Ultimate European plus Greek Islands

Tour Length
46 days
From
US$6995
Overview Reviews

  • Tara
  • Tara
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A++

23 Jun 2013 - 06 Aug 2013

Contiki's Ultimate European was the most exciting experience of my life. Not only did I experience so many cultures in the amount of time we had, but I made friends that I will have for a lifetime. This trip was worth all of my money and I recommend it to anyone wanting to travel Europe.

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Exciting, Mind blowing, Impressive

event 0.3
  • Teleah88
  • Teleah88
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 18 Countries
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The best experience of my life

26 May 2013 - 09 Jul 2013

Wow where do I start! This tour was incredible & we all became 1 big happy family including our tour manager & bus driver! The sights we seen, the things we done & the people we met were amazing, awesome, no words can describe how good it actually was!

My favourite part of the tour was getting to see snow for the first in the Swiss Alps & learning how to snow board. Another highlight was Budapest, that city surprised me sooo much. It's cheap & looks incredible! They call it "The Paris of Eastern Europe" & I can see why. It's a beautiful city with sooo much to see & do & the nightlife is awesome!! As a bonus we were staying in an awesome hostel right in the middle of the action!!

The accommodation in all the places were good we had a couple of dodgy joints but by dodgy I mean no shower curtain or no remote for the air con but honestly we were there 1 night so it didn't make a difference & it makes the experience that much better as we all had a laugh about it.

The contiki stops & teams were awesome! They were some of the best meals I had on tour & you certainly don't go hungry.

I recommend you do all the optionals as they were awesome & you got value for money! I don't regret doing any & experiencing it with your new family makes it that much better!

This trip was definitely a massive eye opener to me as in what's out there in the big wide world & I'm currently planning my next big trip which includes 3 Contikis.
So if you are thinking about booking this tour do it! 45 days was not long enough & we all wanted to do the tour again & not leave each other. It was a sad day leaving the family but if I had the option I would do this tour again in a heart beat!

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Incredible, Amazing, Breath taking

event 0.3
  • Steff Bell
  • Steff Bell
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The BEST tour Contiki has to offer

24 Jun 2012 - 07 Aug 2012

I cannot even begin to describe how amazing this tour is!!! I had the best month and a half of my life, with such a fantastic group of people. Everyone got along, and by the end we had become so close we were like family. I am so glad I didn't go on anything shorter, because even 45 days isn't long enough.

If you're considering doing this tour, then STOP CONSIDERING AND JUST BOOK IT!! You WON'T regret it.

One suggestion would be to possibly do the Egypt option with this tour, and then do a Greek Island Hopping tour afterwards to get the best of both worlds. :)

Review written Sep 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Life-changing, Family

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Best 47 Days Of Your Life

26 Mar 2012 - 11 May 2012

This tour was absolutely fantastic. We had an amazing group, an awesome Tour Manager, and an awe inspiring bus driver (seriously, I don't know how she did it.). You see so many amazing things, the places you read about in history class and see on tv, and do some totally cool trips. Drink wine under the eiffel tower and climb it at night, eat escargot in a fancy french restaurant before going and partying it up, Paris style. Sip wine at the gorgeous French Chateau, Sangria and Flamenco in Barcelona, win a little money in Monte Carlo. Explore the canals of Venice on a gondola, party it up in Florence after seeing the gorgeous Italian city, and experience the history of Rome. Go on George's boat in Corfu, seriously, it's one of the best options, and one of the most fantastic days on tour (don't forget to bring a little cash for their hilarious shirts and watersports!). The Greek Islands are gorgeous! My tour was early in the year, so a warning for those who take the early tour for ANZAC day, a lot of Ios is closed until the next week, but we got around that by renting ourselves Quadbikes and exploring the Island that way (Must do, definitely the best way to get around and see the whole island. And they only cost about 20 euro for 24 hours). Riding donkeys in Santorini and shopping it up, the volcano tour and swimming in thermal pools (also, if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the road for 30 minutes, you get to a gorgeous black sand beach). ANZAC day was a truly incredible experience in Gallipoli, even for myself as a Canadian, and Istanbul is such a cool city. The trip through the East is a quick one, with a night in Bulgaria and Serbia before Hungary for 2 nights, and you get the fun of crossing borders, but it's neat seeing the countries that most tourists bypass, and going out at night is super fun. Austria is amazing, and I definitely recommend both the paragliding and the white water rafting, both were totally worth the money and the fun. And take 20 euro with you when you go paragliding, because the photos that the instructors take for you are definitely worth it. The beer halls in Munich were way fun, and I definitely recommend getting the pork knuckle. It's the size of a baby's head, and absolutely deliciousssss. The Chalet in Switzerland is in the prettiest landscape ever, and I also recommend going up Mount Jungfrau, especially if you've never seen snow before, it was socked in with cloud when we were up, and it was still magnificent. Rhine Valley was sweet, and Amsterdam was out of this world, both with the craziness that it is, as well as partying it up for the last couple nights of tour.

The whole tour was an absolute blast! My tour mates were definitely some of the best people I've ever met, and they became my extended family of 45 other people who I miss dearly. The food was delicious from the Contiki places, and the optional meals are always amazing. The Contiki houses are definitely the best places ever, with the best parties I've ever been to. The Contiki staff are awesome people, and our TM and Bus Driver were fantastic people. They went above and beyond all the time, from finding the best places to go out at night, solving problems, getting us around, and even organized a trip to a concentration camp that wasn't originally part of the tour after the majority of the tour asked her if it would be possible. They play games on long drives, and always make sure we're having fun, as well as party it up with us at night.

It was definitely worth the money, and the optionals are fantastic. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves adventure, new discoveries, meeting new people (and hanging out with them for 45 days), and seeing a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. You might only be in a city for a short period of time, but you do manage to cram a lot into that time. You get a taste of everything, eat a lot of delicious food, do lots of amazing activities, and even the time spent on the bus is fun, between the games and the people you're with (and the sleep you can catch up on). Doing this longer tour was a last minute decision on my part, and I'm so glad I chose it, because I never wanted this tour to end. The worst part of this whole tour is leaving your new family at the end, and going home to the reality of life not on tour. If you're on the fence, just do it. Go for it, and have an absolute blast. I'd do it again in a heartbeat (and trust me, we tried to convince our driver to just bypass London and go right back to Paris to start it all over again.)

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Adventure, Experiences, Fun

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Best 47 Days Of Your Life

26 Mar 2012 - 11 May 2012

This tour was absolutely fantastic. We had an amazing group, an awesome Tour Manager, and an awe inspiring bus driver (seriously, I don't know how she did it.). You see so many amazing things, the places you read about in history class and see on tv, and do some totally cool trips. Drink wine under the eiffel tower and climb it at night, eat escargot in a fancy french restaurant before going and partying it up, Paris style. Sip wine at the gorgeous French Chateau, Sangria and Flamenco in Barcelona, win a little money in Monte Carlo. Explore the canals of Venice on a gondola, party it up in Florence after seeing the gorgeous Italian city, and experience the history of Rome. Go on George's boat in Corfu, seriously, it's one of the best options, and one of the most fantastic days on tour (don't forget to bring a little cash for their hilarious shirts and watersports!). The Greek Islands are gorgeous! My tour was early in the year, so a warning for those who take the early tour for ANZAC day, a lot of Ios is closed until the next week, but we got around that by renting ourselves Quadbikes and exploring the Island that way (Must do, definitely the best way to get around and see the whole island. And they only cost about 20 euro for 24 hours). Riding donkeys in Santorini and shopping it up, the volcano tour and swimming in thermal pools (also, if you turn left out of the hotel and follow the road for 30 minutes, you get to a gorgeous black sand beach). ANZAC day was a truly incredible experience in Gallipoli, even for myself as a Canadian, and Istanbul is such a cool city. The trip through the East is a quick one, with a night in Bulgaria and Serbia before Hungary for 2 nights, and you get the fun of crossing borders, but it's neat seeing the countries that most tourists bypass, and going out at night is super fun. Austria is amazing, and I definitely recommend both the paragliding and the white water rafting, both were totally worth the money and the fun. And take 20 euro with you when you go paragliding, because the photos that the instructors take for you are definitely worth it. The beer halls in Munich were way fun, and I definitely recommend getting the pork knuckle. It's the size of a baby's head, and absolutely deliciousssss. The Chalet in Switzerland is in the prettiest landscape ever, and I also recommend going up Mount Jungfrau, especially if you've never seen snow before, it was socked in with cloud when we were up, and it was still magnificent. Rhine Valley was sweet, and Amsterdam was out of this world, both with the craziness that it is, as well as partying it up for the last couple nights of tour.

The whole tour was an absolute blast! My tour mates were definitely some of the best people I've ever met, and they became my extended family of 45 other people who I miss dearly. The food was delicious from the Contiki places, and the optional meals are always amazing. The Contiki houses are definitely the best places ever, with the best parties I've ever been to. The Contiki staff are awesome people, and our TM and Bus Driver were fantastic people. They went above and beyond all the time, from finding the best places to go out at night, solving problems, getting us around, and even organized a trip to a concentration camp that wasn't originally part of the tour after the majority of the tour asked her if it would be possible. They play games on long drives, and always make sure we're having fun, as well as party it up with us at night.

It was definitely worth the money, and the optionals are fantastic. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves adventure, new discoveries, meeting new people (and hanging out with them for 45 days), and seeing a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. You might only be in a city for a short period of time, but you do manage to cram a lot into that time. You get a taste of everything, eat a lot of delicious food, do lots of amazing activities, and even the time spent on the bus is fun, between the games and the people you're with (and the sleep you can catch up on). Doing this longer tour was a last minute decision on my part, and I'm so glad I chose it, because I never wanted this tour to end. The worst part of this whole tour is leaving your new family at the end, and going home to the reality of life not on tour. If you're on the fence, just do it. Go for it, and have an absolute blast. I'd do it again in a heartbeat (and trust me, we tried to convince our driver to just bypass London and go right back to Paris to start it all over again.)

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Adventure, Experiences, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Jessieb89
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best time of my life!!!

03 Jul 2011 - 16 Aug 2011

This was one of the best decisions of my life.
Such an awesome trip, Contiki looks after everything so all you have to do is make sure your on the bus every morning! :) True holiday and so full of fun. We did everything I've ever wanted to do in Europe plus so much more!!! Could not recommend this tour enough! Definitely opt in for ALL of the optionals for a real experience of Europe and the 16 incredible countries you visit.
I made 52 new friends for life that are really like a family. We are all still in touch 6 weeks later and will be forever more!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Incredible, Amazing, Life-altering

event 0.3
  • wrc_10
  • wrc_10
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 16 Countries
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing Trip!

12 Jun 2011 - 26 Jul 2011

I have to say this was the trip of a lifetime, it really was. The sights were amazing and the people on the tour including the road crew were amazing, which just made it a fantastic trip that I'll never forget! We covered alot of the main destinations in Europe which was great and were given plenty of free time to see what we wanted to see. So much fun and made some great new friends. Looking forward to more travel in the near future! Thanks Contiki :)

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Fun, Friendships, Party

event 0.3
Ultimate European plus Greek Islands
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

10 Jun 2011 - 26 Jul 2011

I had no idea what I was in for with my first Contiki and the UE tour. This trip was absolutely mind-blowing and life-changing in the best ways imagineable and more ways than I would have ever thought possible. I undoubtedly had THE best summer of my 21 years of life and was not expecting it at all. First of all, our tour manager, Roxy, was outstanding. She knew her stuff and was part of the group herself, integrated herself as one of us and ran our group as a team leader but made sure we had fun and stayed on our level and didn't make it seem like she was just a chaperone, she was hilarious and ALWAYS had an amazing time. Laszlo our driver was fabulous too, always a trip (no pun intended:)) and obsessed with keeping the coach tidy always. The Ostems at the Contiki sites were fab, and the sites themselves, all over the continent were amazing, omg words cannot describe the amazing time I had, and the bonds I developed with these friends I met over the 47 days I was with them, I felt like I had known them forever and developed closer friendships with them than I have with people I have known back at home for years. By the end of the seven weeks I came back home to the United States with the intent to turn right back around and get back out and travel, something I hadn't really had the intention to do before. I had been out of the country before but this time, I thought I was just going on a long holiday for the summer, but this UE trip really opened my eyes to what a huge world is waiting out there for me and how much there is to see NOW--definitely put my priorities in reorder--I've been home about a month and a half and have since reopened my savings account and have booked my next two trips and am just saving up and planning for the next few more and have so much bigger goals in life now and am just overall happier in life, never thought just a summer holiday in Europe would change my life so drastically. Long story short, THANK YOU Contiki, I will be seeing you on my next tour for Spring Break in Bay of Islands in New Zealand come March 2012, and in the meantime can't wait to catch up with some of my UE buddies this Christmas back in Europe over the holidays!!;D Much much love, Maggie 'DC' xoxoxo

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Amazing, Memorable, Life-changing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 45 nights accommodation: 2 nights in Contiki’s French Château, 2 nights in Contiki’s Austrian Gasthof, 2 nights in Contiki’s Swiss Chalet, 8 nights in Contiki Village cabins, 26 nights in hotel upgrade, 4 nights in hostels, +1 night on board a ferry
  • Local ferry transfers – Athens to Ios, Ios to Santorini, Santorini to Athens
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages & Special Stopovers
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 69 meals included in Food Fund:
  • 44 breakfasts
  • 1 picnic lunch
  • 24 dinners

Inclusions

  • 21 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour with Champagne & escargot
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$152
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
8 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.