European Horizon

Tour Length
11 days
From
US$1555
Overview Reviews

  • Nicole
  • Nicole
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

More than i could ever imagine

09 Sep 2014 - 18 Sep 2014

i was on this tour from 9th september to the 18th september 2014, it was so much more than i could ever want, met amazing people, saw amazing sights, although we didnt stay long in each country our tour crew were amazing and ive made some lifelong memories would definately not change my experience i had 10/10 would recommend

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: unreal, experience, memorymaking

event 0.3
  • Masego
  • Masego
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Horizon

loved it

15 Sep 2009 - 24 Sep 2009

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: amazing, fantastic, enjoyable

event 0.3
European Horizon

Great for singles. A full on trip.

28 Jun 2014 - 07 Jul 2014

It was a good trip all round. A lot of time on the bus as it is a very fast paced tour. Early morning starts and all day on the bus and arriving late at night in the next country. Would reccommend paying the extra and doing a longer tour. Definately need two or more nights in each country. The tour is great for people travelling by themselves on a budget as you share rooms with others and interact a bit more. As a couple, it would have been nicer to have a bit more privacy and a double bed. 9/10 it was bunks or single beds pushed together. So I would probably go for a time out tour next where it is all hotels. Not sure if it was the time of year or just the type of tour but a lot of people seemed to have just left school in the group which is also why I would go for a time out tour next time as it may be more of a suitable age group. We were so lucky to have an awesome contiki team though. Have read a few reviews that have had rude tour managers but ours was amazing. Super friendly and always interacting with the group. Our driver was equally as good too. We did this tour as we moved to europe and wanted to see a bit of everything so we could go back to these countries in our own time while we are living here. So if you are doing something similar then this is a pretty good way to get a taste of Europe while on a budget. Even though I had slightly higher expectations I would still do another Contiki as it is a great way to see all the best things in each place without having to go through the trouble of organising it all yourself.

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Sam
  • Sam
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME

30 Jun 2014 - 09 Jul 2014

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Kylie
  • Kylie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Definitely worth the money!

01 Sep 2012 - 10 Sep 2012

Aside from being on the bus so much, this was a great tour. Perfectly planned events and excursion in each country. I even went paragliding in the Austrian Alps. I ended up falling in love with Germany (something I never expected) and realized that after my second time in Paris, I'm not a huge fan of France. Italy was incredible. Austria and Switzerland were everything you could imagine them to be. And Amsterdam was great, so beautiful and the people were lovely.,..even in the Red Light district. I highly recommend this tour.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Fun, Adventure , Beautiful

event 0.3
  • LexJen
  • LexJen
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon

THE TIME OF MY LIFE. (July 28-August 10, 2013)

30 Jul 2013 - 10 Aug 2013

Words cannot describe how amazing the European Horizon Summer 2013 was. I went into the trip with a lot of Anxiety, and I didn't know what to expect. On our first night in London, we met up with everyone at the Hotel Pub, and after that night it was clear to me that it was going to be the trip of a lifetime. Everyone was so friendly, and I quickly became friends with everyone on the tour. I think the main reason why It was such a good tour was because there was a huge group of us who would spend all of our nights & days together, exploring the cities, and then partying at the Hostel Bar's. The one thing that I wasn't aware of before the trip was that we would have to share rooms with either 1 or 2 other people. I was a little worried about that at first, but ended up being paired with 2 other ladies who I quickly became best friends with. The only bad thing about this tour was having to say goodbye to everyone. The tour was not long enough, and we all agreed that it should have been a 20 day tour. I am so happy that I chose to do a contiki tour, it honestly changed my life. Our large group of friends from the tour are still keeping in touch to this day, and I am content to say that I have made life-long friends. I highly recommend this tour, as well as any other contiki tour. I just hope you are as lucky as I was to have so many amazing people to enjoy the journey with.

Review written Oct 2013

My Contiki was: Incomparable, exciting, Time of my Life

event 0.3
  • Jenna
  • Jenna
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Horizon September 2013

08 Sep 2013 - 19 Sep 2013

First of all, Contiki really just blew my mind. Our tour had 44 amazing people, all of whom, I will never forget. I went into this experience with no expectations and was actually a bit anxious about how it would all go. The tour proved that there was no reason for that! We visited 7 countries in 10 days (plus one day on each end for travel) and it was a whirlwind, that's for sure. We saw the sights, made awesome friends, and lucked out with a kickass tour manager (Richie!) and bus driver (Max!). We partied hard almost every night, but there were also people who weren't as into the party scene too - so if that wasn't your thing, it was not a big deal at all. The best part about the trip was that there were groups of friends that formed quickly, but if you wanted to join one or sit down at a meal with someone new, everyone was always so welcoming. There was not any drama and everyone got along great. In fact, now we have lots of places to go and visit (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, LA!) and see our new friends. The accommodations were not a surprise and my advice is to read about where you will be staying prior to taking this trip. We stayed in some hotels, some hostels, a campground and some "Contiki houses" specifically geared toward Contiki touring groups. On our tour, the nicest place we stayed was in Paris, France. The hotel was modern and had modern amenities useful to everyone that came through. However, the most fun were probably the Contiki houses because we had authentic meals prepared for us, the bars were always open if you wanted to take advantage of them and it gave the group (as well as other groups) great bonding time. My personal favorite city that we visited was probably Venice, but I wish we got more time to explore. If I had to change one thing about our trip, it would be that we would get more time in each place to really get to know the culture and surroundings. Given the nature of this particular tour, I understand why this option was not available. However, if (and when!) I do Contiki again, I will likely pick a tour where we will stay in one place for longer and really be able to enjoy everything the country has to offer. One last bit of advice, do as many optionals as you can afford! They are all worthwhile and amazing! Especially Jungfrau mountain, the Cabaret in Paris and the farewell dinner also in Paris. I wish that I did not do the walking tour in Venice (to me it was not worth the 90 mins it took to do when I could have been exploring on my own in the 4 hours we were allowed there!) but that would be the only one I didn't love to the fullest. I would recommend Contiki to everyone and hope my group in particular can all do another one together some day!!! Please message me if you have any questions or concerns, I'll be happy to answer anything! Good luck in your journey!!!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: NoRegrets, Party, AmazingPeople

event 0.3
  • Janelle
  • Janelle
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing trip with amazing people

03 Sep 2013 - 14 Sep 2013

This was my first time traveling solo, and after meeting the tour manager, coach driver, and all of my fellow travelers, I didn't feel alone at all. Having such a diverse group was a great way to learn about many other cultures as well as make new friends.

Our tour manager was very knowledgable about all of the countries we traveled to and he had a good way of getting everyone excited for our next adventure. I have been recommending Contiki to everyone I have talked to since I got home. I will be booking another trip with them for next year and look forward to all the new people I will be meeting.

This was the best birthday I have ever had!

Thank you Contiki!!!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fast Paced, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Roxy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my Life

11 Sep 2012 - 20 Sep 2012

I had the best time and met some amazing people. Great way to get a quick look at Europe. Accommodation was reasonable, you don't spend much time there anyway, your always out and about. The nightlife was so much fun. Most memorable was Venice and Switzerland. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who was thinking of doing it.

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Awesome, Fast, Crazy Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Velin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Adventure of a life time!

27 Jun 2013 - 06 Jul 2013

This action packed tour changed my life! from the snow on the Alps to the magic of Paris, we had an experience of a lifetime! now i crave my next adventure!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Action, experieced, AWED!

event 0.3
  • Carlé
  • Carlé
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Horizon

Horizon

01 Jul 2013 - 10 Jul 2013

This tour was really amazing, it was my first Contiki and I can't wait to do another one, very hectic and don't count on getting lots of sleep but soooo worth it!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Fun, Amazed, Party

event 0.3
  • Miriah
  • Miriah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Horizon

11 Jun 2013 - 20 Jun 2013

Had the best time on this tour, I couldn't of asked for anything else! Its a very full on contiki and you are always doing something and always on the go. So if you are keen to fit in as much as you can in as little time as possible, then this is the tour for you!
My tour manager was absolutely amazing and totally went above and beyond then what we expected, she always made sure we had an amazing time. I met so many awesome people and we all had fun partying and exploring all the different countries together.
I did all the optionals, which I think made it so much fun. You are on the coach a bit when you are going from country to country (but trust me this isn't a bad thing, as you use this time to catch up on sleep and get some energy for the next country)
I travelled solo and instantly made sooo many friends, so weather you are going solo or with friends you will fit right in!
I highly recommend this tour to everyone, just be prepared for the craziest time of your life. Cant wait to do another contiki :D

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Partying, Exploring

event 0.3
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Road trip!!!

24 Apr 2013 - 03 May 2013

The European Horizon was a really fun road trip around Europe. It gave you a great taste of each country and allowed you to do the 'Best Of' in each place. It is a fast paced, action packed adventure! So much fun and lots of laughs!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Fun, Road Trip, Adventure

event 0.3
  • RandyA
  • RandyA
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Horizon

09 Sep 2012 - 20 Sep 2012

First of all, fast paced trip, your in each country for a night and a half a day the next day for the most part. The tour group i happened to be in was very party oriented which was fine with me. I wouldn't say the trip was very "touristy". We did do some sight seeing but I chose this trip to get a taste of every country we went to and it did just that. From enjoying the red light district in Amsterdam and clubbing in Munich, to white water rafting in Austria and shopping in Paris. This tour did very well. The hostels and hotels are exactly what i thought they were going to be and i was fine with it.

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Fast paced, See a lot, Worth it

event 0.3
  • Christie
  • Christie
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Whirlwind Europe!

12 Jun 2012 - 21 Jun 2012

Wow, think my head's still spinning from this EPIC trip. If you want to see the best of Europe in the shortest time but still feel like you've experienced it- this is the tour for you. 7 countries in 10 days! Each day a new city, with amazing scenery, culture and night life. We had an amazing tour manger (Jac) and driver (Jamie)- these guys we're gold and knew their stuff, felt very safe in their hands! Some of the highlights have to be, paragliding in Austria, dressing up in Dirndl (authetic german dress) and hitting the beer hall, the gondola ride in Venice and the cabart in Paris. I went on my own and made 49 friends for life. As it's such a whirlwind tour we all got so close and still talk daily!

EPIC trip, EPIC people and EPIC places.

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Epic, Whirlwind, life-changing

event 0.3
  • Amy
  • Amy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

European Horizon

20 Jun 2012 - 01 Jul 2012

European Horizon was VERY fast, but I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I met so many amazing people from all around the world, and I am already planning on visiting some in the next few months. If you only have about 2 weeks to explore Europe, definitely do the Horizon. Explore London for a day and Explore Paris for an extra day and do the Horizon. The staff was great and excursions were amazing too! Definitely- whitewater raft in Austria, Paraglide and then take a bike ride of the town! Hands down one of the best days! Ton of fun, you can sleep when you come home :)

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: fast, party, europe

event 0.3
  • Kelsey
  • Kelsey
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Horizon = THE BEST

06 Aug 2012 - 17 Aug 2012

Get ready for a very FAST 10 days, but if you want to save money & time, everything is worth it!! Recommend every optional excursion (I did them all) but my favs were:

Booze cruise in Amsterdam (best way to get know everyone right from the start) Beer Hall in Munich (go out in Colt Fabric,best nightlife)
Paragliding in Austria (breathtaking)
Gondola Ride in Venice (buy some sparkling wine & sit back & enjoy the beautiful architecture)
Farewell Dinner in Paris (now have a love for escargot - snails!)

I didn't expect to meet people from all over the world! Now love Australians & Canadians, and our tour guide, Angus, was so knowledgeable/THE BEST! :)

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Drinking, Awesome-Sights

event 0.3
  • Emma
  • Emma
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fav

19 Jun 2012 - 28 Jun 2012

So much fun the fast pace of the tour kept everyone on their toes everyone bonded so quickly! Good way to see everything real quick!!! Loved it!!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Insane, Dunken , New family

event 0.3
  • shaunn86
  • shaunn86
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 0 Countries
European Horizon
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my life

14 Apr 2012 - 23 Apr 2012

The European Horizon trip was amazing, met some great people, had some awesome experiences, seen things with my own eyes that I have only ever dreamed of seeing.

Amsterdam was by far the craziest place of all, and the Canal Cruise is an absolute must!
Germany was just fantastic, from the sleepy little village of St Goar to the City of Munich, so much to see and I will be back to explore more of Germany in the future!
Austria was great, beaut scenery and the Paragliding was out of this world, have never experienced anything like this in my life! I wanted to do it again after landing! There are no words to describe the feeling of flying over the Austrian Snow Capped Alps.
Switzerland took my breath away that's for sure, and I was most looking forward to this part of the trip and it did not disappoint. So many awesome photo opportunities there.
Venice is insane, in a good way! The Gondola ride was fantastic and no trip to Venice is complete without this! Picture Perfect!
Paris was just AWESOME. Getting to see the Eiffel Tower with your own eyes is just hard to explain how great this was, and taking a stroll along the Champs-Élysées is definitely a must do!!

I would do it all over again, met great people and had a great taste of Europe. It is a very fast paced tour, but that is all part of the experience!

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Awesome, Life Changing, Unforgettable

event 0.3
European Horizon

European Horizon

08 Jul 2011 - 19 Jul 2011

This trip was incredible! It was a great way to see many countries in a short amount of time. We got a taste of everywhere we went, but we were constantly on the move. I experienced almost all of the optional activities and enjoyed them. Taking the canal tour through Amsterdam was probably my favorite since it was at the beginning of the trip and gave us the opportunity to really get to know our tour mates and get ready for the crazy night we had ahead of us. Taking this trip was just what I needed at this point in my life. I met some incredible people from different parts of the world and we got to experience Europe together (most of us for the very first time). What a fantastic experience!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Unforgettable, Fabulous, Amazing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 10 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 1 night in a Contiki Village cabin, 5 nights in hotel upgrade & 1 night in a hostel
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 15 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 9 breakfasts
  • 6 dinners

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$141
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
28 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.