Road to Athens plus 3 day Greek Island Cruise

Tour Length
22 days
From
US$4335
Overview Reviews

Road to Athens plus 3 day Greek Island Cruise
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Happy Days

10 Jun 2014 - 30 Jun 2014

I was a little sceptical before embarking on my Contiki adventure, many of the reviews I read were negative and gave me second thoughts. I am so glad I didn't listen to them. This experience was my first trip overseas and honestly I could not think of a better way to do it, all the stress of finding hotels and booking touristy things to do was taken from my hands and given to the people who know what is really worth doing when time is limited.
It is true that Contiki tours are fast pace but I have always been a person that loathes staying still, I loved the fast pace as it was not overly quick that I ever felt like I missed out, it was more than enough to discover these awesome places and know whether or not it is somewhere to visit again in the future.
Part of what made the tour so amazing was the team assigned to our tour, our tour manager and driver were the best, extremely helpful and professional - like our manager spending about three hours on the phone helping my friend to get her passport back after leaving it behind at a hotel - and both knew how to have a good time when the day was over (and how to make us laugh and appreciate the more stressful moments and unplanned bumps in the road, which are inevitable on any journey.) I also have to mention the tradition of tour songs as I loved the concept, I am never going to lose my love for American Authors now.
My only complaint (and it is a minor one) is that if you are travelling alone you can't choose your room mates and let's just say I received a very rude awakening one night in learning she had not returned to the room alone. If you are at all concerned I would recommend paying the extra for a single room, although you get very good at sleeping whilst on the move (this coming from someone with insomnia) something like that can really drag down an entire day.
Speaking of the coach I have to mention our driver, she impressed us everyday with her driving ability, a lot of times 'threading the needle' as I liked to call it, and even daring the roundabout circling the Arch de Triumph, it is amazing how something like that can make for some of the best memories.
For anyone worried about spending days or weeks with a lot of strangers - don't be! This was a particular sore spot for me before leaving but was quickly reassured, before departing the meet-up gives you a much need opportunity to speak with everyone and once the tour is under way the friendships only get stronger, becoming a Contiki family is inevitable, I made many lifelong friends. It really is true that friends make a trip, I would travel with Contiki again any time rather than going alone, it was simply amazing and the best first experience I could have asked for, I recommend it 100%
- Thank you for the best days of my life

Review written Jul 2014

My Contiki was: Awesome, Amazing, Awe-inspiring

event 0.3
Road to Athens plus 3 day Greek Island Cruise
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Love, love, loved this tour!

07 Aug 2012 - 27 Aug 2012

My second contiki did not disappoint. We had the best tour guide Petula. We saw and did so much. Probably wouldn't do the walking tours again but would do all the other activities again. Loved the perfumery in Paris! It was magic seeing all the places I'd seen so many times in photos. Best food was definitely through Italy. Highly recommended tour to anyone thinking about Europe.

Review written Jun 2013

My Contiki was: Amazing, Gastronomical, Friendships

event 0.3
  • LucyPERTH
  • LucyPERTH
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 11 Countries
Road to Athens plus 3 day Greek Island Cruise
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

It will be the most wonderful experience of your life

05 Jul 2011 - 25 Jul 2011

Overall, the trip was incredible. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone!!!! Even if you have seen Europe before. Incredibly amazing.. You'll be talking about it for years after (as I still am!).

For our tour, accommodation always varied.. but overall it was to a pretty good standard. I'd definitely recommend eating as much local cuisine as possible! Comfort-wise, the tour bus was great (except our toilet broke on the third or fourth day!). You get used to the travelling after a while, our tour-guide and bus driver were extremely friendly and always went out of their way for us. For example, one of the girls in our group left her passport in Paris, and our tour guide organised for it to be sent to Florence.. awesome stuff like that.

Packing-wise.. I wish I had packed less instead of more. Most of the girls on our trip took big suitcases which, gives room for shopping- but part of me also wishes I took a big backpack. Most people didn't have time to do copious amounts of shopping anyway. Things like dettol and babywipes really come in handy. I kept these in my day bag along with water, passport, money cards, phone, camera, toothbrush etc. It's important that you have a day bag that can fit everything you'd need for one night and the next day as well (for overnight ferries) as I found my day bag was too small. Buy an adaptor beforehand! You have no idea how impossible it is to find Australia to Europe over in Europe!

Obviously, your clothes will get SO smelly and a lot of the time people have to rush and put wet clothes into their luggage- so in the warmer countries buy washing detergent and hang your clothes out to dry. I think we had only two opportunities to do washing and even then it's hard to get a spot, because there are 50 odd piles of clothes to get through- and their may n ot be enough time. Something to bear in mind! In the beginning, you may find you are strapped for time and are rushed to get ready in the evening. I went with three girlfriends and between the four of us, we had two straighteners and a hairdryer. (Recommend bringing them if you need).

Make sure you pack shoes you can do activities in (such as bike riding, paragliding, walking etc). I didn't wear heels once. Also, don't take a towel with you. Buy a cheap one when you need it, saves you room in your luggage and we all left ours behind. Before my trip, I was debating whether or not to take my Canon SLR and I'm so glad I did. We didn't have any problems with security and lots of people took their SLR cameras. Make sure to take lots of padlocks for your bag however.

It's hard to pin point the best moments, when I look back on the trip the fun we had was mind-blowing and I literally cannot think of one low point the entire time. Fortunately, our group was an amazing mix of people and you'll find you will keep the friends you made on Contiki for life. We are planning on flying over to see our Contiki friends in Sydney in the near future. It's important not to form mini groups within your tour group, as we spoke to other Contiki groups in the Greek Islands and that was something they were having problems with. Be friends with everyone! :) Especially people who come from different countries. You'll find you will learn so much from them.

If I had to give one piece of advice, it would be to do all of the optionals, have the most positive attitude possible and try absolutely everything within your capability. The only people that were regretting things on our tour were those that opted out of group activities. Enjoy your Contiki! I wish I was going for round two!

Review written Oct 2011

My Contiki was: Eye-opening, Wicked Fun, Value for money

event 0.3
Road to Athens plus 3 day Greek Island Cruise
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Tour Review

04 May 2010 - 24 May 2010

Review written Jun 2010

My Contiki was: partying, george boat, italy food

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 21 nights twin or triple-share accommodation: 17 nights in hotels, +1 night on board a ferry, 3 nights on board a cruise ship
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach with electrical outlets for charging
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossings (tourist class)
  • Fun-filled entertainment on every night of the cruise
  • “Welcome to Greece” information pack

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations
  • An experienced & professional local guide & on-board cruise representative

Exclusive Food

  • 20 continental breakfasts
  • 3 lunches
  • 11 three-course dinners
  • 3 suppers

Exclusive Inclusions

  • See the White Cliffs of Dover
  • Exclusive 'Paris by Night' sightseeing tour
See More

Me Time

  • Nouvelle Eve Dinner and Show
  • Lake Lucerne Cruise
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$197
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.