Winter Wanderer

Tour Length
25 days
From
US$3625
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Katherine
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Try it

15 Mar 2013 - 07 Apr 2013

This is a great quick way to see Western Europe. The guides are amazing big shout out to hannah she's the best. You will cover all the sites you always see in the movies and on TV. My advice be prepared to take all the opportunities they offer you.

Review written Apr 2015

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Beka
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 0 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Crazy Cold Fun!

29 Dec 2012 - 21 Jan 2013

I did this tour two years ago, so it's been a while, but as I'm about to finally do my 2nd Contiki I thought I'd review the first!
It is a great way to tick so many boxes in Europe - It's crazy to think how many countries I've visited, and now I know which places I want to see again in more details.
It was soooo cold, but I packed accordingly and it was nice to have snow as we walked through places like Prague and Amsterdam.
The best thing about this tour is because it's in winter, there aren't so many tourists, and you get to see places in a different light, other than the sunny postcard pictures most people imagine in summer.
The people were amazing - our tour guide and driver, Laura and Andras were phenomenal. Our bus was full of Aussies, and they were so much fun. Heaps of couples, which was perfect for us as we were also a couple, but also a group of singles who bed hopped a bit.
If it's your first Contiki, do it. It's awesome, and just long enough to say you've had a great time, and you're ready to go home at the end!
Take way more money than you think you'll need. There are extra things to do all over the place, and there were some people on our trip who couldn't afford it and it sucked for them, and also for us because we didn't want to talk about it in front of them.

Review written Apr 2015

My Contiki was: Jam-packed, Whirlwind, Awesome

event 0.3
  • rjl94
  • rjl94
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A 'must add to the bucket list' trip

31 Dec 2014 - 23 Jan 2015

Where do i start? This trip was hands-down the best experience I've had in life so far.
I've met some great personalities whom I'm sure I'll be friends with for life, some mind-blowing cities in Europe and had the most interesting experiences I will never forget!
Our awesome tour manager Greg was very informative and humorous and our friendly driver Francisco 'Chico' was also a great laugh and an extremely skilled coach driver.
The sites we saw were breath-taking from the Eiffel Tower in Paris to the IAmsterdam sign in Amsterdam and all in between.
Some tips:
- pack layers, layers and more layers (I'm one to freeze even in Aussie winters ,but taking and wearing lots of layers helped a tonne!)
- it is likely you will catch the cold/flu, so pack enough vitamins, meds etc to get you started and there are chemists on every corner so stock up when needed.
- do all the optional extras and make the most of nights on the town with the group.
- be prepared to stay out late and wake up early
- take a book/ e reader, ipod, iPad, playing cards etc for bus days
- there was a mix of solo travellers, couples (we had 2 lovely married couples on our trip) and large friendship groups who all got a long and mingled with each other.

You won't regret going on this tour! #noregrets

Review written Mar 2015

My Contiki was: Friends for life, Eye-opening, Nights out

event 0.3
  • Kym
  • Kym
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Our WW Contiki Family

07 Nov 2014 - 30 Nov 2014

This was my first time travelling so it was very daunting at first but the tour I picked was amazing!! Our tour manager and bus driver were beyond fantastic and went out of their way to make this experience both easy and a 'once in a life time trip' (you'll hear this a lot with Contiki) but it honestly is. The included activities are amazing and some even breath-taking. The accommodation is great, and there was even wifi (which believe me, you crave). I opted to do most of the optional activities which I am glad I did, I tried some things that in my normal life I probably wouldn't have, I ate some weird food (frog legs, snails, beef cheek, just to name a few). But, most of all- I met some of the most kind and amazing people that I have ever met in my entire life. At the beginning of the trip they will tell you 'you'll have 50 new friends by the end of this trip' and you look around and think 'maybe 20 if that' but in all seriousness by the end of your trip you really will have 50 brand new and life long friends, even the people you looked at on the first day and thought 'no way in hell'. I am so glad I went with Contiki for my first trip and I am already researching and planning my second and third. Even if you aren't a party animal but someone who wants to breathe in the sights and relive the history, Contiki is still a place you can do that. I will remember my trip and the people for the rest of my life. I sincerely hope you get the chance to say that about your trip one day soon.

Review written Dec 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Breath Taking, Stress Free

event 0.3
  • RachMase
  • RachMase
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer

24 Oct 2014 - 16 Nov 2014

I am just writing in to say that this Contiki trip was absolutely amazing! Rhi (our tour manager) and Sandro (our coach driver) were beyond a doubt the best any trip could ever ask for! I have #noregrets whatsoever and that's all because of these two fantastic people!! Thank you Rhi and Sandro making this a trip of a lifetime!! xoxox

Review written Nov 2014

event 0.3
  • Jo
  • Jo
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Winter Wandering

17 Jan 2014 - 09 Feb 2014

Such an amazing time with a great bunch of people! Seeing all the tourist attractions especially the Alps and roads were covered with snow! Everything was so picturesque! Tour Manager Trent always went above and beyond and did everything he could to make our trip amazing. You get the best parts of Europe handed to you!
Definitely recommend! Just remember to rug up!

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Amazing, Beautiful, Picturesque

event 0.3
  • Goana
  • Goana
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Oh What A Time <3

08 Nov 2013 - 01 Dec 2013

Well this is it. I don't know if it was because we had the greatest team or not, but hey. A definate trip of a life time. Something I will never forget and have never regreted ;)

Don't be fooled, depending on when you go you will be amazed by the weather. We had sunshine and warm days in the begining of the trip. As soon as we entered Germany-Austria it was snow from then on out.

Contiki is what you make it. I didn't go out much as I wanted to be aware of what I was seeing and be able to take in what was around me. Thank god I did, because I would have missed out on so many stories and walking trips with the tour guide. For example, I saw Prauge at night, when others decided to head out and drink. Also went to an amusement park in Austria (not planned)

On average I spent about $1,500 extra on my trip (this was for the times that we didn't have lunch or dinner planned)

If you are going on your own, have no fear, everyone is there for you, you'll find your niche of friends. It happens, trust me!

Also DO ALL THE ADD ON EXTRAS!!! boy am I a little annoyed I didn't do that.
Don't get the group photo. But do get the T-shirt/Hoodie (in the picture)

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Mesmerizing, Snowy, Fantastic

event 0.3
  • Alanah
  • Alanah
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer Nov 22nd 2013

22 Nov 2013 - 15 Dec 2013

My boyfriend and I literally had the best time of our lives. This tour was great, we got to see so much and experience an amazing European winter! Heads up the included meals aren't the best but they're decent for what you pay for. We did almost all of the optionals so make sure you budget for the extras. Our tour guide Jamie was amazing she was so dedicated and helpful. Our bus driver was awesome too, he was the best driver. Our hotels were decent and mostly central to everything. We met such great people too. It really packed so much into the time we had and we were able to get the most out of our holiday. Would recommend this tour to anyone!

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: greatest, winter, experience

event 0.3
  • Andrew
  • Andrew
  • Level 6 Traveler
  • 6 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Awesome Trip

20 Mar 2013 - 14 Apr 2013

This was by far the best trip I have been on. Got to see all the great sights in London, Paris, Barcelona, Everywhere. Switzerland was great, Italy was awesome, Berlin was cool. Great trip great times.

Review written Aug 2013

My Contiki was: Sights, Drinking, Memories

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Aleesha
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

New Found Love

08 Feb 2013 - 03 Mar 2013

You see and read about all of Europe, but to experience it is a whole other thing!
Highly recommend this tour to all those that want a taste of Europe. I've started an addiction

Review written Jul 2013

My Contiki was: Mesmerizing, Exhilarating , Worth-every-penny

event 0.3
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer 2012

19 Oct 2012 - 11 Nov 2012

This tour is fantastic if you have a short amount of time to see the highlights of europe! There were 53 of us on the first tour of the season, mostly aussies! Matt was group leader and Ana was our bus driver, both GREAT at what they do! Obviously 24 days isnt alot of time to take in 12 different countries and there were more than a few early mornings & travel days. That being said when we did arrive at a new destination we sure as hell made the most of our time. Mostly everyone joined in the optional extras which were around $600 on top of the tour. Thanks again to Matt, Ana & everyone who made my trip unforgettable. You will not regret this tour!

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: ah-, maz-, in!

event 0.3
  • kardash24
  • kardash24
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Winter Wanderer

winter wanderer

BEST TIME OF MY ABSOLUTE LIFE!
still friends with so many people on my contiki, the tour guide and bus driver were amazing, great food, great accomodation, you get to see the best countries in the world- it doesnt matter that it is winter time, you get so drunk that you don't even feel the cold haha... it is seriously so much fun and i recommend it to anyone!!! :)

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Clancy
  • Clancy
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 20 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A Wonderful Winter Wandering Around

06 Feb 2010 - 01 Mar 2010

It was my first trip overseas and I went solo - an experience I'll never forget or regret. Winter was fantastic - no crowds, no lines so able to see as much as possible and heaps cheaper too (plus I like the cold so it didnt bother me but we also had an amazing run of seasonally abnormal sunny days). All in all, I had an amazing time and meet some amazing people. It was a great way to get a taste of everything so I know what to come back - totally reccomend for anyone on a budget and doesnt mind the cold and would like to see Europe in a different light :-)

Review written May 2013

event 0.3
  • Hannah
  • Hannah
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 13 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer

15 Oct 2011 - 07 Nov 2011

Had the most amazing time. Going back to do the Greek Islands in 2013.
Our group was amazing and Majeic (Bus driver) and Sophia (guide) were just incredible and awesome people! Sophia knew many things about Europe and It was so easy to contain the information.

CONTIKIIIIII follow the right leaddeeerrrrr

Review written Dec 2012

My Contiki was: AMAZING, SPECTACULAR, AWESOME

event 0.3
  • Nomineee
  • Nomineee
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer

Breathless- in more ways than one

26 Oct 2012 - 18 Nov 2012

Only a few days ago I finished this tour. I am left breathless by the amount packed into this tour & how I have experienced Europe. It was amazing. There is no other way to pack all of this incredible adventuring into 24 days & contiki have shone by providing everything that a young traveller would need and want. I had such an fantastic time & if you are after the ultimate winter extravaganza, this is your tour!!!

Review written Nov 2012

My Contiki was: Impressive, Full on, Incredible

event 0.3
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Time of my life!!

29 Oct 2011 - 21 Nov 2011

I couldn't write nicer things about this tour. I had the most amazing experience, saw beautiful places and met awesome people! The tour manager and the driver were very helpful and educated, gave us really cool tips and organised everything! Try and do all the optionals, although it is good to wander off and explore the city youre at!
Bus rides are loong, so load your ipad/laptop etc with movies and books, and a pillow (or you can steal one from a hotel)...
Prague was my favourite city, it's really charming.

Review written Nov 2012

event 0.3
  • kaityelise
  • kaityelise
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer

29 Jan 2011 - 21 Feb 2011

This was the best tour. I made awesome friends for life, nick our tour guide was amazing, he knew everything about every country! And tim our bus driver the scotts man was to funny and made our trip even more awesome! Would deffanety recommend the winder tanderer tour, enough countries to see in the right amount of time! :)

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: best, trip, ever

event 0.3
  • kaityelise
  • kaityelise
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 21 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Winter Wanderer

29 Jan 2011 - 21 Feb 2011

This was the best tour. I made awesome friends for life, nick our tour guide was amazing, he knew everything about every country! And tim our bus driver the scotts man was to funny and made our trip even more awesome! Would deffanety recommend the winder tanderer tour, enough countries to see in the right amount of time! :)

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: best, trip, ever

event 0.3
  • Celeste
  • Celeste
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Winter Wanderer
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Wandering in Winter

20 Dec 2008 - 12 Jan 2009

Whilst I was hesitant about seeing Europe during winter, I must say this tour was the time of my life - 4 years later I still talk about it!

I found 24 days to be perfect, long enough to get to know everyone really well, but not too long that we were over the days of driving. By the end it was like saying goodbye to family, such a social, friendly bunch of people.

There was enough time to see all the 'big ticket' places and mostly I didnt feel rushed. The accomodation was better than expected, with Florence being the only real let down, also in Amsterdam we were a long way from town - someone got ill and it cost 120E to get back to the hotel!

The optionals were hit and miss, but everyone did almost everything - Moulin Rouge is a must!

Review written Jun 2012

My Contiki was: Amazing, Social, Fun

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Rana
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 12 Countries
Winter Wanderer

Winter Wanderer 3 March 2012

03 Mar 2012 - 26 Mar 2012

This is one of the best trips I have ever done. I would recommend anyone going to Europe to travel with contiki. Thankyou to Pete and Mike for showing us an awesome time.

Review written Apr 2012

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 24 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 23 continental breakfasts
  • 12 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 13 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Moulin Rouge
  • Mt. Pilatus
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$145
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
31 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.