazing, fantastic, enjoyable

event 0.3
European Horizon

Great for singles. A full on trip.

28 Jun 2014 - 07 Jul 2014

It was a good trip all round. A lot of time on the bus as it is a very fast paced tour. Early morning starts and all day on the bus and arriving late at night in the next country. Would reccommend paying the extra and doing a longer tour. Definately need two or more nights in each country. The tour is great for people travelling by themselves on a budget as you share rooms with others and interact a bit more. As a couple, it would have been nicer to have a bit more privacy and a double bed. 9/10 it was bunks or single beds pushed together. So I would probably go for a time out tour next where it is all hotels. Not sure if it was the time of year or just the type of tour but a lot of people seemed to have just left school in the group which is also why I would go for a time out tour next time as it may be more of a suitable age group. We were so lucky to have an awesome contiki team though. Have read a few reviews that have had rude tour managers but ours was amazing. Super friendly and always interacting with the group. Our driver was equally as good too. We did this tour as we moved to europe and wanted to see a bit of everything so we could go back to these countries in our own time while we are living here. So if you are doing something similar then this is a pretty good way to get a taste of Europe while on a budget. Even though I had slightly higher expectations I would still do another Contiki as it is a great way to see all the best things in each place without having to go through the trouble of organising it all yourself.

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Sam
  • Sam
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME

30 Jun 2014 - 09 Jul 2014

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 10 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 1 night in a Contiki Village cabin, 5 nights in hotel upgrade & 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 15 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 9 breakfasts
  • 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
  • Mike's Bikes Tour
  • Tandem paragliding
  • Secrets of Venice Walking Tour
  • Gondola ride
  • Jungfrau Mountain visit
  • Souvenir group photo at the Eiffel Tower
  • Paris Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$137
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
44 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.