Italian Espresso

Tour Length
8 days
From
US$1439
Overview Reviews

  • Desirae
  • Desirae
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso

Horrible Hotel Accommodations

30 Jun 2014 - 07 Jul 2014

My bf and I endured this painful trip together. First thing first, the people you meet via Contiki Tours are great! It's an easy way to make new friends BUT everything else is pretty awful. There are other sites like TripAdvisor that will give you reviews very similar to what I am about to give you. The amount of money you pay for this trip is not worth it. The one thing that is more disappointing than the food are the hotel accommodations. Here is a break down of my complaint I submitted directly to the company. Which they did nothing about.

1. In Rome we stayed at the Regent Hotel Rome the address is Via Filippo Civinini 46 A Rome, RM, 00197. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $54 a night (Hotel Regent Cost). Considering that I paid $1565.65 and my bf paid $1633.61 that comes out to $400 a day for room, board and activities.

Upon checking in at the Regent Hotel we discovered fecal splatter on the wall behind the toilet as well as maggots in the ceiling light. I realize that this is a 3 star hotel however, that kind of hygienic carelessness is unacceptable. When we called to request another room we were advised that we couldn’t move because the hotel was full. If we had booked this hotel on our own I am sure I could have put a stop on charges via my credit card and moved to another hotel. Therefore, considering my bf and I each probably paid $100+ , we obviously overpaid.

2. In Florence we stayed at the BBhotel Firenze Centro located at Viale Amendola 34, Lungarno del Tempio, 50121 Florence. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $71 a night. (B&B Costs). Compared to the hotel Regent Hotel this was a huge upgrade. However, although aesthetically this was a better accommodation, our room had this weird smell, almost sulfur like that permeated through our luggage and gave our clothes a weird smell. You can image our discomfort walking around in Florence, in the heat smelling as we did.

3. In Venice we stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel Mestre located at Via Forte Marghera 69 Mestre, VE, 30173, Italy. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $105 a night. (Michaelangelo Costs). We were here for the last two days of our trip, which happened to be the hottest days. Well, conveniently our air conditioner didn’t work. You can bet that we didn’t get much sleep those last two days since it was about 80 degrees in our room and we were sweating through our clothes. When we called to get a different room they said various rooms were encountering the same situation and they couldn’t do anything about it.

If I would have known that this is the kind of experience we were going to encounter using Contiki I would have preferred to take our chances on scheduling our own itinerary. The group tours move so fast through the sites that my bf and I lost our group several times. Towards the end we found that it was a better experience to buy site seeing books from the local vendors hopping onto wifi and trip advising our way through suggested spots.

Don't use Contiki. Be adventurous, take chances and use the ton of resources out there.

Review written Sep 2014

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

THE BEST TRIP EVER!!!

06 Sep 2014 - 13 Sep 2014

I loved this trip and it was the most amazing experience!! Our tour manager Giuseppe and our driver Stefano were the best I could have asked for! They helped make this trip so fantastic!!! Giuseppe took the extra mile to help us, and give us extra tips on where to eat and where to go in our free time! He was so happy and always got us excited for the day to come! Everyone needs to do this Contiki!! Our group had 47 people and everyone got along, and I made some life long friends! I was a solo traveler from Canada and my roommate was from the UK...needless to say we are now best friends and planning to visit each other sooner then later! :) I did every Me Time optional and it was worth every penny! We got to go and tour and see the most impressive sites of Rome, Florence, Pisa, San Gimignano (DO THIS ME TIME OPTIONAL!! It was beautiful!) Verona and Venice.

It was hard to pick out cons with this trip! I felt Pisa and Verona were rushed, and I would cut down time spent in the outlet designer mall. I would also add the Uffizi Gallery and the Accademia Museum in Florence as Me Time optionals since it is hard to book tickets for them otherwise. I would also say to budget about 20-30 euros for water and bathroom usage ha ha! You have to pay for the bathroom and sometimes water is hard to find! Also bring comfortable shoes since there is A LOT of walking! That is the biggest tip I could give anyone. Also...buy something made of Florentine leather at the Leather demonstration store! They have beautiful and well priced items, and you will regret it if you don't :) I went back later in the day and got a leather box and I am so happy I did that!

I also want to add one thing about accommodations. The hotel in Rome I found to be a bit warm, but other then that I did not find any horror stories as some have posted on here. The BBhotel in Florence was definitely the best!! It was so clean and the air conditioning was FANTASTIC! The Venice hotel we only stayed in for one night, but it was very hot! Some people have complained about this trip not being worth the money, but I have to disagree. The fee for your tour not only includes your stay, but also the highway fees, gas for the bus, your backstage passes, the cost for your manager and driver to be there, and many other costs that many travelers are not aware of. The experience of meeting people and seeing all that you do in the time frame you have (1 week) is almost impossible if you did it on your own!

Those are just some tips :) EVERYONE BOOK THIS TOUR ASAP! You won't regret it! It will change your life forever! Message me if you have questions! :)

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Life Changing, Fun, Culture

event 0.3
  • Christina
  • Christina
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AWESOME AND LIFE CHANGING

26 Apr 2014 - 03 May 2014

Loved every second of this tour especially with Enzo being the tour guide! I highly recommend this to tour anyone!!

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Claudia
  • Claudia
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Italian Intro

27 Sep 2013 - 05 Oct 2013

This was my first Contiki trip, went alone not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be one of the best experiences of my life! Met a lot of wonderful friends, our tour guide was helpful and entertaining. The tour was long enough where I didn't feel rushed from place to place, but short enough where I didn't feel homesick. It's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favorite cities. Definitely recommend Italian Espresso!

Review written Feb 2014

event 0.3
  • Eunice
  • Eunice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing beauty.

30 Jun 2013 - 08 Jul 2013

I absolutely enjoy this trip. Let's start by saying that the city of Florence was MAGICALLLL!!!. It was my favorite from all the places we visited. The Italian food was to die for from pastas, real homemade pizzas to delicious desserts. I would for sure return to Italy. The tour was exhausting, but fun. My tour manager Vincenzo was really nice and funny. He made the tour even better. The optionals were very good. At least I was able to know how much Euros to spend and save. You will for sure need money for lunch and other extra things you want to do. The venice shops were sooooo awesome and beautiful. Venice is quite a peaceful place with many hot gondola guys.. jee jee..

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Beauty, Peace, yummy cappuccinos

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • SaraM25
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

May 10th-18th Italian Espresso

10 May 2013 - 18 May 2013

I got to meet great friends, and taste amazing food. This was an incredible experience. Rome was such a huge city, we spent two days there at the coliseum and Vatican City. Our tour manager, Enzo, was so funny!! He was very informative and had good suggestions for extra places to eat and shop.

The Vineyard was really nice, settled in the Tuscan hills. Florence was beautiful, the hotel was walking distance from the main streets. We got to see Pisa, the leaning tower, and the charming Verona, in the rain! I wish we had more days in Venice, it was lovely with its canals. Italy is such a nice country, I want to go back soon! Thank you Enzo for a memorable trip!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: delicious, friendly, sightseeing

event 0.3
  • DanaS
  • DanaS
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SO MUCH FUN!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just got back from the Italian Espresso trip and it was a total blast. Our tour manager, Yannick, was the most fabulous guide and our group could not have been more fun. The sights were amazing and all the optional activities were wonderful. The only activity we skipped was the leather making demonstration but other than that I'd highly recommend everything. This was my first trip to Italy and I gotta say it would be damn near impossible to have done/seen everything we saw if I had done it on my own. The access to some of the bigger tourist attractions (the Vatican, Colosseum and things like that) were amazing. If you were on your own you would stand in line for forever, with the Contiki group we walked right in. All in all I had the most wonderful time in Italy and would absolutely not hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone - espeically if you can have Yannick as your tour manager. Ciao ciao! :)

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: breathtaking, once in a lifetime, amazeballs

event 0.3
  • Fifi85
  • Fifi85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Italian Espresso - Bellissimo!

27 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

A perfect mixture of history, sight-seeing and partying! Accomm was basic but it was fine because you're out all day anyway! From the history of Rome to the romance of Verona and Venice - it really did give us a taste of just about everything! A tip for anyone in Florence - don't think twice about buying a leather jacket! Just do it!! Trust me!! You want one!!

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rochelle_b
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fantastic first taste of Italy

24 Sep 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

Had an amazing time, loved all the places we visited and soaked in the culture (and the food)! We had a fantastic tour guide, who was a lot of fun, had lots of great suggestions and ideas for day and night activities. The group was also lots of fun, lots of different personalities but we meshed really well. Trip was just long enough and we didn't spend too much time on the bus which was good. Have recommended this trip to any one whose asked- a must for those who want to see some culture and party a little too.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Inspiring, Eventful, Thrilling

event 0.3
  • Nat
  • Nat
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso

Amazing vacation!!!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just returned back from this trip less than 24 hours ago and I still can not get over how great it was!!! I was anticipating a high paced trip and coming home completely exhausted. Instead I got a high impact, multi cultural experience that did not completely wipe me out. This trip provides opportunities to see all the landmarks that we have read about. At the same time we had plenty of time to relax and roam the streets of the cities that we visited eat plenty of delicious food and drink vino.
Just a tip, if you like to see specific museums, do some research and reserve tickets ahead of time since there are a LOT of tourists and the lines tend to be extremely long.
The me time optionals were also great. Our tour guides where spunky, insightful and knowledgeable. They were able answer all of our questions and provided very good information. ( I pretty much did every me time optional and I am glad that I did).
Our tour manager Yannik was also great recourse. He was very fun to be around, also knew a lot about every city that we went to. He was very helpful with providing us with information regarding places to see and eat (local places for cheap!) This was very helpful.
Our driver was great too. Besides the fact that he was very at his job, he was also very friendly, interesting to talk to and provided great insight about Italian culture.
Additionally, I feel that we got very lucky with our group. We had people from all over the world, which was great because I was also able to learn about other cultures.
The one thing that I have to critique (which I wrote in the feedback brochure that we filled out on the last day of the trip) is that the outlet mall excursion should be excluded. (This is coming from a girl who loves to shop by the way)!
This was on day when we went to Pisa and Verona on our way to Venice. We spend an hour and half there and the selection was not great and the prices were very high. I would have much rather grabbed something quick to eat and spend more time in Verona.
Overall, if I had to do this again, I would do it in a heartbeat!

Happy traveling!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Breathtaking views, Intellectually stimulating , Great people and overall a great time!!

event 0.3
  • MELISSA
  • MELISSA
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso

Italian espresso

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I had the most amazing time on this tour!

Review written Mar 2013

event 0.3
  • Robert
  • Robert
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Life Changing.

27 Apr 2012 - 05 May 2012

I was stressed at work, school, basically with life and I have been wanting to go to Europe for quite some time. I remember like it was yesterday, I asked my boss for the time off and as soon as it was approved, I charged a large sum of money on my credit card to Contiki in Italy! I had a friend, who had a friend that went on a Contiki and loved it, since I was traveling solo, I booked it without hesitation! I booked this trip about 2 months before departure so it was extremely spur of the moment. I am more than happy I did. I landed in Rome, took a transfer to our hotel (Hotel Noto Rome) where there stood a bunch of others around the lobby with their Contiki travel papers. We got our rooms and they were perfect. My room-mate was awesome and we hit it off before even opening the door to our hotel room! Everyone on the tour was beyond amazing. Our tour guide (Yannick) was amazing and had a bunch of hook-ups throughout Italy. I purchased every single optional and loved them all. The whole experience was incredibly mind blowing I never wanted it to end! I came on this trip solo and met a bunch of amazing new friends all across the world! (Canada, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, UK) The group was so diverse and everyone got along so well! I wish I could find something that I did not like about this trip but there is honestly not one part of the trip I hated other than it ending! If you guys are into the nightlife, each hotel has wonderful nightlife surrounding it, in Florence the hotel we stayed in was literally in the HEART of the city! Outside of the hotel door and you were submerged in the streets of firenze! (My favorite city in Italy!!) The hotel in Venice has little to nothing around it, as you need a water taxi to even get to Venice, but because of that fact we had a dress-down night at the hotels bar and drank wine while we exchanged contact info. I have just booked my 2nd Contiki and am more than excited to see what new adventures Asia will bring me! I still talk to all of my fellow contikiers on the same trip as me and we keep in touch til this day!

Contiki! Follow the guide!

Good: Everything really! If you come into the trip with an open mindset and willing to emerge in a new culture all around you, you will also have the experience of a lifetime!

Bad: Not really bad, but a lot of us wished the Venice hotel was in a more "prime" location. But we made the best of it and still had an amazing time.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, incredible, unforgettable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING TRIP!

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I HAD THE BEST TIME EVER on this trip! It was the perfect trip for an introduction to italy! We saw and did so many things in such a short amount of time! Going through contiki was very beneficial in seeing major landmarks/monuments without having to wait hours..ie coliseum, vatican city, etc. I also thought you got what you paid for! And not to mention, italy was not as expensive as i thought it was going to be so my expected budget of 100Euros/day was more than enough! the optionals were awesome and accomodations were average 2/3 star kind of places. Lastly, our tour manager, Maite, was awesome! She went above and beyond in making this trip fun and stressfree for us! i would recommend this tour and would do it again in a heartbeat. Another A+ for Contiki! YAY! :)

Review written May 2012

event 0.3
  • Estephania
  • Estephania
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Italian Espresso

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

A series of events presented me the opportunity to travel Italy with Contiki on the Italian Espresso tour with tour manager Maite. I've done a lot of traveling over the past few years and I've got to say that this was truly one of the best tours and Maite was easily the best tour manager I've had!! I wouldn't even know where to start with a list of things that I enjoyed on this trip!! The food, the sites, the people and the experience as a whole were so much more than I ever expected and I will carry the memories of this experience with me forever. Thank-you Maite! Thank-you Contiki!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: incredible, yummy, unforgettable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso

Italian Expresso

06 Apr 2012 - 14 Apr 2012

I went on the Italian Expresso last week and it was the best trip ever. I have nothing negative to say, it was a great experience. I will def travel with Contiki again.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: awesome, amazing, memorable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Honeymoon!

22 Jul 2011 - 30 Jul 2011

We went to Italy with Contiki for our honeymoon. Honestly, when we booked it, the biggest draw was that it included activities. We were so swamped with wedding details, the last thing we had time for was to research and plan a trip to Italy. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised.
The group was so much fun, we made friends from all over the world. We saw so many places and went to so many activities that if we would have planned it ourselves, I am sure we would've overlooked. It was really nice also that there was a balance of free time to do as you pleased, very important to us on our honeymoon! We were able to have romantic dinners in Italy or just go with the group and see really amazing sites. The group of people we met really astounded us. We met people we really clicked with, even though we were from completely different parts of the world. Our tour guide Belatrice was from Italy and was there to brave the aggressive vendors and such that would have been really annoying if we had gone alone. She was really great at getting us any information we needed or directions. She even hooked us up with a honeymoon suite at one of the hotels!
The additional events that you could add almost always seemed to be worth it, depending on what you were in the mood for. For about 10 Eur you could have dinner and entertainment with the group. We never regretted going to any of the dinners.
Overall, we had a great trip. We would definitely do it again.

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
Italian Espresso

Tour Review

08 Apr 2011 - 16 Apr 2011

The sites were great but not much else about the trip was. We had 50-60 people just to one tour guide. That's way to many. People kept getting lost and anyone who wasn't right next to the guide couldn't hear a thing she said. The guide seemed very frazzled and unorganized a lot of the time and she gave information about certain areas and sites that completely contradicted what the local expert would tell us. Contiki would set up little displays where we could go and see how stuff was made but a lot of it was just the people running the display trying to sell you their stuff. The sites were great, I made a few goods friends but most of the tour related stuff was a disappointment.

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

27 May 2011 - 04 Jun 2011

I HIGHLY recommend Contiki Tours!

this was an incredible tour of many parts of Italy.
Pisa, Rome, Florence, Tuscany, Venice!
incredible Value.

Go!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Packed with Sights, New Friends

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 7 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 7 continental breakfasts
  • 3 Regional Dinners: pizza making experience & local trattoria dining

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Piazza Navona
  • Learn to make pizza Italian-style from the locals
See More

Me Time

  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Italian Cooking Class
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$179
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

23 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.