Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey

Tour Length
10 days
From
US$1605
Overview Reviews

  • Default_avatar
  • Andrews34
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Caution!

30 Jul 2014 - 08 Aug 2014

I have been a seasoned traveller this being my third Contiki in 4 years, all being absolutely amazing....until "Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey"

This tour certainly needs a lot of work. It was the most unorganised and poorly run tour I have been on yet. The local guide in Turkey was extremely rude and took advantage of the guests on the bus by exchanging money at a hiked rate, leaving us in pre organised bars which he obviously was receiving back handers from locals to bring us to, where they charged us extortion prices for drinks then argued the bill after.

Then coming to the Greek islands part, the islands were absolutely amazing but the organisation was terrible, that's why you pay to go on a "GUIDED" trusted tour. The tours were in excess of 45 Euros, once we arrived on the island we found that you could take the same tours for 26 Euros.

I can appreciate a bit of business and making money but this is why you take these guided, trusted tours to avoid being taken for a ride by locals.

I am extremely disappointed and will not be undergoing another Contiki.

Feel free to make your own mind up but I'd highly recommend avoiding Turkey and doing a sole Greek island tour.

Review written Aug 2014

My Contiki was: Turkey, Greece, Extortion

event 0.3
  • Mioso21
  • Mioso21
  • Level 5 Traveler
  • 5 Contikis
  • 14 Countries
Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Turkey part is awesome, Greece part needs some work

14 May 2014 - 23 May 2014

This trip had its highlights and its downfalls! It’s hard to review this particular tour because this is not your typical Contiki experience compared to a tour in Europe for example, and each time your Tour Manager will be a different person than mine, so please keep that in mind with this review. For example, we had two Tour Managers: one for the Turkey part and one for the Greek Island cruise part (3 days). Our group was 90% women, lots of Canadians, Americans, a few Aussies and 2 Kiwi’s. I was travelling solo and found it easy to make new friends and meet some awesome people from around the world.

For the Turkey part of this tour we had a freelance tour guide from Turkey, a local, who handled this part of the tour. His name is Ahmet and he was a 46 year old Turkish man. I liked him, I thought he organized the tour well even though at times it was last minute planning it seemed to work out. Ahmet was an expert in the history of Turkey and was passionate about his country, which showed. At times Ahmet re-organized the pre-planned Contiki itinerary, which proved to be to our advantage. He knew the places we were visiting well and suggested to rearrange things to create a better experience for us all.

For example one pre-planned day had us getting up super early sightseeing Istanbul and going for a Turkish bath and then sightseeing again right after. Ahmet rearranged the Turkish Bath to another location because he knew after the bath we’d be in a relaxed mood and wouldn’t want to be going on another excursion straight afterwards. He was right, we ended up postponing the bath to another location and the people who did the bath were happy, because as he predicted, after the bath most people wanted to relax and take it easy, which is what we were able to do thanks to Ahmet’s re-arranging.

This tour is very fast paced, we cram a lot of sights into the short amount of time we had in Turkey. The days start early, around 7 am each day and end late. If you do a lot or all of the optionals it can get exhausting but you have a great time though so I thought it was worth it. I had a blast in Turkey!

The included meals were not very good to be honest, most of them are buffets and significantly lack in flavor, or worse, have been sitting for awhile and are served cold. When we had free time to pick our own places to eat, the food didn’t disappoint (I had THE best chicken curry rice dish in Taksim Square area at this amazing rooftop restaurant overlooking Istanbul!)

The sights in Turkey are beautiful. Istanbul is an interesting bustling city where men dominate the streets. At times as a woman I felt uncomfortable in certain areas, especially at night, without a guy as an escort. The population is dominantly Muslim and especially with the way you dress, you could get harassed (I was tisked at verbally a lot). I went on the optional boat cruise in Istanbul which I enjoyed a lot, but beware of the crew selling drinks. We had an incident where they came up with orange juice and made it seem like they were free the way they were handing them out and insisting we take one…until they came back a few minutes later informing us that our small plastic cups of orange juice cost 3 Euro (9 Lira) each and that we needed to pay up now. Yikes!! I’ll just say that there was a lot of pissed off people…The Blue Mosque was pretty, however it held little to no resonance with me so it wasn’t a highlight for me. The Grand Bazaar is pretty cool, worth it to check it out and Taksim Square is the heart of Istanbul, with plenty of adventures to get yourself involved in.
The countryside and the coast of Turkey are picturesque. Pamukkale was a highlight for me, along with Anzac cove and Ephesus. The ancient ruins of Troy were a letdown, the reconstruction and site pales in comparison to Ephesus and Ancient Pergamum. Unexpected visits turned out to be good highlights, like a visit to a carpet maker family property and a lamb leather fashion show!

After a whirlwind of a time in Turkey, we said goodbye to Ahmet and embarked on our cruise ship to the Greek Islands.

My expectations for this cruise were we would see a lot of the islands. In reality you see more of the cruise ship that the islands as you have to be on the ship at night and miss out on the true Greek Island experience. If you really want to experience a Greek Island adventure I recommend after this tour, hop on the Greek island hopping tour which is slow paced and gives you a true visit to the islands. On the cruise you only had a couple of hours sometimes to visit the place. Then there was the Oia fiasco. Santorini is a highlight for most people, unfortunately for our tour we only saw 1 very rushed hour of it when we were promised 4 hours. Most of us paid quite a lot of Euro (55 Euro) to get off the cruise ship, take a boat, then a bus ride to Oia. But because the cruise ship arrived in Santorini an hour late, our excursion was cut down significantly because the ship was still leaving at 8:15 pm. A lot of people on our tour were upset. I wasn’t too gutted as I was getting off the tour in Santorini anyway, what I was really pissed off about was getting to the island and disembarking the cruise ship early. I believe one person on our tour was going to file a formal complaint about her experience.

There were four of us from the tour who were disembarking the cruise in Santorini (the best decision we ever made) AND going on the excursion to Oia. 2 other girls were also disembarking the cruise but not going on the excursion. For us four, it was a nightmare experience. Our tour manager Stacey was very unorganized during this time, and the experience for the four who were also going on the tour and disembarking was awful to say the least. Stacey was not very helpful and all of us were super stressed during this process. We were left to check out on our own, standing in hour long line ups on the cruise ship to pay our drinks bill and check out early. What should have happened is Stacey could have gathered us four together and explained as a group or at least notified to the staff what was happening with us as the reception clerk who handled me didn’t know what was going on and was refusing to give me my passport early (I almost missed getting on the tour because of this major miscommunication). All of us four were not pleased with the way this unfolded, the famous question amongst alot of our tour that evening was ‘What is going on?’ And the common answer was ‘I don’t know’. Our tour manager was nowhere to be found to answer people’s questions during this time which led to more confusion and frustration among several people on our tour. I’ve been on other Contiki tours where our tour manager went above and beyond to ensure our holiday was stress free and relaxed, so to experience this was a shock from Contiki. What was really annoying was we completed our evaluations for the tour manager that morning, and this fiasco happened in the evening, leaving no room to write comments on the tour manager’s performance within this situation (hence this long-winded part on this review). The situation had miscommunication problems all over, especially between Louis Cruises and Contiki and definitely has a lot of room to be improved for future tours.

All in all I had a great time in Turkey, but not as stellar a time in Greece. Luckily I got off the tour a day early to stay in Santorini so I got to experience my Greek Island adventures sans-Contiki and had a blast. One great thing about this tour? The friends I made from the group. We hung out pre-tour and post-tour for days after, it was great. The friends I’ve made outshone the downfalls of this tour and for that I’m still going to give Contiki another shot.

Review written Jun 2014

event 0.3
  • Vanessa
  • Vanessa
  • Level 1 Traveler
  • 1 Contiki
  • 2 Countries
Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Amazing adventure

14 May 2014 - 23 May 2014

I've never taken contiki or been to Europe before so I'm glad this was my first experience... I went on this trip alone as did most of my tour mates so it was easy to make friends and get along with most people. I was looking for a cultural experience, not a frat party on a bus and I'm glad to say I had a great experience. Turkey really blew me away, our tour manager, Ahmet, was really informative and accommodating. He made sure everything that was supposed to be done was done with enough time for us to enjoy everything but also rearranged the schedule when needed. The accommodations were fine... Nothing extravagant but just a place to sleep. The food provided on the tours were also just fine... Mostly buffets which is a great way to taste a little bit of everything but also wasn't the greatest in flavor. The food you buy on your own time while exploring is really great and tasty! Excursions in Turkey were moderately priced, I didn't join it but I heard the Turkish dinner was great, Pergamum (Asklepion) and Pamukkale were also great! Once we got to Greece everything was go, go, go! This was the part of the trip everyone was most looking forward to but enjoyed the least! The cruise is an actual cruise filled with other contiki tours and many, many other people not part of your tour. Our tour manager, Stacey, was great but couldn't do much as everything was contracted through the cruise line. Let me warn you that the excursions in Greece are very expensive and not all of them are worth it, I guess you can decide based on your budget. If you purchase excursions, make sure you're on time for meeting them b/c they will leave without you! Patmos was a beautiful island, the St. John Monastery is also nice but if you don't mind the hike, it's a beautiful one and the monastery fee is only 6€ and the Grotto is 3€ as opposed to 47€ they charge (you just don't get tour guide info). We were allowed 2 hours of free time on Patmos but there's not much to do and shopping is quite expensive. Rhodes was also an insanely beautiful island, I thought this excursion was worth it cause it's quite a bus trip to this side of the island. Our local tour guide was terrible though, he never once pointed out the bathrooms and was smoking while he was giving the tour! This is the only tour where riding the donkey up is worth it, you can walk down and do some shopping (5€ each way for the donkey ride and 47€ for the excursion). We're allowed a bit more time on this island, but choose what you do with it wisely. Stacey took us to a beach that's a bit of a walk but it had a cool diving board about 30 meters out in the water with 3 levels of diving heights.... Unfortunately the water was COLD and the sand was more like jagged pebbles... I left early to do some shopping before getting back on board. The next day was a true disappointment - I chose not to do the excursion cause it was expensive and a very early wakeup call (51 or 57€ and the people who went on it said it wasn't worth it and they didn't have any free time) but it didn't matter cause all aboard was at 11am so if I wanted to see the island I had to wake up early anyways, as we would be sailing to Santorini afterwards... The excursion on Santorini was partly worth it, it takes a while on a crazy winding road to get to Oia (the village everyone sees in pics of Santorini) but we were only allowed 4 hours in total on the island! It took almost 1 hour for everyone to get off the boat by tender and almost another hour to get to that side of the island!! Once there we were only allowed 1 hour to explore! We didn't even have enough time to explore Fira cause the last tender was leaving and we would miss the boat! Our local guide, Maria, was great but 55€ was almost not worth it. I decided not to do the excursion in Athens and explore it on my own but I heard it was the best one yet in all we've done in Greece. We found out later that you can disembark at Santorini and stay there as long as you like and take a ferry or flight back to Athens. I also advise you to bring extra money and also have Turkish Lira upon arrival or exchange in Istanbul. Shopping is much cheaper in Turkey so buy stuff there, and bargain hard especially if you plan on paying in cash. I think it was a great trip, if you're considering this trip I advise you to come to Turkey a few days early and stay in Athens a few days longer (the accommodations provided by contiki on both ends is quite pricey, you can do better on your own). I'd definitely come back to Turkey and explore more Greek islands as well.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Breathtaking , Tons of fun, Excellent

event 0.3
  • Isaac
  • Isaac
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 3 Countries
Turkey & Greek Island Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

amazing!!

19 Jun 2013 - 28 Jun 2013

This trip had to seriously the highlight of my life! Turkey is freaking amazing, has to be one of the most amazing countries on this planet! I met some amazing people on this tour and made some life long friends, this has to be my all time favorite holiday I've ever had, thanks contiki <3

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: stunning, friendship, mind blowing

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

Backstage Pass

Our backstage pass includes all of this and more, and it's free as part of your trip.

Exclusive Accommodation

  • 9 nights accommodation: 6 nights in hotels, 3 nights on board a cruise ship (twin or triple-share)
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Fun-filled entertainment on every night of the cruise
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Ferry crossing

Exclusive Team

  • An experienced & professional Tour Manager & Driver team
  • On-board cruise representative
  • Sightseeing tours of all major cities plus orientations in all other destinations

Exclusive Food

  • 9 continental breakfasts
  • 2 lunches
  • 7 three-course dinners
  • 3 suppers

Exclusive Inclusions

  • The Blue Mosque, the Galata Bridge, the Spice Markets - discover Istanbul with our expert local guide
  • See the Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Suleymaniye Mosque
See More

Me Time

  • Turkish Bath
  • 'Kervansaray' Turkish evening
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$160
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.