London & Paris plus Paris extension

Tour Length
9 days
From
US$1440
Overview Reviews

London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Please update your Review

18 Oct 2013 - 27 Oct 2013

Please update your Review

Review written Feb 2014

My Contiki was: test, test, tes

event 0.3
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Perfect mix of free time and group time

07 Jun 2013 - 16 Jun 2013

I chose the London & Paris, with the Paris extension PLUS two extra days in London. This gave me time to get acclimated, go and do the things I wanted to do without feeling pressured to get it all done in a short amount of time. This is the perfect trip for an "introduction" to London and/or Paris. Loved the Stonehenge & Bath excursion, didn't do the Perfumery, and really enjoyed Versailles. The group was great, the bus was comfortable, and while the rooms were small (ish) they were clean and had good food. Would definitely travel with Contiki again!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Relaxed, Fantastic, Awe-inspiring

event 0.3
  • MB2
  • MB2
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing Experience!

25 May 2012 - 03 Jun 2012

I would highly recommend this tour. It was so well done and organized, and I had such an amazing time even though I was a little apprehensive about going alone. Our tour manager was fantastic; she was really organized and friendly and answered all of our millions of questions about the area or cool places to see/eat/visit. So much was included in the trip that it was definitely well worth the money, and Contiki went out of their way to address every concern and handle every little issue or question that arose. I will definitely be booking future Contiki tours; this tour helped me to see that there's no shame or problem with going solo and I'll definitely remember that in the future.

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Incredible, Life-changing, Unique

event 0.3
  • Samantha
  • Samantha
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

04 May 2012 - 13 May 2012

I honestly had the time of my life. I got to see such wonderful things and have experiences that I never thought I would get. I made such awsome friends! Everyone on the tour was so great, and our tour manager Chris was just fabulous! I would recommend this tour to anyone! It is for sure worth every penny.

Review written May 2012

event 0.3
  • Sasha
  • Sasha
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Some hints for London and Paris

06 Apr 2012 - 15 Apr 2012

London: The crown jewels are really something else! They are located in the Tower of London and the line gets ridiculous so go there first thing! We did and there was no line; by the time we got out — huge line! St Pauls opens at 8:30 and the nearby Tower of London at like 9, so easy to combine the two. If you only have time to visit one church, I would suggest Westminster Abbey over St Pauls. The London Eye is cool, but it’s something you could skip really. It takes about 30 minutes to do the revolution btw. Tate Modern and National Gallery were cool but if you are low on time, you can skip. The one museum you must see is the British Museum (and free and by the hotel so no excuse). It’s a tourist trap for sure but I loved the London M&M store, located near the West End… it is so cute and a great place for souvenirs! Try to pay for Westminster Abbey by cash as it’s a much shorter line. If you are going to be there for several days before consider the London Pass; I didn’t get one but someone else did and she thought it was worth it. Oh and let me offer a huge timesaver: if you buy the tour over the phone they should offer a 10 pound metro pass that takes you from Heathrow to the train station by the hotel…. definitely buy that instead of at the airport metro station. The line is ridiculous and you will thank me. If the pass wasn’t offered to you I would call contiki. Probably saved me at least half an hour of standing in a ridiculous line.

Paris: I did the extension so I stayed an extra 2 days and I thought that was a good decision. Otherwise you will have about a day and a half to explore the city as the trip to the Palace of Versaille will take half a day. Like I said above, if you are going to be there for extra time, definitely get the Paris Museum Pass (2, 4, or 6 day) and I suggest buying it at the military museum (no line). If you lack time, skip walking up and down the Champ Elysee — it’s like fifth avenue in NY, lots of high end stores, and connects the Arc de Triomphe with the area of the Lourve. If you don’t have the time, you can take the metro station by the Arc de Triomphe to your next destination. If you do have the time here are a few highlights of that street (I walked up and down twice while I was in Paris): you might want to go to the Louis Vuitton store if you are into that kind of stuff (I skipped this), if you are female it might be worth going to the Abercrombie and Fitch store –- not to buy anything but because what you will see when you walk inside might be good for some giggles -- and I am not going to spoil it; you will not see the store from the street but instead a golden gate with a line outside and security in the form of guys with Abercombie and Fitch sweatshearts. If you are into cars at all, all of the French manufacturers have display rooms on this street – not to sell cars but to show off. The highlight for me was Renault which is showcasing their new car, Twizzy. The Citroen showroom was also cool. The Disney Paris store sells a very cute bag for 3.99 euro that makes for a great souvenier or beach bag. There’s a yummy pizza place that I went to with outside seating just to say I ate on the Champ Elysee. In the Lourve, well you need to see everything of course. But if you are limited in time you will have to see the Mona Lisa just because people will ask you, same for the Venus de Milo. Also make sure you see a room called the Apollo room –- it’s beautiful beyond words, trust me. I think it is in the Shelly wing (there are 3 wings). Napolean’s apartment is there as well and cool if you can find it. There is a hidden downstairs entrance to the Lourve which the tour guide suggested but it ended up with a huge line so I wouldn’t suggest it myself. If you have the museum pass then you can skip all the lines and enter through the pyramid and walk right in. The Musee d’ Orsay is OK, but I think it is safe to skip. The Pantheon is over by the Latin Quarter and a bit out of the way but if you have the time you should see it — one of my highlights; it is a shrine to the most famous french people. The Luxembourg gardens weren’t that interesting so I think it is safe to skip. The modern art museum, Centre Pompideau is pretty fun if you have got the time (make sure to check out the fountain outside). Bascillica Sacre Couer is a must do but far away from everything else. It is open like 6 am to 11 pm so fit it in if you can. Go to Sainte Germain by Notre Dame if you are there for some extra days.

Tips for Europe in General:
Yep, no problem. I’ve been to Lisbon, Madrid, Ireland, as well as London & Paris and these are my suggestions:
–- Always know the tipping customs for each country. In most of the countries that I have been to, the custom is not to tip or just round up to the nearest Euro. Just look it up online ahead of time. In France it is not required to tip the waiter. I never ate out at a restaurant in London, so I’m not sure.
- Understand how the VAT (value added tax) works. I am a bit confused myself. Basically, if you are not a citizen and buy over a certain amount at a store, some stores will give you a receipt to get back the VAT. At the airport you put the reciepts in an envelope and there are kiosks where you drop off the envelope and you will get money back on your credit card. I did this in Ireland where I got those receipts, but didn’t see anything in France. Google beforehand, especially if you are planning to make any big purchases.
–- The cheapest way to do currency exchange is to use an ATM. Your ATM card should have a VISA logo. Depending on your bank, it may have a program where you don’t pay fees if you use another member bank in a foreign country. Bank of America has such a program with other international banks. When using your ATM card you may pay a flat fee per transaction (my bank, Regions, charges $5). Airport kiosks and western unions are more expensive and less convenient.
- Capital One credit cards are the only ones I know that do not charge an extra fee for currency exchange. So that is what I always use. Discover Card will be pretty useless though I think they announced a program where they will be accepted internationally, check on this (but don’t bother if you have Capital One).
–- Most European credit cards use a chip and pin system where the card has an embedded chip and you slide the chip or insert the card half-way and then enter a pin. American cards do not have this, but can often be accepted. If there is a machine where you partially enter your card (enough for the chip to be read) look to see if there is a place to swipe instead. When I went to Madrid the metro only could accept cards with a pin so I was able to use my ATM because I had a pin to enter in the PIN screen.
- Remember: the ground floor for Europeans is the first floor for Americans. The first floor for Europeans is the second floor for Americans. It can be confusing at first.
–- Bring a pen on the plane as you will have to fill out a customs form. Make sure you have with you on the plane the name, address, phone number of where you will be staying.
- In some countries (ex. Spain, Portugal) restaurants may put appetizers on the table; they are not free so if you don’t want them just decline.
–- You will need a travel adapter, but I have never needed to use a travel converter. Most electronic devices (phones, laptops, cameras) can handle outlets in Europe provided you have the right adapter. Btw, in some countries, Spain comes to mind, they do not have a ground. The ground is the circular ‘thingy’ between the two prongs that you would have in an American plug. A little bit more risky, but I would just not have the ground plugged in.
- - Always make a copy of your passport and have it somewhere. The hotels we stayed at did not have safes in the room, so I used my money belt ($10 at walmart) and put my passport there and brought it with me (easy when you are wearing a coat and sweater). My copy I kept in my locked luggage.
–- You are supposed to register with the embassy ahead of time to inform them that you will be out there in case there is some emergency. Half the time, I forget to do this.
- Pickpocketing is an art form apparently. Especially in crowded areas like the Eiffel tower and in front of the Mona Lisa. So watch out for gypsies, pickpockets, etc. Always have your purse in front of you, yada, yada, yada.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: London, Paris

event 0.3
  • AmberWeber
  • AmberWeber
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 3 Countries
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Time of my Life!!!

28 Jan 2011 - 06 Feb 2011

Met some of the best people from all around the world! Made some amazing memories with great new friends and will never forget them. I hope to be going on another tour sometime within the next year, Hopefully by 2013!

Review written Feb 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Unforgettable , Life-Changing!

event 0.3
  • MarciaW
  • MarciaW
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 3 Countries
London & Paris plus Paris extension
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

30 Jul 2010 - 08 Aug 2010

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: Amazing, Interesting, Great

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 8 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging (days 1-7)
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossing
  • Please note: The Paris extension section of this tour is unescorted

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team (days 1-7)
  • Sightseeing tours of London & Paris

Exclusive Food

  • 8 continental breakfasts
  • 2 three-course dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Walking tour to see Soho, Covent Garden and some of London's West End
  • Sightseeing tour of London
See More

Me Time

  • Visit to Stonehenge Monument
  • Roman Baths
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$160
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Tours

7 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.