The Southern Trail

Tour Length
22 days
From
US$2489
Overview Reviews

  • Jurine :)
  • Jurine :)
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 7 Countries
The Southern Trail
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Worth every penny

16 Jun 2015 - 06 Jul 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. It was the best 3 weeks of my life! We had amazing food and got to see much more than I expected so a big thank you to Kayla and Mark for all they did for us on this tour.

Being in a campsite environment forces interaction, which I'm very grateful for. You get to know everyone on a much more personal level and get to make friends for life!

I didn't participate in much of the "me time" options as I like doing my own thing and had more time to explore. If you'd like to see more of one city and not pay so much for the me time options, then there really is loads more to see. Our tour guide, Eilidh, was more than happy to point out the best spots to hang around or look for certain things (when I wanted to go see Jim Morrison's grave, she gave exact location and the best way to get there).

Just please take note of the contiki tip recommendations. Contiki recommends that you tip 2 euro per person per day (for the tour guide, cook and driver - which adds up to 6 euro per day). If I had know to budget for it earlier, it would've been nice but they didn't mention it to us at all in the beginning of the tour.

But as a whole, it was really amazing. The long roads tend to get to you but there were always games that kept us busy so it doesn't get to us too much. Oh, and stay hydrated! Beer is cheaper than water so brace yourself for that!

Review written Jul 2015

My Contiki was: No regrets!

event 0.3
The Southern Trail

Best 3 weeks of my life!

27 May 2014 - 16 Jun 2014

I booked this trip only a few weeks before leaving and was a little unsure if I had had chosen the right tour as I herd it had a bit of a "boozy" reputation... it turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life, not only did this tour cover an amazing range of places across the 3 weeks but our tour crew, Grant ( tour guide), Kayla (our amazing cook) and Jamie (Coach Driver) really made this tour one to remember.
It was super well organised, the food was outstanding especially considering this was a camping trip! Kayla our cook went above and beyond to give us a goumet taste of each culture which was so appreciated. I was also a bit nervous about camping for 21 days, but after talking to other Contiki groups along the way that were doing hotel/hostel tours i think our group was pretty lucky and were a lot more social sleeping, eating, drinking and hanging out around the camp together and as a result we all really bonded.
I'll never forget this trip and the people I shared it with I really couldn't recommend Contiki enough, it definately is the best way to travel in your 20s/30s, you will not regret it!

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Fantastic!, unique!, amazing!

event 0.3
  • Default_avatar
  • Oliviade
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 22 Countries
The Southern Trail
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Tour Review

24 May 2011 - 14 Jun 2011

Had the best 21 days with Contiki travelling around western side of europe and down to athens. Great bunch of people

Review written Aug 2011

My Contiki was: People, Day song

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 21 nights accommodation: 19 nights in twin-share tents (including air mattresses), 1 night in a hotel (twin-share), +1 night on board a ferry
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Ferry crossings

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager, Driver & Cook team
  • Contiki’s exclusive on-site teams at Contiki Villages
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 20 breakfasts
  • 12 dinners

Inclusions

  • 13 World Heritage Sites visited
  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Parisian Dinner
  • Nouvelle Eve cabaret show
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$113
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.