Italian Espresso

Tour Length
8 days
From
US$1190
Overview Reviews

  • ew4055
  • ew4055
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Five Stars for Italian Espresso!

19 Sep 2015 - 26 Sep 2015

I have never been to Europe before and really wanted to go. I spent a long time researching different trips before I finally decided to book the Italian Espresso. I wanted to go to Italy the most out of all the countries, and this tour promised to show you the most famous cities – Rome, Florence, Venice – in a short amount of time.

Our trip manager was Megghy. Megghy was the coolest person ever, a cute Italian punk rock chick always wearing bow ties, leopard print and high-top sneakers. She was perfectly fluent in English and had so much knowledge about Italy that she shared with us. She made our trip amazing, made sure we got everywhere on time and it wouldn’t have been as great without her. Thanks Megghy!

There were a lot of people on this trip whose first time it was in Italy. But also there were many people who were revisiting. So if you have already been to Italy, you will enjoy this trip as well.

There are lots of activities included on this trip. My favorite inclusion was the Venice boat ride because I love the water and it was so beautiful and relaxing. I also loved the Vatican tour. My least favorite was the leather demonstration.

There were also lots of great optionals included in this trip. My favorite one was the tour of the Roman Forum and Colosseum. This place was breathtakingly amazing. I did not sign up for the gondola ride because we were told that it’s not like the stereotypes you have in your mind where it’s a really romantic experience. Everybody in my trip that I talked to afterward said they were disappointed by the gondoliers who were busy texting the entire time, didn’t talk to them and definitely didn’t sing, so I’d recommend skipping the gondola ride.

The places where we stayed were quite nice. In Florence the hotel we stayed at was really nice; I would totally book that hotel again for myself if I was in Europe planning my own trip. It was nice to stay in hotels on a budget vacation such as this one.

The itinerary allowed us to cover the three must-see cities in Italy in just a week. I loved being able to experience these cities; each one was unique. Day 6 (Thursday) was our most exhausting day of the trip because we were on the bus all day traveling from Florence, to Pisa, to Barberino, to Verona, to Venice. If I had to make any change to the itinerary I’d skip everything we did that day and just go directly from Florence to Venice.

The food in Italy is delicious. You should definitely eat as much pasta and pizza as you can. Also, as Megghy informed us, you can never eat too many gelato – eating several in one day is perfectly acceptable!

Also I wanted to say that there is no pressure to party or drink while on the trip. I do not drink at all, and I was a bit worried from reading reviews that it was just going to be one huge week of College Students Gone Wild. I did not find that to be the case. Yes, there are certainly students who want to go out and party at night, and yes, Contiki does throw in some alcohol-centered activities such as a trip to a vineyard. But there are just as many people on your trip who are there to see the sights, and don't want to drink. You can do whatever you want; it's your holiday.

You can definitely have fun on this trip without spending a ton of money. I am a budget-savvy traveler and I only brought 150 Euro with me for the entire week, which I spent on the optionals payments, food and souvenirs. One tip I have is to do some comparison shopping before you buy. The places where Contiki sent us to go shopping were very expensive – the leather store, the Barberino outlets, the Murano glass store, the winery. You could get these items at a fraction of the cost anywhere else. So think before you buy.

My favorite city was Rome. The other cities had a few amazing things to look at, but I felt in Rome every single building was breathtaking. It’s amazing to look around at these buildings that are more than 2000 years old and are still standing. You can feel the intelligence behind the design.

Best Parts about this trip: Megghy our trip manager; having Contiki take everything for us from transportation, accommodation, food, etc. which would have been overwhelming on my own; seeing all of the amazing cities; hanging out with cool people my age who also love to travel.

Least favorite part about the trip: Our trip had 51 people on it. I have been on group tours before that have always been less than 20 people. By the end of the trip I only knew the names of about half the people in my group. I would have liked a group that was smaller and more intimate.

I highly recommend this trip for anybody who wants to go to Italy!

CONTIKIIIII WOOT WOOT

Review written Dec 2015

My Contiki was: AMAZING, Easy Paced, So Much Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rebekah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Worth the money, but definitely an espresso- quick, short, & to the point

26 Sep 2015 - 03 Oct 2015

As two American Honeymooners, we were very excited to see as much of Italy as we could. Our travel agent recommended Contiki because of our age and the sites that we could see. Now that we've done it, we have a few positive and negative things to say, both of which we hope will help future Italian Espresso goers.

Day One:
Being that we had spent two days in Rome prior to starting the tour, we were disappointed in the location of the first hotel, The Grand Hotel Fleming. Especially since our first hotel was so close to everything and not as expensive. It was very far from the main sights, about 20 Euros by taxi, to get back to the hotel from downtown. If you're planning on doing the tour, go a few days early, so you have TIME to go see the places you get to see (briefly) on your free time. All of the main attractions are short walking distances from each other, so you'll not be disappointed going to Rome early and seeing these sites in greater detail. Being that the ME times were either in the middle of the day, or at the end of the day while in Rome, your ventures could be shortened if you like spending time at each location. BOTH of the ME times for Rome are worth it. The things you'll learn and see about the Roman Forum and the Colosseum are short, but very informative. And the pasta cooking class was SO MUCH FUN!! Do BOTH!

Day Two:
Vatican City was amazing! But again, you're only in the Sistine Chapel for maybe 10 minutes and in St. Peter's Basilica (which is HUGE) for 20 minutes, so its very quick and a little disappointing-more so in feeling that you got robbed of your time in such beautiful places. The place you stop for lunch is a restaurant in a toll stop- super expensive if you get the buffet! Order a sandwich- much cheaper and tastes good.

Day Three/Four:
Florence is beautiful. MAKE SURE YOU BUY TICKETS to see the Uffizi Gallery and Michelangelo's David. We had misinterpreted the vague description of the brochure and thought that we'd be seeing these things as a group. Yes, as a group you'll see the fake David (which is where the real one used to stand) and the location of the Uffizi Gallery, but you will not go in. Some people on the tour knew about buying tickets, not sure how, but it would have been nice if there was a heads-up on not seeing the real David, or going into the Uffizi Gallery. And expect Florence to be super busy on Tuesday when you have the whole day to explore the town. The museums are closed on Monday, so everything has huge lines to get in. If Contiki could change San Gimignano to Tuesday and explore Florence to Wednesday, I think that would be beneficial. My husband and I did go into the Vecchio Museum and climbed the Vecchio tower- worth it. There was no line. We did get to see a lot of art work thorough the Medici house and got beautiful views of Florence and the Duomo from the Vecchio tower. The optional dinner was good, worth the money, because there is so much food and the service and entertainment were excellent. Karaoke night on our first night in Florence was fun too. And the restaurant that is included as a group meal on the first night was good too. The hotel was nice, the Wifi- not so much. The connection kept dropping- so don't expect to upload all of your pictures.

Day Five:
This was probably mine and my husband's favorite day on the tour. It was relaxed, yet you got to see things, and we were really able to soak up the Tuscan countryside and culture. San Gimignano was great. Not super busy, yet there were plenty of shops to stop in. We climbed the tower and got excellent views of Tuscany. The winery tour was great too. The wine was excellent, and the tasting was more of drinking rather than a tasting! Maybe the Italians do tastings a little differently. But it was great! You could easily have had 3-9 glasses of wine rather than one at the end of the tastings. Loved day five!

Day Six:
Most of day six is traveling. Pisa was cool, but really- the tower is the only interesting thing. You're only there for 90 minutes, so a quick visit, which was fine. The outlet mall was a waste of time! We weren't sure if because Italy has restrictions on how long the bus driver can drive (2 hours), if that was why we stopped. But it was a waste of time. The outlet is the same as those in the States, and really not much cheaper. If there was something else to see, Contiki, please consider that. Verona was beautiful. When you picture an Italian City- Verona is what you picture. There's no graffiti (like every other city in Italy) its small and quaint. We could have easily spent more time in Verona. The included dinner is DISGUSTING!!! Even though you've already paid for it, either order something else or go somewhere else. It was like bad, cheap Chinese food that tried to pass as country Italian food. It was gross. Contiki- please break your contract with this restaurant and GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Day Seven:
Venice is cool. The glass blowing demonstration was very cool, but if you plan on buying Venetian blown glass, expect to drop at least 100 Euros. The city is beautiful and the optional city tour was worth it. My husband and I didn't go on the gondola ride- which, money wise, is worth it as a group, but as something romantic to do, is 80-100 euros for just two people. And after finding out on the city tour that the sewer systems drain into the canals, we were glad we didn't do it. The optional dinner was worth it, more because its your last meal together and you're able to spend time together before saying goodbye that night. The hotel was fine, wifi was not. Don't expect to upload anything.

Overall, we liked Contiki as a tour because of everything you get to see, but have decided to not go on a tour again. Many of the places we could have seen and spent more time at if we planned ahead of time and gone by ourselves. There was so much free time that it almost felt like you were on your own anyway. It was nice and convenient that we didn't have to worry about transportation for the week. Because you're on a tour, if there are people who annoy you, you're stuck with them until the tour is over. If you're single, in or fresh out of college, go for it. If you're older (26+) or established in your life, single or not, do a different tour. Yeah, you'll have people your age/situation to hang out with, but the loud, younger crowd will just annoy you with their need to cling to each other and their constant desire to get drunk rather than enjoying the time and company. There were three other couples there on their honeymoon, so its pretty common to go as a couple.

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: Jam Packed, Quick, Memorable

event 0.3
  • SurferBen
  • SurferBen
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A true taste of Italian culture!!!

19 Sep 2015 - 26 Sep 2015

Firstly a huge shout out to Maggie and Fabio both of whom made the trip awesome!

I knew I always wanted to see a lot of Italy and a friend recommended Contiki to me and after seeing the schedule for this trip I couldn't say no.

Getting across Rome via public transport was an experience to say the least. It is pretty simple to find the Hotel Fleming, it's just getting used to the way the Italians do thing straight from the off thats a little daunting. However the hotel was really nice and PS I had a great room mate! Yo Anthony!!! The pizza for dinner that evening was the first of a great number of excellent pizzas I would taste along the week.

Be prepared, the day in Rome is tiring if you want to see as much as you can but on every corner you will see something fascinating that takes your interest. Not to mention a few but The Vatican, the Sistine chapel, the Colosseum, the Pantheon. My advice is just to go and get lost, but with a map of course. :)

Florence, the city of art is defiantly that and is place you have to visit. The top of the Duomo is a great place for views and photos of the city. Michelangelo's David is a must see but make sure you book ahead as the line we waited in was only 30 minutes, however we was advised that it can be for hours.

Pisa and Verona were good but the final stop in Venice was breathtaking. Again there is so much to see here that the guided tour really did help. The glass blowing demo was an experience all on its own and made me want to buy loads of it. However my bank balance doesn't stretch that far!

All in all the trip was one of the best I have ever been on. I met some great people that I am sure I will be in contact with for a very long time. A good piece of advice for this trip to expect what you image Italy will be like and be open minded to meet new people. But Maggie was great and couldn't do enough for the group, she really did make the trip!!!!!!

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: breathtaking, emmersive, picturesque

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Great Trip

01 Aug 2015 - 08 Aug 2015

For my second Contiki Trip, it didn't dissapoint! Visiting Italy has been a dream of mine since I was a kid and I finally got to experience it. While we covered a lot of ground in just a week, I will someday return to explore more of the area. If it is your first time to Italy, this is a good introduction and covers the main highlights. You will see the Colloseum, Vatican City, Venice, Florence, Pisa, and more. Bring some extra money in case you want to shop too! Again, as with my previous contiki, there was a good amount of free time and organized time. The optionals were fun and I particularly enjoyed the cooking class! Our tour guide and bus driver were awesome and and very knowledgeable! The staff were very friendly and provided the best recommendations for the free time. Because of the free time you have, I would recommend doing some research beforehand to know what sights and museums are in the area and if possible try to get a reservation/skip the line pass (something I didn't do). Another recommendation to make is to bring a few changes of clothes - especially during the summer as it gets hot. As well, bring a water bottle to avoid dehydration.
Accommodations and transportation were comfortable and overall, it was an enjoyable trip.

Review written Aug 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, exciting, Relaxed

event 0.3
  • Josie
  • Josie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing.

04 Jul 2015 - 11 Jul 2015

I loved every second of this trip. Our guide, Maite' was extremely helpful, funny, and knowledgeable. The hotels that we stayed in were actually really nice compared to others I have been to in Europe. I was a little nervous to travel alone, but I found that there were always new friends to adventure with. We got to do so many awesome activities (like pasta making and wine tasting at a Tuscan vineyard) that I probably would not have had the chance to do outside of Contiki. This trip is a great value for the money and I would not trade the experience for anything!

Review written Jul 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Good Value, Great for Solo Traveler

event 0.3
  • Glanda
  • Glanda
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Everyday was the best day!!:)

09 May 2015 - 16 May 2015

I have to say that this tour exceeded my expectations! We saw so many things and did so much, but we still had loads of free time to wander around and spend more time at places we had seen or to try out places our tour guide recommended.
Our tour guide Maite was so great!! She went above and beyond what she had to! She recommended sites, restaurants, and things to do. Our driver "sexy Fabio" was very qualified to drive in Italy's small and crazy streets with our huge coach!
The food was great! Gelato even better:) It is mostly pasta and pizza but so many different kinds, so I never got sick of it:)
Everyone on my tour got along really well, we had a mix of couples and singles but the vibe was great:)! Couldn't have asked for a better group:)
I love the history in every city we went to, not sure if I had a favorite place as I loved it all, I would say that since Venice was on my bucket list that was really great, the gondola ride was amazing also, our gondolier was Stephano, and he was so great also, made the ride enjoyable:)
I found the hotels clean and had air condition, I didn't bring anything to need wifi so can't really say how that was:) But don't go expecting Italy to be the same as here, the showers might be abit smaller, and the rooms maybe dated, but I went to experience different not the same as home, take everything in as an experience:)
I have nothing to complain about, it was simply amazing!! I would totally recommend this trip!!
Ciau

Review written May 2015

event 0.3
  • EWilliams
  • EWilliams
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An amazing experience!

26 Apr 2014 - 03 May 2014

This trip was so much fun and the tour group was amazing! There was so much to see and do, but we still had lots of free time to go off on our own and explore. I definitely fell in love with Italy!

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Beautiful, Fun, Exciting

event 0.3
  • Desirae
  • Desirae
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso

Horrible Hotel Accommodations

30 Jun 2014 - 07 Jul 2014

My bf and I endured this painful trip together. First thing first, the people you meet via Contiki Tours are great! It's an easy way to make new friends BUT everything else is pretty awful. There are other sites like TripAdvisor that will give you reviews very similar to what I am about to give you. The amount of money you pay for this trip is not worth it. The one thing that is more disappointing than the food are the hotel accommodations. Here is a break down of my complaint I submitted directly to the company. Which they did nothing about.

1. In Rome we stayed at the Regent Hotel Rome the address is Via Filippo Civinini 46 A Rome, RM, 00197. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $54 a night (Hotel Regent Cost). Considering that I paid $1565.65 and my bf paid $1633.61 that comes out to $400 a day for room, board and activities.

Upon checking in at the Regent Hotel we discovered fecal splatter on the wall behind the toilet as well as maggots in the ceiling light. I realize that this is a 3 star hotel however, that kind of hygienic carelessness is unacceptable. When we called to request another room we were advised that we couldn’t move because the hotel was full. If we had booked this hotel on our own I am sure I could have put a stop on charges via my credit card and moved to another hotel. Therefore, considering my bf and I each probably paid $100+ , we obviously overpaid.

2. In Florence we stayed at the BBhotel Firenze Centro located at Viale Amendola 34, Lungarno del Tempio, 50121 Florence. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $71 a night. (B&B Costs). Compared to the hotel Regent Hotel this was a huge upgrade. However, although aesthetically this was a better accommodation, our room had this weird smell, almost sulfur like that permeated through our luggage and gave our clothes a weird smell. You can image our discomfort walking around in Florence, in the heat smelling as we did.

3. In Venice we stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel Mestre located at Via Forte Marghera 69 Mestre, VE, 30173, Italy. On hotels.com the price for this hotel is $105 a night. (Michaelangelo Costs). We were here for the last two days of our trip, which happened to be the hottest days. Well, conveniently our air conditioner didn’t work. You can bet that we didn’t get much sleep those last two days since it was about 80 degrees in our room and we were sweating through our clothes. When we called to get a different room they said various rooms were encountering the same situation and they couldn’t do anything about it.

If I would have known that this is the kind of experience we were going to encounter using Contiki I would have preferred to take our chances on scheduling our own itinerary. The group tours move so fast through the sites that my bf and I lost our group several times. Towards the end we found that it was a better experience to buy site seeing books from the local vendors hopping onto wifi and trip advising our way through suggested spots.

Don't use Contiki. Be adventurous, take chances and use the ton of resources out there.

Review written Sep 2014

event 0.3
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

THE BEST TRIP EVER!!!

06 Sep 2014 - 13 Sep 2014

I loved this trip and it was the most amazing experience!! Our tour manager Giuseppe and our driver Stefano were the best I could have asked for! They helped make this trip so fantastic!!! Giuseppe took the extra mile to help us, and give us extra tips on where to eat and where to go in our free time! He was so happy and always got us excited for the day to come! Everyone needs to do this Contiki!! Our group had 47 people and everyone got along, and I made some life long friends! I was a solo traveler from Canada and my roommate was from the UK...needless to say we are now best friends and planning to visit each other sooner then later! :) I did every Me Time optional and it was worth every penny! We got to go and tour and see the most impressive sites of Rome, Florence, Pisa, San Gimignano (DO THIS ME TIME OPTIONAL!! It was beautiful!) Verona and Venice.

It was hard to pick out cons with this trip! I felt Pisa and Verona were rushed, and I would cut down time spent in the outlet designer mall. I would also add the Uffizi Gallery and the Accademia Museum in Florence as Me Time optionals since it is hard to book tickets for them otherwise. I would also say to budget about 20-30 euros for water and bathroom usage ha ha! You have to pay for the bathroom and sometimes water is hard to find! Also bring comfortable shoes since there is A LOT of walking! That is the biggest tip I could give anyone. Also...buy something made of Florentine leather at the Leather demonstration store! They have beautiful and well priced items, and you will regret it if you don't :) I went back later in the day and got a leather box and I am so happy I did that!

I also want to add one thing about accommodations. The hotel in Rome I found to be a bit warm, but other then that I did not find any horror stories as some have posted on here. The BBhotel in Florence was definitely the best!! It was so clean and the air conditioning was FANTASTIC! The Venice hotel we only stayed in for one night, but it was very hot! Some people have complained about this trip not being worth the money, but I have to disagree. The fee for your tour not only includes your stay, but also the highway fees, gas for the bus, your backstage passes, the cost for your manager and driver to be there, and many other costs that many travelers are not aware of. The experience of meeting people and seeing all that you do in the time frame you have (1 week) is almost impossible if you did it on your own!

Those are just some tips :) EVERYONE BOOK THIS TOUR ASAP! You won't regret it! It will change your life forever! Message me if you have questions! :)

Review written Sep 2014

My Contiki was: Life Changing, Fun, Culture

event 0.3
  • Christina
  • Christina
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 10 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AWESOME AND LIFE CHANGING

26 Apr 2014 - 03 May 2014

Loved every second of this tour especially with Enzo being the tour guide! I highly recommend this to tour anyone!!

Review written Jul 2014

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Paulus
  • Paulus
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Nice Cuppa!

24 May 2014 - 31 May 2014

This was my first Contiki trip, went not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be an awesome and unforgettable time! Met a lot of wonderful friends! Our tour guide Claudia was bubbly, caring, helpful and entertaining and the driver was a cool, suave "Italian Stallion", simply a master-class driver!
Many of the activities of this trip were quite interesting such as showing you how wine was made, or the leather, the glass blowing etc. but I know they also wanted to promote their products. I guess that's a good opportunity to make some money off some travelling tourists.
The tour covered a lot of places for the time we spent there, however, I felt not enough time to spend in some places eg. Pisa for an hour and shopping for an hour (either more time to shop/ eat or just eat and skip the shopping)
I really enjoyed the dinners and the optional activities although some of the dinners were a tad expensive, it was a good experience nonetheless. Don't really think the walking tour or the photo was worth it for me.
If you really wanted, you could save a bit doing it yourself, but then again, its not as safe, you'd have to do a lot of research and planning and you'd miss out on meeting a lot of like-minded and awesome people.
Overall, it's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favourite cities.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Cultural, Scenic, Action-packed

event 0.3
  • Claudia
  • Claudia
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Italian Intro

27 Sep 2013 - 05 Oct 2013

This was my first Contiki trip, went alone not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be one of the best experiences of my life! Met a lot of wonderful friends, our tour guide was helpful and entertaining. The tour was long enough where I didn't feel rushed from place to place, but short enough where I didn't feel homesick. It's a great taste of Italy, just enough of an intro to make you want to come back to your favorite cities. Definitely recommend Italian Espresso!

Review written Feb 2014

event 0.3
  • Eunice
  • Eunice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing beauty.

30 Jun 2013 - 08 Jul 2013

I absolutely enjoy this trip. Let's start by saying that the city of Florence was MAGICALLLL!!!. It was my favorite from all the places we visited. The Italian food was to die for from pastas, real homemade pizzas to delicious desserts. I would for sure return to Italy. The tour was exhausting, but fun. My tour manager Vincenzo was really nice and funny. He made the tour even better. The optionals were very good. At least I was able to know how much Euros to spend and save. You will for sure need money for lunch and other extra things you want to do. The venice shops were sooooo awesome and beautiful. Venice is quite a peaceful place with many hot gondola guys.. jee jee..

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Beauty, Peace, yummy cappuccinos

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • SaraM25
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

May 10th-18th Italian Espresso

10 May 2013 - 18 May 2013

I got to meet great friends, and taste amazing food. This was an incredible experience. Rome was such a huge city, we spent two days there at the coliseum and Vatican City. Our tour manager, Enzo, was so funny!! He was very informative and had good suggestions for extra places to eat and shop.

The Vineyard was really nice, settled in the Tuscan hills. Florence was beautiful, the hotel was walking distance from the main streets. We got to see Pisa, the leaning tower, and the charming Verona, in the rain! I wish we had more days in Venice, it was lovely with its canals. Italy is such a nice country, I want to go back soon! Thank you Enzo for a memorable trip!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: delicious, friendly, sightseeing

event 0.3
  • DanaS
  • DanaS
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SO MUCH FUN!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just got back from the Italian Espresso trip and it was a total blast. Our tour manager, Yannick, was the most fabulous guide and our group could not have been more fun. The sights were amazing and all the optional activities were wonderful. The only activity we skipped was the leather making demonstration but other than that I'd highly recommend everything. This was my first trip to Italy and I gotta say it would be damn near impossible to have done/seen everything we saw if I had done it on my own. The access to some of the bigger tourist attractions (the Vatican, Colosseum and things like that) were amazing. If you were on your own you would stand in line for forever, with the Contiki group we walked right in. All in all I had the most wonderful time in Italy and would absolutely not hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone - espeically if you can have Yannick as your tour manager. Ciao ciao! :)

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: breathtaking, once in a lifetime, amazeballs

event 0.3
  • Fifi85
  • Fifi85
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Italian Espresso - Bellissimo!

27 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

A perfect mixture of history, sight-seeing and partying! Accomm was basic but it was fine because you're out all day anyway! From the history of Rome to the romance of Verona and Venice - it really did give us a taste of just about everything! A tip for anyone in Florence - don't think twice about buying a leather jacket! Just do it!! Trust me!! You want one!!

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rochelle_b
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Italian Espresso
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fantastic first taste of Italy

24 Sep 2011 - 01 Oct 2011

Had an amazing time, loved all the places we visited and soaked in the culture (and the food)! We had a fantastic tour guide, who was a lot of fun, had lots of great suggestions and ideas for day and night activities. The group was also lots of fun, lots of different personalities but we meshed really well. Trip was just long enough and we didn't spend too much time on the bus which was good. Have recommended this trip to any one whose asked- a must for those who want to see some culture and party a little too.

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Inspiring, Eventful, Thrilling

event 0.3
  • Nat
  • Nat
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Italian Espresso

Amazing vacation!!!

26 Apr 2013 - 04 May 2013

I just returned back from this trip less than 24 hours ago and I still can not get over how great it was!!! I was anticipating a high paced trip and coming home completely exhausted. Instead I got a high impact, multi cultural experience that did not completely wipe me out. This trip provides opportunities to see all the landmarks that we have read about. At the same time we had plenty of time to relax and roam the streets of the cities that we visited eat plenty of delicious food and drink vino.
Just a tip, if you like to see specific museums, do some research and reserve tickets ahead of time since there are a LOT of tourists and the lines tend to be extremely long.
The me time optionals were also great. Our tour guides where spunky, insightful and knowledgeable. They were able answer all of our questions and provided very good information. ( I pretty much did every me time optional and I am glad that I did).
Our tour manager Yannik was also great recourse. He was very fun to be around, also knew a lot about every city that we went to. He was very helpful with providing us with information regarding places to see and eat (local places for cheap!) This was very helpful.
Our driver was great too. Besides the fact that he was very at his job, he was also very friendly, interesting to talk to and provided great insight about Italian culture.
Additionally, I feel that we got very lucky with our group. We had people from all over the world, which was great because I was also able to learn about other cultures.
The one thing that I have to critique (which I wrote in the feedback brochure that we filled out on the last day of the trip) is that the outlet mall excursion should be excluded. (This is coming from a girl who loves to shop by the way)!
This was on day when we went to Pisa and Verona on our way to Venice. We spend an hour and half there and the selection was not great and the prices were very high. I would have much rather grabbed something quick to eat and spend more time in Verona.
Overall, if I had to do this again, I would do it in a heartbeat!

Happy traveling!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Breathtaking views, Intellectually stimulating , Great people and overall a great time!!

event 0.3
  • MELISSA
  • MELISSA
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Italian Espresso

Italian espresso

11 May 2012 - 19 May 2012

I had the most amazing time on this tour!

Review written Mar 2013

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 7 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 7 continental breakfasts
  • 3 Regional Dinners: pizza making experience & local trattoria dining

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Piazza Navona
  • Watch how the locals make Italian style pizza
See More

Me Time

  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Italian Cooking Class
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Space Disco
  • Tuscan Evening
  • Venice walking tour
  • Gondola ride
  • Venetian Dinner
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$148
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

30 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.