Simply Italy (Winter)

Tour Length
12 days
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • etfonehome
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy (winter)

08 Nov 2010 - 19 Nov 2010

One of the best times I've had in my life.
This trip was very first experience in Europe and I was so sad when the tour ended...
I made so many friends, saw many places and experienced things I'd never forget.

I'm saving up for the next trip back !

Review written Jul 2015

My Contiki was: Fun, Exciting, Beautiful

event 0.3
  • Jess Byrne
  • Jess Byrne
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 4 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Experience

16 Mar 2015 - 27 Mar 2015

Best thing i have ever done! This trip was incredible you spent 12 days falling in love with so much history and culture of Italy. You really got to take time and experience cities and towns and not feel to rushed.
I meet so many amazing people on this trip and made some great new friend and the Enzo's (Tour Manager and Driver) were amazing really went above and beyond to make our trip that much more special.
Defiantly do all of the Extras as they are all worth it the only one i didn't like to much was the final dinner the food wasn't the nicest also the Gondola ride in Venice was to crowded with 5-6 people and wasn't what i expected, defiantly book your own. But everything exceeded my expectations. All hotels were really nice except for Sorrento but can't expect more as its a small town not city. All hotels were in pretty good locations either close to city centre or close to public transport. Food in italy is amazing as we all already know, defiantly try this cute restaurant in Castello, Venice called Marco Polo really yummy pizza for decent price.

My favourite places and experience on the trip
- Isle of Capri and boat ride around Island
- Florence, Statue of David and Bell Tower climb
- Dinner in Verona
- Venice and Palazzo Ducale
- Sirmione and boat ride on Lake Garda
- Wine Tasting Tuscany
- Sistine Chapel Rome

All in all a incredible experience and i recommend to anyone who wants to slow down and get a in-depth history and culture experience of Italy.

Review written May 2015

My Contiki was: Unforgettable

event 0.3
  • Yasin
  • Yasin
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 7 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy winter

02 Feb 2015 - 13 Feb 2015

Great trip overall. Fact paced and energetic. Met a lot of great people on this trip. The tour manager, Claudia was simply amazing we all loved her. Would definitely recommend doing all the me time additionals. Money well spent on the me time. No one will regret doing this tour.

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Amazing, fun, energetic

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Trip of a Lifetime

29 Dec 2014 - 09 Jan 2015

Simply Italy, Simply Amazing - That would be the best way to describe the trip, Everything about the Contiki was wonderful would definitely recommend

Review written Feb 2015

My Contiki was: Trip of a Lifetime

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Cultural submersion, Bucket-list sites and beautiful vistas

29 Dec 2014 - 09 Jan 2015

Check out day by day breakdowns and tips @

I booked this trip last minuet on a whim because I had no New Years plans. I'm so glad I went!

Seeing Italy during the winter is a truly unique experience. The cities are a beautifully lit up with sparkle lights and Christmas decor. Ringing in the New Year in Italy you can feel a sense of hope, love and peace in the air. Our trip was lucky enough to celebrate New Years eve in the stunning seaside town of Sorrento, New Years Day in Florence and the Italian Holiday Epiphany in the Cinque Terre. It was fascinating and truly special to celebrate with the locals and see their beautiful traditions.

Our amazing manager Enzo constantly praised us for our decisions to visit his country during the winter. We were often reminded of our luck when visiting towns like Capri and Venice which during the summer are usually impassable due to the high influx of tourists. Seeing how crowded Verona and Milan were in January, I can only imagine that during the summer these places must be miserably crowded.

I come from a mild climate state so the cold weather didn't really bother me. But many of my Australian tour mates had a pretty rough time on some of the colder days. Apparently it was the coldest January much of the country had seen in 40 years? It snowed in the South!

I think what really makes or breaks your trip is how you spend your free time. I was lucky enough to meet a couple of like-minded people who believed in the Contiki moto #noregrets. We stayed out most nights, met the locals and explored the cities on our own. Some of my favorite memories are when I went walking by myself in Capri and Sirmione. Being in a group is great, but its important to find time for reflection on your own.

I recommend doing all of the me time meal options. I loved the group dinners and most of them provided bottomless wine! The best meal was our final in Rome. The singing waiters were amazing!

I don't recommend doing the Contiki arranged gondola ride. I didn't enjoy being in the gondola with 5 other people. I felt like we were going to tip over and only two people got good seats. The rest of us had to hunch over on little stools. Arrange it on your own! I personally am not interested in in-depth lectures on history so I would not do the walking-tours if I went again. There was more "talking" and less walking. Get a guide pamphlet and explore on your own. I felt like these tours took away from our free time.

I was amazed by the size of the suitcases some people brought for our 12 day trip! Travel tip: Pack and then take out half! You don’t need so much stuff! Everyone complimented me daily on my outfits and I had the smallest suitcase of all the girls! Bring only some key items and mix and match. Because it’s winter you don’t need to worry about getting sweaty or smelly so it’s even easier to pack light! Besides you’re in Italy! If you need more clothes you can buy them there!

My favorite things from the trip?
- Boat ride on Lake Garda
- Montebuoni' Tuscan Dinner
- Electronic Space Disco
- Getting lost in Venice
- New Years in Sorrento
- Chilling with to much wine in the Cinque Terre

*Our hotels were all very nice. Some were pretty far from the city center, but all easily accessible by cab or metro. I booked a triple share and won the lottery by ending up with a single. So that was nice.
*Our guide Enzo was great. He provided a wealth of knowledge about the history and lifestyle of Italy. He was also very passionate about the welfare, growth and our impressions of his home country. I’ll never forget his daily greetings (insert italian accent) “Contiki…..!!!” His pal and our driver Fabio was quiet but also entertaining. He didn’t speak english but he interacted with us using hand signals and facial expressions. He reminded me of Mr.Bean.

I certainly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a more in-depth and cultural experience. It’s great to spend a 12 days in one country. I feel like we really saw the best of Italy and I know I could go back someday and traverse it on my own! Go on this trip. You won’t regret it!

“The richest people in the world are those who have seen it.”

Read more about this trip and others at:

Review written Jan 2015

My Contiki was: life-affirming, comprehensive, absorbing

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Perfection with a dash of party!

16 Jan 2012 - 27 Jan 2012

This was my first Contiki and it exceeded my expectation by a mile! If you want to see Italy in depth and meet new friends along the way, I couldn't think of a better tour. The best part of the trip for me was travelling around such a gorgeous country with a bunch of like minded people who ended up being life long friends. The optionals are great and I wouldn't sit out on many of them. My favourite optional would have to be the dinner in Florence which was easily one of the best nights of my life! Great food, great wine, great company and a guy who looked like a meatloaf impersonator playing the piano! Perfection :) Our Tour Manager Yannick (quickly got the name Enrique for no other reason than that he looked like an Enrique) and bus drive Fabio (whatever you do don't order a Fabio pizza haha) were a great duo and really brought our group together. I knew if I was ever in trouble they would be there to help no matter what, which was really comforting. I would do this tour again in a heart beat!

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Party, Explore, Friendship

event 0.3
  • Aussie Mad
  • Aussie Mad
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply the Best!

07 Nov 2011 - 18 Nov 2011

The length of this tour allows everyone in the group to get to know each other and really develop some amazing friendships. Our close knit group came from all different parts of Australia to catch up last year and we were just as close then as we were on tour. This was all helped by our amazing tour manager Katia, our Contiki Mama.
We got off to a slow start as we took a taxi to the wrong hotel, as the one we were supposed to be staying at shut down and the information we were given was not totally clear. Luckily we met others there in the same situation and shared a taxi to the right hotel. Rome was beautiful but busy. Sorrento was beautiful and relaxing although our trip to Capri was very foggy, rainy and most things were shut because it was Autumn heading into Winter.
I did all the tour optionals and they were all fabulous, especially the ones that were dinners. The food was amazing! Best spaghetti I have ever had in Florence. I loved this city as it had such a beautiful feel about it and was not as 'in your face' as the other cities. Venice was spectacular, the glass demonstration is a must see! We stayed on the main land and travelled by train and boat which was fine. The hotel here was so spacious and nice it was amazing to get back to and relax. In my opinion Milan was overrated and too busy to enjoy, so many people shoving things in your face and nothing really amazing to see except for the Cathedral, I would recommend exploring this rather than shopping if you don't like crowds.
Our trip to Cinque Terre was disrupted due to mudslides but we still enjoyed Portovenere, very glamorous. Back to Rome where we went to the Vatican and Trevi fountain at night, so gorgeous and amazing. And finally our farewell dinner where we danced and sang, Katia gave an emotional speech. It was beautiful.
This contiki had a much different feeling to my first one, more mature but still just as fun. I think this is why the friendships I made on this tour are still so strong today, there is only one downside... Missing them all!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Authenic, Breathtaking, Emotional

event 0.3
  • Cass
  • Cass
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 12 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Perfect

04 Feb 2013 - 15 Feb 2013

This was my first Contiki, and after this trip I can't imagine any other way to travel. Our tour guide BB and bus driver Cornelius were amazing and did everything possible to make this the holiday of a lifetime. The tour itself was fantastic, not only did we visit all of the tourist sites but we also saw some of the hidden treasures that you often miss when travelling alone. The hotels, included tours and included meals were great but I would definitely recommend doing the optional extras, they were amazing value and lots of fun. Other than the sites and the culture one of the best things i am taking away from this tour are the friendships i've made. In short : I would definitely recommend Contiki as a way of travel and I would definitely recommend this tour. Perfect!

Review written Feb 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Breathtaking, Unforgettable

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Simply Italy (Winter) 2011

16 Oct 2011 - 28 Oct 2011

Simply Amazing!!!!

Review written Jun 2012

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Excellent Trip!

05 Dec 2011 - 16 Dec 2011

As a first-time traveller I can really recommend this trip! It was well-organised, with an informative and very knowledgable local guide who helped organise a lot of activities for us, even post-tour. I chose all the optionals except for a few dinners. Would definitely recommend choosing all optional tours as you see and learn so much more than you would otherwise - this was especially true in Rome and Pompeii, and the guides are such fun characters! Included meals were delicious, and so fresh, and for other meals our guide Yannick recommended excellent places. A little, non-English speaking restaurant in La Spezia he recommended had the best ravioli I've ever tasted.
There were a lot of couples in the group, and in some ways it was quite a laid back tour, but there were also some great nights out! We all had a lot of fun.
As someone who only knows how to say "natural water" and "thankyou" in Italian, this trip certainly took the hassle and confusion out of travelling.
Pompeii and Capri were definite highlights, but really the entire trip was just one giant highlight!

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Fun!, Hassle-free, Fantastico!

event 0.3
  • KevinJK79
  • KevinJK79
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 16 Countries
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

2011 XMAS Tour

18 Dec 2011 - 30 Dec 2011

All was wonderful. Need to improve the included items a bit and the tour in the Vatican Museum was way too fast. More time in Rome and Florence is required. XMAS holidays closed major shopping attraction and Last Supper painting in Milan but the rest of the trip was great.

No lines in places and less crowds to contend with. All included meals were good expect the one in Milan which should be refunded to the whole group. Every plate was left FULL. It was terrible. All the other meals were very good.

Review written Jan 2012

My Contiki was: Fast, Fun, Great

event 0.3
Simply Italy (Winter)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

thumps up

17 Oct 2011 - 28 Oct 2011

it was one of the best trip in my life, had the time of my life and the group was amazing we had a blast, i recommend it to everyone who never been to Italy, this is a trip which you will explore and see italy like you've never seen it before.

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: amazing, fun, educational

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.


  • 11 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges


  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations


  • 11 continental breakfasts
  • 4 three-course dinners


  • 9 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Scenic drive along the coast
  • See Mt. Vesuvius
See More

Me Time

  • Pompeii Guided Walking Tour
  • Souvenir group photo
  • Space Electronic Disco
  • Tuscan Evening
  • Venice walking tour
  • Gondola ride
  • Venetian Dinner
  • Rome of the Emperors and Gladiators including the Colosseum
  • Dinner ‘La Dolce Vita’
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$107
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

12 Results



Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.