Scandinavia & Russia Plus

Tour Length
23 days
From
US$3735
Overview Reviews

  • Vanessa
  • Vanessa
  • Level 4 Traveler
  • 4 Contikis
  • 11 Countries
Scandinavia & Russia Plus
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Breathtaking scenery and cultural experiences await

17 May 2014 - 07 Jun 2014

I chose this tour for its itinerary and concentration on Norway, which was definitely the highlight for me. The natural beauty of the country is phenomenal and having a hostel right on the edge of a fjord was amazing! Copenhagen was a fantastic stop and the overnight cruise from Stockholm to Helsinki is good fun too.

The guides in Russia are real characters and super informative. Having them to navigate the bustling cities of St. Petersburg and Moscow was great and the metro tour is extremely cool.

I've never done a Contiki this long in duration before and the amount of people who jump on and off at different points means that the number of passengers hovers around 50 at any time. As I took this tour with a friend that didn't bother me really, but I feel because of this the tour size makes it harder to get to know everyone compared to others I've experienced in the past.

I had no complaints about the accommodation and the food was decent too (although expect the choices in Russia to be unsurprisingly limited, especially due to language barriers).

Our tour leader Mike had to be the most organised and helpful tour guides I've had on any Contiki thus far, he even had hand out suggestions for each city!

This tour was a great way to cover a lot of ground in a short time at an understandably fast pace. I would definitely return to some areas on my own (especially Stockholm, since a day in not nearly enough) in future.

The scenery and many cultural experiences you'll get to see on this tour will certainly not disappoint!

Review written Jan 2016

My Contiki was: cultural, adventurous , memorable

event 0.3
  • Sheridan
  • Sheridan
  • Level 8 Traveler
  • 8 Contikis
  • 22 Countries
Scandinavia & Russia Plus
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best Time of My Life... So Far...

30 Aug 2014 - 20 Sep 2014

I've done a bit of travelling in my time but this tour has got to be the best one so far. Norway is so beautiful, I could look at my pictures all day. Russia: WOW. It's so different from any other country. The local guides there were friendly, funny and astonishingly knowledgeable. The three cities that we visited in Russia, to me, seemed very different from one another. The tour manager was amazing; Danny organised heaps of extra outings for the group and always made sure the special diet people were taken care of during meals. He was also heaps of fun along with the rest of the travellers on the tour. My favourite parts of the tour would probably be the Bobsledding in Lillehammer, the Boat Cruise to Helsinki and visiting Novgorod (because it's a beautiful little town on the river). I'll never forget what an amazing time I had on this tour and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience something new and different.

Review written Oct 2014

My Contiki was: Eye-opening, Unique, Fun

event 0.3
Scandinavia & Russia Plus
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

13 Aug 2010 - 03 Sep 2010

Important: this is for the SUPERIOR tour, not the BUDGET one that appears on the site right now.

This trip was one of those where a new "BEST" bubbles up at every city. Until this trip, my favorite cities in the world were a tie between Prague and Budapest. Then I saw Oslo and was in love. The scenery in Norway is jaw-dropping. Then it came Stockholm and I said: nothing can beat it. Well, I bit my tongue: St. Petersburg topped them all, what a wonderful place to be, completely loved it!

Our tour managers (Parri) and our driver (Jeremy) were the best, ever (and this was my 4th Contiki, so I should know LOL).

Review written Mar 2011

My Contiki was: Spectacular, Awesome, Mind Blowing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 22 nights accommodation: 8 nights in hostels quad-share, 13 nights in hotel upgrade, 1 night Baltic cruise quad-share
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Overnight cruise
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 21 breakfasts
  • 1 lunch
  • 1 Regional Dinner: Polish feast in Warsaw
  • 9 dinners

Inclusions

  • 6 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the Little Mermaid, the Gefion Fountain and the Royal Palace.
  • Visit Frogner Park to see the Vigeland sculptures
See More

Me Time

  • Carlsberg BreweryTour
  • Viking Biking
  • Olympic Bobsled Ride
  • Ice Bar
  • Tour of the Town Hall & Nobel Prize Banquet Room
  • Smorgasbord Dinner
  • Canal Cruise
  • Guided tour of Peter and Paul's Fortress
  • St. Petersburg dinner
  • Russian Ballet Performance
  • Russian Folklore Evening
  • Guided Tour of Siege of Leningrad Memorial
  • Guided tour of the Armoury Museum in the Kremlin
  • Statue Park
  • Moscow dinner
  • Circus Aquamarine
  • Contemporary History Museum (Revolution Museum)
  • Chopin piano recital
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$162
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.