Road to Rome

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$2569
Overview Reviews

  • Kayla
  • Kayla
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
Road to Rome

AMAZING

09 Jun 2014 - 22 Jun 2014

I was hesitant to do contiki, but this turned out to be the best decision i've ever made. I had SO much fun. My best friend and i made some friends for life. There was no way i could have seen all that i did in the time we did, with such ease.
Can't wait to go back to these places.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Diverse, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Jackie
  • Jackie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Happy Days

10 Jun 2014 - 22 Jun 2014

Initially, my friend and I were not intending to do a tour, but it was cheaper and let us see more with our budget. In the end, It was the best decision we made.

I absolutely adored our tour guide, Nat. Her humour and energy made everyone's experience a hundred times better. Having other english-speaking travel buddies is very helpful and stops homesickness a lot, plus you are more willing to go out and do things because you're in a group and the world is less intimidating. The places we went, I wouldn't have known what to do without a guide. We saw so many unique things. The perfumery in Paris and the Swarovski Crystal World were both awesome places I'd never have gone to by myself. The optional dinners were fantastic, I'd never suggest you don't do them. Accommodation was pretty damn good considering where we were. Not one place was unacceptable. The bus was hard to get used to but with some travel-sickness tablets and late nights, most people learn to sleep on the drives easily.

Hopfgarten in Austria with the contiki-run hotel, and lucerne were probably two of my favourite places. City wise, Paris is not overrated and didn't disappoint at all.

I would recommend this tour, although I would pair it with another one because it didn't feel too long when surrounded by so many friends - and if you have a long way to travel you may as well make the most of it and see even more of Europe whilst there.

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Unique, Enlightening, Fun

event 0.3
  • Ryan
  • Ryan
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best vacation I've ever had

12 May 2014 - 25 May 2014

Our tour guide Kate and driver Pedro were incredible and led us on a great adventure through Europe. The group we had was fun and full of different types of people, all with great attitudes and fun personalities. The only bad part was the hotel in Florence Auto Park Hotel. It was a shitty place but we survived it. Hopefully Contiki never uses that hotel again. Other then that, the trip was perfect and I will gladly go on another Contiki tour again.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: exciting, fun, memorable

event 0.3
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

No regrets

06 Sep 2013 - 20 Sep 2013

The best trip of my life!
amazing group and awesome places...

Review written Oct 2013

My Contiki was: noregrets, europe, awesome

event 0.3
  • SHAUNA
  • SHAUNA
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fantastic Trip

09 Sep 2012 - 23 Sep 2012

This was the best trip I have ever gone on. I went solo but came back with heaps of new friends. If I did the trip on my own I probably would not have booked the hotels we stayed in but they were not that bad. There is a good amount of time that was spent on the bus but I did not think it was a bad as people say. This is a great starter trip hitting the highlights and finding where you like and where you don't. If I had a choice to do it again I was say DEFINITELY!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Fun , Fun, Fun

event 0.3
  • alexander
  • alexander
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 15 Countries
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Road to Rome. Just do it!

17 Jun 2012 - 01 Jul 2012

It was amazing, fantastic, memoriable, adventureous, ecstatic, sonic and the list goes on trying to explain this trip and all the feelings it arouses. Its was very educational due to the great knowledge of the tour guide who was Sophia for our trip. She was funtastic, very professional, knowledgable in historical data of the all places for this tour, and lastly she made things fun everytime, so if you get her you will have a joy. Like I have said you will see alot of places in short amout of time, so be ready for having energy to move, and don't be late for the bus or get lost in Venice, its difficult to navigate in narrow streets. hahaha
Over all it was well done and planned both sightseeings and logistical aspects with sleeping accoumedations, there were small changes due to weather or some other elements but it is accounted for and it didnt' have any affects on the tour itself.

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Eye opening , Mind blowing, ecstatic

event 0.3
  • DWReese03
  • DWReese03
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 9 Countries
Road to Rome
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

25 Jul 2010 - 08 Aug 2010

I had one of the best experiences of my life on the Road to Rome trip. I wish I had actually booked the few days longer segments through Athens as I was sad to leave so soon. I made amazing new friends from all around the world. The sites were beautiful and it was a jammed packed whirlwind 2 weeks. I will never forget it.

Review written Aug 2010

My Contiki was: Amazing, Incredible, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 13 nights twin or triple share accommodation: 12 nights in hotels
  • Transport in a modern, air-conditioned coach with power outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • A dedicated crew with an experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities

Food

  • 12 continental breakfasts (B)
  • 7 three-course dinners (D)

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Nouvelle Eve Dinner and Show
  • Lake Lucerne Cruise
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$183
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
7 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.