Scotland & Ireland

Tour Length
13 days
From
US$2245
Overview Reviews

  • Sara
  • Sara
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 4 Countries
Scotland & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Surpassed All Expectations

14 Jul 2014 - 26 Jul 2014

I've always wanted to go to Ireland, but I wanted a longer trip so I figured I would do Scotland too! This was my first time traveling outside of North America, and I was going solo, so needless to say I was a little nervous, but I experienced the best two weeks of my life! I instantly made friends with my roommate and others during my first night in Scotland. By the end of the tour, everyone had become amazing friends. I suggest everyone travel by themselves at least once.

The success of the tour had a lot to do with our Tour Manager, Az. He was an awesome tour guide on the bus giving us a fantastic history of the places we were visiting. He was also very organized, so my trip was worry free and I never had to make any major decisions - he always guided us in the right direction and the best pubs!

I did not have a strong desire to travel to Scotland, but I loved it there. Swimming in Loch Ness is something I will never forget. Be sure to visit any castles you can in Scotland, they are worth the money for admission. Although Scotland was beautiful, the highlight for Scotland for me was not the scenery, it was out Scottish bus driver, Derek! He was this hilarious Scotsman who drove us all around Scotland and Ireland - one of the best people I met on the trip!

Ireland was by far the highlight of the trip. It had the most amazing scenery. I was looking forward to Dublin and the nightlife there the most, but it was the outdoor things like Giant's Causeway (an optional that is a MUST) and the Aran Islands that made me really fall in love with Ireland. Describing the beauty will not do those places justice. I was never bored in Ireland and there was something new and beautiful to see everyday, and if you like live music, Ireland is the place to go. Every place we went to had the most AMAZING music.

I will say something people should be aware of before booking is that you are joining the Great Britain and Ireland Tour, so a majority of the tour have already been together for four days before you join. This was fine in the end and everyone became great friends, but this was a little intimidating at first. I personally would have signed up for English portion of the tour had I known this when booking.

All in all, this was the trip of a lifetime and I was not ready to leave! I am so glad I went on this tour and it has already motivated me to book my next Contiki!

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: beautiful, life-changing, perfection

event 0.3
  • Bailey
  • Bailey
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 4 Countries
Scotland & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Best. Adventure. Ever.

31 Mar 2014 - 12 Apr 2014

For the last 10 years I've wanted to go to Ireland. I had a close family member pass and I realized life's too short. So I figured I'm going. If I'm going I might as well do Scotland as well.

I met some amazing people and new life long friends. I had the best times in Scotland and the best adventures in Ireland.

My favorite moment of the entire trip (and this was hard to come to the conclusion of) was biking around the Aran Islands.

Our tour manager, Jon and our driver Chris where beyond amazing. The trip would not have been as awesome without these two.

I would do this trip again in a heart beat. I would recommend it to everyone and I will.

No regrets.

Zero.

Review written Apr 2014

My Contiki was: Life changing, Amazing, Adventure

event 0.3
Scotland & Ireland
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A Definite MUST!

27 Mar 2011 - 09 Apr 2011

I've always wanted to go to both countries since I was a kid, this trip was a dream come true! I wanted to join a tour group to get the absolute best experience and see as much as I could...for a reasonable price. I spoke to my travel agent, she recommended Contiki. I have no regrets, Mark, my tour guide was so nice, funny and really showed he cared about all the travelers. I saw a lot of what I wanted to see in Ireland and Scotland, and will never forget what an amazing trip this was. I always loved medieval history, and seeing the castles up close for myself..being able to touch them and imagine the battles that happened on the green, was an absolute breathtaking experience.

Review written Sep 2011

My Contiki was: Castles, Memorable, Fun

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 12 nights twin-share hotel accommodation
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with powerpoints for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossing

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Food

  • 12 continental breakfasts
  • 6 three-course dinners

Inclusions

  • 2 World Heritage Sites visited
  • Visit St. Andrews, the home of golf
  • Scenic drives including the Whisky Trail and Royal Deeside
See More

Me Time

  • Scottish Evening
  • Giant's Causeway
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$172
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay

Similar Trips

3 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.