European Vista

Tour Length
22 days
From
US$3935
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Ashley
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing time! D

24 Jun 2013 - 14 Jul 2013

Amazing 21 days! Lots to fit in, and heaps was coverd! Had lots of busy time,as well as chilling on your own, great group of people! All the hotels beat my expectations although some of the dinners could have been a lot better.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get a good idea of Europe and be mezmorised by some of the things you will see! I really had an amazing time, an I'm sad to be home without my contiki family!x

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Mezmorising , Intriguing , Laughter

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Sally
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

European Vista

11 Aug 2012 - 31 Aug 2012

This tour was absolutely incredible from start to finish. A perfect way to see a large part of Europe in such a short time. We kicked off the tour with a night in Paris, some of the group watched the Eiffel Tour light show with a bottle of Moet and got to know each other and that's when we knew we were going to have an amazing trip. Our tour guide and bus driver were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining - what I loved most was the introduction to each country with a history and run down of a city map as we were entering each day. We were given helpful tips for getting around, where to find the best local food and other interesting facts and tips which made being in an unknown city less daunting. Make sure you do all of the optionals..some of them seem very different to what we may be used to but it's all part of immersing yourself in the culture of that country and with a big group, it's hard not to appreciate it. The bus trip can get tedious but we made our own fun, get to know the group, play games and eat ridiculous amounts of food (the service station stops are classic - so much food and it would be rude not to try everything). Basically just be open to everything - Europe is an amazing place and the European Vista will give you a real taste of the culture without having to do too much research. Loved our tour guide Garai - he seemed to know anything and everything about every country so it was extremely beneficial and we loved picking his brain - he was also hilarious and knew how to perk us up even when we were tired and feeling a bit worse for wear.
Definitely a value for money tour and I highly recommend it!

Review written Apr 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible, Value for money, Cultural

event 0.3
  • SteveK
  • SteveK
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
European Vista

European Vista

07 Jul 2012 - 27 Jul 2012

Great tour to see all the major sites and cities of Europe. From the Eiffel Tower in Paris, scenic Lucerne, swimming at Nice beach, Colesseum in Rome, to beautiful Prague and hectic Amsterdam!

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Cities, Sights, Scenery

event 0.3
  • Erin
  • Erin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Vista

European Vista- 21 day tour.

21 Jul 2012 - 10 Aug 2012

What an amazing 21 day adventure, seeing 11 countries in 21 days.

A big thank you to our tour Manger Nat and driver Muffin, your approach made our tour of Europe truly great!
Both very professional, cheerful and very much enjoyed your abridged history of significant attractions and found your endurance inspiring.

Totally worth every dollar spent and certainly recommend Contiki.

Cheers :)

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Astounding , Fantastical , Inspiring

event 0.3
  • Lungile
  • Lungile
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

True European Vista

30 Jun 2012 - 20 Jul 2012

Our trip started on the 30th of June 2012, this was in the midst of the European summer - little did I know what this summer had in-store. We had a fantastic tour manager and driver - Roxy and Mark!

Seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was breathtaking, you don't realise just how beautiful and magnificent it is till you see it up close. Ticking off things like the Monalisa, Colosseum, Big Ben, London Eye, Lion Monument etc. was amazing!

It's hard to tell which city was the best, they all had certain unique characteristics!! Try out local cuisine when travelling Europe, I had frogs legs and snails in France, traditional German food at a beer hall!

Sign up for ALL the optional excursions, they are wonderful and a great way to spend your days! The optional meals are lovely and also give you the opportunity to quaff copious amounts of wine. Definitely take more money than you think you'll need - clubbing will be a big part of your tour!

Above all, come with an open mind and be ready to have the best summer of your life!!!

P.S: Should your feet or anything else get swollen during the trip, a dip in a pool will solve the problem. Due to the amount of time spent in the coach and walking in the heat, deep vein thrombosis might occur. Just elevate and keep cool!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Young, Wild, Free

event 0.3
  • j3st3r999
  • j3st3r999
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

The best sights Europe has to offer!

16 Jun 2012 - 08 Jul 2012

Ok, this trip was awesome and I am so glad that I went. I am writing this review though with the idea of helping you to make your trip a little bit better. So I may come across a little negative at times but it is with the idea of helping out future travelers.
One gripe I have is that on our trip the focus seemed to be on partying at night. Ok, I get it, that can be fun. If your looking at going to Europe for culture or sights thsi can get a little bit lost when the focus turns to pub crawls. Anyway, the key for us was to plan our "free time" which is very limited to see one or two things very well. One key to this is looking at your tour dates and checking the days of the week to the cities you are visiting. Many museums are closed on odd days (i.e. the Louvre on Monday). Check this ahead of time before going to see something and only have it be closed. Check out guide books like Rick Steves to help you find ticket short cuts as well.Stay healthy. We got sick due to being on the bus with sick people. Take vitamins and wash your hands!
Optional Excursions-Unless you are really bad at planning or are going with a big group of friends most of these can be skipped without too much regret. the dinners especially are very expensive unless you are really picky about food. Take your money and go to a small cafe and enjoy the local life and better food. The one dinner we did do, the Tuscan dinner, was good fun due to the live entertainment. Most of the boat tours can be found for cheaper but may not be done by locals. We did the Lake Lucerne cruise excursion but had more fun on our paddleboat ride so, make your own chocies there.
The contiki hotel in Haupfgarten will offer to do your laundry for 15 euros for a small bucket. or you can go down the street to the laundromat and do 3 or four loads for that price and again enjoy the locals or hop over to the awesome cafe next door.I only did the mountain biuke excursion which was great. It is the equivalant of a blue in ski runs so it is not for the faint of heart but is only hard for about 30 mintues or so. the lunch after was ok.
Be prepared for some less than awesome rooms and wifi is available only about half of the time.
The Mozart concert in Vienna was amazing and should not be skipped by anyone ever!
The tour of the Vatican was ok. Our guide was kind of long winded and focussed on weird stuff. I turned off the audio guide and had a great time.
If you do not do some of the excursions be prepared to be treated as second class. We didn't do the Schnapps tour and basically just had to twiddle our thumbs in front of the museum as they wouldn't even let us shop inside?!
DId the Mike's bike tour in Munich and was very dissapointed, but I think it was more the guide we ended up with than the company as a whole. There is a very long stop in the middle at a beer garden so keep this in mind as well.
Try lots of food. eat lots of gelato and have a great time! there is so much great stuff to see, this is a good way to get a quick taste of the best Europe has to offrer.
Don't drink Chino unless you love robitussin!

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Fast, Lots of Sights, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Shaun
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

28 May 2011 - 17 Jun 2011

Amazing. Completely above and beyond my expectations. I was traveling with my girlfriend on this tour and we both had the time of our lives. Some of the best points about the tour;
- Everyone is so friendly and easy to get along with. of the 46 or so people on our bus there isn't one who i wouldn't call a friend.
- Our tour manager, Angela, knew so much about all the places we visited and was really keen to share all this knowledge with us! I learnt and saw things i never expected too.
- Perfect balance of partying vs experiencing the culture and sight seeing. We were a bit worried about this when booking because we didn't want to spend thousands on travelling and be too hung over to experience anything. Turned out perfect - still went out partying most nights but never suffered too much during the days!
- The tour itself was excellent. all the countries were amazing and the route was well designed. Ending in amsterdam was great.
- All but one hotel were excellent. much better than i had expected! I had also expected bread and water for breakfast but most day there is a buffet of cold meat, cereal, toast, croissants, muesli, yoghourt, fresh fruit as well as hot sausages, eggs, bacon, etc. I ate more than i ever would at home so don't be worried about that.
- Be prepared to fork out an extra 6-700 Euro for optional activities. There are a lot and most are worth doing if you skip on anything you will probably be among the minority who are left by themselves - Always go to optional dinners, especially the Tuscan Evening in Firenze. In saying that, a guide of $100 Euro per day will more than likely cover optionals and spending money for most people (with some left over).
- group dinners are excellent value for money as they generally feed you till your stuffed and fill you with wine (be prepared to drink a lot of wine).

Some things about the tour which you should probably know(note: these are not negative points but just things we didn't know prior to the tour);
- walk walk walk, drive drive drive. you will spend an incredible amount of time walking around the cities you visit. in fact I wouldn't be surprised if we walked in excess of 10-20kms per day - it's all worth it though. if your not walking there is a good chance you will be sitting in the bus. On average you will be on the bus every second day for 6-7 hours. It sounds bad but it's not really. If your tour manager says you will be driving for 4 hours, expect to arrive in 6:). I bought a 160gb ipod before leaving and filled it with tv shows, movies, standup and music and didn't touch it once on tour!
- although the bus is not terrible, if your a light sleeper you will not get any sleep on the bus.
- It will hurt when it's all over. We slept for two days and took two courses of antibiotics before moving on. I wouldn't do any less than 21 days though. It was very sad when we rolled back into London.

- The whole experience is non stop. from sunrise to sun set you will be going going going... be prepared and just roll with it.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Adventure, Mind blowing

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • grantham12
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

12 May 2011 - 03 Jun 2011

Review written Jun 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fantastic, lifechanging

event 0.3
European Vista
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

17 Jul 2010 - 06 Aug 2010

Awesome trip.
Started off pretty fast paced and hot in Italy. But as the tour went on and everyone got to know each other it was amazing. We all keep in contact now through Facebook and are looking at doing another contiki together as a group.

Couldnt of been any better in my opinion. The best tour Manager and bus driver in Wade and Adam. As the trip went on just got better and better, from Austria onwards we were once big, happy family.

Review written Sep 2010

My Contiki was: Fast, Friends, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 21 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation: 3 nights in Contiki’s Feature Hotels, 18 nights in hotels
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 20 continental breakfasts
  • 1 Regional Dinner: Italian Trattoria feast
  • 10 three-course dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Moulin Rouge
  • Swiss Fondue Lunch & Folklore Show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$178
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
9 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.