European Magic

Tour Length
10 days
From
US$1905
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Jess
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome experience

27 Sep 2013 - 07 Oct 2013

This trip was really wonderful, met some amazing people and cant believe how much I saw in 10 days, would definitely recommend it, be prepared to stay out late and wake up early! It's all worth it!! :)

Review written Feb 2014

event 0.3
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome tour!!!

04 Aug 2013 - 12 Aug 2013

Firstly what made this tour so awesome was having a great tour manager (Felippo) and bus driver (Mark). It also helped that everyone on the tour were absolute champs!
Starting in Amsterdam was great as the ice breaker for the group was a canal cruise and then a sex show!
This tour had enough sites to tick off the bucket list, but also enough places to let loose and party hard.
Highlights included the night out in Munich and Lucern, bike riding and rapids (don't forget your swimsuit) in Munich and Paris.
Would have been great to spend more time in Munich and Paris but all in all, great way to see a lot of Europe quickly.
Can't wait to do another Contiki!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: awesome, fun, exciting

event 0.3
  • Anneliese
  • Anneliese
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 9 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!! European Magic

16 Jun 2013 - 24 Jun 2013

We had the time of our lives. We amazing people and made such good friends form all over the world. I don't think it is possible to see so much in the 9 days other than with Contiki. I would recommend this to anyone having limited time but want to see as mush as possible. The optional extra's are worth doing and is really not expensive. Do it...you know you want to!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • nkicroft
  • nkicroft
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing!

14 Jun 2013 - 24 Jun 2013

The European magic tour was a jam packed tour and a fantastic way to see tons of sites quickly!

We had a great group, mostly couples and we had a higher median age which made for a nice, chill group. Don't get me wrong, we definitely partied (and I don't drink but you can still have fun hanging out with everyone!) although our tour manager probably partied harder than the rest of us! ;)

We ended up doing most of the optionals, which we hadn't intended on doing but turned out to be a ton of fun and we're glad we did. Moulin rouge was a great optional to end the tour!

The bus was our main source of transport (although if you hung out late at night you had to take the train or taxi home... Pretty cheap and manageable though). It could get a little cramped in the window seat if you're like me and like to stretch out when you sleep but it was otherwise a very comfy bus and it was so convenient to just get to sleep between cities. We also only had like 34 people so we had some extra open seats which was very nice.

I loved getting to eat a couple provided meals (breakfast was crucial) but then getting to run off sometimes and grab our own meals. Food in Europe is tasty! Tip: eat at the trattoria alla Madonna in Venice for lunch... Best pasta I've ever had.

This was an amazing tour and we're already plotting our next!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Efficient, Jam-packed, Convenient

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Onashan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unbelievable!

16 Jun 2013 - 24 Jun 2013

Review written Jun 2013

event 0.3
  • JDPS2009
  • JDPS2009
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

EUROPEAN MAGIC

07 Aug 2011 - 15 Aug 2011

It was my first Contiki Tour and it was amazing :)
So many beautiful places and the people on the tour were lovely and our Tour Manager was great.

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Unforgettable , Fast, Fun

event 0.3
  • josurinu
  • josurinu
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

So. Much. Fun.

21 Sep 2012 - 01 Oct 2012

This tour was ah-mayyy-ziiiinnnggg. But it also isn’t for the faint of heart. There were all sorts of different personalities on our tour. There were couples, friends/siblings who traveled together, and people traveling alone. Some chose to do their own thing, and others joined other groups. There was enough of different types of personalities to not make anyone feel awkward, at least in my tour group.

So if you’re a couple looking to do your own thing, or honeymooning, you can easily do this tour if you want to see a lot of places in a short amount of time. BUT as I mentioned before, this isn’t for the faint of heart. We were literally on the move all the time. The only rest time you had was in the long hours on the bus. (Yes, there are LONG hours on the bus. We hit traffic on the way to Switzerland, and we were so late, we had cancel shopping and the boat cruise). A lot of people chatted up, talked to our Tour Manager, Amy, got shut eye, or took pictures of people sleeping. (I totally hid my face every time I slept, and I didn’t get caught... but there are times you’re so freakin’ tired, you can care less.)

People traveling alone, EVERYONE on our tour was nice. Yes, we played pranks and teased each other, but that was all part of the camaraderie. If there is one thing I noticed, we may joke, but people are respectful (at least on my tour). You can easily join other people, or wander off on your own.

People traveling with friend/siblings, (which is the category I fell in) you can easily have fun with your bestie and see the sites, while getting to know other people. If you’re weirded out by going with a sibling, don’t be. There were 4 sets of siblings, and they all had a blast with each other and with the group. What usually happened was that they ended up separating and hung out with new tour friends.

Tip 1: Get to know everyone and make FRIENDSSSS! What I enjoyed about the Contiki experience is that not only are you seeing new places and enjoying new experiences, but you’re thrown into an awesome social setting with like-minded people your age. They are people from different cultures, ethnicities, and nationalities. Take advantage of that! You’ll learn so much more than the cities you visit, and you potentially can start planning your next trip to visit your new friends. For sure, I want to visit Australia, South Africa, and Canada to see the beautiful places my friends spoke of and to see them!

London. The first day, it’s a little awkward. Everyone doesn’t know what to expect. No one knows each other. If they want you go to a meeting place like a pub after the initial meeting, go! Make friends. These are the people you’re going to be around A LOT. Might as well start early and break the ice. My friend and I met two girls who were traveling alone and decided to explore London. We ended up having a great time and became pretty good friends.

Tip 2: If you have the money, do all the optionals. It’s part of the experience. And you get to experience it all with your new friends.

Amsterdam. DO the BOAT CRUISE! This is the place where EVERYONE will let loose! (This is because it’s a booze cruise, no lie.) I’m a loud and sociable person, so instead of staying with the same group of people, I went and mingled with as many people to get to know everyone and break the ice. Turns out, it was the best idea I ever had. Everyone I met became my friend and we all had a blast. After that, it’s a sex show. Be open to it. It’s not super disgusting or anything. It’s people on a stage having sex. We’re adults. Some parts of the show is pretty funny. Oh, and you get two drinks at this show. After that, we partied the night away. The next morning, you get to explore Amsterdam by day. I recommend the Anne Frank Huis. It’s really amazing and it’s such a big part of World history. If you’re gonna partake in herbal remedies... cookies are weak. Just sayin’

St. Goar. This is the place you recover from all the Amsterdamage. You go on a wine tasting and a beerstein demonstration. (I went for Oktoberfest, if you’re going to do this tour, BOOK IT FOR OKTOBERFEST!) The wine tasting wasn’t all that great, but it was only 8 Euros, and you get a free shot glass. St. Goar the town is small, so going off wandering wouldn’t be all that great either since the shops close at 6 PM. I bought an Oktoberfest beerstein, and everyone back home I’ve shown it to has coveted it. (Mind you, it’s really heavy, think about that when you think of luggage requirements.) The inn we stayed at was cute and quiet. Take this time to relax because the next day is Munich.

Munich. We did the bike ride, and Tony, our tour guide, was hilarious. He was an American, so I was able to clearly understand him (though, to European credit, many speak better English than I do). It was nice seeing the sights and riding a bike again. But to the real reason I love Munich was Oktoberfest. I was one of four people in a tour of 50 that booked this trip WITHOUT knowing about Oktoberfest. Thank my lucky stars I chose this tour. Oktoberfest was flat out AHHH-MAAAYYY-ZIIIINNGG. DO IT. Even if you don’t like beer! It’s such a culture shock, and everyone has SO MUCH FUN. Partying with happy Germans and your tourmates is just fun. I can’t emphasize it enough. DO IT. AND, these tours book fast, since there is only TWO European Magic tours that do it (but there are other tours that do it as well like European Discover), just sayin’. And don’t think you can get German beer anytime, they SPECIFICALLY brew a new beer every year for Oktoberfest. It’s definitely on my to-do list, again.

Stopover in Austria. We bobsledded. I’ll tell you, I LOVE watching bobsledding in the Olympics, but I didn’t expect that ride. It’s really rough, but an awesome experience. Seriously, it’s awesome to say that I bobsledded on an Olympic run with an Olympian. You stop off in Innsbruck, which has a Swarovski store. I spent a LOT here. The bottom floor has the cheaper good because they’re not technically Swarovski brand, but they’re designed by local Austrian designers with Swarovski techniques. Still very pretty. They also gave me the option to charge with American dollars versus Euros, so it saved me on transaction fees.

Venice. The first night is a chill night. Rest up, because there will be a LOT of walking when you actually get into Venice. (You won’t be staying in the actual city of Venice to keep costs low.) Get lost in this city. We went up St. Mark’s bell tower and the views are LOVELY. It doesn’t even cost much. Eat Italian food (It’s freakin’ delicious, obviously). I shopped away from the big stores and bought things at the stands. I have to say, my favorite thing I bought from the whole trip was my Murano glass ring. They have cheap leather bags, and cool masks.

Switzerland. We hit a lot of traffic so we missed out on shopping and the boat cruise, but we did go to Mt. Stanserhorn, and the views are glorious. The Swiss are very orderly and their landscape proves it. Bring a jacket, I went in September, and I wore a cotton jacket. It was enough. You stay at the Jail Hotel. It’s an experience. It’s a little scary at first, but it’s just a place to sleep. I’ve read reviews where it said it was dirty. I didn’t see that in my room.

Paris. Expect a LONG road ahead of you. It took us 9 hours, I believe. The first night is a chill night and you do the city of lights tour. It’s pretty and you learn a lot of the rich history of the French. The next day, you go to a perfumery. This really wasn’t all that great, but I did buy lovely French perfume for really cheap, and they only sell in Paris. I wear it all time now. We had 45 minutes of free time, and a group of us booked it to the Lourve to see the Mona Lisa. The Lourve is HUGE, and we literally got in, saw the Mona Lisa, and ran back to the bus. We took our group picture, then went up the Eiffel Tower, and were given free time. One day in Paris is barely getting an intsy winsty taste of Paris.

Tip 3: Extend in London BEFORE the tour starts and extend in Paris when the tour is over.

One day in Paris is seriously not enough. Make a plan of attack of what to do in Paris, ask your tour manager on what you should do and how to do it efficiently. I did the Moulin Rouge... I have to say, it was cool, but it wasn’t my thing. But most of the tour went, and you want to spend your last night with them. After that, the last night was spent at O’sullivans, the bar right next to the show, and partied our final night.

Other tips you should know. They do check your weight before you head out, but they don’t check afterward. Just be aware of any baggage allowance for your flight back home. Don’t bring a laptop. You’re on vacation. Bring a phone or iPod to do fast emails, instagram posts, and facebook updates. There are some hotels that offer free wifi. If you’re an iPhone user, download skype or viber. You can call another phone with the same app for free using internet (so you can call home on a budget). Bring a neck pillow, it’s great on the bus. TAKE A LOT OF PICTURES AND VIDEOS! I made a video for my group, which I will share with you, and I’m grateful that I can relive these moments. Emergen-C will be your friend. I took it everyday a month before I left and sporadically while I was there, I never got sick, even when I got back home. My best friend wasn’t so lucky (and she didn’t take Emergen-C). Buy jewelry and accessories. It’s a nice reminder incorporated to your every clothes when you go back to reality.

You’re on HOLIDAY! Have fun! Don’t sweat the small stuff, and just enjoy what’s around you.

I like to party. If you like to party, I HIGHLY recommend doing Contiki. If you don’t like to party, that’s okay too! You can have fun without partying. You get to see the sights, do the activities, and meet cool people in a short period of time. If you don’t like a fast pace, don’t do this tour. This tour also caters to people on a budget, so don’t expect 5 star rooms and 5 star food. In return, I got 5 star service from my tour manager and bus driver. Amy and Sergio were fantastic. I really can’t emphasize how much I’ve enjoyed this tour. I plan on doing Contiki again, and you should really consider it.

If you have any questions, feel free to message me. And here’s the youtube video I made with my tour: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__Ug3o5xVh8

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Partying, Fun

event 0.3
  • Otter
  • Otter
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Magic indeed!

26 Aug 2011 - 05 Sep 2011

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
  • jamie12
  • jamie12
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Magic

BEST HOLIDAY EVER

07 Oct 2012 - 15 Oct 2012

If your even considering for a minuite to go on a contiki tour... DO IT NOW
it is the best thing ive ever done, amazing people, beautiul places and so so so much more
This tour is very fast and you do spend alot of time on the coach.
Saying that our AMAZING tour guide lucian and our driver GAZZA made it so much fun all the time.
I have made friends for life and have some unforgetable memories
And girls.. all the hotels on this tour had HAIRDRYERS
AMAZING TOUR CANT WAIT FOR MY NEXT ONE

CONTIKIIIII XX

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: AMAZING, HAIRDRYER, TOUR GUIDE

event 0.3
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing.

14 Sep 2012 - 24 Sep 2012

Not much to say except that the tour was amazing. Great tour guide (Whattup Sam!) even Greater people.

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Hard and Fast

17 Aug 2012 - 27 Aug 2012

Definitely not for the casual traveler. This tour is almost a country a day. Expect to spend a lot of time traveling on the bus. And plan to do most of your sleeping on the bus because we went out and got smashed just about every single night. It's a lot of fun, definitely had the time of my life, but don't expect a particularly in-depth look at most of the places you visit. You get some extra time in Venice and Paris, but Munich and Innsbruck go by in a flash. You probably won't remember Amsterdam, but that's OK! You'll know you had fun anyway ;)

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: fast , fun

event 0.3
  • miztiry
  • miztiry
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Magic is a Perfect Name for this Tour

29 Jun 2012 - 09 Jul 2012

I was a little skeptical about taking a Contiki tour because I'm not a big fan of large organized groups while traveling, but I was glad to be proved wrong. I had the best time while on this trip. European Magic was a great tour for someone who can only take 2 weeks off of work. You see almost everything on this whirlwind tour. From the canals of Amsterdam, to skipping the line at the Eiffel Tower, everything is included in these 11 days.

The tour part was great as well. Our tour manager Matt was fantastic. He really knew his stuff and I learned a lot from him as we pulled into each city. Our driver was also awesome and saved us from a few sticky situations. The bus was really comfortable and thankfully had air conditioning. The rides between each city were long, but we got plenty of rest stops and time to sleep if needed. Also, everyone on the tour was amazing to hang out with.

Overall, I suggest everyone take a Contiki tour, even if it's not this one. There is nothing better than travelling the world, and doing it in this way, where everything is organized and ready to go for you is so helpful.

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: magical, exciting, cultural

event 0.3
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Magic

17 Jun 2012 - 25 Jun 2012

Let me first say that I had a great time on this tour. I got to see a ton of cool stuff in a very short amount of time. Thats both the good and the bad. If you want to cram as much as possible into a short time this is a great trip, but if you want to relax and take in EVERY sight then I would find a tour that covers less ground. My guide was great, my group was pretty awesome as well so I rated it 4 stars but that just because we we up early and on the bus quite a bit. Had it not been for the early mornings this would have been a 5 star trip. They did a great job of giving us as much time in a place as possible considering the distance we traveled.

Review written Jul 2012

event 0.3
  • Marc.L
  • Marc.L
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Magic

10 Jul 2009 - 20 Jul 2009

This is a really great option for someone first time to Europe. You will see many different countries and site in a short period of time. Accommodations were very good the majority of them to be 3*+. However obviously depending on the destination, accommodation can vary. St Goar and Lucerne were typical germanic style hotels. Small rooms, but clean. All accommodations were easily accessible to the areas many sites and attractions. Either by taxi or public transit. This tour is rather fast pace, there is plenty of time on the bus to get to know your tour mates.

I happened to do all of the optional tours. Highly recommend the canal cruise in Amsterdam. This is a great opportunity to open up and get to know your tour mates on your first day. The bike tour of Munich was a highlight, not expensive and a great way to see this awesome city!

Travelling Solo on Contiki? No Worries! you will meet plenty of interesting people on tour and make new friends. This was the option that i choose and i would not have done it any other way!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Great Fun!, a great way to meet like minded individuals., excellent value for money and an overall amazing experience.

event 0.3
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING

16 Sep 2011 - 26 Sep 2011

I cannot even begin to express the amazing time I had on the European Magic Contiki trip. I was excited as anyone would be, to see the world etc. But it was over and beyond my expectations. Contiki planned the trip so well that I didn't even have time to be bored or said that I was leaving a certain country because I was so excited to reach our next destination. The only time that I was upset was the last day because we had to leave our Contiki family that we made. Everyone on the bus was so friendly and I couldn't have asked for a better tour manager and driver. I have already recommended Contiki to four other people and I have only been home for three days. I cannot wait to start planning my next trip! Thank you so much for the memories!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Unbelievable, Amazing, Excellent

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Wendy Loza
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 8 Countries
European Magic

Tour Review

24 Jun 2011 - 04 Jul 2011

It was absolutely amazing. My tour guide was very helpful with regard to sites and shortcuts around long lines. the people on my tour were some of the most amicable people I've ever met. I would totally do this again.

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
  • Kat102542
  • Kat102542
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Magic

Tour Review

16 Apr 2010 - 26 Apr 2010

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: memorable , exciting, life changing

event 0.3
European Magic

Tour Review

Review written Jan 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fun Experience, Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Jo
  • Jo
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Magic
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

10 Oct 2010 - 18 Oct 2010

A friend and I went on this tour in Oct 2010, and had such an amazing time. Leona, our tour manager was excellent, heaps of fun and so knowledgeable. And Aaron our driver drove himself a mean bus lol.
Europe is so beautiful, so ancient and often quite gothic looking.
Highlights for me were the gondola ride in Venice and just being there really, clubs in Munich, the Eiffel Tower, Jim Morrisons grave and the Moulin Rouge in Paris, the awesome night we had partying in Lucerne, the canal cruise in Amsterdam, and also a certain live show they may take you to there aswell ;o)
The group atmosphere was great, bus was comfy with good tunes, accommodation was all nice, everyone was friendly, so so so so so much fun!
Contiki was awesome, so much so I'm doing Europe and the US with them in 2011.
If you're looking at doing the European Magic tour, I cannot recommend it any more highly :o) have a ball!

Review written Dec 2010

My Contiki was: amazing, hilarious, unforgettable

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 9 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 8 continental breakfasts
  • 5 three-course dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal Cruise (1.5 hours)
  • Wine tasting
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$190
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
19 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.