Ultimate European plus Egypt

Tour Length
46 days
From
US$6939
Overview Reviews

  • Brenna-91
  • Brenna-91
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 17 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Time of My Life

02 Jul 2016 - 16 Aug 2016

I dreamed about this trip for years before I finally did it and it was worth every penny. From the incredible memories that I made to the life long friendships that I formed, Contiki managed to make this an experience of a lifetime.

Not only will you get to cross off so many bucket list items: climbing to the top of the Eiffel Tower, gambling at the Monte Carlo Casino, walking through the Colosseum, throwing a coin in the Trevi Fountain, getting to sail around Corfu with George's Boat, riding a camel with the Great Pyramids in the background, wandering through the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, enjoying the night life in Budapest, and climbing to the top of Jungfrau Mountain in the Swiss Alps, but the amazing places and things you will see and do that you never expected make every moment worthwhile. Don't ever spend a night in or a free day at the hotel - go out and do whatever it is that your tour manager suggests, he or she will not let you down! And always do the optionals - the dinners are fabulous, the local guides are fun, and many of these things made our group the family that we are now.

They are not joking when they say this trip is high energy, you learn to catch up on Zz's on the coach and living out a suitcase becomes a natural thing. But going home completely broke and tired because you had that pizza in Florence, had to buy that cheese in Edam, or really needed those new shoes in Greece makes it worth the credit card bill when you get home. All of your friends and family will be so jealous of your worldly travels and you'll have some of the best photos for your walls.

Don't let the media or news turn your nose up to some of the more exotic Eastern countries either, they were some of my favourite locations and Contiki always made me feel safe no matter what was going on in the world. The hotels aren't always awesome, but you learn to care less because you spend so little time there except to sleep, the accommodations don't matter. And the location of most of the accommodations make up for it anyways - 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque or a 10 minute metro ride into downtown really helps you make the most of your trip.

My tour manager and coach driver were an absolute blast - they were an incredible team and I can only hope they get to work together more in the future!

Review written Sep 2016

My Contiki was: Action Packed, Trip of a Lifetime, Never a Dull Moment

event 0.3
  • Sean
  • Sean
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 17 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Better than anything I could have imagined!

26 Jun 2016 - 09 Aug 2016

Word of warning: don't go on this trip if you don't want to fall in love with a group of people and end up travelling the country or world to see them. With that out of the way I would urge anyone thinking about doing this tour to go for it! You will enjoy every day and do so many things you never thought you would. If you're worried or apprehensive about going to Egypt don't be. If anything it was probably my favourite part of the whole trip. From riding camels to going inside a pyramid to swimming in the Nile I did so much in Egypt. The people are beautiful and love the fact that some tourists are coming to their country. The whole tour was amazing and the fact that I made lifelong friends was a massive bonus. All in all I say forget about all the drama going on in the world, join this tour, see the world and fall in love with it!

Review written Aug 2016

My Contiki was: Greatest trip ever, Lifelong friends, Love your world

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Most fun I've ever had

19 Aug 2015 - 02 Oct 2015

This trip truly an ultimate experience. I crossed of so many bucket list items, like the Eiffel Tower and the Colosseum. I even saw some things I didn't realise were on my bucket list! Pretty much every included tour was great and the extra's were definitely worth the costs. The Egyptian guide was amazing. This is definitely a great way to see Europe and make some friends along the way.

Review written Oct 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Fun, Fun

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing

19 Aug 2014 - 03 Oct 2014

Great trip, get to see all the famous sights, great value for money. Do it with an open mind and a positive attitude. Your there to experience a life changing moment, seize the day. The only thing I had trouble with was some of the maturity of the 18-19 years who could not handle there booze.

It would be nice if contiki offered age groups of 27-30, as well as 18-30. Not sure if this has been an offer in the past?

Review written Mar 2015

event 0.3
  • Ashleigh
  • Ashleigh
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 18 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a lifetime

21 Jul 2013 - 03 Sep 2013

Best thing I have ever done in my life. I made friends on the first day, and have made friends for life. It was great to be able to travel around Europe with such good friends and company. The bus was fantastic, the accommodation was great, especially the contiki stop overs, the bus driver was halarious, and the Tour Manager knew all the ins and outs of all the cities we visited. All of the optional extras were worth it, and made the trip even more special. As did the free days to explore cities with your new friends. The Egypt option was a special highlight, and was a dream come true for me. 45 days went by so fast we didn't want it to end, we could have kept going forever!

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: Life changing, Incredible , Fun

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

You won't regret this trip.

12 May 2013 - 25 Jun 2013

There is so much to this tour that you will love. The places, the food, the people and the parties.. Oh the parties.. You will see some of the most beautiful places in the world and make memories you will never forget.
My favorite places were Egypt, Budapest and Istanbul. The Eastern Travel is definitely worth it!

Do every optional, go out with your tour manager when they suggest something because you won't remember the nights you slept in (that's what the 8 hour bus trips are for).
You get used to the food, there's usually plenty there but its the basics, toast or some normal cereal, dinners are usually decent at the hotels and pretty good when you go out on tour. Lunch time is usually when you get to go out yourself and splurge a bit so make the most of them.
One thing i wish i did was spend all of my money, i worried and i saved as much as i could and didn't make the most of some nights. The best advice i can give you is come home in debt. Make the most of your tour and if you see something you like BUY IT! When is the next time you'll come through Florence or Vienna or Cairo?

Spend your money, make great friends, take photos but most of all have an amazing time.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Culture, Party, SLEEP!!

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time of my life

29 Apr 2012 - 12 Jun 2012

I just finished the Ultimate European tour with the Egypt option. Booking this trip was the best decision I have made in my life. Our driver Brian and manager Matty Lawless were probably the best on the Europe circuit and they helped make our trip. The others in the tour were fantastic and we have left as not just friends but as family :)

Great value for money, free WIFI at most places you stay, good food and great advice on what to see or do. You can't really ask for more.

The optionals were so much fun!!! Do everything even if it scares you!!! Paragliding in Austria was my favourite thing and Im terrified of heights!!

Would do this again in a heartbeat :)

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Epic, Partytime, Friends

event 0.3
  • BrittK
  • BrittK
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7 Weeks I'll never forget!

14 Jun 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

event 0.3
  • BrittK
  • BrittK
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7 Weeks I'll never forget!

14 Jun 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

event 0.3
  • BrittK
  • BrittK
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7 Weeks I'll never forget!

14 Jun 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

event 0.3
  • BrittK
  • BrittK
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 19 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

7 Weeks I'll never forget!

14 Jun 2009 - 28 Jul 2009

The whole tour was amazing, great bus driver, great tour guide & great people from all over the world to share this amazing experience with. I recommend it highly as it's so much fun & you get to see & do so much.

Review written May 2012

My Contiki was: Adventurous, Enjoyable, Cultural

event 0.3
  • GEM
  • GEM
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 17 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

28 Mar 2011 - 11 May 2011

It's hard to think of a bad thing abour our UE. I got to see and do so much. We had such a good group and our TM Steve Ellison was full of knowledge and our TD Aidan Hopkins driving was awesome. The weather could not have been more perfect, Steve's playlists were great, the games were fun, we had great theme parties, the accommodation was good overall. Sometimes things didn't go to plan (like the Colosseum closing early or the trains not running in Egypt) but it always turned out ok. We all got along so well and now I miss my Contiki family! Amen for Facebook :)

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Memorable, Family

event 0.3
  • Emilie
  • Emilie
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
Ultimate European plus Egypt
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

17 Aug 2010 - 30 Sep 2010

I did the Ultimate European last year and can honestly say it was the best thing I have ever done in my life. I saw the most incredible sights, ate the most amazing food, and had the most fun EVER. The eiffel tower, Monte Carlo Casino, the colloseum, the acropolis, blue mosque, Anzac Cove, Swiss Alps, Oktoberfest (If you go in September)....need I say more?

Not a day has passed that I do not think about Europe and Contiki. The people that you meet on tour are like minded travellers who want to have a good time and I have made amazing new friends and travel buddies from Australia and around the world.

Between your tour manager, bus driver and the reps, Contiki are a company that go out of their way to make sure your trip is one you will never forget. I loved doing a Concept tour because staying in the Contiki villages is so fun, some of the best bars!

If you want to have the best 45 days of your life I highly recommend this tour.

Review written Mar 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Incredible, Unbeatable

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 45 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 8 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 25 nights in hotel upgrade, 4 nights in hostels, +1 night on board a ferry, +1 overnight train (sleeper seat)
  • Return air transfer from Athens to Cairo
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 71 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 44 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 26 dinners

Inclusions

  • 24 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
  • Secrets of Venice Walking Tour
  • Gondola ride
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Space Disco
  • Tuscan Dinner
  • Vatican Tour
  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Pompeii Guided Walking Tour
  • Captains Cruise of Corfu
  • Ionian Dinner Experience
  • Car Hire
  • Tour t-shirts
  • Water sports
  • Nile Cruise with Buffet Dinner & Show
  • Group Photo
  • Nubian Village Visit
  • Abu Simbel's Temple of Ramses II
  • Guided visit of the Temple of Karnak & Luxor
  • Red Sea Cruise
  • 'Kervansaray' Turkish evening
  • Group Photo Budapest
  • River Cruise with dinner
  • Old Vienna Schnaps Museum
  • Schnitzel and Screams
  • Tandem paragliding
  • Mountain bike tour & BBQ lunch
  • Mike's Bikes Tour
  • White Water Rafting
  • Jungfrau Mountain visit
  • Wine tasting
  • Canal bike tour
  • Canal cruise (1 hour)
  • Sea Palace Dinner
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$150
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
13 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.