Italian Espresso

Tour Length
8 days
From
US$1449
Overview Reviews

Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

AWESOME AND LIFE CHANGING

26 Apr 2014 - 03 May 2014

Loved every second of this tour especially with Enzo being the tour guide! I highly recommend this to tour anyone!!

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Claudia
  • Claudia
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 0 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great Italian Intro

27 Sep 2013 - 05 Oct 2013

This was my first Contiki trip, went alone not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be one of the best experiences of my life! Met a lot of wonderful friends, our tour guide was helpful and entertaining. The tour was long enough where I didn't feel rushed from place to place, but short enough where I didn't feel homesick. It's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favorite cities. Definitely recommend Italian Espresso!

Review written Feb 2014

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Helen
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Nice tour but not quite my cup of tea

01 Jul 2013 - 08 Jul 2013

The Italian espresso tour was lovely and we had a nice group, met some great people. Was a little disappointed in the standard of accommodation and felt that the itinerary breakdown of the tour sugar coated a lot of what we did. Did not find the included dinners to be of a decent standard and the optional dinners were very poor considering that after contiki my friend and I travelled Italy more extensively and often had 3 course meals with wine etc. and it cost less than what the optional "special" dinners did. Also there are lots of costs that don't get mentioned or the impression is created that something is included in our backstage pass when actually u see the thing from a distance. Also was quite disappointed in the level of professionalism regarding tipping, I found it very unnecessary and unprofessional that we got reminded not once, twice but three times about tipping. I felt that one explanation is sufficient seeing as the tipping is optional and in all fairness the average person doing contiki with the odd exception is not loaded with cash. Other than these let downs, contiki is a good brand especially if u in a country for the first time but is definitely most beneficial to sociable young people.

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Action packed , Social

event 0.3
  • Eunice
  • Eunice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing beauty.

30 Jun 2013 - 08 Jul 2013

I absolutely enjoy this trip. Let's start by saying that the city of Florence was MAGICALLLL!!!. It was my favorite from all the places we visited. The Italian food was to die for from pastas, real homemade pizzas to delicious desserts. I would for sure return to Italy. The tour was exhausting, but fun. My tour manager Vincenzo was really nice and funny. He made the tour even better. The optionals were very good. At least I was able to know how much Euros to spend and save. You will for sure need money for lunch and other extra things you want to do. The venice shops were sooooo awesome and beautiful. Venice is quite a peaceful place with many hot gondola guys.. jee jee..

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Beauty, Peace, yummy cappuccinos

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • SaraM25
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

May 10th-18th Italian Espresso

10 May 2013 - 18 May 2013

I got to meet great friends, and taste amazing food. This was an incredible experience. Rome was such a huge city, we spent two days there at the coliseum and Vatican City. Our tour manager, Enzo, was so funny!! He was very informative and had good suggestions for extra places to eat and shop.

The Vineyard was really nice, settled in the Tuscan hills. Florence was beautiful, the hotel was walking distance from the main streets. We got to see Pisa, the leaning tower, and the charming Verona, in the rain! I wish we had more days in Venice, it was lovely with its canals. Italy is such a nice country, I want to go back soon! Thank you Enzo for a memorable trip!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: delicious, friendly, sightseeing

event 0.3
  • DanaS
  • DanaS
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

SO MUCH FUN!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just got back from the Italian Espresso trip and it was a total blast. Our tour manager, Yannick, was the most fabulous guide and our group could not have been more fun. The sights were amazing and all the optional activities were wonderful. The only activity we skipped was the leather making demonstration but other than that I'd highly recommend everything. This was my first trip to Italy and I gotta say it would be damn near impossible to have done/seen everything we saw if I had done it on my own. The access to some of the bigger tourist attractions (the Vatican, Colosseum and things like that) were amazing. If you were on your own you would stand in line for forever, with the Contiki group we walked right in. All in all I had the most wonderful time in Italy and would absolutely not hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone - espeically if you can have Yannick as your tour manager. Ciao ciao! :)

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: breathtaking, once in a lifetime, amazeballs

event 0.3
  • Fifi85
  • Fifi85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Italian Espresso - Bellissimo!

27 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

A perfect mixture of history, sight-seeing and partying! Accomm was basic but it was fine because you're out all day anyway! From the history of Rome to the romance of Verona and Venice - it really did give us a taste of just about everything! A tip for anyone in Florence - don't think twice about buying a leather jacket! Just do it!! Trust me!! You want one!!

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rochelle_b
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Fantastic first taste of Italy

24 Sep 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

Had an amazing time, loved all the places we visited and soaked in the culture (and the food)! We had a fantastic tour guide, who was a lot of fun, had lots of great suggestions and ideas for day and night activities. The group was also lots of fun, lots of different personalities but we meshed really well. Trip was just long enough and we didn't spend too much time on the bus which was good. Have recommended this trip to any one whose asked- a must for those who want to see some culture and party a little too.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Inspiring, Eventful, Thrilling

event 0.3
  • Nat
  • Nat
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Italian Espresso

Amazing vacation!!!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just returned back from this trip less than 24 hours ago and I still can not get over how great it was!!! I was anticipating a high paced trip and coming home completely exhausted. Instead I got a high impact, multi cultural experience that did not completely wipe me out. This trip provides opportunities to see all the landmarks that we have read about. At the same time we had plenty of time to relax and roam the streets of the cities that we visited eat plenty of delicious food and drink vino.
Just a tip, if you like to see specific museums, do some research and reserve tickets ahead of time since there are a LOT of tourists and the lines tend to be extremely long.
The me time optionals were also great. Our tour guides where spunky, insightful and knowledgeable. They were able answer all of our questions and provided very good information. ( I pretty much did every me time optional and I am glad that I did).
Our tour manager Yannik was also great recourse. He was very fun to be around, also knew a lot about every city that we went to. He was very helpful with providing us with information regarding places to see and eat (local places for cheap!) This was very helpful.
Our driver was great too. Besides the fact that he was very at his job, he was also very friendly, interesting to talk to and provided great insight about Italian culture.
Additionally, I feel that we got very lucky with our group. We had people from all over the world, which was great because I was also able to learn about other cultures.
The one thing that I have to critique (which I wrote in the feedback brochure that we filled out on the last day of the trip) is that the outlet mall excursion should be excluded. (This is coming from a girl who loves to shop by the way)!
This was on day when we went to Pisa and Verona on our way to Venice. We spend an hour and half there and the selection was not great and the prices were very high. I would have much rather grabbed something quick to eat and spend more time in Verona.
Overall, if I had to do this again, I would do it in a heartbeat!

Happy traveling!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Breathtaking views, Intellectually stimulating , Great people and overall a great time!!

event 0.3
  • MELISSA
  • MELISSA
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso

Italian espresso

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I had the most amazing time on this tour!

Review written Mar 2013

event 0.3
  • Robert
  • Robert
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 1 Country
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Life Changing.

27 Apr 2012 - 05 May 2012

I was stressed at work, school, basically with life and I have been wanting to go to Europe for quite some time. I remember like it was yesterday, I asked my boss for the time off and as soon as it was approved, I charged a large sum of money on my credit card to Contiki in Italy! I had a friend, who had a friend that went on a Contiki and loved it, since I was traveling solo, I booked it without hesitation! I booked this trip about 2 months before departure so it was extremely spur of the moment. I am more than happy I did. I landed in Rome, took a transfer to our hotel (Hotel Noto Rome) where there stood a bunch of others around the lobby with their Contiki travel papers. We got our rooms and they were perfect. My room-mate was awesome and we hit it off before even opening the door to our hotel room! Everyone on the tour was beyond amazing. Our tour guide (Yannick) was amazing and had a bunch of hook-ups throughout Italy. I purchased every single optional and loved them all. The whole experience was incredibly mind blowing I never wanted it to end! I came on this trip solo and met a bunch of amazing new friends all across the world! (Canada, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, UK) The group was so diverse and everyone got along so well! I wish I could find something that I did not like about this trip but there is honestly not one part of the trip I hated other than it ending! If you guys are into the nightlife, each hotel has wonderful nightlife surrounding it, in Florence the hotel we stayed in was literally in the HEART of the city! Outside of the hotel door and you were submerged in the streets of firenze! (My favorite city in Italy!!) The hotel in Venice has little to nothing around it, as you need a water taxi to even get to Venice, but because of that fact we had a dress-down night at the hotels bar and drank wine while we exchanged contact info. I have just booked my 2nd Contiki and am more than excited to see what new adventures Asia will bring me! I still talk to all of my fellow contikiers on the same trip as me and we keep in touch til this day!

Contiki! Follow the guide!

Good: Everything really! If you come into the trip with an open mindset and willing to emerge in a new culture all around you, you will also have the experience of a lifetime!

Bad: Not really bad, but a lot of us wished the Venice hotel was in a more "prime" location. But we made the best of it and still had an amazing time.

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: amazing, incredible, unforgettable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Worst trip I have ever had.

07 Sep 2012 - 15 Sep 2012

I looked up all the hotels that Contiki booked before this trip and found that they all had one and two star reviews on Hotels.com and other review sites, this should have been a red flag for this trip. Everywhere we went the accommodations were very bad, the staff and the locals were very rude, everything was designed as a sales pitch. Honestly, many of the activities of this trip felt like timeshare weekend, they are really showing you the wine, or the leather, the glass blowing, etc. because they want you to buy it. I guess that's not really a bad thing, if these activities would have been a good experience. The problem is that the staff and the locals everywhere we went were very obvious with their disdain for us, whether that is due to the fact that we were foreigners or with Contiki I am not sure. The accommodations were all terrible, the staff resented us, no air conditioning, no internet, broken bathrooms, no amenities.. basically many hostels are better. On the first night the tour guide took us on a crowded bus in Rome, in which I did not want to go on, where I was subsequently pickpocketed, which crippled my finances for the rest of the trip. There was not proper warning given for the pickpocketing on the buses in Rome, something I would expect a tour guide to be aware of. It also takes some of the enjoyment away from seeing the sites, as the thieves frequent all those locations and you have to look out for them as much as looking at the sites. It should be known that pace of this trip is very grueling, expect little sleep as the night activities can go late and every morning there is a wake up call at 6 am to start the days activities. In my case this led to a fever and chills on the 5th day, as my "Contiki cough" was strengthened by my lack of sleep. This also complicated things as I had limited capability to get medicine or change the trip due to being pickpocketed. The bright spots of the trip was people I met and traveled with on Contiki, who were very nice and interesting, and the bus driver, who was really good.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: nightmare, waste of time, waste of money

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

AMAZING TRIP!

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I HAD THE BEST TIME EVER on this trip! It was the perfect trip for an introduction to italy! We saw and did so many things in such a short amount of time! Going through contiki was very beneficial in seeing major landmarks/monuments without having to wait hours..ie coliseum, vatican city, etc. I also thought you got what you paid for! And not to mention, italy was not as expensive as i thought it was going to be so my expected budget of 100Euros/day was more than enough! the optionals were awesome and accomodations were average 2/3 star kind of places. Lastly, our tour manager, Maite, was awesome! She went above and beyond in making this trip fun and stressfree for us! i would recommend this tour and would do it again in a heartbeat. Another A+ for Contiki! YAY! :)

Review written May 2012

event 0.3
  • Estephania
  • Estephania
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Italian Espresso

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

A series of events presented me the opportunity to travel Italy with Contiki on the Italian Espresso tour with tour manager Maite. I've done a lot of traveling over the past few years and I've got to say that this was truly one of the best tours and Maite was easily the best tour manager I've had!! I wouldn't even know where to start with a list of things that I enjoyed on this trip!! The food, the sites, the people and the experience as a whole were so much more than I ever expected and I will carry the memories of this experience with me forever. Thank-you Maite! Thank-you Contiki!

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: incredible, yummy, unforgettable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso

Italian Expresso

06 Apr 2012 - 14 Apr 2012

I went on the Italian Expresso last week and it was the best trip ever. I have nothing negative to say, it was a great experience. I will def travel with Contiki again.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: awesome, amazing, memorable

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great Honeymoon!

22 Jul 2011 - 30 Jul 2011

We went to Italy with Contiki for our honeymoon. Honestly, when we booked it, the biggest draw was that it included activities. We were so swamped with wedding details, the last thing we had time for was to research and plan a trip to Italy. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised.
The group was so much fun, we made friends from all over the world. We saw so many places and went to so many activities that if we would have planned it ourselves, I am sure we would've overlooked. It was really nice also that there was a balance of free time to do as you pleased, very important to us on our honeymoon! We were able to have romantic dinners in Italy or just go with the group and see really amazing sites. The group of people we met really astounded us. We met people we really clicked with, even though we were from completely different parts of the world. Our tour guide Belatrice was from Italy and was there to brave the aggressive vendors and such that would have been really annoying if we had gone alone. She was really great at getting us any information we needed or directions. She even hooked us up with a honeymoon suite at one of the hotels!
The additional events that you could add almost always seemed to be worth it, depending on what you were in the mood for. For about 10 Eur you could have dinner and entertainment with the group. We never regretted going to any of the dinners.
Overall, we had a great trip. We would definitely do it again.

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
Italian Espresso

Tour Review

08 Apr 2011 - 16 Apr 2011

The sites were great but not much else about the trip was. We had 50-60 people just to one tour guide. That's way to many. People kept getting lost and anyone who wasn't right next to the guide couldn't hear a thing she said. The guide seemed very frazzled and unorganized a lot of the time and she gave information about certain areas and sites that completely contradicted what the local expert would tell us. Contiki would set up little displays where we could go and see how stuff was made but a lot of it was just the people running the display trying to sell you their stuff. The sites were great, I made a few goods friends but most of the tour related stuff was a disappointment.

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

27 May 2011 - 04 Jun 2011

I HIGHLY recommend Contiki Tours!

this was an incredible tour of many parts of Italy.
Pisa, Rome, Florence, Tuscany, Venice!
incredible Value.

Go!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Packed with Sights, New Friends

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 7 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 7 continental breakfasts
  • 3 Regional Dinners: pizza making experience & local trattoria dining

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Piazza Navona
  • Learn to make pizza Italian-style from the locals
See More

Me Time

  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Folklore Dinner Rome
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$181
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
23 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.