Great Britain & Ireland

Tour Length
17 days
From
US$2469
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • EmilyL
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Britain & Ireland 2012

05 Oct 2012 - 20 Oct 2012

Wow!
Thats the best way to descripe this tour, we saw so much got to experince such awesome adventures and all in 16 days! The tour manager and driver were both fantastic and the rest of the group was just awesome to hang out with. I've made friends that l'll stay in touch with for the rest of my life and even though we're all from different parts of Australia we've already organised to catch up and its only been 3 weeks since our tour!

I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone just starting out traveling or looking for something easy paced. The places you get to go on this tour are all mayjor tourist destinations but you dont have to stand in line or stuff around trying to organise anything yourself, its fantastic!

Big thank you to JB & Howie they made the trip one to remember!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Inspiring, Value

event 0.3
  • Ria
  • Ria
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

GB & Ireland

27 May 2011 - 11 Jun 2011

Awesome tour!! Loved every bit of it!! One of the best parts was the ghost tour through York!! The Crew were awesome, had the history down as we moved through each city and our Driver - I have never seen anyone park a Coach like that again!!!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Awesome, Awesome, Awesome

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Nichol
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome! Greatest Birthday I've ever had

23 Mar 2011 - 09 Apr 2011

I could have never imagined i'd be living my dream partying in Edinburgh(My ideal hot spot) on my 19Th birthday. With such an amazing crew of people and amazing Tour guides! I've never experienced anything like the Aaran Islands & Cliffs of Moher and all the other amazing sights including the Highlands!
I will never stop dreaming of my time with Contiki!! i look forward to many more years of traveling with them!

Thank you so much!!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: THE BEST, AMAZING, FUN

event 0.3
  • lou_85
  • lou_85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland

A great trip through England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales!

01 Jun 2012 - 16 Jun 2012

I decided to take this tour as a starting point to see where I wanted to go back to in the UK (as I am now living in England for a couple of years). It was a great snapshot of the UK - we went to the best cities and I think the time spent in each was perfect. I loved everywhere we went but Dublin was the best - Wolverhampton was the best for cheap drinks (1 pound vouchers!) and the Aran Islands were just gorgeous - its an optional to go there for the day but its worth it, it did rain a little but we had a great time exploring and the day ended with lots of sunshine. Our tour manager, Glenn, and driver Nick, were fantastic - Glenn knew lots of history and interesting facts about everywhere we went and Nick was a great driver - I never felt sick once considering all of the small and winding roads in the UK. I tried (someone else's) haggis in Scotland - it was a weird experience! And all of the other food we had was pretty good - there was always a hot/cooked breakfast (which was great after a hangover!) and lunch was easy to find. I met some great people from all over the world and still keep in touch with them. There were only 2 faults with the tour - the first being I would of loved a stay in Wales - we only drove through from the port in Holyhead and I would of loved the tour to be longer! At least 3 weeks to see more places, hang out with my new friends and party!. Do it if you can!.

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Brilliant, Amazing, Hilarious

event 0.3
  • Gill<3
  • Gill<3
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing..

08 Aug 2012 - 25 Aug 2012

This tour was so worth every penny. Our tour manager angela, and bus driver steve were the best. Loved every minute of the trip, and all the new friends made. Sad to be home, and wish I could go back :(

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Breathtaking, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Meelya
  • Meelya
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

GREAT Britain & Ireland

30 Sep 2011 - 15 Oct 2011

Definitely do this trip if you want to see the UK and have a limited time. Covered heaps of ground and saw so much but at the same time it wasn't endless hours on the bus with no stops... stopping at places during the day really broke up the trip.
I did most of the optionals, recommend the optional dinners, everyone had a great time and I think most people bonded over these. Accommodation was very good, especially after being in Europe... even got a double bed each in some hotels!!
I did this trip solo and I would go back in a heartbeat. Met some amazing people, had a ball, and got to experience some of the most beautiful sights in the world! Oooo not to mention eating copious amounts of scones... yumm!!!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Adventure, INBETWEENERS RULE

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a Lifetime!!

02 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I recently just returned from this trip!! First off, it was a blast!! The sights were amazing, the people were even better and our tour manger, Michelle, and our bus driver, Tony, were even better!! They made the trip totally worth it!! Don't miss out on this great opportunity!! You see so many things in such a short period of time!!! I highly recommend this tour!!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, incredible, awesome

event 0.3
  • Kirsty1044
  • Kirsty1044
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Britain & Ireland June 2011

10 Jun 2011 - 25 Jun 2011

I can honestly say that I had the best time of my life on this tour.

It wasn't just the amazing sights I saw, it wasn't the experiences that I will never forget. It was mostly about being in another part of the world and experiencing these unforgettable moments with people that appreciated them as much as I did.

I was a first time solo traveller and extremely excited about jet setting off on my first overseas experience. The first day on tour I met up with two girls that had befriended on the Contiki website. I was nervous about meeting the rest of the group, expecting the other travellers to all know each other. To my surprise, about 90% were travelling solo. I could see that most of the other travellers were as nervous as I was, so after the initial meeting we all hit The London Pub to get to know each other before the tour started, by the way, great location for the Pub.

Throughout the entire trip our tour manager and bus driver, in this instance Patrick and Dan, were just amazing. They would come out with us when they could and were always there just for a chat. Being an Aussie myself and having two Aussie blokes around to just talk about home or kick a footy around was great (an AFL footy, in case your wondering).

The amount we saw on this trip even astounded me. For what I paid and the time that we were on tour, the amount that we saw almost defied the laws of physics. From walking around Stonehenge to kissing the Blarney Stone, eating haggis (which is actually quite nice) and cursing around the Aran Islands, everything that I saw and experiences was seared into my mind. Though it was fast paced, it made it possible to fit so much in.

The accommodation was above what I expected for a budget tour, I was very impressed with the rooms and even more so because they were in Hotels. The food was also above what I expected, the breakfasts were always hot and filling, a great way cure any hangover. The dinners provided were all very good.

The extra dinners and activities were definitely worth the money. I was lucky enough to do every optional activity and I would recommend it to everyone. The experiences are worth so much more then a tacky souvenir.

I cant actually say that I had a favourite moment, I would feel like I was cheating on all my other moments if I chose one. Their was nothing I didn't love about my time on tour. I would recommend Contiki to anyone who wants to experience the world and have an amazing time doing it. If you do choose Contiki you will never ever regret it. You will take away moments that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Great Britain, Ireland, Experience

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An amazing experience

23 Mar 2012 - 07 Apr 2012

This was my first contiki and also my first overseas trip (besides New Zealand with my family) completely solo. Not only is it a perfect way to see the world on a budget but you don't have to worry about travelling alone. As Glenn, our tour manager, elequently put it we were a "portable party". It was really easy to make friends as most people are like-minded and want to socialise The Jameson Distillery was one of my favourite optionals. Edinburgh and Galway were my favourite cities (which was great seeing as we had 2 day stop overs in both).
I'm not a huge drinker and before I left I was a bit worried that it would be all partying but it was really relaxed, if people wanted to go out then you had someone to drink with but it wasn't something you HAD to do, but I must say that those nights were amazing! After this tour I went to Paris by myself and I really missed the contiki group and having people to talk to. I will definitely travel with contiki again.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Life-changing, Beautiful, Fabulous

event 0.3
  • HueChen
  • HueChen
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very different than the rest of europe

02 Jun 2010 - 19 Jun 2010

Great Britain and Ireland is actually 3 tours that put together - England, Scotland and Ireland. You see more castles on this tour and learn more about history than any other tour that i've been on. I've done 4 contikis so far.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: castles, history, food

event 0.3
  • Angelicus
  • Angelicus
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great britain and Ireland a trip of a life time.

04 May 2011 - 21 May 2011

Contiki Rocked my little world on this trip. I loved it all. I have recomended contiki to a few friends of mine and Im going on a nother contiki trip soon. the friend I maid on this trip are amazing. It was the best trip ever and I hope to repeat it soon.

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Inspiring, Fun

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

fun trip

23 Sep 2011 - 08 Oct 2011

My partner and I did this trip on Sept 23 - it was cooler than the rest of Europe. Be prepared for some rain and wind but its not necessarily cold. Take more than 1 jumper to wear or buy a cheap one in a Primark store (like I did) we also bought a pair of gloves each for 1 pound! There is no where to do washing until about day 10. New people join the tour in Ireland and some people leave after Scotland so the dynamics of the tour changes. We had a lot of young immature girls on our tour who were selfish and disrespectful (they ralked during important announcements from the tour manager, then asked wat time we were meeting later that was mentioned in his talk, and they were often in everyones way oblivious to the needs of others) but you can ignore them and still enjoy the highlights of the tour. Our coach was not a contiki brand so the TM couldnt hook up his music etc to the system for us (therefore no theme songs) and you couldnt charge anything on the coach - just do it overnight in your hotel - be prepared for the next day. Our driver had her bag stolen from a hotel lobby when she left it unattended - just dont leave bags unattended anytime and you'll be right. Help take bags on and off the coach it really helps everyone - (we did but the selfish young girls didnt). The food is great everywhere - full breaky every morning, great accomodation. Fun TM too. Big things to see Stonehenge, Giants Causeway, Edinburgh - its all good - go the the aran islands and hire bikes, go to jamie olivers restaurant in edinburgh (cheap and good quality and service). met some nice people on tour and have great memories . . .
(by Samantha Regan)

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: exciting, fun, green

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

England, Scotland and Ireland

24 Jun 2011 - 09 Jul 2011

I had a blast, my first contiki, totally worth it :) Love'd the whole lot of it! Made amazing new friends!! Got some amazing photo's! And also some terribly drunk photo's of everyone!! Cant wait to go on another Contiki!!!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Fun, An experience

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING!!! <3

10 Aug 2011 - 27 Aug 2011

This summer I went on a contiki tour to Great Britain and Ireland because I always wanted to go to Ireland, but I didn't want to go only for a week. So, my sister and I decited to go all out and do England and Scotland as well, and I'm very glad that we did. I had never went with contiki before, and so I was a little bit nervous, and I never expected the amazing experience that I had. I met so many wonderful new friends from all over the world, and saw incredible architecture, culture, and scenery. I kind of wish that we had more time in a lot of the places however, because I think we all felt a little bit too rushed. In the flyer it was supposed to be "in-depth," but it wasn't really. It was more of a "go-go-go from place to place," and although it was still great, if you are looking at something with more time, this might not be exactly what you want. If you aren't...then it's awesome! I would definitely recoment this tour to anybody, especially if they love old architecture. The food was also amazing pretty much everywhere that we went, the locals were friendly, and the live pub music was like nothing else. All in all, it was a tour of a lifetime!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Great Britain & Ireland, Friends, Amazing

event 0.3
  • stacey13
  • stacey13
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

05 May 2010 - 22 May 2010

Going on this tour was the best decision I've ever made! Having never gone anywhere or done anything on my own before, this was absolutely perfect! From the start off in London, it was just an incredible time. We got to see amazing sights, eat amazing food, and just have a fantastic time overall. Bridget & Pete were WONDERFUL as our TM and Driver. I came back home with the most amazing collection of pictures, memories and new friendships! Would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the highlights of the UK, and just looking to have a fantastic time :)

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Memories, Wonderful

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

17 Jun 2011 - 02 Jul 2011

Thankyou for everyone especially our tour manager and Bus driver. Met some awesome people from all over the world but go the AUSSIES!!!

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: Easy, Fun, Life changing

event 0.3
  • DropKick.
  • DropKick.
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

10 Jun 2011 - 25 Jun 2011

Such an amazing time! Had the best tour manager (Patrick Davis) and Driver (Dan Talbot) who made the trip that little bit more fantastic. Made some friends I will have for life. Saw some wonderful historic sites and stayed in some lovely remote locations.

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, New Friends , The best!!

event 0.3
  • AmyBlake(:
  • AmyBlake(:
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Great Britain & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

English, Scottish, Irish.

27 Aug 2010 - 11 Sep 2010

Great Britain & Ireland was an amazing tour through England, Scotland and Ireland! Saw so many sights I've heard about for years and really got to experience the local culture. Would do it all over again in a heartbeat. Will continue to catch up with the new friends I've made for life (:

Review written Nov 2010

My Contiki was: Party, Sightseeing, Friends

event 0.3
Great Britain & Ireland

Tour Review

03 Sep 2010 - 18 Sep 2010

this trip was incredible.....loved it!!! Thanks to bridge and the crew :)

Review written Sep 2010

My Contiki was: drink, drink, magic

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 16 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 15 hot breakfasts
  • 1 Regional Dinner: traditional English roast in a local pub
  • 7 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 5 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See Buckingham Palace, the Tower of London & Westminster Abbey
  • Follow in the footsteps of The Beatles on a locally guided Magical Mystery Tour
See More

Me Time

  • Evening 'Ghost Walk'
  • Activities
  • Lake Windermere Cruise
  • Hadrian's Wall
  • Gretna Green Group Photo
  • Scottish Evening
  • Edinburgh Castle Experience
  • Jamesons Distiller Tour
  • Guided bike tour of Kilkenny
  • Galway Aran Island
  • Londonderry Walking Tour
  • Guinness Storehouse Visit
  • Farewell Evening at The Merry Ploughboy Pub
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$145
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
39 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.