Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2395
Overview Reviews

  • Amber
  • Amber
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 8 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

23 Aug 2014 - 04 Sep 2014

This trip was the perfect amount of time and an excellent way to travel around the Mediterranean. I have to say our tour manager Enzo made the trip extra awesome with his stellar upbeat attitude.

Barcelona's night life will blow your mind so be ready for a crazy night out. The south of France and Monaco are some of the most beautiful places along the Mediterranean. There was just so much to see in Italy that you wont be disappointed.

I took part in all the extras and was very happy. Some of the hotels were far out from the city centers but usually they were right near a transit station so it was easy to get wherever you wanted to go.

The people you will meet on this trip really make the experience. You become a family when your out there travelling together. So many good memories.

This was an excellent trip....time to start planning my next contiki adventure.

Review written Oct 2014

event 0.3
  • Lindsay
  • Lindsay
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid) - Good Trip!

23 Aug 2014 - 04 Sep 2014

This trip is a great preview of gorgeous cities along the Mediterranean! If you end up with our same Tour Manager and Bus Driver (Enzo & Tonino) you will be guaranteed a good laugh every single day on the coach! They were our coffee in the morning!

The only reason why I didn't give this trip 5 stars is because the meals felt rushed and the add on meals didn't seem to be great value. My boyfriend and I would explore and find our own dining towards the end and we stumbled across some local gems on our own. Although with saying that I highly recommend the Flamenco Night, the Monte Carlo night and the Fairwell dinner in Rome. The Flamenco show was awesome, the Monte Carlo night is your only chance to see Monaco and the fairwell dinner with an opera but it was a comedy opera and it was a great way to end the trip.

What makes the trip is the people you end up with and the fun factor that your tour manager brings and we lucked out. My boyfriend and I are more on the quiet side but the people on our trip all seemed like great people!

Lindsay

Review written Sep 2014

event 0.3
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Mediterranean Highlights (start Madrid)

02 Aug 2014 - 14 Aug 2014

Madrid is the best place to start this trip, as you get the long travel days over with at the beginning of the tour. Madrid is interesting, but Barcelona is were you want to be. If I had a choice, I would have 2 days in Barcelona and not just one - there is so much to see and do! The tour manager was smart and encouraged us to go out on our last night in Madrid. Smart, because we slept most of the long journey from Madrid to Barcelona. She was smart again when she hooked us up with a wild night out in Barcelona, after which we slept all the way to Avignon - another long travel day. I personally didn't like France very much. Nice is very touristic, and personally, I found it boring as I am not into lying on the beach all day. The perfumery is another place I was bored at - I'm just a tomboy like that. The French countryside - Avignon and Aix-en-provence - are worth the visit. It's the only place where I found semi-friendly French people. The time spent in Monaco was just enough - we had a supper there. Unless you're secretly a millionaire, Monaco is good to just pass through. Italy, oh Italy! The food and gelato are something to immigrate for! Never have I eaten such fantastic food! Pisa was alright, it's only the tower you stop to see anyways, and Florence was also alright. I wouldn't have spent as much time there as I found entrance to the museums and other interesting things a bit pricey. But Rome...you need at least 3-4 days here. The city is massive and there is history around every corner! Will definitely be going back to Rome...and Barcelona!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Fantastic, Hot, Worthwhile

event 0.3
  • _Misty_
  • _Misty_
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Best Day of My Life"

14 Jun 2014 - 26 Jun 2014

Amazing holiday, with the nicest of people. Great atmosphere between everyone and the sights were incredible. Our tour manager was so fun, very knowledgeable and helpful.

Review written Aug 2014

event 0.3
  • Lauren
  • Lauren
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best 2 weeks ever!!!

24 Aug 2013 - 05 Sep 2013

I had never done a Contiki before and travelled alone. I live in the UK and I wanted to see places in Europe I had never seen before. I was the only "Pom" and made some truly amazing friends.

Everywhere we went our tour guide Yannick told us everything we wanted to know and I saw more than I ever thought I would! He was a gent and helped in anyway he could.

Our group didn't enjoy the extras so much but there was no hard sell to make you do it and you could pick and chose. I enjoyed the extra experiences and tours.

Value for money was great and it was lovely knowing accommodation was sorted. I did spend a lot of food but I had never eaten such amazing food and coming home to boring English food was a serious bump back to reality!

I really enjoyed the stop off in different little towns. It is a long time on the coach but these stops made it fly by and didn't seem as bad!

Contiki was brilliant and I am travelling to OZ in a few months time. First stop? Another Contiki tour!!!!!!! :D

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: fantastic, life changing, unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Tim
  • Tim
  • Level 7 Traveler
  • 7 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

24 Aug 2013 - 05 Sep 2013

Saw some of the most amazing things, and met fantastic people. What reservations i did have quickly dissipated after the first day.

As dorky as it sounds, you will do and see so much on these trips, its worth making a travel diary, or at least taking a lot of random pics on your mobile - just to remember where and what you did as it does become a bit of a blur (for me anyhow).

So when your looking back on one of the trips of your life, you want those memories =)

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: fun, rememberable, eye opening

event 0.3
  • Mollay
  • Mollay
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

AMAZING TOUR!!!

21 Sep 2012 - 04 Oct 2012

I did this tour with two of my friends in September. It was the best time EVER!! our tour manager (Yannick) was so awesome! we got to see a lot of things, like the coliseum, st. peters square, the grand casino in Mocano and so many beautiful views! they take you to the best restaurants and the BEST CLUBS!! with bottle service and VIP! :) JUST AMAZING!! Nice, France was my absolute favorite! Our group were all really fun and outgoing too - be ready to party and have early mornings the next day.. if you're looking for a relaxing vacation this is not for you!! prepare to spend a lot, the shopping was so good! I cannot wait to plan another contiki tour very soon!! :)

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: amazing, breathtaking , fun

event 0.3
  • AussieMel
  • AussieMel
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Mediterranean Highlights

19 May 2012 - 31 May 2012

I loved this trip. Started in Madrid finished up in Rome. Saw some fantastic sights, loved the culture (spanish in particular) ALL the food i had was delicious - some interesting but never the less great to experience different things. Everyone on tour was great and met some wonderful people. I travelled on my own which i was a little worried about but there was no need to be as everyone was really friendly and lots of solo travellers as well. I recommend doing ALL of the optionals, all the dinners were great and the tour guides we had were very knowledgeable. The history was facinating.
Overall highly recommended.!!

Review written Oct 2012

event 0.3
  • Rubia
  • Rubia
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Ok guys...Let's do it!"

03 Aug 2012 - 16 Aug 2012

I absolutely loved this trip! Even though I was worried about meeting people (I was the youngest: only 18!) I had an absolute blast! Mathieu, our guide, was hilarious and Genaro, our bus driver, was a total sweetheart even though he didn't speak any English. At first when I was booking this trip, I wasn't sure what to think or to believe all of the great reviews I seemed to be finding. But after going on this trip, I knew I made the right choice by choosing Contiki. The trip was amazing, the people I met and the friendships I made will stay with me forever.

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: amazing, crazy, hilarious

event 0.3
  • Adele
  • Adele
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 0 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid) - August 2012

04 Aug 2012 - 16 Aug 2012

This tour was absolutely amazing - I can not recommend it enough! It is fast paced, yet not exhausting. The free days in Nice & Florence are well timed to give you a break from activities and the group (if needed). We saw so much more than I expected, simply due to the little day stops during bus trips; they may have only been an hour or so but it was enough time to browse these little local towns. I did all of the optionals, they were too good value to pass up, and made for a lot of fun. Our Tour Manager (Mathieu) was undescribable; his organisation, respect for us & his overall passion for the tour was insane, I only hope if you're reading this you will be lucky enough to select one of his trips. I know I've made some life long friends from this tour, and can only hope that if I do another Contiki it is able to live up to this one!! Enjoy : )

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Mind Blowing, Entertaining, Once In A Life Time

event 0.3
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

12 Aug 2011 - 25 Aug 2011

We had the time of our lives! Our tour manager was fantastic, our group was friendly and fun, the itinerary was filled to capacity. We experienced part of the world with people from other parts and loved every second of it. I would have packed slightly different but really no regrets to speak of.

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: engaging, exciting, invigorating

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • SPRINGBOK
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Madrid)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

07 Aug 2010 - 19 Aug 2010

WE JUST ARRIVED BACK FROM ITALY, AND I CAN HONESTLY SAY, THAT THIS WAS THE BEST HOLIDAY I EVER HAD. WE MADE SO MANY FRIENDS AND OUR TOUR MANAGER, ANGIE AND BUS DRIVER, PINO, WAS THE BEST THERE IS.

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR MAKING THIS THE BEST HOLIDAY EVER.

AS OUR TOUR SONG GOES, "WE HAD FUN FUN FUN!"

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: AWESOME, GREAT FRIENDS, EXCELLENT TOUR GUIDE

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 12 continental breakfasts
  • 4 Regional Dinners: local tapas feast in Barcelona & regional feasts in our favourite local spots

Inclusions

  • 8 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the Gran Via, the Puerta del Sol & Plaza de Espana
  • Guided tour of Royal Palace in Madrid
See More

Me Time

  • Guided tour of the Valley of the fallen
  • Los Galayos
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$184
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
12 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.