Simply Italy (Winter)

Tour Length
12 days
From
US$1406
Overview Reviews

Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Perfection with a dash of party!

16 Jan 2012 - 27 Jan 2012

This was my first Contiki and it exceeded my expectation by a mile! If you want to see Italy in depth and meet new friends along the way, I couldn't think of a better tour. The best part of the trip for me was travelling around such a gorgeous country with a bunch of like minded people who ended up being life long friends. The optionals are great and I wouldn't sit out on many of them. My favourite optional would have to be the dinner in Florence which was easily one of the best nights of my life! Great food, great wine, great company and a guy who looked like a meatloaf impersonator playing the piano! Perfection :) Our Tour Manager Yannick (quickly got the name Enrique for no other reason than that he looked like an Enrique) and bus drive Fabio (whatever you do don't order a Fabio pizza haha) were a great duo and really brought our group together. I knew if I was ever in trouble they would be there to help no matter what, which was really comforting. I would do this tour again in a heart beat!

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Party, Explore, Friendship

event 0.3
  • Aussie Mad
  • Aussie Mad
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply the Best!

07 Nov 2011 - 18 Nov 2011

The length of this tour allows everyone in the group to get to know each other and really develop some amazing friendships. Our close knit group came from all different parts of Australia to catch up last year and we were just as close then as we were on tour. This was all helped by our amazing tour manager Katia, our Contiki Mama.
We got off to a slow start as we took a taxi to the wrong hotel, as the one we were supposed to be staying at shut down and the information we were given was not totally clear. Luckily we met others there in the same situation and shared a taxi to the right hotel. Rome was beautiful but busy. Sorrento was beautiful and relaxing although our trip to Capri was very foggy, rainy and most things were shut because it was Autumn heading into Winter.
I did all the tour optionals and they were all fabulous, especially the ones that were dinners. The food was amazing! Best spaghetti I have ever had in Florence. I loved this city as it had such a beautiful feel about it and was not as 'in your face' as the other cities. Venice was spectacular, the glass demonstration is a must see! We stayed on the main land and travelled by train and boat which was fine. The hotel here was so spacious and nice it was amazing to get back to and relax. In my opinion Milan was overrated and too busy to enjoy, so many people shoving things in your face and nothing really amazing to see except for the Cathedral, I would recommend exploring this rather than shopping if you don't like crowds.
Our trip to Cinque Terre was disrupted due to mudslides but we still enjoyed Portovenere, very glamorous. Back to Rome where we went to the Vatican and Trevi fountain at night, so gorgeous and amazing. And finally our farewell dinner where we danced and sang, Katia gave an emotional speech. It was beautiful.
This contiki had a much different feeling to my first one, more mature but still just as fun. I think this is why the friendships I made on this tour are still so strong today, there is only one downside... Missing them all!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Authenic, Breathtaking, Emotional

event 0.3
  • Cass
  • Cass
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Perfect

04 Feb 2013 - 15 Feb 2013

This was my first Contiki, and after this trip I can't imagine any other way to travel. Our tour guide BB and bus driver Cornelius were amazing and did everything possible to make this the holiday of a lifetime. The tour itself was fantastic, not only did we visit all of the tourist sites but we also saw some of the hidden treasures that you often miss when travelling alone. The hotels, included tours and included meals were great but I would definitely recommend doing the optional extras, they were amazing value and lots of fun. Other than the sites and the culture one of the best things i am taking away from this tour are the friendships i've made. In short : I would definitely recommend Contiki as a way of travel and I would definitely recommend this tour. Perfect!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Breathtaking, Unforgettable

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy (Winter) 2011

16 Oct 2011 - 28 Oct 2011

Simply Amazing!!!!

Review written Jun 2012

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Excellent Trip!

05 Dec 2011 - 16 Dec 2011

As a first-time traveller I can really recommend this trip! It was well-organised, with an informative and very knowledgable local guide who helped organise a lot of activities for us, even post-tour. I chose all the optionals except for a few dinners. Would definitely recommend choosing all optional tours as you see and learn so much more than you would otherwise - this was especially true in Rome and Pompeii, and the guides are such fun characters! Included meals were delicious, and so fresh, and for other meals our guide Yannick recommended excellent places. A little, non-English speaking restaurant in La Spezia he recommended had the best ravioli I've ever tasted.
There were a lot of couples in the group, and in some ways it was quite a laid back tour, but there were also some great nights out! We all had a lot of fun.
As someone who only knows how to say "natural water" and "thankyou" in Italian, this trip certainly took the hassle and confusion out of travelling.
Pompeii and Capri were definite highlights, but really the entire trip was just one giant highlight!

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Fun!, Hassle-free, Fantastico!

event 0.3
  • KevinJK79
  • KevinJK79
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

2011 XMAS Tour

18 Dec 2011 - 30 Dec 2011

All was wonderful. Need to improve the included items a bit and the tour in the Vatican Museum was way too fast. More time in Rome and Florence is required. XMAS holidays closed major shopping attraction and Last Supper painting in Milan but the rest of the trip was great.

No lines in places and less crowds to contend with. All included meals were good expect the one in Milan which should be refunded to the whole group. Every plate was left FULL. It was terrible. All the other meals were very good.

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Fast, Fun, Great

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

thumps up

17 Oct 2011 - 28 Oct 2011

it was one of the best trip in my life, had the time of my life and the group was amazing we had a blast, i recommend it to everyone who never been to Italy, this is a trip which you will explore and see italy like you've never seen it before.

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, educational

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 11 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 11 continental breakfasts
  • 4 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 9 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Scenic drive along the coast
  • See Mt. Vesuvius
See More

Me Time

  • Pompeii Guided Walking Tour
  • Souvenir group photo
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$117
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
7 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.