Best of Europe (start Paris)

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2985
Overview Reviews

  • Katie
  • Katie
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 6 Countries
Best of Europe (start Paris)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Beyond amazing!

06 Jul 2014 - 18 Jul 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of my recent trip to Europe. The places we went were amazing, the opportunity to take part in unique activities was incredible, and the people who were on the tour were truly extraordinary!!! Our tour manager Lisa was amazing and went out of her way to make sure we had the best experience and learnt, saw, tasted and truly understood Europe. The highlights for me included Paris (in general), the bike riding tours, the cruises in Amsterdam and Prague, Prague nightlife, the Colosseum tour, gelato and the people I experienced it all with. I would 100% recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see these areas of Europe!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Highlight, Unforgettable, Fun

event 0.3
Best of Europe (start Paris)
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

See a lot in a short space of time

08 Jul 2012 - 20 Jul 2012

This tour is fantastic if you have a lot you want to see and do, but not a lot of holiday time to do it in. I chose it because I get homesick very easily and I don't like to be away for long periods of time. We got to see all the best sights of each city, but also had plenty of free time to do anything else that wasn't included as part of the official itinerary. It was also really fun doing it in a big group of people from all around the world and we made lots of new friends :) Highly recommended if you don't like travelling alone but can't get any of your friends back home to come with you. It's also pretty nice not to have to organise transportation, accommodation etc, Contiki takes care of all that for you. And it was great having a tour manager to give us tips on things like how to avoid long queues, what to do with our free time, and which stop to get off at to get to certain attractions.

A couple of downsides - none of the hotels seemed to be very well located, they were all a fair way out of the city centre and it would've been nice not to have to travel so far from the hotel to where all the action is. Also, because we were such a big group in a confined space (on the bus), more than half our group ended up getting sick, some just with a cold but others with pretty nasty stomach bugs. So that puts a bit of a damper on your holiday :-P

We did do all the optionals except for one, because we wanted just one day to sleep in and recover - you don't really get much of a chance to relax and do nothing, because they pack so much into the tour and if you don't want to miss out on anything you'll be super-busy and super-exhausted. My recommendation is that if you want to actually see Europe, then you shouldn't have too many late nights out getting drunk and then miss whatever activity is happening the next morning because you're too hungover to get out of bed. People say Contiki is renowned for being a big booze-up, but it's YOUR holiday so if you don't want to make it that way then don't. We had three late nights over the two weeks but we timed them well - like the night before we left Amsterdam for Berlin, which was a 9-hour drive so we just slept on the bus the next day. Getting drunk in Europe really is just like getting drunk anywhere else, so don't miss out on all the things you would never see back home.

Also if you're wondering what they mean by "later starts in the morning" for the Easy Pace tours (like this one), usually we left the hotel at about 8 or 9am rather than 6 or 7am.

About the weather - even though we did our tour in July it was actually pretty chilly from Paris through to Prague, but when we got to Rome we were begging to go back because it was ridiculously hot! So I recommend packing for both hot and cold weather. It also rained a fair bit, so don't forget your umbrella!

For me the highlight of the trip was seeing the Moulin Rouge in Paris - it costs quite a lot, but it's so worth it! Definitely the most amazing show I've ever seen in my life. Make sure you save enough money to do all the optionals, because you don't want to regret not doing them later.

Review written Jan 2013

My Contiki was: Busy, Amazing, Social

event 0.3
  • RenMack
  • RenMack
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 6 Countries
Best of Europe (start Paris)
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

20 Jun 2010 - 02 Jul 2010

Review written Jul 2010

My Contiki was: Breathtaking, Sensational, WOW moment

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • High speed train journey between Paris & Amsterdam
  • Flight from Prague to Rome
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 12 continental breakfasts
  • 5 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 7 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
  • See the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre, the Champs-Élysées, and Notre Dame Cathedral
See More

Me Time

  • Moulin Rouge
  • Sea Palace Restaurant
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$229
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.