Vienna & Budapest

Tour Length
5 days
From
US$875
Overview Reviews

  • Denise
  • Denise
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 3 Countries
Vienna & Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great trip for 5 days!

26 Sep 2014 - 30 Sep 2014

I was so shocked to see the amount of people that were on this tour! This particular one met up halfway through the main tour, Berlin to Budapest but thankfully the rest of the group was so welcoming and was just as excited to meet other people.

Officially you get a full day in Vienna with this tour since you meet up with everyone the evening before at 6pm. Thankfully I arrived in the city early that morning so I was able to hang out and see some more sights rather than trying to fit it all in one day. Driving through to Bratislava was really cool and I wish we would've had a little more time there. Budapest was awesome all around but I would definitely recommend purchasing an extra night through Contiki to stay in the hotel because it is a big city and if you'd like to revisit certain spots or take a bike tour this is a great day to do it.

Overall, I had such a great time on this trip!! I met amazing people with amazing stories, mostly about their travels :) and I will be recommending this tour/company to friends and family. Our tour manager was great and was very helpful and knowledgeable about the cities we visited! Keep in mind that you'll have a lot of free time (more than I was expecting) so try to do some research in case there is something you would like to do that's not included.

Review written Oct 2014

event 0.3
  • WillMiller
  • WillMiller
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Vienna & Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Nothing short of amazing

06 Jun 2014 - 10 Jun 2014

This contiki was definitely worth every cent. You do so much and it pays for hotels, travel, some tour guides and museums, breakfast and dinner some/most days, and you do things you never normally would.

I never would've gone to Schonbrunn Palace and watched a classical concert in vienna, or gone to this awesome amusement park just outside Vienna. I never would have gotten a local tour guide across Budapest, especially with all people around my age, and I never would have gone inside the Hungarian Parliament building and saw the President.

And that wasn't really it. It was the people, the relationships you form with the travellers on the Contiki, including the tour operator and coach driver.

I'd reccomend it to anyone who wanted a quick, cheap getaway.

Review written Jun 2014

My Contiki was: unforgettable, exciting, picturesque

event 0.3
  • Sarah
  • Sarah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Vienna & Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Vienna & Budapest Love

26 Oct 2012 - 30 Oct 2012

I had an awesome time on this tour, met some really nice people and hope to keep in touch. I think maybe the tour was a little too short for me, next time i'm going to choose at least a 2 week tour.
The only real downer about this tour was finding out just before we went that we were actually joining half way though another tour. This made it really hard to make friends and fit in as everyone had already made close bonds.
It was still a trip i would do again, I Loved Hungary and Austria

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Fun, Exploratory , Party!!!!!

event 0.3
Vienna & Budapest
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome!

23 Mar 2012 - 28 Mar 2012

The only thing I would change is make it 8 days! one more day in Budapest and one more day in Vienna. I stayed an extra day in Budapest after the tour ended, I would recommend that. I loved both places but unexpectedly loved Budapest even more than Vienna, incredible architecture and incredible art galleries. I would recommend going out to Mounento Park which is also know as Statue Park, this is where all the communist statues are. I went on my own, the day I was there an extra day. It would be so great if the tour included that as a optional activity.

Review written Apr 2012

My Contiki was: unexpected beauty, architecture gems, historically wonderful

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 4 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • 6 meals: 4 continental breakfasts & 2 three-course dinners
  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 4 continental breakfasts
  • 2 Regional Dinners: a Austrian experience in Vienna & a Hungarian feast on a Danube river cruise

Inclusions

  • 3 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Scenic drive along the historic Ring Road
  • See Schönbrunn Palace, St. Stephen's Cathedral & the State Opera House
See More

Me Time

  • Old Vienna Schnaps Museum
  • Vienna Classical Concert & Dinner
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$175
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.