Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2375
Overview Reviews

  • Michael
  • Michael
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)

Best trip of my life...thus far

11 Aug 2014 - 23 Aug 2014

This trip has exceeded my expectations in the best way possible. I went alone, but came back home connecting with more great friends worldwide. I've kept in touch with some of them from this Contiki group. The highlight of the trip was in Florence. I fell in love with that city. Would highly recommend first time Contiki travelers to take the Mediterranean Highlights tour. You really get a big bang out for your buck!

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: Exciting, Spontaneous, Humbling

event 0.3
  • Alice
  • Alice
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 0 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Why did it end?

17 Jun 2013 - 29 Jun 2013

So this Contiki was a spur of the moment choice to finish off my time in Europe. I had been traveling on my own, but I loved the ease of doing it with Contiki!

My guide (Christina) was amazing and so funny. She went out of the way to show us some awesome stuff and ensure we had a fantastico trip. The driver Pino was a riot! "Contiki go DANCING!" They really made the trip.

The accommodation was really good value, especially in the Mediterranean where everything can be so expensive! There was only one bad hotel in Barcelona, but I think we were told that they wouldn't be going back there.

The food, oh the food. Thank goodness for the sightseeing walks otherwise I would have been rolling off the bus by the end. Everything was soooooo good and the servings were generous at all the included and optional meals. The dinner the first night and last nights plus the night in Florence was just mind-blowing.

The transport was really good. The bus was always clean and Christina's iPod provided a great soundtrack for the journey. Shame there was no onboard wifi, but I wouldn't have traded Pino for anything, so it was worth not having it!

The other people on the tour were great. There was a good mix of people that wanted to go out and those who didn't, so no matter how you wanted to spend your night others were keen for whatever.

I loved the South of France. All the beauty of that area was overwhelming. The weather was absolutely perfect for the entire tour.

Review written Nov 2014

My Contiki was: exciting, funny, ease

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Amber
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)

Random Thoughts in a Giant Review

08 Sep 2014 - 20 Sep 2014

Prepare for some random thoughts jumbled into one review. I would absolutely pick Rome-Madrid over Madrid-Rome, there are some very long bus rides between France and Spain and near the end of the trip you are pretty tired anyway so it's a good time to relax. Also everyone jokes about Contiki cough but it's a real thing stock up on COLD MEDICINE because almost everyone ends up buying it anyway. Didn't do the opera dinner, didn't feel like I missed out. Did do the Monaco dinner and it was delicious, but don't feel pressured to do it/not do it (others did find affordable food). I wouldn't consider it overpriced as one comment below said. Ladies the cobblestones in Rome will break your ankles in heels, I'm not sure how some of the girls on my trip managed that. I also skipped "the David" to have some more free time and didn't feel like I missed out, you end up seeing the fake David anyway. Sparkling fountain in Florence is really cool (near fake David). Go to the Modern Art museum in France, it's really weird and also go to the beach <3<3 BEWARE the rocks will kill your feet even though they are smooth. Pickpockets seemed most prevalent in Spain. Fav place on the whole trip was Cinque Terre by far. Prepare for very small but clean and nice hotels and if you are a big eater, limited breakfasts. Valley of the Fallen in Madrid was pretty decent, kills your day though time-wise. Could do without the perfumery in France and the leather demo in Italy (both are tourist traps). Recommend adding a couple days to the beginning of your trip to hit up Pompeii (stay in Sorrento, LOVED IT). The train and subway to get to Rome from Sorrento was totally safe and straightforward. Warning- the beach in Barcelona is very difficult to find. Get very specific instructions or you will end up walking about aimlessly and not find it (happened to more than one person, killing the day in Barcelona). Not enough time in Barcelona. I should add that Erica is an amazing tour guide, but I'm not sure she works for Contiki anymore. LASTLY- ending your trip at a club is not recommended. This was not technically through Contiki but we were on a pub crawl of sorts and there was a confusion at Kapital (we had already paid like 30 euros each for entrance to all bars) and they made us wait over an hour and almost didn't let us in. When you do go to Kapital in Madrid, there is an absurd number of floors and you will lose everyone and it kind of kills the vibe of saying bye because you won't see those people in the morning and maybe not even for the rest of the night. Space in Italy is a much smaller club and you can hang out more which is nice. One more thing- pack an umbrella you need it.

Review written Nov 2014

My Contiki was: Food is amazing in Italy especially, BEACHES <3, Lots to do, kind of rushed at times but worth it

event 0.3
  • Rubina
  • Rubina
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)

Highlights

21 Jul 2014 - 02 Aug 2014

I just came back from this trip and it was the best decesion I've ever made! You get a good taste of each country and our tour manager Erica was beyond amazing! She really made the trip memorable and my contiki group as well. As for the trip itself I loved every country! Italy for the delicious food, The Italian Riviera and French Riviera for the beaches, and Spain for it's vibrant culture and nightlife. This trip is fast paced, but the days at the beach give you a break from all the traveling. My roomate and I spent our free day in Nice, France on day beds relaxing and went parasailing for 40 euros.. not bad at all. For the optionals, do it all! The best optional dinner was in Tuscany.. you get amazing food with an amazing view. Do this trip, you wont regret it!!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: good food, partying, new friends

event 0.3
  • Renette
  • Renette
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Definitive highlights!

30 Jun 2014 - 12 Jul 2014

I absolutely loved my experience. The famous sights and the cultures. My favourite was Cinque Terre, San Gimignano, Florence and Barcelona. To see Gaudi's architecture in Barcelona was unforgettable. The glitz and glamour in Monaco and the ancient ruins in Rome is a must-see. We had a backstage pass to the Vatican museum and had a city tour of Florence. The authentic cuisine is part of the experience. This is were you get to know your fellow travellers. I have made such good friends on the trip. We had the best tour manager, Maite. She told us of all the best places to visit, the most delicious food to eat and to experience the cultures. Our day song, 'One day', surely helped to live the saying 'No regrets'. It was an amazing unforgettable experience. I loved every moment!

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: No regrets., Amazing., Fun!

event 0.3
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing Experience

30 Jun 2014 - 12 Jul 2014

Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome) is a 13 day trip through Italy, Vatican City, France, Monaco, and Spain.

What is great about this tour is that you get to see so much in just 2 weeks! It really is a mind opening experience to be able to actually see places you've read/studied about in school.

What made this trip a success was our wonderful tour manager Maite and the awesome bunch of fellow contiki tour members. Maite provided us with alot of useful information and tips about the local areas including maps, trains, and buses to take if we wanted to explore during our free time.

A few things that makes contiki great is the free time to go explore on your own and the Me Time Optionals. The Me Time Optionals unfortunately are additional expenses on top of the tour you paid for, however the experience from it was worth it!

The highlight of this trip was probably San Gigmignano, Tuscany, Italy. The most amazing and beautiful view you will see of the Italian country side! If you go on this trip, climb the darn tower and see the view!

I traveled solo and was a little curious as to how that would work out. I ended up making awesome friends!

Tip: Travel with an open mind, be courteous to other fellow tour members, and don't be late, then your trip will be amazing :)

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Mind-blowing, Awesome, Fun

event 0.3
  • cait_y89
  • cait_y89
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

loved it!!!

12 Aug 2013 - 24 Aug 2013

Amazing tour!!! Saw so many beautiful sites and had an awesome tour guide, Yannick. Highlights included relaxin with Sangria on the beach of Monterosso in the Cinqie Terre, picnicing at La Chateau in Nice & partying all night in Barcelona. Great trip with a great bunch of people. Thanks contikiiiiiii!!!!

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: i, love, contiki!!!!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Meghan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)

12 Aug 2012 - 25 Aug 2012

It was alot of fun!! Needs an extra day in Barcelona tho for sure. Do the Florence dinner and nightclub (space) it is well worth it!!! The dinner in Monacco do not do, not worth it and over priced.

I would suggest going a day earlier as the tour starts that day, sightseeing and all!

Beware the contiki cough!!!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Fun, Busy, ContikiCough

event 0.3
  • Jamie
  • Jamie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Contiki made my first trip to Europe awesome!!!!!

09 Sep 2012 - 22 Sep 2012

The fact that my hotel, airfare, tour and transportation was covered made the trip stress free! I loved my tour guide he was awesome! Always attentive to the group always helpful with helping us find the coolest things to do on our free time. Every city I went to starting with Rome had so much history, great food, and adventure. I honestly took over a thousand pictures from the colosseum to flamenco dancing in Barcelona. I also got to celebrate my birthday as well and I had a blast! I recommend Contiki for anyone who wants to travel alone like myself and have a great experience and make new friends!

Review written Oct 2012

My Contiki was: Educational, Fun!, A adventure

event 0.3
  • Sean Deezy
  • Sean Deezy
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Awesome Trip!

22 May 2011 - 04 Jun 2011

Just took the Med Highlights tour a few months back in beginning of Summer and I must say it was incredible. First Contiki trip and was pretty amazed. Great itinerary, free time and excursions for all. The group was about 30 deep and a culturally diverse crowd. The tour manager and the driver were awesome! But the main highlights, of course, would be the cities and countries themselves. Beautiful views and sometimes great food and company. One advice: do what you can as fast as you can, the trip goes by fast!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: value, friends, views

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Aja
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Unbelievable Experience

10 Jul 2011 - 23 Jul 2011

This trip was absolutely amazing. The people and friendships that I made on the tour were ones that will last a lifetime. EVERYTHING from the beginning of the trip to the end was well organized and put together. We had the BEST tour guide, ANGIE!!!!!! who was a true expert at her job, friendly, well organized and an overall fun person to have as a tour guide. I was sooo impressed by Contiki and would absolutely travel on another tour. The best part of the trip was the friendships with people that I made from around the world and the memories that we made together. The trip was great, it gave a true :"highlight" of all the countries and cities so that you could after the trip, decide on what ones you liked the best and would come back to. Everything that was promised was delivered. From the plane to the transportation to the hotels. Contiki is very organized and it felt good being able to go to countries that you have never been before and not having to worry about trying to figure things out. This vacation is one that I will never forget and am VERY happy having booked with Contiki for my first time out of the US into other countries all the way around the world. Cant wait to book my next trip! Thailand 2012!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Life changing, Well Organized, Unbelievable

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • jcnold
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A Blast from Rome to Madrid

26 Jun 2011 - 09 Jul 2011

I went on this trip, my first to Europe ever, with my wife of 1 year. Neither of us had been to Europe, and we liked the idea of traveling with others our age on a set itinerary of cities/countries we wanted to visit. We were very happy with the results. We saw all the big highlights of each city along the way, from Rome to Florence to Pisa to Nice to Avignon to Barcelona to Madrid. Being in a group with people about our age made it more fun too, as we had a gropu to enjoy seeing the sights with and going out for dinner and afterwards with. But we were still able to have time alone when we chose to also. We would definitely go on another Contiki Tour.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Exciting, Party

event 0.3
  • ElleJ
  • ElleJ
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 5 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

05 Jun 2011 - 18 Jun 2011

My tour guide Angie was fantastic. I made some great friends while on the trip. Saw a ton of amazing sights. Italy, France and Spain were breathtaking. Had plenty of on my own time to wander and learn. Have recommended this trip to several friends and cannot wait to experience another tour!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing sights, New Friendships, Fun!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Jessica
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Mediterranean Highlights (Start Rome)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

15 Aug 2010 - 28 Aug 2010

This trip was fast paced. We saw an unbelievable amount of sites in a short amount of time. This was my first trip to Europe and I can't think of a better way to do it. I met many amazing people with whom I still keep in touch. Our tour guide, Marleen, helped to make the trip unforgettable. I would highly recommend this trip to my friends.

Review written Dec 2010

My Contiki was: fun, unforgettable, amazing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 12 continental breakfasts
  • 4 Regional Dinners: local tapas feast in Barcelona & regional feasts in our favourite local spots

Inclusions

  • 8 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Piazza Navona
  • Learn to make pizza Italian-style from the locals
See More

Me Time

  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Folklore dinner
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$182
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
14 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.