Spanish Spree

Tour Length
14 days
From
US$2449
Overview Reviews

  • Jaleese
  • Jaleese
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I've been home for over a year and I still miss it.

23 Sep 2012 - 07 Oct 2012

Where do I even begin.

The thing I like best about Contiki is that, when you go to a new country, you THINK you know what to expect. And then you get there, and you are exposed to places you never thought you'd see! I loved traveling by bus because you really got to see the beautiful landscapes of Spain. It takes you away from any stereotypes you have set up in your head (i.e. google images of Madrid, bull fighting, paella) and throws you out of your comfort zone. On our way to Bilbao, there were some landscapes that reminded me of Ireland. On our way through Granada, I felt like I was in Morocco! This country is so diverse and rich with culture.

Our tour manager, Jason, was PHENOMENAL. Seriously. There wasn't a single question that stumped him. I will never forget walking through the gothic quarters on a warm evening in Barcelona while he told us about the history of the city, including myths & legends. I learned SO much from him. He was also very good at showing us where to find all the touristy places that he knew we'd want to see at least once, and then encouraging us to go where the locals go. He knew which bars to go to for a more posh kind of vibe. He knew which bars to go to for dirt cheap liquor, good music, and crazy people.

As for accommodation, our hotels were always clean and in great locations - which is reaaally important when you're cabbing home later on! I wouldn't change a thing.

Ibiza... I honestly can't tell you much about because I don't remember much and that's the way to go, my friend. Partying will NEVER be the same for you.

Aside from all the attractions and nights out, I would also like to add that you get a lot of free time to explore the city yourself. You're informed of what time the bus is leaving and where the bus is leaving from. Usually, we'd have hours to just relax and do whatever

Overall, I'd say this tour is the perfect balance of culture, INSANE partying, and adventure. I've made life long friendships and this will definitely not be my last Contiki tour!

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: life-changing, exhilarating, incredible

event 0.3
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

total let down

21 Jul 2013 - 04 Aug 2013

This tour had AMAZING potential. the cities were beautiful and the other members of the tour were really what saved it. Our tour manager was literally the worst I had ever heard of, and I sincerely hope he no longer works for Contiki. I was on this tour from July 21 to August 4 2013, and it was the last part of my 10 week holiday. I had previously been on two other Contikis, which were 10/10 amazing, so ending my trip with this complete dud of a tour was even more disappointing after having such great experiences in the past. Our tour manager, Emmo, was better suited for tour groups aged 65+. He completely discouraged any sort of fun-having, right down to refusing to let us have a Day Song. If you have been on a contiki before, you know that a Day Song is what is played in the coach every morning, plays at the bars you go to, and is overall just the "theme song" of the tour. Having done two contikis before, my self and the girl i was travelling with already had ideas of what we could suggest to be our day song. after sitting through a 2 hour (literally two hours, could have even been more) lecture that was 100% unnecessary, we boarded the coach, only to be shouted at for the slightest muttering about a day song. Our fun-sucking tour manager would not allow a day song and refused any of our protests, as though he wasn't the one we were paying to show us a good time. after two days of arguing with him, we finally got our song. after that, each day was filled with Emmo lecturing us for entire 9 hour drives, not letting us sleep on the coach as we had wanted, him leaving us in a random spanish town, giving us nothing but shotty directions on how to WALK back to the hotel. now this was the real kicker, because my previous tour managers had never left us to our own devices, as they were the ones who were supposed to be the experts. we all ended up getting lost for 2 hours walking around, terrified, constantly asking locals for directions. we were all so upset and scared and it honestly ruined the tour for us. in summary, i would recommend this tour only if Emmo is no longer the tour manager, for that matter, i would recommend not doing any tour that he is working on, if he still works for Contiki.

Review written Feb 2014

My Contiki was: terrible tour manager, worst tour manager, bad tour manager

event 0.3
  • Earl
  • Earl
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Spanish Spree

05 May 2013 - 19 May 2013

The tour was lovely. Enjoyed ever minute of it. Also, the tour allows you to see/experience much of Spain on as little money spent as possible.

Review written Aug 2013

event 0.3
  • AmyBlake(:
  • AmyBlake(:
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Hola Spain!

03 Sep 2012 - 16 Sep 2012

Spanish Spree was an awesome 2-week tour of the lively culture of Spain, with a mix of history, partying, shopping and relaxing. I believe in doing as many of the optional extras as possible, such as seeing the cheeky monkeys in Gibraltar or some much-needed relaxation at the Cordoba spa baths after a few days of crazy partying in Barcelona and Ibiza. I think the accommodation was always decent hotels, and definitely try Spanish food like tapas and some local sangria. We had a very talkative & fun tour manager and a real mix of tour mates, some of which will be lifelong friends. Loved the language, the nightlife, and generally the whole experience of Spain! Would I recommend it? Si!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: sightseeing, party, fun

event 0.3
  • Teodor
  • Teodor
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime!

22 Jul 2012 - 05 Aug 2012

If I was to describe this trip in 1 word - perfect! I traveled solo for the first time and was amazed by how many people I met. Lots of places we saw, excellent tour guide who was funny and made our trip amazing, great people and unbelievable sights! Contiki changed me - now I want to travel on Contiki with travelers my age who want to explore the places and party at night rather than with family members every year. I would recommend anyone to try Contiki!

Review written Aug 2012

My Contiki was: Excellent, Perfect, Memorable

event 0.3
  • Georgia
  • Georgia
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great trip

23 Jul 2012 - 05 Aug 2012

Great trip, gives you a great taste of many areas of Spain. Our tour manager was fantastic. Would have been nice to stay longer in some of the places but it gives a great taster. For the best time, do all the optional extras. Flamenco was expensive but AWESOME and so worth it.

Review written Aug 2012

event 0.3
  • PJ
  • PJ
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

01 Jul 2012 - 15 Jul 2012

I mean, Contiki is the way to travel no matter what, but Spain was a sick trip. The siestas, the fiestas, Ibiza, the sights, the history, Ibiza, the monkeys, the heat, the beaches, F'ing IBIZA! Our guide Garai was fantastic and the bus rides weren't too long and the hotels were comfortable and all the food in Spain is delicious and cheap and the sangria was tasty and the coffee was strong and I'm just very happy I went. You get A LOT when you go to Spain because each region is different. Go go go. Here is proof: http://spanish-spree.blogspot.com.

Review written Jul 2012

My Contiki was: Kick. Ass.

event 0.3
Spanish Spree

Contacts info?!!

10 Jul 2011 - 24 Jul 2011

It was my best experience ever in my life!
I would like to keep contact with my tour mates who had the same and great trip together.
I thought our tour manager mentioned he will send us email addresses, so we could keep in touch.
But i haven't got any...

I wonder i was the only missed or.... what happened???
I really want to talk and share our awesome trip stories with my tour mates...

Review written Oct 2011

event 0.3
  • Anoush
  • Anoush
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

03 Jul 2011 - 17 Jul 2011

I went on this trip with no expectations. Since, Spain is one of my favorite countries, I couldn't ask for a better trip than Spanish Spree. I will start with my tour Manager; Dom. He is super awesome with his humor, care, great historical details, positive attitude, and fun loving nature, he made the trip even better with his wit. The itinerary was great, however, I'd like to stay a day longer in Barcelona. I personally didn't get as much as I wanted to from Catalonia. The hotels were great, the breakfasts were delicious, although the suitcase dragging was a hassle but that didn't matter at the end of the day since we got to see the best of Spain. Seriously, this trip is designed perfectly to see and get a gist of Spanish culture. Each region and city have their own differences, which is well defined during the tour. I loved every minute of it from day one to day 14th. Can't wait to plan my second, third etc. trip with contiki!!!!!

Review written Jul 2011

My Contiki was: Diversity, Great Itinerary, Great value

event 0.3
  • jaszmeene
  • jaszmeene
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Spanish Spree
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

27 Sep 2010 - 10 Oct 2010

I had the time of my life!! It was worth every single cent of debt I got in!!My tour manager, Jonny was simply awesome!!! Love you,Jon Jon!!

Review written Apr 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fantabulous, unforgettable

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 13 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Flight from Barcelona to Ibiza
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossing

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 13 continental breakfasts
  • 3 Regional Dinners: local tapas feast in Barcelona & regional feasts in our favourite local spots
  • 1 three-course dinners

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the Gran Via, the Puerta del Sol & Plaza de Espana
  • Guided tour of Royal Palace in Madrid
See More

Me Time

  • Guided tour of the Valley of the fallen
  • Guided Bike Tour
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$174
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Layaway
10 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.