European Whirl

Tour Length
19 days
From
US$2665
Overview Reviews

  • Jacob
  • Jacob
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl

Live it up!

18 Aug 2014 - 04 Sep 2014

First of all there is no perfect amount of time for a contiki tour I come to realise. A lot of people told me not to do a long one as it tends to drag on. I can tell you now it solely depends on the people in your group and I/we could have done this trip for the rest of our lives! 18 days was so fast and everybody grew so close to each other in such a short space. It will be an experience I'll never forget. Also Jake our tour manager with his laid back but knowledgeable personality made quite the difference. They probably say it to everyone but I truly felt this was the best group his ever had, it certainly felt that way anyway to the point where the whole bus was crying saying goodbye to one another at the end. Tiago our bus driver also made this your great, his bus tunes and funny quirky personality just added to it all. The wake up song and the arrival song I really enjoyed, to the point where I've made it my ringtone just because I never want to forget this amazing experience. Pay for the extras, you won't be disappointed! Money shouldn't be an issue, live it up! That's what you're there for! Only thing I could recommend is bring a neck pillow. Came very much in handy! Will be booking another contiki in the near future! Thanks jake and tiago, thanks contiki and thanks all my new friends :)

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Jake, Love, Amazing

event 0.3
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Whirl

30 Jul 2014 - 16 Aug 2014

This tour was more than I could have ever expected! When you read these reviews before going on a Contiki you try to imagine yourself on it, but there is no way you can be ready for what is about to come your way. From the moment we stepped onto the bus as strangers and used "speed dating" to get to know each other, after two days everyone felt like family, including our manager and bus driver. We were so lucky that our group bonded so well and were so friendly.
The whole trip was a whirlwind you were constantly on the move but it was great as there was no time to be bored! A highlight would have to be staying in Hopftgarten with all the conitiki staff and dancing the night away covered in fluro paint. Also Paragliding off the Austrian Alps with bright blue skies, green grass and breathtaking views there was no way to pass this up as an optional.
If you are going on this tour GET A FLU SHOT OR TAKE MEDICINE, you will get sick. We could have easily made a song of coughs due to everyone having the Contiki Plague, but that didn't stop us from partying every night and still getting up at 7 am to go for a day filled of sightseeing. Huge thank you to Peps (tour manager) and Erno (bus driver) for putting up with our crazy group and joining in on our nights out. If you only have a short time to travel do not go past this tour there is no way you can be disappointed.
The memories and friends made on this tour will never be forgotten!!!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Crazy , Unforgettable , Life Changing

event 0.3
  • Alanna
  • Alanna
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a Lifetime!

09 Jul 2014 - 27 Jul 2014

My best friend and I booked this trip and I couldn't have been happier!

The trip is fast paced, many late nights and early mornings, but after a few days you get into the swing of things. While we had 53 people on our tour, nearly everyone was friendly and easy to get along with and I definitely made some friends for life. The downside with travelling with a big group is you will get sick, and everyone did. (Make sure to bring medicine!)

I didn't expect to do all the optional MeTimes but in the end it was definitely worth it. The only ones I opted out of were the Mountain Bike tour in Austria and visiting the top of Jungfrau mountain in Switzerland (and I'm OK with that!) Our tour manager was so organized and made the trip a total breeze. She also knew tons of history about each place we visited and could point out lesser-known attractions we could do.

The best thing with a budget tour like this is to have no expectations. That way, you aren't disappointed if the included food isn't that great, or if the accommodations aren't what you thought. Overall, I thought everything was great for the price - You get to see countless cities and countries in such a short time and hopefully have the time of your life!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: adventure, exciting, fast-paced

event 0.3
  • Simone
  • Simone
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unforgettable Experience Of A Life Time

27 Jun 2014 - 14 Jul 2014

I went on the European Whirl June 27th- July 14th. i met my group in Amsterdam and the minute i met all 52 of them i instantly liked them. I got to know them all really well and made amazing friends. We started in Amsterdam and it was mad fun drinking and going out to these cool clubs, then we went to Berlin were we got to watch Berlin play in the world cup and that was the best thing to do :) then off to Prague and enjoyed the history and culture there, then we did a one day stop in Munich and i did the ME TIME activity Mikes Bike Tour and YOU HAVE TO DO IT this bike tour is the funniest and best bike ride i have ever been on you see so much of Munich in so little time with this great bike tour and you laugh the whole way. Then we went for another 1 night stop in the Austrian Tyrol and that was just BEAUTIFUL we also had our Tight, White & Bright Party at the place we were staying and that was a fun party with my contiki group and other contiki groups as well :) then we went to the beautiful country ITALY we stayed in campsites through out the whole time in Italy and they were alright (you will need your sleeping bag there and in Venice buy mozzie spray as they will bite you bad) Venice is a beautiful city i could live there, Rome didn't interest me that much but thats my personal opinion you may think different of Rome. We only had 1 day in Florence and from what i saw it is a beautiful city. We had our group photo and dinner in Florence which is a ME TIME OPTIONAL and i suggest you do it as its amazing and after dinner we went to a karaoke bar and drank and sang the night away ( hahahaha- Oh and eat lots of GELATI in Italy i did its so AMAZINGLY GOOD) we then headed up to Switzerland and it was cold but OMG such beautiful views and such a beautiful place we stayed in. another ME TIME OPTIONAL in Switzerland is going up to the top of Europe in the snow called JUNGFRAUJOCH and i enjoyed that heaps (but pack warm clothing as you will need it and Switzerland is expensive so if you are thinking you want to eat at the snow buy food at the place your staying and take it up there as its very expensive up the top of the mountain) then after that we headed to our last stop PARIS and just like the talk it is a BEAUTIFUL CITY we went as a group in free time on the first night we all bought wine and champagne and went to the Eiffel Tower at midnight and watched it light up it was so beautiful. Then the last night we had out goodbye dinner and cabaret show and those are both ME TIME OPTIONALS and you have to do them as its a fantastic night out with everyone for pretty much the last time :) then on the morning everyone left i was staying in Paris 1 extra night and i didn't think it would be that hard but saying goodbye to 52 people you have been with on and off a bus with and shared rooms with and toured around Europe with for the last 18days is so hard and sad to say goodbye to them i cried but i know i will have a friendship with them for life and will catch up with them soon :) This was my first ever CONTIKI TOUR and i LOVED IT i now have the travel bug and i will be booking to go on another Contiki December 2015 but on an American Tour - if you are hesitating about doing a contiki tour or hesitating about doing this tour - DONT HESITATE just do it as you will not regret it and you will have the best time ever and also don't be nervous going by yourself as i went by myself and i made the most amazing friends and had the most amazing time ever :)

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: european whirl, best trip ever, no regrets

event 0.3
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 18 days of my life #noregrets

01 Jul 2013 - 18 Jul 2013

There's nothing more amazing than flying half way around the world and jumping on a coach with 50 like-minded strangers and travelling to some of the most beautiful, historic and unique places on earth.
I had the most amazing group of people; however we were all very different personality wise. Despite this, by day 4 we were all pretty much family!
All the places we visited were simply amazing, however the only criticisim I have of the trip is that the optionals were often a rip off (e.g. average food for crazy prices).
The Contiki staff and stop-over sites were awesome, definitely added to the trip a lot. I partiularly enjoyed the stop-overs where Contiki hosted themed parties and we got the chance to mix and mingle with other Contiki groups.
Loved my Contiki experience, will be back doing another trip as son as my bank account allows for it!
Thanks Contiki, keep up the good work!

Review written Sep 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Crazy, NoRegrets

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Dan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A Whirl-Wind Adventure

18 Jul 2013 - 04 Aug 2013

For those of you that may be interested, this is a quick run down of what we did on the first day.

We started our tour in London and quickly made our way via ferry to Amsterdam. Amsterdam is an amazing city. Full of bikes and quirky buildings. We explored the city on foot. We checked out the local shopping district and we had a Bratwurst (German Style sausage) for lunch. We saw the Anne Frank house in Amsterdam and chilled out in front of the iconic 'I Amsterdam' sign. For those doing the optional extras of the Sea Palace Lunch- I'd highly recommend it. It was tasty Indonesian cuisine and plenty of free drinks. The other optional was a river cruise, which turned out to be a party boat with beer, wine and champange! We then hit the town and toured the red light district checking out the prostitutes of Amsterdam (looking of course..). Some of the guys went to the local coffee shops for some 'grass'. Others stayed and saw a live sex show, which was a mixture of sexy and hilariousness. That was our first night in Amsterdam. Others went out and hit the town afterwards, while some of us crashed in our hostel.

I could describe the other 18 days but you'll have to experience it for yourself. The accommodation in general was quite good. There were a few hotel upgrades and all hostels and cabins had the essentials and more. Our tour guide and bus driver, Kate and Phillipe, were great. They were incredibly organised and work hard to make the trip memorable as possible. The ME time extras do cost more. I spent about 350 euro extra on ME extras but they were well worth it. Things such as paragliding, whitewater rafting, gondolas in Venice, pub crawls, river cruises all added to the experience. The experience was incredibly intense. Be prepared to be exhausted after the end of the trip. One of the best aspects of the trip was how we managed to get so much done (in terms of sightseeing, partying, making friends, and other experiences) in such as short period of time. Our group bonded really well together and everyone was incredibly friendly.

If you are after a intense and wild time and want to see Europe quickly at an incredibly good price, I'd definitely recommend this trip. Only downside is that there was limited time in each city. So if you are looking to spend a while (more than two days) in each city maybe look somewhere else. Otherwise- 5 STARS

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Intense, Wild, Memorable

event 0.3
  • Michael
  • Michael
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

One of the most memorable trips of my life

04 Jun 2010 - 23 Jun 2010

Three years later I'm still talking with many of my fellow travelers regularly on facebook. This was my first European trip and it was a great introduction to a lot of major European cities as well as some beautiful mountainsides in the Alps. The optional activities were all fun however the optional meals were AWFUL. The Indonesian meal in Amsterdam, Italian meal in Florence, and meal in Paris were all terrible and they weren't cheap so I would suggest avoiding them. The quality of the food made it clear that these restaurants did not care about our satisfaction. It was nice to at least to spend more quality time with my tour mates but if I did it again I would have gotten a group of friends together and dined somewhere else.
My only other complaint was the hotel in Amsterdam was pretty dumpy and in a dodgy area. Ironically, all of the other accommodations, which were campsites and hostels, were absolutely superb. Overall it was an excellent trip.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: lifetime, friends, amazing

event 0.3
  • Dannielle
  • Dannielle
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A trip of a life time!

22 May 2012 - 08 Jun 2012

Nearly a year ago now I experienced one of the most amazing adventures of my life, the contiki European whirl! Contiki is the best way to see just about everything in any country you've selected. The European whirl has most definitely given me the travel bug! The 18 day tour was one unforgettable experience, you make tones of friends, see all different places and experience loads of new foods/activities. The accomodation was good and the bus driver and tour manager were a blast.

Must do!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Unforgettable!, Amazing!, Loved it!

event 0.3
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

GREAT EXPERIENCE ,BEST TIME OF MY LIFE !!!!!!

14 Jul 2009 - 31 Jul 2009

I HAD HEARD A LOT ABOUT CONTIKI TOURS BUT WAS NOT PREPARED FOR SUCH AN AWESOME TRAVEL EXPERIENCE!

FROM THE TIME I LEFT SOUTH AFRICA AND JOINED THE TOUR IN LONDON I HAD NO IDEA WHAT AN AMAZING 18 DAYS LAY AHEAD OF ME! 

THE THOUGHT OF VISITING 10 COUNTRIES IN EUROPE IN 18 DAYS WAS VERY EXCITING.  TRAVELLING SOLO WAS QUITE DAUNTING BUT I NEEDN’T HAVE WORRIED AS EVERYONE WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND WE INSTANTLY CONNECTED AND BECAME GREAT MATES!  THE ORGANISATION AND STAFF FROM THE VERY BEGINING WERE OUTSTANDING AND NOTHING SEEMED TO BE TOO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THEM.

 ALTHOUGH THE DISTANCES TRAVELLED ON THE BUS WERE LONG AND EXHAUSTING, THE COMFORT AND GREAT MUSIC HELPED TO GET EVERYONE INTO A PARTY MOOD AND SHORTENED THE TRIP CONSIDERABLY.  THE SCENERY THAT WE PASSED THROUGH IN EUROPE WAS TRULY SPECACTACULAR AND OUR TOUR LEADER MADE SURE WE DID NOT MISS A THING WHEN WE REACHED THE COUNTRY OF OUR DESTINATION.

THE ACCOMMODATION WAS GENERALLY GOOD BUT THERE WERE A FEW PLACES THAT YOU HAD TO COME OUT OF YOUR OWN CUSHY COMFORT ZONE TO ADAPT TO - BUT, HEY, IT WAS ONLY A PLACE TO SLEEP AFTER ALL!
 IT WAS GREAT TO TASTE THE TRADITIONAL DISHES OF EACH COUNTRY AND TO ENJOY GREAT RESTAURANTS WITH WONDERUL ATMOSPHERES.  EVERY EVENING WAS A PARTY!

THE OPTIONAL ACTIVITIES OFFERED ON THIS TOUR WERE EXCEPTIONAL AND VERY WELL RESEARCHED.  I PARTICULARLY ENJOYED THE  WHITE WATER RAFTING & MOUNTAIN BIKING IN THE AUSTRIAN TYROL AND WOULD RECOMMEND TAKING THE OPPORTUNITY TO DO AS MANY OF THE ACITIVIES OFFERED AS POSSIBLE – WELL WORTH THE EXTRA EXPENSE.

MY CONTIKI TOUR WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF MY LIFE AND ALTHOUGH IT WAS NOT A CHEAP HOLIDAY IT WAS WELL WORTH SPENDING MY HARD EARNED SAVINGS ON!  IT WAS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY AND A CHANCE TO MEET AND MAKE WONDERFUL FRIENDS FROM MANY DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE WORLD AND TO SHARE GREAT TIMES TOGETHER.

I WOULD RECOMMEND A CONTIKI TOUR TO ANYBODY WANTING TO EXPERIENCE A LIFE CHANGING HOLIDAY – I AM ALREADY SAVING FOR MY NEXT ONE!
GO CONTIKI I!!!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: ADDICTIVE, UNFORGETTABLE, AWESOME

event 0.3
  • Tidda
  • Tidda
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The whirl

30 Aug 2012 - 16 Sep 2012

Had such an amazing time meeting so many beautiful people and seeing so many amazing coutries..Contiki is defs the way to go if you want value for money.This was my second contiki and i was no dissapointed.Good work Contiki..Its hard to name your highlights when there were just so many but one ill never forget was paragliding in Austria,the view and moment was just perfect.Would defs recommend the Whirl for any peeps travelling to Europe.

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, breath taking, unforgetable

event 0.3
  • Mioso21
  • Mioso21
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Whirlwind of an adventure!

06 May 2012 - 25 May 2012

Previous to this tour I had gone on one other Contiki tour, Spotlight on Greece, but that tour was 4 nights, 5 days long, a very short tour and I felt like I wanted to have more of a Contiki experience. I decided to go ahead and book myself a spot on the European Whirl. I went on my tour at the beginning of May, and let me just say that I feel May was a pretty good time to go because the weather is starting to improve, but because it isn't technically summer yet, the main touristy cities aren't too packed (they're still crowded, just not as much as it would be in the main summer season).

I was pleased with the amount of places this tour took us, we even got to check out Czech Republic and see the beautiful city of Prague (which was one of my top cities we saw on this tour). I will say that if you are interested in checking out what London has to offer, plan on staying in London a few days (1-2) before the actual tour starts. Although the tour begins in London, it doesn't include it. So if you want to check out the main sights in London like Big Ben and Tower Bridge, book your flights to arrive early. I arrived one day early and was able to spend a full day and a half before the tour started, sight-seeing and checking out London! I even booked my accommodation at the hotel recommended by Contiki, and shared a room with a girl who just so happened to be on the same tour I was on. It was great to meet another woman who was travelling alone, and it was a bonus that she happened to be on my same tour!

Our tour was full! 51 people including myself, mostly Canadian's and Australians but there were some New Zealanders and Americans too. Our tour guide was American and our bus driver was from Australia. It was a great mix of people, and by the end of the trip we were all referring to each other as our 'Contiki Family'. I feel like the length of the tour enabled us to properly get to know one another, and close bonds were definitely formed.

I felt the length of the tour was good. I did end up getting sick after 10 days into the tour. It was pretty awful, but I tried to make the best of it and still soak in everything we were seeing. My number one recommendation is bring cough medicine, even if you don't get sick you can share it with someone else on your tour that is. I suggest bringing a day pill, so you don't get drowsy and a night pill, so you can sleep. I ran out of my medicine I had brought from home and really had a hard time finding medicine in the cities I was in that actually helped me (not to mention it can get expensive trying to find proper medicine for your needs as well as the language barrier depending on what country you’re in when you do run out of medicine). Your body is used to the medicine you have at home, so I would stick to that and maybe double up on how much you bring, just in case. I also recommend nausea prevention pills, like ginger Gravol, cause it helps when you're feeling sick (nauseous) on the coach the next day after a long night of partying, or if you just get car sick. I mentioned ‘ginger’ Gravol specifically because that type of Gravol doesn’t make you drowsy like the normal kind does, so you’ll still be able to soak in the sights during the day without feeling like you want to fall over and sleep. Most people on my tour did get sick. Most of the time people get sick and don’t have a chance to get better because you get back on the bus for hours, where 10 other people are sick, and you eventually get sick again. The common symptoms were coughing, lots of mucous/phlegm (gross), sore throats and you lost your voice. Unfortunately for me, I lost my voice in Florence, the one night that we just so happened to have a karaoke party night. I think it’s helpful to tell you the symptoms so you can plan what type of medicine you want to bring before you leave home!

Now's the time to mention that Yes, you will be travelling on a coach/bus for most of this tour. Driving is how you get to each country. Your tour manager will plan some activities you can do to make the time pass by faster, but not all the time. Most people tried to sleep, as this tour has early mornings and long nights. If you can't sleep in a moving vehicle, make sure you bring something to keep you occupied while on the bus so you don’t die from boredom. I was so thankful I had brought my iPod with me, I listened to my own music and it helped pass the time. I was also VERY thankful I had brought one of those neck pillows you see people use on airplanes. Although the bus seats do recline back, it's limited how much you can recline without annoying the person sitting behind you. The seats can get uncomfortable after awhile, so if you plan to sleep on the long drives, that neck pillow will save you from discomfort and it helped me out more times than I can count. I would say that it’s a must to bring an outlet adapter. Depending on if you’re from North America (Canada and USA) or Australia, you need an adapter. The outlets on the coach/bus and in the hostels you’ll be staying at are standard European outlets, so you need an adapter to plug your chargers in so you can charge your phones/iPods/cameras.

The accommodations for this tour was good! Keep in mind that this tour is a budget tour. Don’t expect fancy hotels with room service. You get what you pay for. The hostels in Berlin and Prague were probably the best. The beds were comfy and yes, most of the time, if not always, the beds are bunk beds, so you will be sleeping top or bottom bunk. For the majority of the trip it’s four people to a room. Girls stay in separate rooms from the guys, except couples will get their own rooms. So it’ll be 4 girls to a room, 4 guys to a room. The rooms themselves aren’t bad, it’s just the location that kindof sucks. To keep the price down, you’ll notice that the hostels you’ll stay in aren’t near the main attractions. This makes total sense, because the closer you get to the touristy areas, the higher the costs for everything. Be open to catching public transportation to make your way to the touristy spots. Your tour manager will provide you with help and local maps so you have an idea of what/where to go. Face the fact that at one point, you will get lost. Try hang out in groups so you’re not lost alone. Getting lost with a group of people is much more fun than getting lost by yourself. This is a dominantly social tour, so being social and making friends is very important and is a major part of the experience. Getting lost isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I got lost so many times with people, and we saw more of the city that way and got ourselves into quite the fun adventures. Those are the times you’ll remember the most….I had quite the amazing adventure getting lost with friends in Prague….

I went into this tour knowing that I was planning on doing most, if not all of the optional excursions. I pretty much did every optional, except the one for Switzerland, as I was so sick by then, I couldn't muster the energy to go. My top optional excursions that I'm so happy I did are: the bike ride in Edam, the Amsterdam and Berlin pub crawls, the mountain biking and paragliding in Austria, the walking tour in Venice and the ‘last-night’ activities in Paris (it’s your last night to party and celebrate with your new friends, soak it all in!). The optional excursions I would say you could skip include: the walking tour in Berlin, the canal cruise in Prague and the Chinese restaurant that floats on the water in Amsterdam. They were okay, but nothing amazing happened on them and I would have saved some money if I skipped them. I would say the worst was the walking tour in Berlin. The guide we had didn’t use a mic or anything, so if you weren’t always at the front of the group, you couldn’t hear what she was saying. Most people on that walking tour ditched after awhile and did their own thing. If you’re feeling nervous about paragliding, don’t! It’s amazing and it’s probably the most memorable thing I did on that tour. I loved it! Words can’t explain the feeling of flying in the air, with beautiful scenic Austria below your feet.

Planning a budget for this tour was difficult for me. I knew I liked to shop, and I knew I’d be out partying, and I knew that quite a bit of our meals we had to cover on our own. So what I did was set aside enough Euros’ to cover all the optional excursions. If when I was on the tour, I ended up not going on an excursion, I’d have that saved untouched money to spend on something else. If you’re a partier: I spent quite a bit of money on alcohol alone, so plan to have a budget set aside for drinking nights alone. Drinks average to about 7 Euros and up in most cities (Except Prague, Prague has a different currency and everything was cheap there!). If you’re a shopper: Save your shopping for Prague. The currency is super cheap and since that city is sustained on tourism pretty much, they’ll appreciate you for spending your money there. I also noticed that a lot of people bought loads of souvenirs in Venice. There’s just something magical about that awesome floating city that makes people want to open their wallets.

I think I covered most things! Just soak it all in, even if you do get sick, and make
connections with your tour mates as much as possible. The tour is over now, but I still keep in touch with my ‘Contiki Family’ through Facebook. When I make travel plans, I contact them to see if they want to join, and most often than not, some of them will! Contiki is filled with people who have a passion for travelling, which is exactly why I love it so much, because that’s just how I am. I would totally recommend this tour, especially if you’re new to Contiki and want a taste of what Europe has to offer!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: A Taste, of, Europe

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rebekah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The experience of a LIFETIME!!!

11 Aug 2012 - 30 Aug 2012

In 18 days we visited 10 countries. I have never been so exhausted and so broke, but it was worth every minute and penny spent. Both our tour manager and our driver were one of kind guys and were a bonus to the experience and the friends I made are friends for life. Not to mention, the sites, the food and the stories I've written have changed my perspective on life. I will never forget this trip and I highly recommend anyone wanting to experience the world and to have a little fun sign up for summer 2013! You won't regret it.
The optionals Contiki offers are wonderful and I suggest, to get the full (and best) experience, you sign up for all of them. Even tackle the ones you're scared of, like I did. Now, I cant wait to go paragliding again! In each country, try the quisine they're known for - you may not like it, but "tick the box" ;) Utilize your crew and dont be afraid to ask them so research something you're interested in seeing/doing that isnt on the itinerary; theyll do anything to make your trip the best you've ever had. The accomodation on the trip isnt always the nicest, but it's comfortable and who really cares? Trust me, you'll onlly be in the room to sleep.
Be prepared for long rides on the bus, but that's to be expected and the drives are always worth what you step into on the other end.
Take this trip!!! You will absolutely love and you'll come home with memories you wouldn't trade for the world.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: Breathtaking, Exciting, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amanda*
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Whirl

20 May 2011 - 08 Jun 2011

This was absolutely the best trip ive ever experienced! fast paced, but hit everything you would want to see! made life long friends, took amazing photos, and i have he best memories that I still talk about a year later. I strongly recommend this trip!!!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: happy dayz, thrilling, partying

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amanda*
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Whirl

20 May 2011 - 08 Jun 2011

This was absolutely the best trip ive ever experienced! fast paced, but hit everything you would want to see! made life long friends, took amazing photos, and i have he best memories that I still talk about a year later. I strongly recommend this trip!!!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: happy dayz, thrilling, partying

event 0.3
  • Capsfan811
  • Capsfan811
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

European Whirl amazingness

29 Jul 2011 - 17 Aug 2011

When I signed up for my trip, I soon realized this was going to be quite the eye opener. Luckily, my tour had a facebook group. I did what anybody would do, and that was to check out what the people were like that I would be spending about 20 days with. I was shocked when I was only 1 of 3 Americans going on the trip. Then I thought, how awesome is that? I am around Americans 24/7, so it will be great to meet these awesome people from other countries. I can honestly say that I have friends for life now from all over the globe because of this trip. Our tour guide Adam and bus driver Pete did a great job getting everyone comfortable with eachother and making us all laugh. The places we went on this tour were so unreal. I have never been so in aww of a place before. Everything we saw was so old compared to what I'm used to back in the States. We saw things that were almost 1000 years old. All of the excursions were well worth the money. Do NOT miss out on the river cruises or anything that involves food. First off, it's a great way to experience the city and an even better way to get to know everybody. Just wait till you get to Amsterdam, was not expecting my first night there to be so Amsterdam(ish) What you hear and see in movies doesn't do it justice. It's one wild city. There were so many historical sites to see and I would definitely suggest doing the Anne Frank museum, talk about humbling. I suggest you do what me and some others did in Switzerland. We went hiking the mountains while the other went up to the top of the mountain to ski. That is only because I am used to snow, many people on tour have never seen snow, so of course they are going to want to try skiing out. But you get to see the most amazing sites when you climb the mountains trails and go off the beaten path. I would do this trip again in a heartbeat. So amazing.

Review written Mar 2012

My Contiki was: Life changing, Eye opener, The best

event 0.3
  • Jojo*H
  • Jojo*H
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
European Whirl

European Whirl 2011

04 Jul 2011 - 21 Jul 2011

Review written Nov 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing , Adventurous , FUN!!!!!!

event 0.3
European Whirl

European Whirl

25 Aug 2011 - 11 Sep 2011

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Intense, Messy

event 0.3
European Whirl

Tour Review

04 Jul 2011 - 21 Jul 2011

No review.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: No sleep, Amnesia, Italy

event 0.3
  • KatelynC12
  • KatelynC12
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
European Whirl
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

12 Jul 2011 - 31 Jul 2011

I had the most amazing time! Though, I was not expecting the trip to be as party centered as it was. I'm not complaining about that, but in the US it's not marketed or known for being a party trip, so I wasn't prepared for that. My tour guide, Miriam was absolutely fantastic! She gave us all kinds of history about each city on our way there, then when we got there we got maps that had highlights of the most popular or best places to go see and do stuff at. She also was really helpful when I ended up needing a new camera while on the trip. Overall i think my favorite part of the trip was learning about other cultures. Not only the places we visited but of the people on the trip. My tour was mostly Australians with 8 Americans, 2 South Koreans, 1 Canadian and 5 South Africans. Learning about their cultures and spending time with them are the memories that will last forever. My only regret on the trip was having to come back home.

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: Culture, Experience, Family

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 18 nights accommodation: 1 night in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 5 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 5 nights in hotel upgrade, 5 nights in hostels
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 26 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 17 breakfasts
  • 9 dinners

Inclusions

  • 10 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • See Amsterdam's canals & gable houses by night
See More

Me Time

  • Canal cruise (1 hour)
  • Sea Palace Restaurant
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$140
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

19 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.