ANZAC Odyssey

Tour Length
5 days
From
US$615
Overview Reviews

  • monnieann
  • monnieann
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
ANZAC Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Once in a lifetime

22 Apr 2013 - 26 Apr 2013

Anzac Day will never be the same after this trip. It was emotional and fun and moving and a whole other heap of emotions.
We had Roxy as our tour guide and she was fantastic. She took us on a tour around Istanbul and we got to see some great sights. I recommend taking the time to look at the Cistern, it's a sight to see.
The bus trip out to Gallipoli is long but worth it. Everyone gets into the Anzac Spirit on the bus, signing Aussie songs and sharing what Anzac Day means to you. It's arranged so you get to Gallipoli early and you have at least half the day to explore the cemetery's at the bottom of the hill before you go in and get set up for the night.
All night there is entertainment and history played to keep you in the spirit and to refresh your history.
Anzac day itself is very emotional and something you will never forget. The climb up the hill is a big one but you don't dare complain and it makes you think of the sacrifice the Anzac's made for us today.
We made some life long friends on this trip and it's not a party trip like you would expect from Contiki.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Life changing, Moving

event 0.3
  • monnieann
  • monnieann
  • Level 2 Traveler
  • 2 Contikis
  • 2 Countries
ANZAC Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Once in a lifetime

22 Apr 2013 - 26 Apr 2013

Anzac Day will never be the same after this trip. It was emotional and fun and moving and a whole other heap of emotions.
We had Roxy as our tour guide and she was fantastic. She took us on a tour around Istanbul and we got to see some great sights. I recommend taking the time to look at the Cistern, it's a sight to see.
The bus trip out to Gallipoli is long but worth it. Everyone gets into the Anzac Spirit on the bus, signing Aussie songs and sharing what Anzac Day means to you. It's arranged so you get to Gallipoli early and you have at least half the day to explore the cemetery's at the bottom of the hill before you go in and get set up for the night.
All night there is entertainment and history played to keep you in the spirit and to refresh your history.
Anzac day itself is very emotional and something you will never forget. The climb up the hill is a big one but you don't dare complain and it makes you think of the sacrifice the Anzac's made for us today.
We made some life long friends on this trip and it's not a party trip like you would expect from Contiki.

Review written May 2014

My Contiki was: Life changing, Moving

event 0.3
  • Courtney
  • Courtney
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
ANZAC Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Wonderful experience!

22 Apr 2013 - 26 Apr 2013

Great experience to be at Anzac Cove, Gallipoli. Would recommend spending a few more days in Istanbul as its an amazing place, so much to see!!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Moving , Wonderful , Proud

event 0.3
  • Courtney
  • Courtney
  • Level 3 Traveler
  • 3 Contikis
  • 17 Countries
ANZAC Odyssey
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Wonderful experience!

22 Apr 2013 - 26 Apr 2013

Great experience to be at Anzac Cove, Gallipoli. Would recommend spending a few more days in Istanbul as its an amazing place, so much to see!!

Review written May 2013

My Contiki was: Moving , Wonderful , Proud

event 0.3
  Back to Overview

What's Included

All of this & more, included as standard on your trip.

Accommodation

  • 3 nights twin or triple-share hotel accommodation & 1 night sleeping out under the stars
  • Modern, air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel tips, local taxes & service charges
  • Attendance at the Dawn Service on North Beach & the opportunity to attend the National Services at Lone Pine & Chunuk Bair

Team

  • An experienced & professional Trip Manager & Driver
  • Sightseeing tours as described in itinerary
  • Services of an experienced & fully licensed Turkish Guide
  • Fully guided walking tour of “Old” Istanbul including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Hippodrome

Food

  • 3 continental breakfasts

Inclusions

  • 1 World Heritage Site visited
  • Journey along the Sea of Marmara
  • Visit ANZAC Cove
See More

Me Time

  • 'Kervansaray' Turkish evening
See More

On a budget?

  • The average cost per day for this tour is US$123
  • You only need a US$200 deposit to book and pay in full 45 days before you travel.
  • Pay in installments, with Contiki Easy Pay
4 Results

Questions?

x

Visas? Money? Where to go? Chat to us about travel.