Simply Italy

Tour Length
12 days
From
US$1631
Overview Reviews

  • Tony
  • Tony
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy

07 Apr 2012 - 19 Apr 2012

WOW what a trip!!! Tour manager Katia was amazing. If you are debating on shorter/longer trip go with the longer trip you will not be disappointed. This was a trip of a lifetime and I'm already saving for my next one. Two words if you are thinking of going on Contiki DO IT!!!!

Review written Apr 2012

event 0.3
  • Kevin
  • Kevin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy is Simply Amazing

07 Apr 2012 - 19 Apr 2012

My first tour with Contiki was amazing and I love it. Our tour manager Katia was great. I would definitely follow her to Spain next year as well. I get to see and experience most of Italy in a short period of time. I love Rome and Florence the best and will definitely go back again in the future.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Beautiful, FUN

event 0.3
  • Kevin
  • Kevin
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy is Simply Amazing

07 Apr 2012 - 19 Apr 2012

My first tour with Contiki was amazing and I love it. Our tour manager Katia was great. I would definitely follow her to Spain next year as well. I get to see and experience most of Italy in a short period of time. I love Rome and Florence the best and will definitely go back again in the future.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Beautiful, FUN

event 0.3
  • Shane21
  • Shane21
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy tour

07 Apr 2012 - 19 Apr 2012

This was the best trip ever, I totally recommend this trip to everyone. I also recommend that if you do this trip be sure to do all the optianl things.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: Awesome, Exciting , Memories

event 0.3
  • B1NZ
  • B1NZ
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy - Simply Amazing!!

17 Jul 2011 - 28 Jul 2011

My wife and I traveled on this trip in July 2011 and were not disappointing, Contiki gave you a taste of all the major sights of Italy and our guide Christina was fantastic, We made a lot of new friends and were sad when we had to leave our Contiki family at the end of the trip.

Probably the highlight for us was the boat cruise around the Island of Capri and swimming through the green grotto. We had one day were the weather and train strikes didn't play their part and unfortunately we missed the Cinque Terre boat cruise although we were bused down to Monte Rosso to spend the day there instead which was a lovely place.

If you want a taste of Italy then I suggest you do this trip, allow a few days in Rome at the end of the trip to see a few more of the sights of this historic city.

Review written Dec 2011

My Contiki was: Fantastic, Fun, Amazing

event 0.3
  • Jen
  • Jen
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 5 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing Race

24 Sep 2011 - 06 Oct 2011

The hotels in Milan, Florence & Venice were the best (with the best breakfasts as well) the concierge in Sorrento and in Rome hotels were very rude, in Rome they wouldn't even give extra towels until 7am (when had a 7:30 departure) so make sure you are getting any extras in the evenings! Optional dinners are not recommended, the included dinners are okay but are prepared ahead of time so are cold when you get them, which is why I do not recommend the optional dinners either, while they are pricier, you can still get better food in the same locations by going in smaller groups to other locations.
Be prepared for long days on the bus! Recommend a travel pillow for sleep ease on the bus as you spend a lot of time sleeping on it! For the most part our group slept more on the bus than we did in the hotels. Be prepared to party like a rock star in Florence because it is by far the most epic place you will go! Space was awesome as was the red garter karaoke place. We went to Danielles Karaoke place in Sorrento as well and it was a great time (has a pole in the middle of the dance floor, one of the guys that works there is quite the pole dancer!) Pisa is great but we only had an hour to take pictures, if your group is as camera happy as ours definitely eat before you take pictures because our group ended up either not eating or not using the bathrooms because we spent so much time taking photos! Overall it was great though! Such a fun place to take pictures for a photo competition!
if you get the impression from this tour that there is only one day on the beach, be prepared because there is absolutely 3-4 days where you will be on a boat and on a beach, bring a swimsuit because half of our tour did not & spent days where we could have been on the beach sitting in the shade resting our feet instead of in the water! Definitely more water days than is let on in the itinerary!
There are at least 2 days (verona and La Spezia) that are stop over days, you have a few hours in different cities leading up to where you are sleeping!
The recommended restaurant by our tour manager at the place we stayed in Venice was good food but terrible service because we were "contiki" even though we did not come as a group they treated us poorly and our food took 3 hours to come even though others were seated, served and left before we ever received our food. Worst experience of the trip!
Overall our guide was great, she had a lot of knowledge about the area, but none of us really learned much because she talked through our naps! :)
make sure you learn everyones names early on, we didn't do a "get to know you" until half way through our trip! it makes the trip so much more fun when you know peoples names!
You will see a lot of things on this trip, most of them you won't remember until you look through your photos, it is basically the amazing race of italy!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: rushed, party, epic

event 0.3
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome Experience!

25 Jun 2011 - 07 Jul 2011

I have to tell you that I had an amazing experience on the Simply Italy tour! It was incredible - super exhausting but well worth it. I was able to experience and see all the sights that I wanted to and the tour allowed for such free time that I wasn't restricted to staying with the group for everything which I found to be great!

I had Vinnie as my tour manager - he was AWESOME - the best tour guide ever! His knowledge of the country, the cities, the little things that only locals know was insightful and helpful. He was simply great! Our bus driver was great too, though he didn't speak English Ginarro (sp) got us around the country safe and sound!

Italy is a beautiful place to visit - this tour got me to all of the cities that I wanted to visit and more! The one thing that I would recommend is that if you want to see Rome for yourself than book a few days before the tour starts or after the tour ends because Rome is the only city that you don't get very much free time in at all. I was there a few days before the tour which allowed me to explore for myself - and I waited until the end of the tour to buy things from Rome but was greatly disappointed that I wasn't able to because of the timing on the tour.

Also DO NOT stay in the hotel that Contiki starts and ends with in Rome - The Regent Hotel was GARBAGE - service was horrible, the rooms were terrible - smelly, dirty and the beds were the worst of all - I had springs sticking into my body all night long. The hotel is far from central Rome as well so find something closer!

Other than that the experience was incredible - it was fun and enriching and I enjoyed it all! Already planning my next one - New Zealand here I come!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Awesome, Fantastic, Exhausting

event 0.3
Simply Italy

Tour Review

13 Aug 2011 - 25 Aug 2011

SImply Italy was an amazing adventure. I loved every minute of it! My fiance and I were looking for a trip that would get us to as many sites and cities as possible but still be able to enjoy it without rushing. I felt this trip had the best mix of travel, free time and guided tours. It was the best way to see so much in only 13 days. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Our tour manager was Italian which was amazing since she knew all of the history and language so well. Our group was a great mix of singles and couples who all were there to have fun. Last year we did Spotlight on Greece + 5 day cruise of the islands - I much preferred this trip as there was more free time in each city and more to see and do. I also loved all the included dinners and felt we got an amazing value for our money!! I would even do the tour again I had such a great time.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: FUN, Knowledgable, Value

event 0.3
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Aug 2011 - 25 Aug 2011

Amazing Tour; I had a great time.......met great ppl from around the world and had a fabulous tour manager...all & all it was a amazing Tour.....whooo !!

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
  • Kiki28
  • Kiki28
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

27 Aug 2011 - 08 Sep 2011

Simpy italy was amazing!! the sites, the history, the food were all amazing!! the tour was long enough to see everything you wanted in each place! definitely recommend it to ppl who simply want a taste of Italy!!

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: fun, hot, history

event 0.3
Simply Italy

Tour Review

08 May 2011 - 19 May 2011

Overall we had a wonderful time on this trip and meet some wonderful people. Majority of the hotels we stayed in were fantastic especially the one in Florence. However the hotel we stayed in Milan was the worst possible hotel ever!! It was a massive hotel and more suited people who were looking for more mid - permanent accommodation as every room had a kitchen in it however it was a 45 min bus ride outside of Milan. In the morning the breakfast consisted of a stale croissant wrapped in plastic, a hard boiled egg and an apple that should have been put in the bin and not on peoples plate - that was it!! I stayed in Milan previously before commencing on this trip, stayed just outside the city and it only costed $109AU for two people. I think whoever chose this hotel has done a poor job as it put a large dampner on the trip

Review written Sep 2011

event 0.3
  • Melissa
  • Melissa
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

21 May 2011 - 02 Jun 2011

Time of our life!!!! Well organized. Met so many great people, Awesome tour guide. Looking forward to our next Contiki!

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Exciting, Cultural

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • KezzaLiebs
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

04 Jul 2010 - 15 Jul 2010

It was excellent well worth the money nice mix of ages and people on tour even for a big size group. Sorrento, Capri, Cinque Terre great to cool down on those hot days. everywhere else and food amazing. Tour manager and driver excellent too.

Review written Jul 2010

My Contiki was: Amazing, Awesome, Wow

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 11 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 15 meals:
  • 11 continental breakfasts
  • 4 Regional Dinners: pizza making experience & local trattoria dining

Exclusive Inclusions

  • Scenic drive along the coast
  • See Mt. Vesuvius
See More

Me Time

  • Pompeii Guided Walking Tour
  • Cruise around the island of Capri
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$135
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
33 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.